Bluemour Melting Pot XXVIII

Scoreboard doesn't paint the whole picture though does it. May not be the Saints drummings but the Pies, Port and Lions games the scoreboard was flattering.
Over the last few years, posters positive about our progression have been derided for not focusing on results, now you're telling me that the pure facts of the result don't paint the whole picture?

It seems, sometimes, that one cannot win.

Not really a rumour but just spoke with a mate who was speaking with Frydenberg on the weekend
My mate asked what was going on with the blues

Frydenberg said the whole hierarchy think Teague is way too soft...

Something I think we are all bloody thinking
Surely something has to change...

For those that don’t know he is our treasurer and I think our no.1 ticket holder(not sure on that)

I actually am starting to buy in to the ‘selfish’ spin that has been labelled on Cripps.

2018:
- Signed a two year extension, putting him OOC in time for FA (chasing $$$ inadvertently putting pressure on the club)

2019:
- On the back of good individual form, Had a big part in pressuring the club into the appointment of Caretaker Teague particularly in the media

(despite the club stating that they were going to conduct formalised process and didn’t want a coach with training wheels)

2020:
- Played the majority of the year supposedly ‘injured’

- Missed Top 10 in the BnF due to poor form

- Continual spin/jargonin the media regarding contract negotiations (“love the club etc, expect it to be done soon”)

- Returns to WA, rumours swirling that he had made contact with clubs in WA despite being club captain and he would not continue if we didn’t make finals..

2021:
- Poor onfield form continues, more injury cloud concerns, holding off contract talks..

Overall view:
Essentially with all of that taken into account along with the club’s overall performances being abysmal on the field I think that ‘selfish’ label is 100 percent warranted.

At least Bryce Gibbs gave it a fair crack in his final year, Cripps looks a shadow of the player he was disinterested, self entitled.

Let him walk in my opinion, take Cerra on $750k and a first rounder from Freo. Sick of the circus around it to be honest.

My view
Several things.

One, while some players take an active interest in their contracts, most of the time contract specifics are left with the person whose job it is to maximize a player's earnings, the player manager. I don't know anything specifically about Cripps' contract, but while he has to sign if he trusts his manager to make good financial decisions for the two of them he can just focus on footy.

Two, the Perth clubs would be remiss if they didn't speak to him, and last year was an exceedingly weird period in which whole clubs were training together, working together, living together. I would be surprised if we didn't use the hubs to try and approach opposition players player group to player group, try and see what we could shake loose. Nor really does his being in WA mean anything whatsoever concerning contract discussions, or do phones and Zoom not exist?

Three, if the club is weak enough that media pressure and a wagging player group is enough to get them to pick a caretaker coach over going through a process, then it is the club's fault.

Four: this will be the biggest contract of his career, the one which will be the last serious one before he tapers off. He has every right to try to maximize his career earnings, to put off his signing until a time that suits him. You truly begrudge him this?

I get being 'sick' of the circus, but I suppose my answer there is, you don't have to follow it.

I do not get for even a second that he looks disinterested. Henderson was disinterested; Yarran was disinterested. We've seen players sit on the fence behind the goals late in games; we've had dickheads like Jake Carlisle genuinely stop playing towards the end of the season for Essendon.

Cripps looks, above and beyond all else, frustrated. He looks as though he can't do what he wants to be able to do, what he's been able to do in the past. He looks precisely as frustrated as Ollie Wines did 2-3 years ago, when he went through his own dry spell. This isn't about him trying to do stuff which isn't his go; this is him trying to lift his team, play the way he played in 2019, but he can't do those things at the moment. His form isn't there, and he's playing hampered.

I think it's an interesting thing how quickly Carlton fans are completely willing to turn on their players. I think you are being rather selective in your timeline.

i don't think either of those guys could cover Dixon or one of the kings or tom hawkins etc.

Don't think you're wrong about jones but Parks is a 'third tall' and newman is about the same height as newnes
Parks has a decent leap, why not teach him to ruck and our mids to rove to the opposition. It’s not like they get an armchair ride now

Not really a rumour but just spoke with a mate who was speaking with Fraudenberg on the weekend

For those that don’t know he is our treasurer and I think our no.1 ticket holder(not sure on that)

Not my Treasurer!

Not really a rumour but just spoke with a mate who was speaking with Frydenberg on the weekend

FFS.

We don't have enough internal politics at Carlton?

Several things.

One, while some players take an active interest in their contracts, most of the time contract specifics are left with the person whose job it is to maximize a player's earnings, the player manager. I don't know anything specifically about Cripps' contract, but while he has to sign if he trusts his manager to make good financial decisions for the two of them he can just focus on footy.

Two, the Perth clubs would be remiss if they didn't speak to him, and last year was an exceedingly weird period in which whole clubs were training together, working together, living together. I would be surprised if we didn't use the hubs to try and approach opposition players player group to player group, try and see what we could shake loose. Nor really does his being in WA mean anything whatsoever concerning contract discussions, or do phones and Zoom not exist?

