Boomers and/or Young People Suck

Personally every time I have enough for a deposit I just decide to go on a 6wk Europe trip instead and just keep renting.

Don't mind it, no regrets. Everyone has different priorities I guess.
Sorry, just checking are you saying a deposit for a caravan?..as a 6 week European trip won't touch the sides of a house deposit these days unless its a 5 star hoteling with first class flights and the best dining you could do.

Personally every time I have enough for a deposit I just decide to go on a 6wk Europe trip instead and just keep renting.

Don't mind it, no regrets. Everyone has different priorities I guess.
Before I read this I actually alluded to this sort of thing being what I wish I had done back when. Good for you. Good choice. And it is a choice.

I do know they are renters. I live here. I talk to them. I hang out with them...more to the point and quite puzzling to myself - they hang out with me. They are my friends who have friends who are my acquaintances. Most of them have good jobs. Mid 20s to mid 30s. Man buns galore or the latest clipper creation to go with thousands of $$ worth of tats, all the latest gym gear and memberships, and latest model phones and tablets, drinking ******* chai latte (no accounting for people's taste) paying hundreds of dollars to go to some shitty music thingo to idolise and watch mainly ******* DJs hahaha what a joke, with their SUV carrying around the windsurf gear, the selection of surf boards and diving gear, but not quite enough room for the state of the art bike they just bought off gumtree. But enough. You get the picture but I bet you refuse to see it.

Me reading 80% of this paragraph
Keegan Michael Key Snl GIF by Saturday Night Live

Yeah ok, whatever generation it is you want to identify as.

LOL

I do know they are renters. I live here. I talk to them. I hang out with them...more to the point and quite puzzling to myself - they hang out with me. They are my friends who have friends who are my acquaintances. Most of them have good jobs. Mid 20s to mid 30s. Man buns galore or the latest clipper creation to go with thousands of $$ worth of tats, all the latest gym gear and memberships, and latest model phones and tablets, drinking ******* chai latte (no accounting for people's taste) paying hundreds of dollars to go to some shitty music thingo to idolise and watch mainly ******* DJs hahaha what a joke, with their SUV carrying around the windsurf gear, the selection of surf boards and diving gear, but not quite enough room for the state of the art bike they just bought off gumtree. But enough. You get the picture but I bet you refuse to see it.

And, George Kramer, no, I didn't go to every table you pedantic numnut. Overhearing the table next to ours and the conversation at our table is enough. I know their conversation. I've heard it over and over ad nauseam.

I'm very lucky to be invited and included...to just about everything. I have to keep reminding them I'm 2ce+ their age so I don't want to listen to a lot of their shitty music, can't stay out as late, drink as much, party like they do.

My place gets used as a halfway house so often I couldn't count the number of times. Nursing drunks, the hungover, the locked out of their apartment/room/house, the too-lazy(or too drunk or drugged)-to-cook-for-themselves hungry mouths, those at a loose end just looking for a place to chill and drink my beer and watch footy... and I wouldn't have it any other way.

But they choose to be who they are, and complaining about not being able to save for a deposit on a house is an excuse to keep living the fantastic fun life they live. I should have made that choice way back when.

:)

Now, how about that footy?
Pedantic numbnut, nice.

Reading this I reckon you’re very lucky to be invited ……anywhere

My 2 bobs worth is that the young people these days don't want to wait to save up and then buy something, they want it all now - the house, the SUV, The big TV's, the holidays and the wining and dining. It really is a house of cards as soon as repayments stretch to breaking point, they end up with nothing.
Absolutely agree ....I can speak from 1st hand experience, this is spot on

Saving is foreign to most young people (they've been conditioned)
We all took hand me downs after getting a house ....now, everythings got to be new & trendy
They don't do risk analysis ....we all took loans, factoring in 2-3% increases
Netflix, Disney, ect .....mobile phones ....these monthly expenditures were never a factor B4

As you say, it's a house of cards .....and god forbid, you lose your job

Yesterday I visited our nearby beachside coffee shop. It was full, inside and outside. Every car park taken up with some variety of late model SUV...and there sat all the renters whinging about not being able to save a deposit. :think:
There's an enormous difference in incomes in Oz. Young people spent in excess of a billion bucks to see Taylor Swift. Download the music from Spotify FFS.

