rooboy75

Oct 5, 2003
London
Kangaroos
Hi guys,

been reading some of the comments on here about brown, and am suprised that quite a few supporters on here seem to give him a bit of a bagging and compare him to Watt et al.

Not having seen any games this season, just wondering what went wrong,i recall early in the season people were talking up his chances of making all Australian. didnt he do some good jobs on forwards early in the year?

Just after some opinions about why he is one of the new whiping boy on the forum....

Interested to hear why he went backwards later in the year.

I guess most people are hooking in due to dissapointment because of the reasons you stated. He started so damn well in the first 4 rounds, but by the seasons end he was getting beaten by blokes he should be eating for brekkie. I definately think Watt ended up being our best performing key defender over the entire season as he provided much more of contest.

But, with Hay and Rawlings coming into the line, perhaps that will free Brown (and Watt I guess, depending on matchups) to play further up the ground. He's played his best footy IMO playing that Mark Roberts link player role, maybe a return to that in 2006 for Brown. Needs to really work on his fitness and get serious about footy.

He just seems to be one of those inconsistent types (ala Stevens) great one week, a few weeks later absolutely useless. He's still young, but hugely experienced for his age, you would have thought he would have worked through these issues by now. My guess is that we are seeing the "real" leigh brown in his lack of consistency over the year and it's not just an issue of being tossed around.

First season, waste of space for the first half of the season improving to serviceable, 2nd season inconsistent, great one week, not so good the next, last season on fire at the start trailing off to disappointing at the end. Maybe he's yet to find the right role for him. I'm not convinced it is up forward, but I think it is at CHB (his good early season form being there) or as a third tall, but how he fits into the Hay, Watt, Rawlings, Brown, Jones, Thompson, Rocca formation who knows.

Briedis said:
I guess most people are hooking in due to dissapointment because of the reasons you stated. He started so damn well in the first 4 rounds, but by the seasons end he was getting beaten by blokes he should be eating for brekkie. I definately think Watt ended up being our best performing key defender over the entire season as he provided much more of contest.

But, with Hay and Rawlings coming into the line, perhaps that will free Brown (and Watt I guess, depending on matchups) to play further up the ground. He's played his best footy IMO playing that Mark Roberts link player role, maybe a return to that in 2006 for Brown. Needs to really work on his fitness and get serious about footy.

Briedis, I agree with your summation of Brownie. He plays his most consistent footy when he moves around in a "spare parts" role and I reckon DL will return him to that role next year.

As part of that role, I would like him to be rotated through CHF in short bursts. We don't seem to have a good one at the minute and the next best thing might be to ask a few guys to "step up" and give it their all for a quarter per game, eg Drew, Brownie, Hale, LeCras(??), Thommo, Chad Jones. Maybe we'll unearth someone who can handle the position for a whole game, but it won't be Brownie. He'll be our bit parts man.

Brown was quite sick towards the end of the season. He had a lot of trouble with his quad, which would not have helped his performance.

I am sure he will return to good form in season 2006.

He's still a young gun! I reckon he's a long term player & he didn't do too badly at all this year playing on the key forward.

I still think he has the instincts of a forward & will do better up there or as an attacking backman.

He is a little bit slow though..

but I think it is at CHB (his good early season form being there)-Neoblaze

I thought Brown played his best at FB earlier in the season? :confused:

rooboy75 said:
Hi guys,

been reading some of the comments on here about brown, and am suprised that quite a few supporters on here seem to give him a bit of a bagging and compare him to Watt et al.

Not having seen any games this season, just wondering what went wrong,i recall early in the season people were talking up his chances of making all Australian. didnt he do some good jobs on forwards early in the year?

Just after some opinions about why he is one of the new whiping boy on the forum....

Interested to hear why he went backwards later in the year.

For me, the reasons aren't based on whether he beat his opponent or not, but whether he wanted to beat his opponent. He looked extremely lazy by mid-season, most of the time looking like he couldn't be bothered. One thing I don't like in the team is lazy players. I personally believe its because he doesn't enjoy it back there, which will be good with the couple of ready-made backs coming into the team. Lets hope they provide something for us.

If I was coach for a day, i would hold him down and shave his head.

He played his best footy when he had a nude nut, was aggressive at the ball and the man, and looked scary quite frankly. Needs to use his body, as its his biggest asset, opposition players should be worried about where Leroy is when backing back for a mark. Also needs to add some muscle, his arms and legs lack definition, just seems to still be carrying a bit of puppy fat.

But I actually quite like him changing in the ruck occasionally, adds a lot around the ground.

Well Browny had a fantastic start to the year and no Neo he wasn't at CHB he was playing fullback. I was rapt. I was thinking finally we have a fullback. I mean Watt couldn't have played any worse then his previous years at fullback and something had to be done. Suddenly we have a bloke at fullback beating his man in contests and also clearing the ball out as well. This is something we just haven't seen since the legendary Mick tossed it in.
Unfortunately though his brilliant run come to an end and he started losing contests. He still played some good games though but nearly all of them were when he came out to half back. Brown is a CHB and that is where he will play his best football.
It's quiet simple really, fullback is a specialist position and very few players can do it unless they have the fullback traits. Playing half back is much easier. Shannon Watt is living proof. It's no coincidence that he has just had his best season ever and what do you know he didn't have top play fullback.
With the addition of Hay next season taking fullback it should allow Brown to play CHB and we should see a top year from the big fella. As for where Watt plays ..........well I guess we will have to wait and see but hopefully we will have a few others pushing Watt for a place in the line up.

