Brisbane Implosion - Doesn't Matter Now if Fev "Did it" or Not

absfab

Mar 8, 2009
It would be difficult to overstate just how much strife the Brisbane footy club is now in - and whatever the outcome of the Fev investigation things aren't going to get better. Lets have a look at the issues they face going forward.

Salary Cap That problem is NOT going away overnight. There are a number of precedents where other clubs have not received salary cap relief for more serious player issues. In any case, the steps required to reach a stage where there is even a small chance of that outcome will take years.

Management, Administration and Coaching Absolute loss of credibility on all fronts. Conflict of interest, unhealthy blurring of lines of responsibility and plain old fashioned incompetence.

Player Attitude. I think most supporters of other Clubs would have Brown high on the list of genuinely respected players, and I'm sure his team mates feel that way. By rallying the playing group behind Fevola contrary to the stance taken by management he has essentially delivered a vote of no confidence. The damage on that front has allready been done, and should not be underestimated.

The AFL Some might view the AFL as azzholes, but they are neither stupid nor incompetent. While we have reason to believe that the AFL would dearly love to nail Fev once and for all, they are going to take the course of least damage. All things considered the course of least damage does not include rescuing Brisbane from it's self induced crisis.

AFLPA The Player's Association is quite a powerful group these days. Strip away the sensationalism and what they will be seeing right now is a Club entering into an inflated back ended contract and then trying to escape from the expensive end by finding an excuse to sack the player. No way on earth they will allow a precedent like that to be put in place without a mighty (and messy) battle.

Supporters and Public Perception While Lions fans have a range of opinions on these events, pretty much all of those opinions are highly critical. There's the we should never have recruited this clown camp, the closely related why did we pay so much for him camp, the innocent until proven guilty camp. Out in the wider football world it's pretty widely believed that Brisbane are acting cynically and dishonestly over this issue.

Lawyers Fev already has a law firm conducting his dealings with the footy club, and they are busily steering the process into ground work for a great big lawsuit. It's not impossible that this debacle could actually cost Brisbane MORE than Fev's contracted salary.

Fevola Two potential outcomes. If he stays then you have a bloke with years of form for patchy motivation, and he's seriously peeved on top of it. Ouch. Or he goes, the Club still has the salary cap problem coz it's still paying him, and the playing group as a whole is seriously peeved. Ouch.

I can't see any way out of this corner for the Lions which does not involve serious damage which will continue to bite for years. It'd be a nice start of the entire administration (and probably the coach as well) sacked themselves, but I guess that aint likely to happen.

It would be difficult to overstate just how much strife the Brisbane footy club is now in - and whatever the outcome of the Fev investigation things aren't going to get better. Lets have a look at the issues they face going forward.

I can't see any way out of this corner for the Lions which does not involve serious damage which will continue to bite for years. It'd be a nice start of the entire administration (and probably the coach as well) sacked themselves, but I guess that aint likely to happen.

Fairly accurate IMO, I've had this converstion with a mate already. We were in this position in '98. What differs now is that the AFL have two new babies to look after and we are down the pecking order in terms of assistance.

Carlton have been there too, it took you ten years to get out of it. Problem for us is that there is no Dick Pratt on our horizon.

Your bottom statement is the most correct of the lot.

Carlton have been there too, it took you ten years to get out of it. Problem for us is that there is no Dick Pratt on our horizon.

Yeah. We brought that on ourselves too, albeit in a different way, but I wouldn't wish the experience on any Club no matter how hated they may be.

Management, Administration and Coaching Absolute loss of credibility on all fronts. Conflict of interest, unhealthy blurring of lines of responsibility and plain old fashioned incompetence.

There needs to be a formal complaint made to the appropriate authorities in this regard. I think a certain coach would be in huge amount of trouble if this was fully investigated.

A whole lot of bluster in that list. Yes there are clearly a few problems. No one knows what is being done to resolve them except for the individuals involved.

I posted a while ago that the major review at seasons end will dent quite a few egos at the Lions and some players will look elsewhere. And that was before the Fevola drama's.

Ristechelli has already gone, Brennan is following and Sherman also is looking elsewhere for a trade. Right now it would be a very uncomfortable workplace and I can see the Fevola thing turning into a very expensive legal nightmare.

