Bodyshape, the weight room and the weapon...

brucespringsteen

Suspended
Mar 19, 2012
My thread title isn't cryptic, our boys look skinny. Bar a few exceptions (Thompson, Ferrito & maybe ziebell), our boys are skinny, underweight and lack core body strength.

I used to train at doughertys, the boys also trained there....some of the worst weight training I have ever seen. Wells, Thomas, Hamish....do they even lift? They just used to muck around at the gym.

Now I know the game is about speed, but Essendon hired the 'weapon' from Geelong. The weapon Trained at another gym I went to, he was a machine, he built up athletes for size and speed....one thing you could say about Geelong....they were solid boys.

If modern football is both about speed and contested ball, we need to keep our leg speed but have the strength to stay over the contest.

Time to put some meat on those bones, time to get some Karmichael Hunt type size around the ground.

We are to damn skinny.

I think Hamish is just one of those skinny, lanky fellas. And I don't think getting bigger will help his already average legspeed.

Ok. Not sure what the regime is like under the current conditioning staff.

Heard from an extremely reliable source some less than positive comments on the Turk approach. No proper monitoring of progress, silly scheduling and programs were amateur and haphazard at best when they were described in detail.

One of the player brucespringstein mentioned in the 'do they even lift' query didn't improve his bench for 2-3 YEARS from being drafted (no mitigating factors) yet this had no consequence or response from the club at all. Fwiw the amount he benched when he got to the club would embarrass most high school blokes training in their garages.

Basically the players who developed themselves physically did most of it off their own bats and wrote their own programs. Looking at the players now nothing looks to have changed much.

Under Denis, each year you could set your watch by the 2nd and 3rd year players emerging massively developed from the year before. No coincidence when he got back to the club that he implemented a hardcore power based lifting regime.

Get them the bloke that makes Dane Swans/West Coast "protein" shakes.

Under Denis, each year you could set your watch by the 2nd and 3rd year players emerging massively developed from the year before. No coincidence when he got back to the club that he implemented a hardcore power based lifting regime.

Bingo!

i could not agree with all this even more...... i don't see what resources we need,
when i started training i put on 20 kg in 2 years and another 15 since, i looked like Basti when i started just taller..... i just think the boys are too lazy to do gym work, its a lot easier and more fun to kick a footy around, i know Thomson puts in the hard work ive seen him in the gym, but all our young guys are so slim... only the senior players have any sort of bulk..... as the op mentioned look at the cats in 07 chapman ablett ling... could go on forever they were solid guys.... we need work in the gym

I said it after the Geelong game. We look like we can play but the boys need to be put away into the gym for a pre season. And look what happens the next few games? We get out muscled by bigger and stronger opponents. We look hesitant around the contested footy. Never thought I'd say that about a north side

We're definitely lacking in physical presence around the contest.

Weights and a general over all increase in body size would be a big help for our young mids,, but imo there would be a great benefit in some form of martial arts training to focus the mind and improve agility.

Something like these techniques could certainly help out our young group:

[YOUTUBE]b_NQCTbvRnM[/YOUTUBE]

Im starting to believe we dont have the resources to monitor our players.
Its that or our approach is local footy standard.
Our players are nothing short of AFL footballers at the moment.

That's just a bullshit cop-out.

Like Arch said, a 20kg dumbbell weighs the same at Arden St as it does at the Lexus Centre. You've just got to get in there and lift it.

Thanks Groggy, i thought i'd never laugh again after yesterdays effort.
The dude semi concussed with the nunchucks still trying to do his thing never grows tired. Surely that guy has a spot on our half forward flank? :stern look

Shirley a chance of giving the opposition a Tender Touch-up Z man.

OP is spot on. Whilst a young team and can expect to be thinner than other more developed/older teams, I have to admit it is surprising for a few of our players.

Whether its down to lack of effort, poor weight training regime etc etc who knows.

The one who really needs it (and its not his fault of course) is Basti - he really does look like a boy playing a mans game - hopefully they really focus on his strength in coming years.

Dead on.

Have a look at our 1996 GF side. I reckon this is the culmination of the perfect long-view grand final preparation - tight playing group who have matured together, most in that key 22 - 28 age group, a few seasons of final experience, STABILITY in the coaches box.

The first thing you notice about the 1996 team is that they are friggen HUGE. I know that endurance seems to be more important these days (and therefore lighter frames), but the difference between that team and current Roos is staggering - we are playing with kids in comparison. 2-3 seasons of strength training will do wonders for our fellas. So as somebody else said - less Utah, more weights - in coming pre seasons. The 1996 team also reminds me how crucial it is for us to get finals experience this year if we are to have a sniff of the main prize within the next few years.

Getting off topic now, but our 1996 team also highlights how desperately we need a capable CHF. I can't see anybody on our list who has the potential to play that role (maybe Drew if they free him up)

"All you've got to do is look at NFL, league or union; the size of the bodies are bigger because they're bigger hitting games. Therefore, the energy cost coming out of the hits you take in AFL cause a large amount of fatigue.
"The least-fatigued side, at the end of the day and the end of the season, is going to win. Being fit and strong and having a body that can handle collisions is going to allow you to carry less fatigue and perform at a higher level.
"It's not fitness. Fitness is probably the same, or very similar, across the league if we were to VO2 max every side. It's the ability to recover and reduce fatigue and having a bigger body will do that in my opinion.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/mor...ru-dean-robinson/story-e6frf9jf-1226217676548

they need to make gym work competitive, weed out the pencil necked geeks.

F***, is this why Hansen isn't a gorilla?

That's just a bullshit cop-out.

Like Arch said, a 20kg dumbbell weighs the same at Arden St as it does at the Lexus Centre. You've just got to get in there and lift it.

Im talking about having the right people around our players and monitoring them.
I sometimes think our players dont take AFL footy serious enough.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/mor...ru-dean-robinson/story-e6frf9jf-1226217676548

they need to make gym work competitive, weed out the pencil necked geeks.

F***, is this why Hansen isn't a gorilla?
****en spot on mate, make them compete in the gym, cant bench 100kg 8 times no game for you.... in regards to Hansen at least he is around 97kg now, another 8 kilo and he will be great...... cloke is about 108kg thats the size for a kpp now

and in regards to our 96 team.... one thing that team had that this team does not..... and we all know what that is......

Getting off topic now, but our 1996 team also highlights how desperately we need a capable CHF. I can't see anybody on our list who has the potential to play that role (maybe Drew if they free him up)

Brad Scott believes the primary purpose of a CHF is to drag his opponent up on to the wing to make space for a full forward.

- Play long and direct.
- Put Drew at CHF
- Play Azza and Lachie/Milky from the square.
- Get the crumbers buzzing around them.

However, none of this has any benefit if we don't first favor long and direct footy.

Bodyshape, the weight room and the weapon...