Toast Bruce McAvaney

On one hand you've got Wayne Carey who sounds like he could live his life without acknowledging his playing career with us. On the other you've got Tom Harley who does get excited when his old team plays but goes over the top in some ways.

... To be fair, the Tom Harley types are probably the more preferable.
I don't understand this mentality. A lot of people have a crack at Carey and King for the way they speak about North. Complaining that they call them "the Kangaroos", etc.

They clearly still love the club, often referring to them as "us" and they are just being professional when they take the eyepatch off during commentary.

I think they should be commended.

Harley is the exact opposite and he should be spoken to about his lack of professionalism.

Might want to mention that to Lingy (working at North), Duck, Schwatta and Kingy.

Well, Kingy is flogged on here for hating on north the whole time, maybe he goes too far in his objectivity. Lingy is one of the best at remaining objective when north and even Geelong and playing, I'd be very happy for him to commentate Geelong games as well as North games. Duck should take a leaf out of Kingy's book, and I haven't heard enough of Schwatta to comment.

What I am saying is that everyone has some connection to different footy clubs, and most manage to remain objective when calling. I wouldn't know who Cometti barracks for, or Bruce (I know he loves Selwood and Cyril), even BT, for all his faults, is generally unbiased.

Listen to Harley with 30 seconds to go, "gotta get in in there quickly boys!" he could have been an assistant on the bench!

They all are deluded...if the Precious Puttycat Selwood is lauded as couragous then I must be invincible. When I played the game if you ducked your head you were either a gutless squib or not very bright....either way you woke up in a hospital...these commentators want to spoon with Selwood everytime he gets near a contest only to do the dying swan drill (aka Adam Goodes drill)....ive got to the stage where I turn the Tele to MUTE...and listen to radio.

Dennis kept making unsubtle digs at LT. That annoyed me greatly

Absolutely drove me mental at one point.

LT chucked himself bodily into a pack trying to extract his own ball and almost got it out before the ump blew for a ball up.

"Thomas throws himself forward looking for a free"

There was absolutely no way a sane person would have come to that conclusion, I don't even think his opponent was within 3 meters of him.

Kingy tries overly hard to be objective but last night on Fox Footy his true colours came out, he was wearing a North scarf throughout the post-game and was visibly jubilant. Probably double standards to criticize Harley and toast Kingy.

Umpire...umpire help me he hit me
..he hurt me...he pinched me a rooly trooly.did!!!!.The handbag carrying Selwood...how I'd like to have that bitch in a prison cell with me....squeal piggy squeal.

Attachments

• IMG_118999033540488.jpeg
    IMG_118999033540488.jpeg
    81.3 KB · Views: 5

Kingy tries overly hard to be objective but last night on Fox Footy his true colours came out, he was wearing a North scarf throughout the post-game and was visibly jubilant. Probably double standards to criticize Harley and toast Kingy.
Bit different to showing bias while you are commentating during a game.

Yeah, media twerps like Cometti, Darcy, Watson (need I go on?) have decreed that LT is fair game for derision. While they praise favourites like Bartel and Selwood for the same thing.

Gutless, smirking hypocrites.
Only way to dispel that is to go deep into September. Then they can't ignore you.

Thomas' second goal was magnificently called by Bruce, and then ruined by Matthews chipping in with "Thomas actually ignored several of his runners there so he had to kick it".

Just enjoy a wonderful goal ffs.
not so sure - reckon leigh's point was valid. the better, more team orientated option was probably the handpass to the running player. don't think it was wrong of leigh to point that out.

Well, the reason JB isn't commentating is because of bias, right? So why should former players who are clearly biased in their analysis of the game be allowed to commentate?

No you are right, they shouldnt be able to have another career, better they turn to burgers, drink & drugs and end up in a gutter somewhere........seriously get over it!

On one hand you've got Wayne Carey who sounds like he could live his life without acknowledging his playing career with us. On the other you've got Tom Harley who does get excited when his old team plays but goes over the top in some ways.
... To be fair, the Tom Harley types are probably the more preferable.

Thats because of the way it ended, there is always going to be that tinge of bitterness, even if it was his fault.

No you are right, they shouldnt be able to have another career, better they turn to burgers, drink & drugs and end up in a gutter somewhere........seriously get over it!

Nah.

JB can't commentate North games because there is a conflict of interest.

Dunno that Eddie commentates Collingwood outside of Press red for Ed type situations.

Yet flogs like Tim Watson and Harley can commentate through *scum and Geelong games.

There are double standards when it comes to North.

The media had a fit about the idea of Donald McDonald being Luke's boss in a round about arse backwards way.

Yet over on the Shemons website there is this.....

Todd Viney - Manager Player Personnel

no issue there whatsoever.

Guys, pretty sure JB elected not to commentate North games on his own accord. It has nothing to do with not being allowed.

I am sure that this person had nothing to do with that choice.

Caroline-Wilson.jpg

Toast Bruce McAvaney