BREAKING NEWS - Andrew Johns Announces Retirement from Rugby League Effect Immediately

Guys it's only my opinion.. Judging the "Best ever" is too hard, different era's and circumstances make it impossible to judge!! You have to remember as well, Joey may have been the most skillful BUT he did play in a time when RL became fully professional, all they do is train!!!

Those Bulldogs and Parramatta teams were of the 80's were AWESOME but without Sterling or Mortimer they wouldn't of won the GF's IMO... What about the Dragon's team of the 50's & 60's???? it was pretty much the Australian team so is it unfair that individual's in that team make the hall of fame and not the whole team? IMO and it's only my opinion there was a lot of Media beat up for John's.. Newcastle and both John boys have always been the media darlings.

Those others don't come close as far as skill levels are concerned (and Laurie Daley is my all time fave player). Don't get me wrong they were all brillant players and could dominate a game but no one had the all round game that Johns had.

The amount of GF's won means jack (some of the best players of the modern era haven't won a GF eg. Steve Rogers) - one player doesn't win it on their lonesome. Besides all the other players mentioned have only been in 3 to 5 GF teams - Joey was in 2.

Winning GF's makes all the difference! Has anyone seen that AFL commercial, where a bald dude (Sorry don't know who he is) said 'winning a GF separates the good from the great' or something to that effect?

Wally may have dominated origin, but Joey when fit and playing position killed it. 2005 comeback is the prime example. Wally never played in the best comp for his whole career.

Joey did it all, won premierships, world cups, origins, captained at all levels, revolutionalised the game, all time point scoring record, dally m's, golden boot, clive churchill medal and had THE COMPLETE PACKAGE.

Now go back up to your list, look at the players you've named and tell me how many had the skills, acheived the things and had the impact on Rugby League the Andrew Johns did. When his peers and past greats call him the greatest, that isnt media hype, its credibility

Those others don't come close as far as skill levels are concerned (and Laurie Daley is my all time fave player). Don't get me wrong they were all brillant players and could dominate a game but no one had the all round game that Johns had.

The amount of GF's won means jack (some of the best players of the modern era haven't won a GF eg. Steve Rogers) - one player doesn't win it on their lonesome. Besides all the other players mentioned have only been in 3 to 5 GF teams - Joey was in 2.
You guys must be joking surely?? :confused:

Did you not see Wally Lewis play?

Lewis >>>> Johns in terms of playing ability, skill, and impact on rugby league. That's not having a go at Joey, but he is no King.

Reg Reagan was the greatest r league player ever to pull on the boots but Joey not far behind. I am looking forward to when they both get together on the footy show and hook into one another.
The show was OK around 94-98.

Now A. Johns will be added to the panel. They may as well broadcast out of Newcastle. :rolleyes:

such a shock that johns quit. was a typical legend. he was the perfect role model of a player loved by his team, loved by his family (last week friday at half time just showed the emotion of matty johns when talking about his brother) but most of all loved by a lot of league fans. he was the face of the league when it fell apart from the super league war. kudos to johns for giving us something special to see.

Joey is definately one of the greats but at the same time he's a **** as well. That was rediculous what he did as parra stadium last year. Its been backed up this year too, didn't show up to a press conference after a loss. If ur the greatest, you gotta be the greatest in a win and a loss.

The non show at Parra is the one blight on his career. People dont turn up for press conferences all the time, the fact that it was Joey was the only reason it was highlighted. The bloke lived in a fishbowl in Newcastle, every move was scrutinised, for the couple of things you highlighted there there were thousands more positives and people he pleased.

As an eels follower I wasnt hurt by a no show.

He was in the spotlight for 15 years, and thats all you've got to show for him being an arseh*le? I reckon I could find people who would come out with thousands of stories, the time they got an autograph, the time he helped out a local hospital or charity. Take a step back and look at the bigger picture.

The non show at Parra is the one blight on his career. People dont turn up for press conferences all the time, the fact that it was Joey was the only reason it was highlighted. The bloke lived in a fishbowl in Newcastle, every move was scrutinised, for the couple of things you highlighted there there were thousands more positives and people he pleased.

As an eels follower I wasnt hurt by a no show.

He was in the spotlight for 15 years, and thats all you've got to show for him being an arseh*le? I reckon I could find people who would come out with thousands of stories, the time they got an autograph, the time he helped out a local hospital or charity. Take a step back and look at the bigger picture.
im talkin about the ceremony parra did to honour him, they were being nice ffs. what does that have to do with him being in Newcastle. he acted like a tool.
I know he's the greatest(that i have seen, hasn't been that long) but only on the field. I will tell my kids he was the greatest on the field and a loser off it.

I feel the same way the day shane warne announced his retirement.

Correct desicion - neck injuries are very serious and it's great there is no long term damage to his health. Last thing we would like to see is joey pushing it a little more and doing something serious.

