Buddy, Playing on???

He looks to me unfit and too heavy. He is almost fraser gehrig size.. his mobility seems to be limited. He wants the ball plonked on his head and tries to wrestle instead of getting on his bike and run his opponents ragged.

Some guy called Bosk wrote the following.

Franklin's an undisciplined player who gets away with far more than he should due to his physical gifts. At times like these he can be very frustrating to watch.
Sometimes I wonder how are handling him down at Hawthorn, perhaps the coaching staff are afraid to give him a good yelling at when he earns it.

Not sure but he may possibly be bagging Franklin. You are aware that Franklin is not the best set shot in the business. With the game in the balance there were many turnovers which resulted in Port goals. The whole team effort today was ordinary, not just Buddy playing on. And yes God forbid if you are critical of the Coleman medallist. I'm sure he is aware of his errors today and we don't need so called supporters casting negative light. He still managed to kick 3.

So from 27 posts you find one, that is Bosks opinion and he's entitled to it. You see it as a bagging, I see it as an opinion and it is written without malice. I am fully aware of what buddy can and cannot do and that is what this thread is about - focus on what you do well Buddy - take the time and have the shot. I am also aware that others had a down day as well and they too have threads about them - you don't seem to have had a problem saying that young and whitecross were average today

Debate is healthy and as long as they are like I previously said - without malice - then posters should be entitled to have an opinion without copping abuse from other posters.

Some guy called Bosk wrote the following.

Franklin's an undisciplined player who gets away with far more than he should due to his physical gifts. At times like these he can be very frustrating to watch.
Sometimes I wonder how are handling him down at Hawthorn, perhaps the coaching staff are afraid to give him a good yelling at when he earns it.

Not sure but he may possibly be bagging Franklin. You are aware that Franklin is not the best set shot in the business. With the game in the balance there were many turnovers which resulted in Port goals. The whole team effort today was ordinary, not just Buddy playing on. And yes God forbid if you are critical of the Coleman medallist. I'm sure he is aware of his errors today and we don't need so called supporters casting negative light. He still managed to kick 3.
Sorry, but I must have missed the memo from the AFL to all supporters last week. I'm guessing it must've read something along these lines:

"ALL COLEMAN MEDAL WINNERS ARE TO BE EXEMPT FROM CRITICISM UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE. THAT IS ALL."

Dear me... since when have Hawthorn supporters become so precious as to not be able to stomach a little healthy criticism of our players?

Seems like you need to go sit in the outer with the supporters for a few rounds and listen to some of the crap that's regularly hurled at the boys using all sorts of colourful language. Might harden you up a little and by the sounds of things you need it!

Sorry, but I must have missed the memo from the AFL to all supporters last week. I'm guessing it must've read something along these lines:

"ALL COLEMAN MEDAL WINNERS ARE TO BE EXEMPT FROM CRITICISM UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE. THAT IS ALL."

Dear me... since when have Hawthorn supporters become so precious as to not be able to stomach a little healthy criticism of our players?

Seems like you need to go sit in the outer with the supporters for a few rounds and listen to some of the crap that's regularly hurled at the boys using all sorts of colourful language. Might harden you up a little and by the sounds of things you need it!

No worries mate. You can keep on casting aspertions over how the coaching staff handle certain players and question their levels of discipline and I'll continue to have faith in our team.

I have no problem with him playing on at every opportunity, whatever makes him feel comfortable.

I do however have a problem with him actually running at opposition players when he has the ball just so that he can throw out the don't argue. We get it Buddy, you have big muscles and can benchpress a lot of weight, now can you please kick it to Roughy instead of Trying to palm off the entire opposition team!

I had no problems with Buddy playing on. My issue is with the delivery... Our team is only looking for one target...(Buddy). I was frustrated seeing others open and not being used. What do you all think?...

Buddy's playing on cost us the opportunity to win the game.
He has lost a yard of pace from 2007. If he is going to be a marking forward rather than a roving one (could be either) then he needs to take set shots & convert.
We also need to give up on playing him in the midfield. He is a terrible midfielder - constantly runs into trouble, makes bad decisions & skill errors. His field kicking is terrible.
What I want to know is why we deviated from the twin full forward set up we had last week V North with Buddy & Rough each standing about 20m in front of each behind post.
It was all set up wrong yesterday. Frankin played OK, but when Roughie is having a shocker, he needs to take responsibility and go back and kick goals.
An no person at any club is immune from criticism. There would be no Bigfooty is we could only post good news.

What a disgraceful thread ... i cannot believe ANYBODY is questioning this guy after last season...
Last season he took the same players on and won more often than not - maybe he's a little underdone like so many of our players with the pre-season he had, but you lot should be ashamed of yourselves.

At least the guy gets stopped having a go!

Pathetic :mad::thumbsdown:

While it's not quite disgraceful, it is a bit odd to have a crack at a player who has been playing on and banging through goals for the last year or two. Haven't heard people complaining every other time he plays on and bangs through goal after goal.

You don't curb talent, enthusiasm, aggression and natural instinct. A couple of poor decisions ain't no big thing. Happy for him to keep doing what he's doing! :thumbsu:

What a disgraceful thread ... i cannot believe ANYBODY is questioning this guy after last season...
Last season he took the same players on and won more often than not - maybe he's a little underdone like so many of our players with the pre-season he had, but you lot should be ashamed of yourselves.

At least the guy gets stopped having a go!

Pathetic :mad::thumbsdown:

By playing on every time he gives away the element of surprise and denies himself the opportunity to go back and do what he's paid the big bucks for - kick goals.

Nobody is immune from criticism if they under-perform in there job. We want Buddy to reward the hard-work of the team in getting it too him. Likewise let's not take a sledgehammer to crack a walnut here. It's a simple word in his ear and he'll respond in the appropriate manner in Tassie next week.

Its unfair to single him out for an act of play but I honestly think the decision to play on in the last quarter when in the forward pocket was probably the turning point of the game and started the rut

What happened to his new and improved technique when shooting at goal?

Buddy, Playing on???