Have it from an impeccible source that Brown's ankle is stuffed. Said it was a battle just to get him up each week this year and that he had heaps of trouble training to the intensity required to keep match fit throughout the season, hence why he often looked to be labouring, and it was really hard to keep his ground in contests or go with blokes on the lead in that crucial first 5 metres.

Carlos, IS stuffed or WAS stuffed? Is it a chronic injury that is unlikely to be fixed or will he be better off next year?

Carlos said:
Have it from an impeccible source that Brown's ankle is stuffed. Said it was a battle just to get him up each week this year and that he had heaps of trouble training to the intensity required to keep match fit throughout the season, hence why he often looked to be labouring, and it was really hard to keep his ground in contests or go with blokes on the lead in that crucial first 5 metres.
If that was/is the case Laidley wouldn't have continued to use him at fullback, he would have been used up the ground more, and Baird or the like would have played more games.

I initially thought that Brown would have played a role the same as Mark Roberts. It seems as Brown is in the same position as Fridge was at Sydney and Brisbane, carrying to much weight and not really consistent. It might do no harm if he had a talk to Fridge, because we need him to drop a few kilo's and become more mobile like the Fridge when he played for us.

If you want to have a look at some statistics of other players around his height you will notice that he is carrying far to much excess poundage to be able to compete against the bigger (muscle definition) bodies in the AFL.
Leigh Brown should be about 96kg to be able to play in various roles around the ground.

Leigh Brown 193cm - 103kg
Jonathan Hay 196cm - 96kg
Nathan Thompson 196cm - 100kg
Shannon Watt 192cm - 99kg
Jade Rawlings 196cm - 97kg
Warren Tredrea 194cm - 94kg
Jonathon Brown 195cm - 99kg
Daniel Bradshaw 190cm - 91kg
Matthew Pavlich 192cm - 100kg
David Neitz 193cm - 100kg
Brad Miller 193cm - 96kg
Justin Koschitzke 197cm - 96kg
Matthew Maguire 190cm - 96kg
Nick Riewoldt 193cm - 92kg
Luke Penny 193cm - 96kg
Adam Goodes 193cm - 97kg
Barry Hall 194cm - 98kg
Lewis Roberts-Thomson 196cm - 86kg
Darren Glass 192cm - 97kg
Ashley Hansen 198cm - 98kg
Chris Grant 193cm - 99kg
Wayde Skipper 193cm - 88kg

I haven't given up on Brown. He has height, can kick, can mark.
He just needs to take the next step and I can't help but think this year may make or break him. We now have support across the backline and that may ease the pressure on him.
I agree he does seem too heavy for his height (I can talk) but that is not always a fair comparison.
I think he lacks direction at North. A permanent role. And maybe that should be more forward than back. Just can't seem to put my finger on where he should play but I know there is a very good player in there somewhere. Its the challenge to the club to bring that out.

C'mon Browny - show us what you have been promising.

gokangas said:
I haven't given up on Brown. He has height, can kick, can mark.
He just needs to take the next step and I can't help but think this year may make or break him. We now have support across the backline and that may ease the pressure on him.
I agree he does seem too heavy for his height (I can talk) but that is not always a fair comparison.
I think he lacks direction at North. A permanent role. And maybe that should be more forward than back. Just can't seem to put my finger on where he should play but I know there is a very good player in there somewhere. Its the challenge to the club to bring that out.

C'mon Browny - show us what you have been promising.

Exactly.

The Adelaide Rnd 1 game was the last time from memory he played an extended period up forward. Hasn't been given that oppurtunity since.

He kicked 6 that day.

I'm keeping the faith with Browny as well.

He definitely seems to run out of steam the longer the season goes. That can surely only be a fitness issue, or lack thereof.

Early last season he was interviewed after starting the year so well and there was much reference by him to his lower skinfolds and improved strength etc. To me he still looks to be a little 'soft' in the upper body. That doesn't mean he'd be any less strong but surely it's a sign that he's carrying at least a little unneccesary weight.

I'm hoping that he comes through a big pre season, spurred on by the added pressure of us having more depth in his position, a more streamlined and effective player, better equipped for a FULL season of top line footy.

He could be our latest version of The Fridge, with our added depth.

C'mon Leroooooooooooy!!!!!!!!!!!!! You da man baaaaaaaaaaaaby!

T'toes

I have no doubt that the arrival of Hay and the assumption that Hay will be able to cement down FB will have a big impact on Brown. Get him away from that last line, using him at CHB with bursts forward and in the ruck. Also, if he can improve the situation with his ankle, that will be a bonus too.

Definitely not prepared to write him off yet.

Sexiano Ronaldo said:
Maybe the coach didn't want to risk a rookie player in such an important position?
Or he could have played and injure himself even more.

Brown