Brad Scott = SPUD

AT lEAST WE WERE COMPETITIVE FOR A QTR AND A HALF IN THAT GAME.
SORRY FOR BRINGING THIS ONE UP AGAIN SHAGGA.

We were competitive for the second and third quarters tonight. The Saints won those quarters 8.3 to 5.3. It was the first and fourth quarters where we were at our most shizenhousen, with the Saints piling on 15.2 to 1.0.

Given the fact the players were ushered straight back to Arden St post match I'm tipping they're already "learning" from it Carnthe...........with the aid of a leather paddle!

All players being forced to watch the game on repeat overnight with toothpicks propping open the eyelids... I can see it now. A coaching masterstroke.

We had more clearances and more tackles than the Saints yet again we finish with a miserly number of inside 50s. The biggest difference between the two sides was ball use. The Saints were so sure with the footy around contests and were always able to find a player in space, whereas we made skill errors, gave to players in poor positions and in general the Saints ran to space alot harder than us. Alot of that can be put down to experience, but you need to learn from the experience too, and I have confidence that the guys in charge will instill this.

I knew this thus my comment clearing/blocking for the player with the ball our use of the ball wasn't exactly great due to the saints pressuring us to kick it quicker than we would have liked.

Given the fact the players were ushered straight back to Arden St post match I'm tipping they're already "learning" from it Carnthe...........with the aid of a leather paddle!

Sounds a tad ghey, but will make up for all the leather they missed out on at Etihad tonight.

If you want to insist on calling Hale a ruck, StKilda had Pattinson, Gardiner and McEvoy. Very similar size setup to ours.

It wasnt our forwardline that was the problem today.

Hale was good up forward from the opportunities he got (apart from missing 2 early set shots). He is no longer a ruck anymore and as such shouldnt be referred to as a ruckman. Should be judged on his forward play.

Goldstein and McIntosh can play in the team together as ruckmen, no doubt about that.

Lol ....

Brad Scott will not see the season out , If this team puts this rubbish up . what a joke . Wasted my hard earned for this shit membership. Crocker would have done better at least we beat them last year under his guide . All the new facilities new coach new era yeah new era of shit .

I find this thread totally unecessary and unwarranted. Honestly if you call yourself a true north supporter through and through you would not question having to help out the club by purchasing a membership win, lose or draw. Or maybe this why the club struggles to get previous members to renew because they aren't truly committed to the club??? Teams do not go through seasons undefeated so there will always be losses. Granted this was a big one, which we were clearly made to look like a bunch of boys up against men.

It has already been noted that we had 9 guys who have played under 20 games of senior football....almost half the team!!! When you have such raw, inexperienced talent it is only natural that incosistent preformances will surface. I'm not saying we should accept it but probably need to be a bit more tolerant and patient with the new team. To be so critical of the team and the coach after 2 games of the season (and 1 really bad game) I think is harsh. Maybe we (North supporters) over-estimated where we are at right now??? But with so many good young, talented players in the system they need time to find their feet....there aren't many players who have played under 20 games in any team that come in and dominate games in the AFL.

As for the facilities comment......the club is trying to pump up how the club is rebuilding and becoming more modern and not stuck in the days of training facilities reminiscent of the 70s....cant really question them for doing that???

I find this thread totally unecessary and unwarranted. Honestly if you call yourself a true north supporter through and through you would not question having to help out the club by purchasing a membership win, lose or draw. Or maybe this why the club struggles to get previous members to renew because they aren't truly committed to the club??? Teams do not go through seasons undefeated so there will always be losses. Granted this was a big one, which we were clearly made to look like a bunch of boys up against men.

It has already been noted that we had 9 guys who have played under 20 games of senior football....almost half the team!!! When you have such raw, inexperienced talent it is only natural that incosistent preformances will surface. I'm not saying we should accept it but probably need to be a bit more tolerant and patient with the new team. To be so critical of the team and the coach after 2 games of the season (and 1 really bad game) I think is harsh. Maybe we (North supporters) over-estimated where we are at right now??? But with so many good young, talented players in the system they need time to find their feet....there aren't many players who have played under 20 games in any team that come in and dominate games in the AFL.
quote]

Very good call. As North Melbourne supporters you couldnt be anything but bitterly disappointed at our performance.

For what my humble opinion is worth I think that our performance against Geelong in the NAB Cup was inspiring to watch and gave us a taste of the talent that is developing but that is just it......its a developing talent, and perhaps it did make us over-estimate where the club is at this time.

But to call for Scott's blood two weeks into the premiership season is just a joke. There was also a team of players out there last night who let the side down and themselves down........do we call for their sacking as well??

