Brent Stanton retires

Amazing ain't it. Got a feeling the year off ended his career and he'd be around 285 now if it wasn't for it.
He'd probably have ended up a 300 game player if not for it.

He basically barely missed a game between 2006 and 2015 and even in his first two seasons of 2004-5, he played 34 of a possible 46 games.

He wasn't a star, but he was a very solid foot soldier and I'll miss him.

Didnt his own teams supporters boo him?

Then sook when Jobe got booed the next week?

Yeah the game will be worse off for not having him in the vfl anymore

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
1. He was bronx cheered. Still shithouse, but he was not booed.
2. Your timeline is two years out, well done
3. Jog on with your low rent bullshit

1. He was bronx cheered. Still shithouse, but he was not booed.
2. Your timeline is two years out, well done
3. Jog on with your low rent bullshit
Comments still stand.
Was booed by own supporters, same supporters then cried about one of their own being booed.
Dont feel like jogging on, think i will stay here

Comments still stand.
Was booed by own supporters, same supporters then cried about one of their own being booed.
Dont feel like jogging on, think i will stay here

Oh go away you flog.

The Stanton bronx cheering was 2011. Jobe was 2013. That's not the following week like you originally claimed.

Go and start a shitfight with your crap elsewhere.

Oh go away you flog.

The Stanton bronx cheering was 2011. Jobe was 2013. That's not the following week like you originally claimed.

Go and start a shitfight with your crap elsewhere.
Ok Mrs Stanton. Sorry to insult your son.

Bloke played 250 games, but was an average player.

Shit threads like this one and the Zac Dawson one should not be on this main board

Ok Mrs Stanton. Sorry to insult your son.

Bloke played 250 games, but was an average player.

Shit threads like this one and the Zac Dawson one should not be on this main board

No one is forcing you to read it. The only thing that is shit about it is your rubbish posting. Now piss off.

He was regularly and unfairly scapegoated by Don fans.

Most of the Don mids suspended for taking drugs have struggled in 2015 and 2016. He, Jobe and Heppell have been busts.

Nonetheless Stanton was a fine player IMO and would have got a game at most clubs early to mid career.

My best mate is a Carlton supporter and I go to many games with him. I have seen their supporters giving bronx cheers to many players such as Murphy, Gibbs, Jones and even Judd back in 2015 against Geelong. It is hilarious how people still mention the Stanton 'booing' when in reality Essendon supporters are no worse than others when it comes to that.

It happens at all clubs, and usually with the better players when they have a poor game.

A large part of Stanton's unfair criticism, I think, is that he represented a really, really unsuccessful period for the club. He almost became a symbol of that, actually because he was one of our better players, which is strangely stupid... but the way it tends to work.

He was very good at what he did - very good - but sometimes struggled as he was often required to be a #1 or #2 midfielder in a poor team.

When he had support and others were firing he, not surprisingly, looked awesome. His output went up (his effort and work rate never did, that was 100% consistent and even the whole time).

I've said a few times that if Stanton went to Hawthorn or Geelong instead of Essendon, and played as a 5th or 6th mid, he would have been really highly thought of. Little attention from opposition when there's superstars everywhere.

Somebody like Brent Prismall showed this - pretty well rated as a youngster at Geelong when he was able to do this. He came to Essendon and although he was cruelled by injury, he also didn't have the freedom he had at Geelong. Playing next to each other, Stanton was 5x the footballer Prismall was.

You can perhaps see the same thing with some Hawthorn mids when Lewis and Mitchell left.

Didnt his own teams supporters boo him?

Then sook when Jobe got booed the next week?

Yeah the game will be worse off for not having him in the vfl anymore

Jack Watts of the EFC.
idiotic supporters would have a grudge against him because he was a 1st rd pick.
Lived up to Pick 13 in my opinion. Strong runner, found the ball a lot and 90% of the time used it well.

Jack Watts of the EFC.
idiotic supporters would have a grudge against him because he was a 1st rd pick.
Lived up to Pick 13 in my opinion. Strong runner, found the ball a lot and 90% of the time used it well.
His problem was he was a terrible user of the ball.
Cant argue that he couldnt get it

His problem was he was a terrible user of the ball.
Cant argue that he couldnt get it

by and large he wasn't.
he was a great kick. He had 2, maybe 3, clangers a game that would be howlers.
But short of that he generally used it well.
the myth he was a poor user of the ball is just as bad as the one as he was routinely booed by our supporters.

He got a mild bronx cheer when it was announced he had been subbed off in a game.

He was never booed.

Was booed when he came to the bench in a game at Etihad after a couple of first quarter mistakes. I was there.

Good player, somewhat unfairly maligned at times. The Shaun Grigg of Essendon.

Was booed when he came to the bench in a game at Etihad after a couple of first quarter mistakes. I was there.

Good player, somewhat unfairly maligned at times. The Shaun Grigg of Essendon.

Grigg is a good comparison, but Stanton's peak came sooner, went higher, and lasted longer.

Very good AFL player and one of the best gut running accumulators of the last 15 years. Pity he played in such a shit side.

The sort of player who should have played 122 games for St Kilda and 75 for Fremantle under Ross Lyon.

Not a compliment.

Bad skills but could run hard, tried hard, did his role, and took all he could from his limited attributes. Eh.

And what game was that?

v West Coast 2011

And yeah, I know the party line is that he was bronx-cheered after being subbed out of the game. But this was earlier in the match, when he shanked a kick at half back and when he came to the bench a little later. Not the entire crowd but certainly a concerted effort. Was there with an Eagles supporter, we just looked at each other and said "Tough crowd!".

Brent Stanton retires