On SM-A115F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I just think older generations don't realise how decently waged jobs are so much harder to get these days

My partner and I only just in December stepped into the mortgage game - repayments are not much different to rent, it was just the $90k in deposit/settlement/ etc that is the kicker

But that's with the two of us being on above average incomes, and not widely accessible - I have one of the few fully unionised jobs left in the country and my partner works for the state - super lucky and not available to everyone

Meanwhile 40 yrs ago stick around the factory long enough and you had your deposit

I just think older generations don't realise how decently waged jobs are so much harder to get these days

My partner and I only just in December stepped into the mortgage game - repayments are not much different to rent, it was just the $90k in deposit/settlement/ etc that is the kicker

But that's with the two of us being on above average incomes, and not widely accessible - I have one of the few fully unionised jobs left in the country and my partner works for the state - super lucky and not available to everyone

Meanwhile 40 yrs ago stick around the factory long enough and you had your deposit

First homebuyers can access government schemes to have a deposit between. 2-5%. I agree though that needing between 15-20% deposit can be hard

Don't see too many young people driving around in "öld bombs" these days like you did in the 70/80's or even 90's. Back then most young people were prepared to to that until they could afford to pay for something more modern or new.
the same old bombs that conk out every 1000km costing more to fix than they're worth?

They don't make the resilient 98 Magnas anymore, today's equivalent of an 'old bomb' breaks down more than Anthony Morabito did

Don't see too many young people driving around in "öld bombs" these days like you did in the 70/80's or even 90's. Back then most young people were prepared to to that until they could afford to pay for something more modern or new.
Thats cause all those “old bombs” are now either dead and buried/melted down after being stripped at the wreckers… or are worth a small fxxkn fortune as rare collectables!..

And the newer cars made in the last 2 decades dont last. They are cheap plastic shit made in thailand, china or korea and arent built to last in this harsh country of ours..

But coalition voting morons (we all know one or two of these types) all cheered on as their dumbfxxk heros goaded the australian car manufacturing industry into leaving.. so they did. Brilliant!

All because tony abbott and joe hockey wanted to continue their ideological fight against unionism..

Those old bombs are probably just as old as the 90’s cars getting around now.
These days with long warranty you’re probably better off not spending money on repairs anyway.

Thats cause all those “old bombs” are now either dead and buried/melted down after being stripped at the wreckers… or are worth a small fxxkn fortune as rare collectables!..

And the newer cars made in the last 2 decades dont last. They are cheap plastic s**t made in thailand, china or korea and arent built to last in this harsh country of ours..

But coalition voting morons (we all know one or two of these types) all cheered on as their dumbfxxk heros goaded the australian car manufacturing industry into leaving.. so they did. Brilliant!

All because tony abbott and joe hockey wanted to continue their ideological fight against unionism..
Not really any need to turn things political both sides regularly stuff up.
Imagine trying to tax people who need Utes and 4wd’s for business when it’s hard enough as it is.

It's always fun to when arguing with boomers to compare their wage when they first bought a house vs the house price.

Then point out the wage for today vs house prices.

Yeah ok, whatever generation it is you want to identify as.

LOL

And, George Kramer, no, I didn't go to every table you pedantic numnut. Overhearing the table next to ours and the conversation at our table is enough. I know their conversation. I've heard it over and over ad nauseam.

I'm very lucky to be invited and included...to just about everything. I have to keep reminding them I'm 2ce+ their age so I don't want to listen to a lot of their shitty music, can't stay out as late, drink as much, party like they do.

My place gets used as a halfway house so often I couldn't count the number of times. Nursing drunks, the hungover, the locked out of their apartment/room/house, the too-lazy(or too drunk or drugged)-to-cook-for-themselves hungry mouths, those at a loose end just looking for a place to chill and drink my beer and watch footy... and I wouldn't have it any other way.

But they choose to be who they are, and complaining about not being able to save for a deposit on a house is an excuse to keep living the fantastic fun life they live. I should have made that choice way back when.

:)

Now, how about that footy?
You sound like fun. And delusional.

It's always fun to when arguing with boomers to compare their wage when they first bought a house vs the house price.

Then point out the wage for today vs house prices.
But but but the interest rates!
Boomers have been gifted the best of the best and yet think it's all because of how amazing they are.

Sorry, just checking are you saying a deposit for a caravan?..as a 6 week European trip won't touch the sides of a house deposit these days unless its a 5 star hoteling with first class flights and the best dining you could do.

Reckon my 9 weeks USA/European trip way back in 2001, cost me just shy of $35k and trust me, no first class travel or 5 star hotels either.

Boomers and/or Young People Suck