A bit of calm is needed, I knew when I renewed my membership this year that it would be a rollercoaster ride and there would be alot of disappointment but also a lot of excitement in watching the young boys develop.

Our time will come and until then a bit of support for the boys and coaching staff is needed and not stupid threads like this two weeks into the season

At least Scott would've taken out Harvey's tagger ! Week in week out we give no support to Harvey . Bunch of soft c..ks only worried about themselves . The good sides don't stand for it !!!!

Read most of the posts on here and this is the one that stood out the most.

I agree 100%.

If you ever wondered how Ablett gets 35+ touches every week go and watch the cats live and see how much work his team mates do for him. Blocking and bashing his opponent and giving him the ball at every opportunity.

Not only do our players not do that butthey also allowed the other Saints players to bash and crash Harvey all night.

*Also thought that Harvey could have showed a bit more but thats another topic

i just dont understand why you have guys in the commentary box that can quite easily come up with ideas to change things up re blighty's comments midway through the first quarter, our coaching staff oviously cant see the changes that need to be made.... maybe they should get a tv in the coachnig box so they can get some proper ideas from the commentators

however in saying this i do have complete faith that scott will turn out to be a proud successful coach with north! anyone calling for his head should be shot. He is a smart bloke and is only in his second game, he will learn from this! Lets wait until Round 20 when we play the saints again and see if there is any improvement but until then keep the faith guys.

WE ARE YOUNG, WE ARE TALENTED, AND WE WILL BECOME A GREAT TEAM JUST GIVE IT TIME!

To say tonight was disappointing is an understatement but the thing i found the most puzzling was the short forward line we had apart from Hale.
Surely one of Josh Smith, Aaron Edwards or Robbie Tarrant would have pushed the St Kilda backs a little harder and maybe given David Hale more of a go without 3 defenders on him.
The mids had a bad bad night and I am sure they will be made more than aware of it during the week but I think we just need to bury this one and move onto who is going to stop the other Nic next week.

Read most of the posts on here and this is the one that stood out the most.

I agree 100%.

If you ever wondered how Ablett gets 35+ touches every week go and watch the cats live and see how much work his team mates do for him. Blocking and bashing his opponent and giving him the ball at every opportunity.

Not only do our players not do that butthey also allowed the other Saints players to bash and crash Harvey all night.

*Also thought that Harvey could have showed a bit more but thats another topic

Hang on matey, forgetting Selwood, Ablett's team mates are all 10 year players with experienced bodies. Apart from Harvey, who was beaten granted, our most experienced midfielder was Swallow with 60 games. Yeah, it was a shocker, but some perspective wouldn't go astray.

You cant undo 7 years of poor coaching and crap gameplan over night.

BigRed

biggest cop out in this whole thread... you should be in politics mate...

I am not too fazed about the loss last night... we have had these in the past and will have a few more in the future... what I look forward to is how we respond... we will learn how mentally strong our list is next week...

I say give me a dose of shinboner spirit this week...

I heard it mentioned last night that half of the North side had played less than 20 games.

I recall a few years ago Essendon were in that position and i saw the same same skill errors and sloppy play and now some of the better players are the ones who some Essendon supporters use to come onto Bigfooty and rubbish day after day.

The Saints are a brillant side and what North need to do is not over react but look at the positives and yes there are a few.

you have a group of guys that are new to the AFL and will be hurting from this but it should in time make them stronger.

There were times in that first half when North had numbers around the ball and with some experience and a target or two up forward could have been closer.

I heard it mentioned last night that half of the North side had played less than 20 games.

I recall a few years ago Essendon were in that position and i saw the same same skill errors and sloppy play and now some of the better players are the ones who some Essendon supporters use to come onto Bigfooty and rubbish day after day.

The Saints are a brillant side and what North need to do is not over react but look at the positives and yes there are a few.

you have a group of guys that are new to the AFL and will be hurting from this but it should in time make them stronger.

There were times in that first half when North had numbers around the ball and with some experience and a target or two up forward could have been closer.

I agree with you but some of the criticisms are warranted. Dropping McMahon and Harding was stupid. We beat this mob two H&A games ago. Petrie was a big part of that as was Greenwood's job on Dal Santo, but Milne had a ball last night and didn't get a kick last year on McMahon, just as an example. We'll wear the shitcanning because Scott is only a baby, and in all honesty, we were disgraceful.