Three, if the club is weak enough that media pressure and a wagging player group is enough to get them to pick a caretaker coach over going through a process, then it is the club's fault.

Four: this will be the biggest contract of his career, the one which will be the last serious one before he tapers off. He has every right to try to maximize his career earnings, to put off his signing until a time that suits him. You truly begrudge him this?

I get being 'sick' of the circus, but I suppose my answer there is, you don't have to follow it.

I do not get for even a second that he looks disinterested. Henderson was disinterested; Yarran was disinterested. We've seen players sit on the fence behind the goals late in games; we've had dickheads like Jake Carlisle genuinely stop playing towards the end of the season for Essendon.

Cripps looks, above and beyond all else, frustrated. He looks as though he can't do what he wants to be able to do, what he's been able to do in the past. He looks precisely as frustrated as Ollie Wines did 2-3 years ago, when he went through his own dry spell. This isn't about him trying to do stuff which isn't his go; this is him trying to lift his team, play the way he played in 2019, but he can't do those things at the moment. His form isn't there, and he's playing hampered.

I think it's an interesting thing how quickly Carlton fans are completely willing to turn on their players. I think you are being rather selective in your timeline.

Timelines:

It all changed for Cripps when his partner moved to Vic. Perspectives change very quickly when your lifestyle changes. The ‘go home’ factor can also get louder...

Over the last few years, posters positive about our progression have been derided for not focusing on results, now you're telling me that the pure facts of the result don't paint the whole picture?

It seems, sometimes, that one cannot win.
Umm yep that's what I said.

I have no idea of what others have posted in the past and the discussions had. IMO I think some of our final margins have been flattering, hardly ground breaking opinion.

In a follow up post I congratulated him on his positivity and hoped he is correct not me.

I have no idea of what others have posted in the past and the discussions had. IMO I think some of our final margins have been flattering, hardly ground breaking opinion.

In a follow up post I congratulated him on his positivity and hoped he is correct not me.
I'm not exactly having a crack at you, more at the overall conversation.

You said this:
Scoreboard doesn't paint the whole picture though does it.
... and this is something I've been castigated for saying in the past.

We need to be more willing to discuss results without using circular arguments.

This is what makes it frustrating for me.

I really do believe in the talent but I don't believe in the system. We should've been beaten by a lot more v Pies and Port. But we didn't because we do have talented players out there who despite having breakdowns of game play can still manage to keep these teams honest.

The biggest problem is the way things are being run at the moment.

• Non performers who are coach's favourites get automatic selection. Kids get dropped when they play bad, but oldies don't. It's motivation sapping stuff.
  • Training sessions are not intense enough. They're all mates that don't want to hurt each other and they know they're safe at training. Come game day it's a different story to execute your skills when you have opponents that are for real with their intent... you train for how you play. Real match situations with real match intensity. Otherwise it's pretty much a wasted session.
  • Players played in wrong positions. It damages confidence, I really believe this has hurt Setters the most.
  • Not playing to our strengths.
  • Development is not AFL standard.

If anything this year, I don't want to see Teague get sacked. He's going to be in trouble if we don't get anywhere near finals. But the club needs to back him and get the right support around him. I believe, we're due for a cleanout, starting with midfield coaches. Barker and Stanton are both either not listening to/understanding Teague or they are. Either way it's a clear breakdown. Need to bring in some people who know what they're talking about. Mitchell, Hodge, Bartell, Voss, someone of that ilk. These are success driven people and leaders that will actually GAF and put in the extra hours to support the players.

I remember when it was: "It will be announced at bnf."

How do the players trust a captain who won't commit?

I get that he needs to look after his best interests, but he has stated that he wants to stay. I really doubt the club is low balling him especially given his output last year and this.

There's rumours he's "waiting to see how we're going" - real inspirational stuff. Could be complete bs and I hope it is but unfortunately it's looking more and more likely each passing week...

How do the players trust a captain who won't commit?

I get that he needs to look after his best interests, but he has stated that he wants to stay. I really doubt the club is low balling him especially given his output last year and this.

There's rumours he's "waiting to see how we're going" - real inspirational stuff. Could be complete bs and I hope it is but unfortunately it's looking more and more likely each passing week...

Reckon the Bulldogs players trust Bont?

Training sessions are not intense enough. They're all mates that don't want to hurt each other and they know they're safe at training. Come game day it's a different story to execute your skills when you have opponents that are for real with their intent... you train for how you play. Real match situations with real match intensity. Otherwise it's pretty much a wasted session.
Thought provoking post, BF, but I wanted to isolate this bit.

You think this, or you know this? Because if this is the case, it's appalling.

Unfortunately this is what I see at the moment too. A very nice team to play against, not particularly defensive or ruthless. It’s just really strange considering the type of player Teague was himself.