Past Brendan Fevola (2010-2011)

Re: Brendan Fevola

Fev is taking the piss. He is as fat as a pig, he is not providing a genuine contest, he has been playing for himself (i.e. going for arsey kicks of the ground, etc... instead of providing multiple strong leads regardless of whether the ball is getting kicked to him or not), and he has been cheating (i.e. not chasing or ducking behind his opponent in the hope of a cheap goal to the detriment of the team).

His attitude reminds me of the old days when vic players came up to Brisbane/Carrara and used the club as their retirement plan.

Drop Fat Fev and let him play seconds until he gets to a fitness level and attitude required of a professional footballer.
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

I like Brendan Fevola as a person and a footy player. He seems like a pretty lovable larrikin - a big kid that never really grew up. I have also heard first hand from a doctor how much of his time he has put in to helping out sick kids. As a footy player, at his best he is a superstar that wins matches.

I am still unsure if the benefit of getting him was worth the costs to our Club. Overall I still think it will hopefully turn out positive. He has brought huge publicity to the Club in Brisbane and around Australia. He has managed to kick a large number of goals despite his life being turned upside down, having injury and fitness concerns, and a team that gives atrocious delivery. (On the other hand we lost Henderson + a draft pick, and Bradshaw as well; plus we may have created a degree of mercenary mentality within our own player list).

Against Richmond he mentally cracked on the footy field. Fev can do that, he has done it a number of times before for Carlton. Everything he touched turned to poo. I am not sure if it was his personal life, his fitness, the poor form of the team or all of these factors, but everything went wrong for him.

I hope he gets over all of his personal problems, and I hope he can turn it around soon on the field.

Having said all of that - I am pretty concerned by Fev's obvious lack of fitness compared to previous years at Carlton. What is going on? In particular, what is going on with his weight??? He seems unable to beat anyone on the lead - is it just injury related or has his personal issues caused him to drop off fitness wise, or both???

Voss ponders life without Fevola
  • Andrew Hamilton
  • June 20, 2010 9:33PM
On form, Fevola doesn't deserve to hold his spot. If he plays against Carlton in round 13, Voss's bold declaration will be exposed as hollow rhetoric.

But with Jonathan Brown scheduled to miss that game, can he afford to go in to an away game without his main goal kicker?And how would Fevola react to a week in the 2s - does it sting him into action or will the coach lose him?

On the flip side, what does his continued immunity say to a bloke such as Travis Johnstone, who gets dropped every time he has a shocker?
These are the answers Voss must find.

fevola80.jpg

Link

Of course, you'd hope, given the gravity of the situation, that a three-time All-Australian and dual Coleman medallist would be making it his mission to lead from the front. But in the history of Fevola sulks, Saturday night's was not one of his finest, looking disinterested in the warm-up and reportedly late for the pre-game team meeting. Good one, Fev. Just what was needed.

We all know Fevola has spent a career getting ahead of himself. Which might just mean he's in the perfect environment. Because that's what his new club has done, too.

fevola87.jpg

That was as bad a display from a player with talent I have seen since .. ( can't remember ). Could have won the game with just a minimal amout of application.

It pains me to say it, but get used to it.

Happy if you guys can change him, but I'll be very surprised.

Parkin couldn't get it out of him, neither could Brittan, Pagan or Ratts.

We dropped him, fined him, kicked him off the leadership group, Brittan wanted him gone, Pagan saved him, we fined him again, benched him (he sulked so hard he took his boots off)... Pagan even played him at full back vs the Saints (on Fraser Gehrig who kicked 8 on him IIRC). Ratten finally traded him off.

The way I handled it was just try to appreciate him for who he is (and enjoy his good games).

For the record Fevola's solitary goal came from this blatant free kick for ... um ... excessive ... interference ... um ... near the back.

fevola.jpg

Fev wasn't worth another punt, says Alex

• Fiona Byrne
  • June 21, 2010 12:01AM
"I'm back in Melbourne on principle," Alex told the magazine."I'd told myself if anything else happened I'd leave.
"It was a case of enough being enough and knowing I had to do something to make Brendan wake up before it was too late."

"The photo was no secret. A friend told me it was out there a long time ago," Alex Fevola said. "I'm just surprised (Lara) chose to rehash it so long after the affair, because I thought everyone had moved on."