Tough times........very tough.

Fairly accurate IMO, I've had this converstion with a mate already. We were in this position in '98. What differs now is that the AFL have two new babies to look after and we are down the pecking order in terms of assistance.

Your bottom statement is the most correct of the lot.

Evidence theaty carlton are "out" of their troubles ?

As I see it they have the same issues just different people. Pratt just made them more comfortable thats all

* Played finals last two years
* Got rid of their troublesome players & salary cap issue
* Good group of high draft picks / young players
* Experienced Footy CEO
* Good Corporate Support
* Imroving Membership Numbers

All they need is a good coach and they are right - Just my opinion.

I gave pokies gift for 'love' of Blues
Gambling losses at the four hotels which have the machines totalled $22.6 million last year alone - and pokie takings at a fifth venue will soon add to the club's windfall.

The Blues will pocket a hefty slice of the riches every year.
I gave pokies gift for 'love' of Blues

The AFL would want us at the G once our Etihad contract expires.

We won't be bent over like we were the last time.

Carlton's relationship with the AFL has improved out of sight since 2006.

The club was offered a better deal than we received from Collins to play at Etihad.

Our revenue and membership can only grow if we have a bigger stadium to fill.

We were in this position in '98. What differs now is that the AFL have two new babies to look after and we are down the pecking order in terms of assistance.

One thing in the favour of the Lions is the fact that it will be well in the AFL's interest to nurture a competitive rivalry between the two Queensland clubs. A strong Brisbane will make for more enticing local derbies each season, in effect enhancing the standing and relevance of the Suns in the region.

To propagate the fortunes of the Suns at the expense of the Lions will be counter-productive to the AFL.

Yeah. We brought that on ourselves too, albeit in a different way, but I wouldn't wish the experience on any Club no matter how hated they may be.

Totally agree, it destroyed the blues, I don't reckon we're fully over it yet.
Lions will be lucky if the can limit the player loss and hope the salary cap doesn't burn them too bad.
Anyone else remember the bombers getting rid of a swag of players due to the cap and it hurt their culture big time

You simply can't go passed Michael Voss as the chief culprit in all this. Sure people will go to some higher level decision or person, or system, but to me it's clearly the lack of smarts of Michael Voss.
How he possibly thought that list was in contention for a flag was staggering. This has led to a terrible skewing of their salary cap which has now forced fairly decent youngish players out of the club, a fractioning with the captain, a list with no strategy behind it, a playing list lost, and simply no vision for a future.

He is just so far out of his depth it's staggering.

bluefan;19053328[B said:
bombers getting rid of a swag of players due to the cap and it hurt their culture big time[/B]

Straight after 2001 Grand Final, Chris Heffernan signed a new contract 6 weeks before the end of the season and was told by Sheedy in no uncertain terms he had to go. Very unpalatable stuff, we ended up with Caracella who played in a flag.

I reckon a lot of this will blow over by Round 1 2011. Fev will play. He'll kick lots of goals. Brown will be great. Black will be great. Brisbane will likely struggle.

But life will go on. I don't think this is a club utterly capitulating. I think the cap/trading/list has been poorly managed, but they're not a total wreck. There's talent in that list, and some of it young.

They do need to hope like HELL Voss becomes a really strong coach ASAP, because handling his axing (if it comes to that) will be tough. Favourite sons don't tend to go quietly.

Brisbane are just lowering themselves so that they are on a level playing field with the Suns to kick off the rivalry.

I'm not against what Voss has done. Remember only last year Brisbane was exactly where Sydney is today. Won a final, lost a final.

He rolled the dice to try and lift the team into the top 4. A lot of things went wrong, but worth a shot IMO. Now the list needs a clean out. When Riscitelli wins your B&F, you must have had a bad year.

Brennan, Sherman. Middle roaders at best.

Lawyers Fev already has a law firm conducting his dealings with the footy club, and they are busily steering the process into ground work for a great big lawsuit. It's not impossible that this debacle could actually cost Brisbane MORE than Fev's contracted salary.

I'd love to see your rationale for this one.

Tell us all about the bases for this "great big lawsuit". Been involved in a few, have you?

Brisbane Implosion - Doesn't Matter Now if Fev "Did it" or Not