Bluemour Melting Pot XIX - Give Me Ed Baby - Return of the Prodigal Son

I’m might be on my own here, but I hope none of the Crows expats come back. All three are past their best. They all got their wishes and left the club. We are still a couple of years away from potential premiership glory. None of the three will be around to see it.

I’m trying to remember a time when someone has left the Blues and we bought them back.
Justin Murphy

It will be interesting to see how we fit the 4 in if we get them all (Butler, Betts, Papley and Martin).

Martin on a wing/HFF
Papley HFF
Betts in the pocket
Butler in the other pocket, playing defensive fwd. Or as 1st backup to Betts/Papley.

Don't forget Betts probably only plays for 2 more years. At which point a permanent spot opens up for Butler.

Martin on a wing/HFF
Papley HFF
Betts in the pocket
Butler in the other pocket, playing defensive fwd. Or as 1st backup to Betts/Papley.

Don't forget Betts probably only plays for 2 more years. At which point a permanent spot opens up for Butler.
I reckon butler will want to come with more game time guaranteed. not sure how we will juggle the three of betts, papley and butler if they all come to us.

How would that help given it is Essendon that needs the currency for Daniher not Sydney, what does Wood going to Sydney help Sydney get Daniher, and how would Wood (a key forward) benefit Sydney if they're getting Daniher.

I don't want to say the Herald Sun are stupid but...
All questions for the sun

Don’t rule out Harley Bennell if we get Eddie. Last chance saloon but they think Eddie and Russell can get his head and body right. Really wants to play just needs the leadership and things to occupy him. Relies on getting Eddie though.

Harley Bennell has better stats than Brad Hill, Issac Smith and Tom Scully; three of the best wingers of the last decade.

Gets less of the ball than Gaff, but kicks 3x as many goals. Kicks more goals per game than Dusty! (just)

If his calves aren't made of paper mache and we could sort him out off-field, he would be a HUGE talent addition.

EDIT: Thanks Robbo

Harley Bennell has better stats than Brad Hill, Issac Smith and Tom Scully; three of the best wingers of the last decade.

Gets less of the ball than Gaff, but kicks 3x as many goals. Kicks more goals per game than Dusty! (just)

If his hamstrings aren't made of paper mache and we could sort him out off-field, he would be a HUGE talent addition.
It’s his

If his hamstrings aren't made of paper mache and we could sort him out off-field, he would be a HUGE talent addition.

The upside for the price is enormous, the chances he doesn't get his head right are also enormous.

It will be interesting to see how we fit the 4 in if we get them all. (Butler, Betts, Papley and Martin).
I have no idea how it will work but some kind of solid depth will be great for once.

Forward line would be something along the lines of:

HF: Papley McKay Cuningham
FF: Betts Curnow McGovern

Then chuck Martin on a wing and Butler on the bench.

No. Absolutely not. List management and coaching needs to be separate. Sure, have discussions with each other, discuss wants and needs, but the coaching staff, including the head coach, should have no final say on signing, trading or delisting.

List management need to make decisions for the best of the club. They maintain the list. Coaching need to extract the best performances from the list provided.

Otherwise we end up with a MM situation again, where one person holds too much power, and delists/trades players they don't like for personal reasons, to the detriment of the list, and forces deals that involves making injured former players of theirs our highest coin earners.

Rightly so in this instance. Teague has a relationship with Betts. List management need to make the decision for the best of the list. If they deem Betts too expensive, then so be it. (Hope desperately Eddie returns!!!)
Bloody well said. If list management and coaches aren’t disagreeing on some players (ie. Betts), then one of them isn’t doing their job.

If his calves aren't made of paper mache and we could sort him out off-field, he would be a HUGE talent addition.

EDIT: Thanks Robbo
I saw plenty of Bennell on the Gold Coast and regard him as one of the best players I've ever seen live. At his best he was a head above everyone on the field including Ablett. Less consistent for sure, but his best stood up to any player I've seen.

I would be very keen on getting him in for a 1 or 2 year contract, 100%

The upside for the price is enormous, the chances he doesn't get his head right are also enormous.
His head isn't the problem and hasn't been really for 2 years or more. His body is what is holding him back more than anything else these days.

Possibly

Fact is heaps of players want out and the culture of that club is cactus
It must be bad if Betts is contemplating leaving 350 - 400K on the table to come to Carlton, in possibly his last year of footy. Personally I'd be surprised if it happened.

I think an earlier ITK poster said that Betts would be interested in coming top Carlton on a reduced contract, but only if there was a wink and a nod for the $$$ after footy. I'm not sure he'd be worth the risk, or the money as a 33 yo on his last legs.

I saw plenty of Bennell on the Gold Coast and regard him as one of the best players I've ever seen live. At his best he was a head above everyone on the field including Ablett. Less consistent for sure, but his best stood up to any player I've seen.

Interesting risk assessment

I agree in terms of talent, is gifted, but there are huge question marks on his body and mindset

Lowish risk, massive rewards in terms of currency, but what are the risks to our young group?

No thanks, immensely talented but don't want him anywhere near our group of kids thanks.

On CPH1831 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Interesting risk assessment

I agree in terms of talent, is gifted, but there are huge question marks on his body and mindset

Lowish risk, massive rewards in terms of currency, but what are the risks to our young group?
I think we have the leadership to handle a player like him. I highly doubt Bennell will have a larger impact on the kids than Cripps and Docherty, for example.

As I also said before, his off field issues really haven't been an issue for over 2 years. How many issues are there at Freo because of Harley? They kept bringing him back time and again even with his bodies failings. They wouldn't have done that if he was causing nothing but problems.

Getting Bennell would be like making love while free swinging over an almost erupting volcano. It would feel amazing and be thrilling at first, but the risk...

It must be bad if Betts is contemplating leaving 350 - 400K on the table to come to Carlton, in possibly his last year of footy. Personally I'd be surprised if it happened.

I think an earlier ITK poster said that Betts would be interested in coming top Carlton on a reduced contract, but only if there was a wink and a nod for the $$$ after footy. I'm not sure he'd be worth the risk, or the money as a 33 yo on his last legs.
:thumbsu: