Bluemour Melting Pot XXIX

Right now Carlton fc is a club on its knees. We are a laughing stock of the AFL, other club supporters and slowly our own supporters are laughing and have had enough. If the club stuff this review/coaching process up it will be the final blow for so many

Have I missed something ?

Attended a lunch today at The Australian Club (I know, I know....terrible place).

Anyway....sat nearby Mark Korda. 3 things he was happy to disclose:

1. Collingwood will not be hiring Clarkson. Apparently 'they can't afford him'. (Not sure what that means...)
2. Sayers 'has been badgering Clarkson for months now'. Blues are still in his ear but Clarkson remains uncommitted.
3. No love lost between Korda and Eddie. He knows Eddie is trying to depose him and is right in Jeff Browne's corner.
I find point 2 quite depressing, just cannot see why anyone would think Clarkson is a good idea.

Better stay in my lane

Lots of things wrong with the club no matter your angle and position on its future.

On its knees, it is not.

In the best position its arguably ever been off-field? Absolutely.

Lots of things wrong with the club no matter your angle and position on its future.

On its knees, it is not.

In the best position its arguably ever been off-field? Absolutely.
I am not sure anyone cares how well we are doing off-field.

On field we are definitely struggling but not sure the club is on its knees.

Now, I watch the games and spend an awful lot of time wondering what the fu** I'm even doing. I'm watching in the vaguest hope that maybe, this weekend, I might get to see a game of footy break out, and then if it does praying to the footy gods that the coaches don't stifle it.

If I'm home and watching tv on a Saturday I almost always choose the VFL over a neutral AFL game for similar reasons as you've mentioned.

It's a similar thing to European football, I used to be a huge soccer fan but the money and the corporatisation of the game leave me feeling cold and I barely watch it now.

I agree that the fans won't care about the off-field so much but it doesn't mean it's not important.

Get your off-field right and you have a chance to get the on-field stuff right too.

I cannot tell you the last club that won a premiership that didn't have its off-field stuff right.

Lots of examples of clubs who got the off-field right and then transformed that into on-field success.

Why don't you think he's a good idea, Andy?
I am not sure he would be a good fit at our club and i wonder if the game hasnt moved on from him and his ideas.

I agree that the fans won't care about the off-field so much but it doesn't mean it's not important.

Get your off-field right and you have a chance to get the on-field stuff right too.

I cannot tell you the last club that won a premiership that didn't have its off-field stuff right.

Lots of examples of clubs who got the off-field right and then transformed that into on-field success.
I am not sure there is a link between the off-field side of the business and the on-field stuff, i really hope there is but as i say just cant see it.

Right now Carlton fc is a club on its knees. We are a laughing stock of the AFL, other club supporters and slowly our own supporters are laughing and have had enough. If the club stuff this review/coaching process up it will be the final blow for so many
Crikey, they say the SJWs overdo the outrage. This is stale, incorrect and nothing but tiresome, pot-banging repetition. Spare me.....

You’re absolutely kidding yourself if you think otherwise. We are already losing the younger generation of supporters, middle age are giving up the older still live in the glory days..

Our rebuild is done and we look miles off it
Bandwagon supporters, every club has them.

If you think we’ve been able to field close to our best team all year then you’re kidding yourself. We’re not miles off it, just need some luck and continuity.

No one mentions our injuries and to his credit Teague never has. On the other hand Harwdwick said he’s banging his head against a wall with all their injuries… this after having the best 10 year run I’ve seen.

Attended a lunch today at The Australian Club (I know, I know....terrible place).

Anyway....sat nearby Mark Korda. 3 things he was happy to disclose:

1. Collingwood will not be hiring Clarkson. Apparently 'they can't afford him'. (Not sure what that means...)
2. Sayers 'has been badgering Clarkson for months now'. Blues are still in his ear but Clarkson remains uncommitted.
3. No love lost between Korda and Eddie. He knows Eddie is trying to depose him and is right in Jeff Browne's corner.
I would have thought out any Vic club then Collingwood would be the one who could afford Clarkson. Buckley was on a fair whack so I wouldn't have thought Clarko would be much more.

I am not sure he would be a good fit at our club and i wonder if the game hasnt moved on from him and his ideas.
I don't think it is anything to do with the game moving pass Clarkson, they had alot of success most of their elite players came to the end and as most good teams experience after having long success, the list needs to be rebuilt, Richmond are probably not too far off that now with most of their best players +30.

If the Blues decide to move on from Teague, l hope they explore a number of options and not just focus on 1 person, go through a proper process and select the best fit rather than just identifying one candidate and not looking at others, look at Lyon/Scott etc.

Bandwagon supporters, every club has them.

If you think we’ve been able to field close to our best team all year then you’re kidding yourself. We’re not miles off it, just need some luck and continuity.

No one mentions our injuries and to his credit Teague never has. On the other hand Harwdwick said he’s banging his head against a wall with all their injuries… this after having the best 10 year run I’ve seen.
Was told a Norf supporter called into GuesSEN bleating about their injuries. Andy & Bob sounding as though last night's win has rocketed them to outright premiership favouritism in 2022. Too much patronising encouragement.

You’re absolutely kidding yourself if you think otherwise. We are already losing the younger generation of supporters, middle age are giving up the older still live in the glory days..

Our rebuild is done and we look miles off it

That's every club, mate. I reckon 4 out of 5 footy fans are "fairweathers" who will jump on when things are going really well, and otherwise have other things they'll turn their attention to.

The other 20% are the tragics who are either stoically holding firm or ruthlessly laying the boot in.

When we come good, all those fans that drifted away will hitch themselves back on the wagon.

I am not sure there is a link between the off-field side of the business and the on-field stuff, i really hope there is but as i say just cant see it.

Richmond. An absolute rabble for years. Peggy O'Neal and Brendon Gale go in and transform the club's off-field and the on-field followed.

Hawthorn. On their knees after their 1980's to early 1990's success. Don Scott saves that club. They get the off-field right. Success follows.

Collingwood. An absolute rabble of a club. Along comes Eddie McGuire. Transforms their football club and soon thereafter they're playing the dynasty Brisbane Lions in grand finals. They finally win in 2010.

Footscray. Peter Gordon gets back to the club as president in 2012. Helps position the Dogs as the best they'd ever been off-field. 2016 happens.

The less interest the club shows in other supporters laughing, and Carlton supporters being fed up, the better. If either of those groups had their way the Carlton coach would be sacked every third week
instead of every 1, 2 or 3 years..........

You mean another Mick Malthouse Ace? I think i might agree with you, he's not doing much at the Hawks right now.

Well they used to care…..a lot. Was never ending, now off field is flying the focus onfield has become as hot as its ever been.