Great career - sad day for rugby league. sad week in fact.

You guys must be joking surely?? :confused:

Did you not see Wally Lewis play?

Lewis >>>> Johns in terms of playing ability, skill, and impact on rugby league. That's not having a go at Joey, but he is no King.

Agree Lewis was sensational - but I still rate Johns as the best there is. When you look at it we are comparing different styles of players who also play different positions and thus makes it hard to gauge.

Lewis definitely dominated more at State level but week in week out Johns has always been the most consistent (he was consistently brillant) player going around.

im talkin about the ceremony parra did to honour him, they were being nice ffs. what does that have to do with him being in Newcastle. he acted like a tool.
I know he's the greatest(that i have seen, hasn't been that long) but only on the field. I will tell my kids he was the greatest on the field and a loser off it.

i remember that occasion. didnt he publicly apoligise for it?

on the other hand you could look at it that he didnt want to put himself in front of his team. newcastle were absolutely destroyed from memory
its all about perspective

and Lebforces you are kidding yourself if you think all those players are better than joey and that joey does not deserve to be considered 'great'.

Joey played in an era of the salary cap and an even competition. Look at the talent in the Eels, Dogs teams of the 80's, Raiders and Broncos of the early 90's.

good point. then look at newcastle from 1995 - now

would he be the best half ever? I know sterlo, lamb were great but i didn't see them playing plus they played in an era when players weren't footy players fulltime.

i remember that occasion. didnt he publicly apoligise for it?

on the other hand you could look at it that he didnt want to put himself in front of his team. newcastle were absolutely destroyed from memory
its all about perspective

and Lebforces you are kidding yourself if you think all those players are better than joey and that joey does not deserve to be considered 'great'.

good point. then look at newcastle from 1995 - now

2001 Knights team has the likes of Kennedy, Buderus, The Gidley brothers, Tahu, Perry, O'Davis, Steve Simpson, Macdougal, Fairleigh... That is one awesome team!!!

Joey was a good player but not great IMHO...

2001 Knights team has the likes of Kennedy, Buderus, The Gidley brothers, Tahu, Perry, O'Davis, Steve Simpson, Macdougal, Fairleigh... That is one awesome team!!!

...and yet somehow they weren't even expected to win the Grand Final, nor even get close to Parramatta. Same in 1997. Says something when his only two Premierships were completely out of the blue so to speak.

Joey was a good player but not great IMHO...

Your entitled to your thoughts and I'll give you that, but I can't agree with your view on Johns. I'm a Queensland fan in Origin and the thought of him making a comeback this year wasn't filling me with too much joy I can tell you.

In my opinion Johns is the best player since the ARL/Super League split.

I feel guilty for being glad that Johns withdrew from the Knights game against Melbourne last weekend.:(
With the benefit of hindsight, I would have gladly sacrificed 2 points for Joey having one last run around the park and going off on a winning note.

Very good player, but he was no Peter Sterling.

Sterling dominated club games, State games and International games.

Johns himself said he never dominated rep games like he wanted too.

He didn't really play too many times for Australia for a guy as good as he was because of injuries.

I never seen Joey get a MOTM award for NSW in a losing side like old snorky did.

Still, very good player, the best in the last 10 years and should go down as one of the best ever, not the best, but in a group with the best.

Warrington fans are now hanging themselves :D

**** - so he's only retired? Could've sworn he fell off the perch.

Just back after a couple of days in Sydney. Media frenzy way over the top up in Sin City.

...and yet somehow they weren't even expected to win the Grand Final, nor even get close to Parramatta. Same in 1997. Says something when his only two Premierships were completely out of the blue so to speak.

If 1997 was unified they would not of won the GF as Brisbane were the best side in the land (Which they easily showed in 1998)... 2001 they weren't expected to win because Parramatta were hot favourites BUT we all know Parramatta chocked and they are reknowned chockers... Sorry to all Parramatta fans!

Your entitled to your thoughts and I'll give you that, but I can't agree with your view on Johns. I'm a Queensland fan in Origin and the thought of him making a comeback this year wasn't filling me with too much joy I can tell you.

In my opinion Johns is the best player since the ARL/Super League split.

Yeah he is one of the best players since the ARL/Super League split i agree... But that doesn't make him an immortal of the game. It's funny how HARD the news limited papers are pushing for him to become an immortal and how ****ty they are that Rugby League Weekly are behind the immortal inductes and not them:D :thumbsu: Thank God For That!!

2001 they weren't expected to win because Parramatta were hot favourites BUT we all know Parramatta chocked and they are reknowned chockers... Sorry to all Parramatta fans!
No, Brian Smith has the Choke factor not Parramatta. Parra won 4 prems, if we were chokers we would have lost all of them.

BREAKING NEWS - Andrew Johns Announces Retirement from Rugby League Effect Immediately