Despite living in different cities the estranged couple spend plenty of time together. Alex was in Brisbane with her daughters to watch Brendan play his 200th AFL match on Saturday night.

brendanfevola.jpg

Fev's game on Saturday night would have to go down as one of the poorest efforts, if not the weakest effort, by any player who has ever put on a Lions jersey...just disgraceful.
My take on it is that the 200 game stuff with family and kids well and truly got between his ears. To have his 3 kids living in Melbourne with his estranged wife and have them all there and run out on the field with them would sap anyone in that predicament. I was disgusted with his lack of effort and am not making excuses for him, just trying to find a palatable spin. Bloody hell it was bad and worse still it was infectious...

That was the general view at Carlton as well.

Could possibly be the other way around.

We still appear to be hot and cold even without Fevola.

Maybe we Carltoned him?

Nah, Henderson's a cancer. :p

Fev having such an off night was certainly deflating for me on the night - I wouldn't be surprised if it had a similar impact on some of the players - fostering an "it is just not our night" mentality.

I'm not suggesting it caused a lack of effort from others, but perhaps a lack of belief which can impact any number of areas. The same theory has an obvious flip side which IMO Fev is yet to demonstrate too often in Lions colours - when he's on and buzzing it can lift the team above themselves.

I believe Brown has the same impact, but because his (injury-free) lows aren't as calamitous the down-swings aren't as noticeable. With the two in the side injury-free I think Brown's performance moderates Fev's - both the highs and the lows.

Nah, Henderson's a cancer. :p

Fev having such an off night was certainly deflating for me on the night - I wouldn't be surprised if it had a similar impact on some of the players - fostering an "it is just not our night" mentality.

Without blaming Fevola, I reckon its deflating on the team as well.

He just has one of those personalities that can drag people along with him.

Used to see it a bit in the Army.

Link

After a five-goal haul against North Melbourne, Fevola has only kicked three goals in his last two games. But Jamison said that makes Fevola even more dangerous.
"Especially if you realise he hasn't been in good form and you play him like that," he said.
"As soon as you take Brendan easy, he can kick four in a quarter, as we saw not too long ago.
"You prepare for him to play at his best and I will certainly be doing that."

fevola90.jpg

Brendan Fevola under pressure as Brisbane Lions take on Carlton Blues

• Andrew Hamilton
  • June 29, 2010 12:00AM
Ironically, the man under the most pressure is the one responsible for the unusual scheduling of this match – ex-Blue Brendan Fevola. Fevola is no certainty to hold his place after Voss's promise no one was immune from demotion. Although a lack of key forwards in the reserves, the continued absence of skipper Jonathan Brown and the fact he is capable of single-handedly tearing a game apart are likely to save him.

Voss had no doubts the AFL gave the Lions just the third Thursday night game of the season in order to maximise the national audience for Fevola's first game in Melbourne against his old club. Voss said that he "couldn't care" about the theatre surrounding Fevola but welcomed the national exposure his side would receive on Thursday night when they are the only game in the country.

fevola46.jpg

Very revealing article here, I suggest people click the link and read the whole thing.

- Hammo confirms that Fev will miss the Blues game with injury

- Confirms that the Fev BBQ story was nothing more than a hoax and that the Lions are trying to get to the bottom of the email

- Fev was given a botched painkilling injection before the Richmond game that robbed him of all feeling in his foot. Explains that miscue in the goalsquare and his inability to run.

NOW GIVE HIM A BREAK! :p

Link

The controversial recruit has been the subject of several wild rumours this week, none of which appear to be accurate. An email has swept through football circles while text messages have run hot, claiming Fevola has fallen out with the Lions over incidents at a barbecue.

In one version Fevola was accused of running amok at the barbecue at captain Jonathan Brown's home last week where he was alleged to have made innapropriate comments to a teammate's girlfriend.

It was claimed that Brown intervened sparking a stoush between the two men, but the club has strongly denied the rumour.

The Courier-Mail could not find a single legitimate source that confirmed the rumour and it is understood Fevola and Brown spent last week in Adelaide together receiving treatment from leading physio Steve Saunders.

The Lions are privately fuming at what they see as a deliberately malicious attempt to destabilise the club and have attempted to get to the bottom of who created the email.

The Age

No Truth To Rumours

CHASING down rumours about Brendan Fevola is just about a full-time job, but one sent the football world into overdrive yesterday afternoon. A well-travelled email suggests that a rumble in the sub-tropics has taken place between Fev and his Brisbane Lions teammate Jonathan Brown.

''Apparently Brown held a BBQ for the players and partners to celebrate Fevola's 200th the day after they lost to Richmond at the Gabba,'' states the email. It suggests that, ''after a few frothies and a sausage'', an untoward pass was made at the female friend of a Lions teammate, and a ''toe-to-toe in Brown's backyard'' ensued between the burly forwards.

