• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Black Diamond AFL

After seeing terrigal play i believe that they have the fire power to knock off the undefeated hawks in 18s..

Warners Bay going off recent form should be capable of taking out ressies

However firsts will be a well fought out game and not sure as to which way the game will swing

Does anyone think cardiff have a chance of losing all grades?

Well yes, Cardiff do have a chance of losing all three grades, but there is also a chance that a meteor will crash into the middle of number 1 just before kick-off, ie its a pretty small chance.

I watched Cardiff Vs Newcastle in Round 2 (photos can been seen here http://www.users.on.net/~ferris_family/2008 BDAFL Rnd 2/index.html) and after that match I picked a Hawks Vs Blues final with Hawks the winners, and I still believe that will be the result. It seemed to me that the Hawks were really stung at missing last years Grand Final, and were determined not to loose this year. The loss two weeks ago was a minor blip that wont stop them getting the cup this year.

Having said that, I am a lousy tipper (as my position on the work tipping table can testify) so I am not putting the house on it.

I think city will take it out. Although this is my first year, they look to be a better side by the smallest of margins. Should be an awesome match, I wish I could get there to watch it.

weather predictions for this saturday are 31 degrees!!!!!!!

dont forget sunscreen :).

Hopefully both teams will have huge amounts of supporters. and in saying that, supporters that arent like warners bay supporters who yell obscene vulgar language out at players. they are the only club i know of who do it, why? bad coaching? poor discipline? i dont think the warners bay area is known for those sort of people, is it?

Does anyone know what the BDAFL are doing to advertise Saturday throughout the Hunter, Newcastle and Central Coast???

I'm always reading on the website about how its the biggest day for them on the calender and how special it is but I dont see any advertisement on TV unlike the Rugby on the Central Coast, Newcastle Rugby League or the NBN Soccer League. These games are advertised all the time in print, TV and Radio. If you have ever gone to a Newcastle League Grand Final Number 1 is chockers with the people that come to watch the game.

Maybe the BDAFL should start spending money to make money and promote the game within the region. Because who wouldnt want to come play footy for any team in Newcastle or Central Coast. Both places are good to live and the attraction of playing footy here is great.

Hopefully both teams will have huge amounts of supporters. and in saying that, supporters that arent like warners bay supporters who yell obscene vulgar language out at players. they are the only club i know of who do it, why? bad coaching? poor discipline? i dont think the warners bay area is known for those sort of people, is it?

You obviously haven't heard some of the ladies down at Killarney Vale when they get going! I also seem to recall a club official at Nelson Bay who got very red in the face on one memorable occasion.

I'm not saying it's right, I'm just saying it's not just one club that does it.

Does anyone have any info on how the junior grand finals went the other week?

I was at the Central Coast juniors Grand Final. I was watching a game and saw a naked 70 year old sitting down, and she had dyed her pubes black and white and she was screaming out to some kid on feild.

So I ask her "oh does your grandkid play for Wyong?"

She looks at me, then fully opens her legs and says "no, Terrigal"

your ears are obviously painted on then if you think that warners bay supporters are the only ones who do it. all the games i play and watch their are always a bunch of idiots on the hill shouting out crap. cardiff, newcastle, killarny, they all do it you goose. its just warners bay tend to be more out spoken
icon10.gif

jerk.......

your ears are obviously painted on then if you think that warners bay supporters are the only ones who do it. all the games i play and watch their are always a bunch of idiots on the hill shouting out crap. cardiff, newcastle, killarny, they all do it you goose. its just warners bay tend to be more out spoken
icon10.gif

jerk.......

pie eater is one of those who think that the BDAFL should continue its policy of placing all footballers who move to Newcastle from AFL states with Cardiff until they are strong enough to have their own league and play with themselves even more.

We are trying to make the rules fairer ie limit teams who play against Cardiff to no more than 2 free kicks per quarter, Only allow 16 players on the field against Cardiff's 18, and any insults from members of the public within a 2 k radius of the ground to result in a goal line free kick to the Hawks.

Only when these rules are brought in will we have a proper competition.

You may have noticed the Warners Bay supporters, but only in comparison to the Cardiff supporters who seemed to be non-existent on Saturday. Fair dinkum there was complete silence when Cardiff ran out on to the ground and only polite applause when they kicked a goal !!