Alistair Clarkson's first 11 games as Hawthorn coach in 2005:

Rd 1: Sydney 18.10 (118) d. Hawthorn 8.7 (55) by 63 pts
Rd 2: Richmond 16.7 (103) d. Hawthorn 12.17 (89) by 14 ts
Rd 3: Essendon 10.17 (77) d. Hawthorn 11.9 (75) by 2 pts
Rd 4: Hawthorn 18.7 (115) d. Brisbane 10.9 (69) by 46 pts
Rd 5: Kangaroos 16.12 (108) d. Hawthorn 13.11 (89) by 19 pts :p
Rd 6: Carlton 13.11 (89) d. Hawthorn 12.11 (83) by 6 pts
Rd 7: West Coast 14.12 (96) d. Hawthorn 12.5 (77) by 19 pts
Rd 8: Hawthorn 19.14 (128) d. Melbourne 13.11 (89) by 39 pts
Rd 9: Hawthorn 18.16 (124) d. Fremantle 10.10 (70) by 54 pts
Rd 10: Collingwood 17.6 (108) d. Hawthorn 12.8 (80) by 28 pts
Rd 11: Western Bulldogs 17.9 (111) d. Hawthorn 13.11 (89) by 22 pts

Record after 11 rounds: 3-8
Record after 22 rounds: 5-17 (14th place)

Rounds 12 and 13 in 2005 were losses by 46 pts to St Kilda and by 117 pts to the Power.

They also got beaten by Freo by 96pts early in 2006. They improved, however, finishing 11th in 2006 and 5th in 2007. Of course in 2008 they beat Geelong and won the premiership.

Their top four possession winners in 2005 (avg/game) were Hodge, Mitchell, Crawford and Bateman. These guys were their core midfield in their premiership year. Additionally, Lance Franklin, Jordan Lewis and Jarryd Roughead won rising star nominations. Signs of things to come?

The 2005 scores above illustrate the nature of a club's first season under a new coach, particularly the up and down results experienced, and some of the thrashings that can occur with a young side and a young coach.

Give Brad Scott at least two years before passing any judgement.

As for us, in terms of our list, can we match Hawthorn of 2005? Do we have the same quality midfielders they had? I guess that is the question. Do we have a potential Franklin or Roughead? Maybe too early to tell.

I am more concerned about the # of short people and rakes than the # of games or the obligatory 3 ruckmen dribble people spout on here.

A # of our more experienced players are not exactly the most physical guys going around.

Scott needs to keep this in mind when selecting the younger blokes.

Hey guys, don't mean to intrude on your board but I started a thread o nthe main board about your prospects against WCE (I believe you have a real shot at beating them)

Head over and let me know your thoughts.

The only logical conclusion that I can arrive at is that Bon has placed development ahead of wins and percentage.

How else can you explain dropping McMahon then playing Goldstein in the backline, or putting Hunter on Milne, or going in to a game with an inexperienced midfield and no hit up marking option at CHF to help bail them out?

I have no problem with what Bon is doing because realistically,the last time it occurred at our club was 1990.

We all know what followed.;):thumbsu:

All of you guys who are saying this thread is a total over reaction, how do you think Brayshaw & Arocca felt watching that last night?.

In thier heads, all that was going through were two words, Sponsors & Membership.

Last nights game was over after 15 mins, the round one game was over at QTR time. There is something very wrong.

Blights comments last night were interesting for one thing only, TRY SOMETHING!. That didn't happen from the North box. The best he could come up with was Goldstein onto Riewoldt, wow.

Mr Blonde said earlier, "David Hale is a full forward". If he is then god help us.
How many times have you seen him actually lead for the ball so far this season?, he is not strong enough to out wrestle even a mid sized defender.

Don't get me wrong, he was far from the worst tonight, but the most entertaining thing about him is seing if that road kill sticks to his scone.

I like many have a very bad feeling about Scott, not sure what the club would do after a few more of these performances.

I'm a member, watching last night, already I don't want to waste a Saturday arvo going to watch that sort of effort from the North Melbourne football Dept.

What an overreaction and weak:thumbsdown:

One bad loss and most want to slash their wrists, really pathetic.

Judge at the end of the year when Scott ha had an opportunity.

In 1986, i went to have an "eyeball" with a YL in the city square. I bought her a thick shake from Maccas (not her first, I assumed) and then she told me she wouldn't be seen dead holding hands with a dweeb like me.
I cried all over my brand new "Cosby" sweater and wondered if the sun would ever shine again.

Last night was not far away.

In 1986, i went to have an "eyeball" with a YL in the city square. I bought her a thick shake from Maccas (not her first, I assumed) and then she told me she wouldn't be seen dead holding hands with a dweeb like me.
I cried all over my brand new "Cosby" sweater and wondered if the sun would ever shine again.

Last night was not far away.

Girls don't like strawberry shakes. We think they're gonna, because they are pink and we figure chicks like pink stuff. But they want chocolate shakes. Always chocolate.

Brad Scott = SPUD