The missive has circulated through many AFL club inboxes, the electronic paper trail reveals, including Brisbane Lions, where a few phone calls were made yesterday. Sporting Life can confirm that Brown did, indeed, host a barbecue for Fev for his 200th, but players in attendance are adamant the rest of the email is ''complete crap''.

fevola65.jpg
Discussion Thread

Very revealing article here, I suggest people click the link and read the whole thing.

- Hammo confirms that Fev will miss the Blues game with injury

- Confirms that the Fev BBQ story was nothing more than a hoax and that the Lions are trying to get to the bottom of the email

- Fev was given a botched painkilling injection before the Richmond game that robbed him of all feeling in his foot. Explains that miscue in the goalsquare and his inability to run.

NOW GIVE HIM A BREAK! :p

Link

Maybe a Chris Crocker style "You Tube Video - Leave Fev alone" would do it?....;)

The rumour has overshadowed the big news in all of this:

BRENDAN Fevola has been ruled out of Thursday night's clash with Carlton and could face an extended period on the sidelines after suffering a major setback with his abdominal injury.

Australia's Most Trusted People in 2010
Reader's Digest

Those surveyed – a representative sample of 750 Australians – were asked to rate how much they trusted 100 well-known people, on a scale of one-to-ten. At the tail of the field we find: 95) Politician -Stephen Fielding 96) Westpac CEO – Gail Kelly 97) Former cricketer – Shane Warne 98) Model – Lara Bingle 99) AFL player – Brendan Fevola 100) Radio presenter – Kyle Sandilands.

TOP SPORTS/BAD SPORTS – We place incredible pressure on sports people to be ‘community leaders’. Those with our trust include competitors Glenn McGrath (9th), Layne Beachley (20th) and Ricky Ponting (34th). At the other end of the scale there’s Greg Norman (74), Matthew Johns (83), Shane Warne (97) and Brendan Fevola (99).

fevola92.jpg

Fevola injury and rumours rattle wounded Lions

• Jorja Orreal and Valkerie Baynes
  • June 30, 2010 11:00PM
Champion said the constant controversy that seems to follow Fevola, even when they are untrue or of a personal nature, would start to cause friction in the camp.
"I do think that there are problems there from an off-field point of view that maybe need to be addressed and I don't think that's (the rumours) helping the situation," he said.
"I guess it's mainly to do with Fev with his issues that he's got with the gambling problem he had and the break-up of his relationship. All those things probably play a part.
"Without being there firsthand, you don't know how much disharmony it's causing, but it only takes some little issue like that when things aren't going well and it can really fester into a bigger problem and people then start looking for excuses."

fevola13.jpg

Brendan Fevola gossip irks Jonathan Brown

• Jackie Epstein
  • July 01, 2010 12:00AM
"He knows he's in that situation where there are people out to get him and out to get the club, I suppose," Brown said.
"But he handles it all right. He doesn't need to be putting up with just fabricated bull----. If there's a little bit of truth in some stories, well, fair enough. Not when someone just decides to make something up."
"I'd find it very difficult to spend a week with him in Adelaide the day after we've punched on with each other," Brown said.
"We're two pretty big blokes ... I would hope that if we had a decent smack-on we'd at least leave a couple of bruises on each other. I'm sure once we get back out there (playing) we'll show them what we're made of."

fevola66.jpg

Brendan Fevola thrown out of hotel shortly after joining Brisbane Lions

• Anthony Dowsley
  • July 01, 2010 12:00AM
BRENDAN Fevola was involved in an incident with a hotel duty manager during a raucous party he held in his room within weeks of his debut for the Brisbane Lions. The wild incident happened at the St Kilda Rd Quest Apartments in St Kilda, and coincided with his estranged wife, Alex, celebrating her 33rd birthday nearby that weekend.

Fevola and several others were ejected from the building because of complaints about the noise, leading to Fevola going on a 24-hour drinking binge after losing to Melbourne on April 24. It is not known if other Brisbane players were involved, but two women were questioned by police after the 4am scuffle. Quest management has confirmed the incident, in which police were called to ensure Fevola left the building.

fevola91.jpg

Couldn't help to note the timing on this being 'leaked' just before the Carlton game........Are Quest Apartments a sponsor of Carlton?

Oh yes, because the HS and other papers didn't hold stories about Fev and release them at the worst possible time when he was at Carlton :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

It's the media's job to sell papers, and will released stories when it is convenient for them .................

Oh BTW, thanks for taking Fev off our hands :D:D:D And enjoy the ride which is Fevola ...............