News brad ebert quits west coast

So it's all happened now and we've probably all had time to reflect. I actually quite liked the effort that Ebert put in for the club over his time here, but when it's all said and done when we had a full list available he was only ever a fringe player.

So the end result was that we gave up Ebert and 45, and got 28 and Hill. Looking at it like that, and off course time will tell how it all turns out, I'm not really unhappy as to how it's unfolded.

I accept that the trade was bound to happen eventually, but this really annoys me (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/125178/default.aspx):

“Ever since he was drafted, we kept up contact with Brad and have maintained an interest in getting him to Port Adelaide,” Rohde said.

“This year, Brad was very keen to come back to Port Adelaide to further develop his career at a club he knows and where he has family connections. Combine those links with his talent, experience and full potential, and he is an outstanding acquisition in every respect.”

Power coach Matthew Primus welcomed Ebert, declaring him a potential future leader.

“Brad certainly has what we were after in that he’s a strong-bodied midfielder who’s really competitive,” Primus said.

“We see it as a real coup getting such a strong player and one who can play a lot in the midfield. As well as that he’s played a lot of footy for a young guy.

“We think he’s going to bring a lot to our club. He’s certainly a potential leader.”

Firstly, Port were in contact with Ebert the whole time? Would've been nice to know that before we drafted him, even if "that's football" :thumbsdown:. Secondly, if the club rates him so highly, pick 28 (plus an upgraded fourth round pick) just discourages other clubs from dealing with them. ANGRY FACE :mad:

I accept that the trade was bound to happen eventually, but this really annoys me ....“Ever since he was drafted, we kept up contact with Brad and have maintained an interest in getting him to Port Adelaide,” Rohde said...
It didn't need to be said like that and was needlessly provocative. It has received some comment on our Board too, for the same reason.
It was never going to be the club doing it as such but his uncle Russell is a club official, etc. etc. Trent Croad and Josh Carr are the only equivalents I know of who had such powerful connections to overcome.

Lisle, Pick 29; Gunston pick 24 - who the f*** are these plebs compared to a 21yo with 70+ games under his belt?? FU Rohde!

The only consolation I get is that Ebert is going to that failure of a club called Port Adelaide and Rohde gets to stay at that failure of a club. As a member I'm disappointed the team didn't take a hard line with the $hit Port were throwing our way and offered pick 45 to GWS or GC in exchange for them picking Ebert in the PSD.

I seriously hope the karma wagons rolls up sometime soon, cos this ones in my notebook.

Btw, who is Ebert's manager. That f*/ker needs some love too.

Happens all the time. I remember the Adelaide recruiting officer said he calls the SA boys at WC (Hurn, Butler, Waters) every year to see if they're interested in returning home.

How brash!

Meanwhile, if this is common practise I do hope our list manager is in regular contact with every-single-west-australian playing interstate. :rolleyes:

..."G'day Buddy, it's me again, it's my annual call, to say that you would look like a God in blue and gold"...

What about port trying to give us motlop and pettigrew,how was that for cheek, one delisted and the other retired.

Honestly don't give a rats left testicle about Port, irrelevant club that relies on the AFL to keep their lights switched on.

If Ebert wishes to play out his career at a club anchored in the bottom eight then let him, he can look back on his career in regret at passing up an opportunity to be a one club player at a great club such as West Coast.

Honestly don't give a rats left testicle about Port, irrelevant club that relies on the AFL to keep their lights switched on.

If Ebert wishes to play out his career at a club anchored in the bottom eight then let him, he can look back on his career in regret at passing up an opportunity to be a one club player at a great club such as West Coast.
clubs were saying same about us last year. we were probably worse than port this year.

they wont be anchored in bottom 8. have some excellent prospects at both ends and midfield. just need a new coach.

not sure about ebert and regrets. at least his family can stop asking him now when he will join port. probably did it to shut everyone up more than anything :p

clubs were saying same about us last year. we were probably worse than port this year.

they wont be anchored in bottom 8. have some excellent prospects at both ends and midfield. just need a new coach.

not sure about ebert and regrets. at least his family can stop asking him now when he will join port. probably did it to shut everyone up more than anything :p
We were probably worse in 2010 than Port were this year? I don't think so.

PA were way worse this year than we were last year. We showed something in patches, just got run over far too much. Can't say the same about their year.

You guys have very split views on Ebert - ranging from absolute spud to very promising young player who you were not adequately compensated for.

He looks like he'll be a good B grader to me and all clubs need those players to be successful.

Ebert will be terrific at Port.

If he loves the club that much I can expect him to fire up and improve massively because of that and be an excellent aquisition .

He has lots of great points but would be fighting for a place with 2 others in 2011 at the Eagles.

He will be missed at Eagles if the Eagles have injury problems.

However Koby Stevens is just as good as him and with his inclusion could make the Eagles the toughest team in the country including Geelong.

The compettion had better expect some stronger Eagles bludgeoning in 2012.

??? I always thought Craig was Brad's father and Russell was Brad's uncle. I think Brett Ebert is Russell's son and Brad's cousin. Would have thought you'd know this as a Port supporter.
Cringe-making mistake and corrected. Believe it or not I woke up at 5 this morning with that mistake in the forefront of my brain, hoping no-one had picked it up. Sigh. :eek:

You certainly know your powerstuff, don't you? ;):eek::eek:
No, as it turned out.

Don't you have a short memory. Where did WC finish last year?

t:p

I reckon we were probably one of the best wooden spoon teams in history.

We won 5 games and had about 5 less then a goal matches against us last year.

We had so much upside and it showed this year.

We were probably worse in 2010 than Port were this year? I don't think so.

We were far stronger on field and had a list of VG experienced players unavailable or severely restricted by injury. Port have nothing.

Off field - like comparing BHP to a dole bludger with a broken shovel and no interest in working.

Brad Ebert is a great kid, was well liked by all in the playing group, and will be missed at WC. Obviously his preference was to play midfield and with that disappearing during the year at WC and becoming more unlikely as time goes on, it made the decision to head off for guaranteed midfield time, that much easier.

What will prove interesting is how he develops from here, knowing it was his skill level and pace (lack of) that prevented him from securing a midfield spot at WC.

His situation strikes me as very much similar to Rowan Jones. Put Ebert in a team thats good or better, and he performs OK as others take the pressure and not him, his mistakes perhaps aren't as critical or as noticeable as there is adequate coverage. However put him in a poor team, and the issues that have held him back come to the forefront again and we start to focus on his faults. I know you could argue this is probably the same for every player, but I reckon for Ebert it is more pronounced.