Satanicroo

Apr 22, 2006
in the country
Victory, St Johnstone
dammit i missed this afternoons interview with Brad at lunchtime today, did anyone else see it ? if so what was he saying plz , seems like tomorrow is part 3 of an extended interview done with julien de stoop

He spoke about wells playing through the midfield next year and how he has by his standards under achieved and that he wants him to reach his full potential before its to late.

That was what stood out to me in the interview - theres 3 parts, part 2 was today and part 3 is tommorow between 12-1 on fox sports news.

I'll give it to you verbatim (having just watched it myself).....

Julian De Stoop (JDS) - I've heard Damien Hardwick say at Richmond that it's very much a rebuilding year, where's this list at?

BS - No, we're not rebuilding, we're developing. This list has alot of talent. The problem with young talent is that they have ups and downs. To become really elite players it's about consistency. In the first month I've seen some really outstanding attributes, and it's about producing that regularly and that's what great players do. They produce close to their best, most of the time. We have those attributes but we just have to build that consistency.

JDS - Just looking at your list, you look very strong in the key position areas with alot of big guys. Have you got the midfield at this stage to be competetive with the better sides?

BS - With our best side, definitely. The problem is with our midfield that we probably don't have the depth right at the moment. So we're looking at addressing that in the draft. We're very confident that we'll get some good midfielders in the draft this year. There are also some players who haven't played alot of midfield...........haven't had that opportunity and they'll get that opportunity this year. So we really need to identify some new players in that area. We've got a couple of potential surprises in the midfield that we think can play in there. I'm sure we'll surprise alot of people but based on what I've seen so far I think some players have the attributes to play in there that will be a surprise.

JDS - Can you give us a couple of names?

BS - Well I think Robbie Tarrant is someone who runs extremely well. Just because you're a good runner doesn't make you a midfielder but he has other attributes...........he's very clean, he's very agile for a guy who's almost 100kg's and 197cm's. He has certain attributes which mean he could potentially play midfield. He's a very exciting player and North Melbourne fans will be very excited about seeing him out on the ground.

JDS - To give some of these new guys a chance in the middle do you have to take some of the mainstays out? We saw Adelaide do it very successfully with Goodwin and McLeod going out and Vince and these sorta guys going in and transforming their side, is that what you have to do? Guys like Harvey and that you may need to find another role?

BS - Well I think they'd play in there less permanently. I think there's still time for them to go through there. The way the game's played now, really you play with 14 midfielders anyway, and the balance is made up of some mediums and only a few talls. So most players go through the midfield at some stage and we'll be looking to evolve our flexibility through the midfield, so we certainly won't pigeon hole guys into flanks and wings. We'll put them all through the midfield at some stage.

JDS - What about Daniel Wells? He's been sort of nursed through the preseason a bit, just trying to get him right for round one. He seems to have been teasing for a long time. Have you got a different role for him or have you got some great ideas to try to get him up and going and make him a consistent AFL player?

BS - Yeah I think Daniel, he's such a sublime talent. On any measure, he's under achieved. He's aware of that........we're aware of that, the football world is aware of that............but, he has difficulty living up to that potential because his potential is to be one of the top few players in the competition, so that can be a burden for a player like him. But I'm really keen to bring him through the midfield, because he uses the ball so well and he runs so well. He's often been considered an outside player but the fact is he can win the ball as well as anyone, so we'll be looking to get him through the midfield.

JDS - To lose Josh Gibson, and Jesse Smith I guess, how big a blow was that? The reasons were very different and I guess how disappointing were the reasons?

BS - Look it was very disappointing for different reasons. Josh decided he wanted to move on for opportunity, which surprised me somewhat. It's very rare a player who came 5th in your best and fairest wants to move onto another club for an opportunity. That doesn't seem to make alot of sense to me and I'm sure it doesn't to alot of other people. But Josh has his reasons and we'll move on as a club. But Josh was an established player here, and when you have an established player who doesn't want to play for you it makes the decision very easy. We've got to address the reasons why that is. In Jesse Smith's case his reasons were very different. He's been very unfortunate with injury in the last two years. He hasn't played any footy in the last two years actually so he felt we didn't have the facilities and the staff to support him. Now I don't believe that's the case, and the club has invested very heavily in him, but the fact he had that perception is an issue, so we have to address that issue and ensure the players don't have that perception.

Part 3 tomorrow, as stated above, between 12 and 1pm.

There are also some players who haven't played alot of midfield...........haven't had that opportunity and they'll get that opportunity this year. So we really need to identify some new players in that area. We've got a couple of potential surprises in the midfield that we think can play in there. I'm sure we'll surprise alot of people but based on what I've seen so far I think some players have the attributes to play in there that will be a surprise.

Tarrant, Hansen, Flash, McMahon?

Thanks heaps Toe's for posting the transcript of Brad's interview on Fox.
I particularly liked the answer he gave about JWS- summed the situation up brilliantly.

Scott's attitude and approach to coaching is refreshing and innovative and I believe we will see him get the very best out of our list.

Can't wait to see what other exciting young players will be added to our list at tonight's draft.

Go Roos:thumbsu:

BS - Well I think Robbie Tarrant is someone who runs extremely well.

lol. Ain't this the truth?

Bon seems to have adopted what some of the better track watchers on BF have been saying since that intra-club match earlier this year.

Much of what he said is similar to his SEN interview with Timmy and Andy.

Thanks to TT for the transcript and to the other posters for the heads up:thumbsu:.

A couple of typos there Twinkletoes. A bit more attention to detail would be appreciated in the future mate.

Hehee, you're not wrong rb. I had a quick look and I'm surprised any of it made sense! Anyhoo, fixed. Not easy speed typing in the dark.

He's an impressive interviewee is Bon. The entire segment was backed with footage of Tarrant at training, footage of Wellsy at training and the entire playing list doing boxing training (geez they look to be developing their upper bodies already), as well as footage of Boomer at full pace whilst training.

I look forward to viewing part 3. If anyone's seen it today maybe they could update us as to it's content?

Brad on fox sports news