In saying that though Warners Bay supporters were sitting in the sun for a long time and had a great victory in the ressies. I will say they are the worst for abuse historically.

Good luck to all teams this weekend. My prediction City, Cardiff, Cardiff

pie_eater you obvioulsy don't get around to many games, is it because the obscene, loud, vulgar supporters of warners bay scare you. Warners Bay might be loud but their true to their colours, they were the only support base at the game last weekend that gave a s... (sorry was that to vulgar) and bad coaching - I think not - If that was true you wouldn't have to put up with the same supporters this weekend, but you probably won't go....you'll be to busy do your knitting. Congrats to Warners Bay Ressies for making it to the Grand Final.

pie eater is one of those who think that the BDAFL should continue its policy of placing all footballers who move to Newcastle from AFL states with Cardiff until they are strong enough to have their own league and play with themselves even more.

We are trying to make the rules fairer ie limit teams who play against Cardiff to no more than 2 free kicks per quarter, Only allow 16 players on the field against Cardiff's 18, and any insults from members of the public within a 2 k radius of the ground to result in a goal line free kick to the Hawks.

Only when these rules are brought in will we have a proper competition.

Boo Hoo. Would you like a tissue?

harry dixon its evident you are an idiot who thinks that the bdafl should be called the cardiff football league, because its obvious that all of the umpires have nothing better to do than blind themselves and only give cardiff free kicks.

jerk........

wo... sorry about that comment i made couple of days ago.

the point i was trying to make was this; there's a difference between cheering ur team on, sledgin the oppostion etc, rather than personal insults with inappropriate language. i noticed w.bay supporters yelling out 'chokers!', which i think had nothing wrong with it at all, the game in this area needs that built up rivalry etc.

its the personal insults and the c**t references that take it too far for me. what ever happened to the clever sledges?

i apoligise if anyone misinterprets my last comment and this one... just raising an issue for discussion.

Good luck all teams in grand finals, positions are rightfully earnt.

the point i was trying to make was this; there's a difference between cheering ur team on, sledgin the oppostion etc, rather than personal insults with inappropriate language. i noticed w.bay supporters yelling out 'chokers!', which i think had nothing wrong with it at all, the game in this area needs that built up rivalry etc.

its the personal insults and the c**t references that take it too far for me. what ever happened to the clever sledges?

i apoligise if anyone misinterprets my last comment and this one... just raising an issue for discussion.

I dont mind a good sledge and even some minor abuse directed against a senior player (especially if its funny), but what did leave me feeling uncomfortable last Saturday was the level and tone of abuse directed at the under 18's.

From my position on the fence, I could hear supporters of both teams screaming abuse, with grown men and women almost frothing at the mouth hurling insults to what are mostly A BUNCH OF SCHOOL KIDS. It takes something special for a grown man of forty to be screaming over the fence to a skinny 17 yo kid and calling him a coward and not see the irony.

There was one (who by the age I assumed to be a grandmother), yelling "Don't fight like that, use your fists":D

If only they took some of that advice here in London. over 25 teenagers stabbed to death so far this year :eek: :thumbsdown:

Anyway back on topic, glad to see the Hawks in another granny, from what i've read they should be all pretty good close games. Obviously i'm gonna pick 3 Hawks wins, but i'm sure its gonna be a sleepless night getting sms of the scores etc.
Pressure will be on the Hawks after clean sweeping the Juniors though!

Yeah mate totally agree, there's clever ways to insult people particulary in our game and at our level that you dont need every second word to be c&^% of f..!
Its never a good thing to be yelling this out at the top of your voice especially with so many young children and women around the ground after all isnt this supposed to be a family game?

Most people have the ability to use their brain when heckling opposition players from the other side of the fence but unfortunatly most of them also loose it in 30 degree heat and half a dozen cans.

There is usually an artice in the Herald on a Saturday morning about the weekends games. That's about all the coverage I see.

Josh. Yeah I see that most Saturdays as well but that isnt really putting the game out to the people.

On the Coast Central Coast sport is on the radio stations but in Newcastle nothing.

BDAFL need to start promoting the game themselves and not ride on the coattails of the AFL to expect people to turn up.