Building A New Stadium: hypothetical

I'm not sure that N/S/E/W location is much to go by.

I live out South East.
My most convenient venue is Ettihad, simply drive through tunnel to Casino car park, and walk up the hill to Stadium.

How much do you pay to park at the Cas?

I park at Spencer street station as it is just a short walk over the bridge.

1) Re: Prince Park. There are plans for a new train line that runs up the city underneath swanston and has a stop at parkville.

2) Best option PT wise is Caulfield Racecourse. Quick train ride from the city. Caters for the expanding east side of Melbourne with VLine trains. Tram and buses. Sure, there is a racecourse there currently, but the AFL has money.

A man-made sand island at the end of St Kilda wharf in the shape of two hands grasping a sherrin, with the 12 story, all supa-box stadium forming the lower half of the footy. 2,000, 6 star luxury rooms above forming the roof and completing the shape. Reinforced glass floors in the "penthouses, so you can look down on the game from "heli-view", even on the loo. (one way glass for the sake of the players under the inevitable hospital pass.)

Under-sea express 4 way rail links, 8 lane super highway suitably above sea level.

1900 hole golf course and all new Luna Park.

Definite winner.:D

1) Re: Prince Park. There are plans for a new train line that runs up the city underneath swanston and has a stop at parkville.

2) Best option PT wise is Caulfield Racecourse. Quick train ride from the city. Caters for the expanding east side of Melbourne with VLine trains. Tram and buses. Sure, there is a racecourse there currently, but the AFL has money.

Pretty sure that station is gonna be near the corner of Grattan and Royal Pde (service both the uni and the hospitals). I could be wrong but if I'm correct that's still a fair hike by foot to PP.

However, the plans for the south portion of this new train tunnel show it travelling underneath St Kilda Rd before swinging SE right past the Junction Oval.

Looking at Google maps it seems it would be possible to build a similar stand to the newish one at The Oval - http://www.e-architect.co.uk/london/jpgs/brit_oval_miller_83b.jpg - on the SE side of the ground, bound by Lakeside Drive, Fitzroy St & St Kilda Rd.

On the NW side of the ground you could get rid of the tennis courts and build another decent size stand.

You would probs have to keep the two old stands but they would hold a few thousand anyways, while adding a bit of heritage character to the ground. Stick a media centre in the middle of them like the one at Lords - http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/5/51/Lord's_Media_Centre.jpg - and put plenty of underground parking beneath the stands and the crappy ground on the other side of Lakeside Drive.

This could provide the AFL with an inner suburban ground with a capacity of ~30,000, close to public transport, major roads and plenty of parking.

Obviously this proposal will never happen for a variety of reasons I haven't even thought of but I thought it was worth throwing out there.

Next to the North Melbourne station on the parcel of land known as Gate E.

It will be built with money from the World Cup first as an oval, then as a rectangular stadium for 42,000 and the re-modelled afterwards into an oval to seat 30,000 for AFL use again.

The AFL gets to keep Etihad Stadium during the World Cup and it's buotique stadium they need, while the World Cup get the required 42,000 for most of Melboune's games and the MCG for 1 Australian game, a round of 16 final, quarter final and the final.

Everyone is happy and come out winners.

DST
:D

Would never, ever happen.

Got a better chance at Sandown, or Richmond Golf Course. Actually, scratch that, what about Kevin Bartlett Reserve.

We don't need another Oval venue in Melbourne. The state government either needs to upgrade the MRS or build a new stadium which is similar to Etihad.

This will give the AFL (more or less) sole use of Etihad.

Obviously if we're refurbishing then Princes is the go, but assuming not, I would think the E-Gate precinct is the go. Close to a station (which has now been revamped) which happens to connect with heaps of lines so it makes sense, no environment issues...car parking so so but due to the high density of existing buildings in that area there would be no (planning) problems building in a carpark structure if you needed to as well.

The showgrounds are a tempting thought but in reality it will probably stay as it is.

Location: In all of that empty land about five minutes from the Northern Ring Road in Greensborough.

It's easy to get to from the west, easy to get to from Dandenong/Frankston (when I lived in Mill Park a mate and I would drive out to the weekend markets in Dandenong to get X Box games and the like) and a drive down Plenty Rd from the city. There's a ton of vacant land there and it's relatively cheap (compared to a lot of other places). There isn't much crime out in the northern suburbs (or at least there wasn't)

How many seats? I'll say 37-45,000 (inc. standing room) . Two tiered stadium with a similar build to the Dome just a little smaller. I'd prefer better video scoreboards than what they put in at the Dome.

While I was at it I'd like to see them design an entire sporting complex there. A full on made for basketball (and other court sports) center, a public gymnasium / swimming center (similar but slightly smaller than MSAC) and perhaps a world class golf links. Purchase enough land where you can essentially make a smorgasboard of sporting centers.

While I agree with Jamie that Waverly was a disaster I'm not so sure it was because of it being so far out of the city. The problem with Waverly is that it was built in the middle of the 'rain belt' so that whenever adverse weather hit (be it wind or rainfall) it was god awful both in terms of playing conditions but it was miserable sitting out there. I usually sit out games until the final siren but remember leaving several games when the result was in hand, win or lose.

A retractable roof boutique stadium in the northern suburbs would be great.

That's my biased opinion on where I'd put a new stadium in Melbourne.

However, I believe it's damn time that we gave Perth a stadium that compares to the MCG and Stadium Australia. I believe Perth is a fast growing metropolis (am I right, Perthites?) and they currently don't have a giant stadium. They deserve a world class facility that can rival the Eastern states best.

A new GABBA would be nice in Queensland, also. There is a lot to like about the GABBA (the way it was designed is great, in my opinion) but it is getting old and could do with a massive overhaul.

Location: In all of that empty land about five minutes from the Northern Ring Road in Greensborough.

It's easy to get to from the west, easy to get to from Dandenong/Frankston (when I lived in Mill Park a mate and I would drive out to the weekend markets in Dandenong to get X Box games and the like) and a drive down Plenty Rd from the city. There's a ton of vacant land there and it's relatively cheap (compared to a lot of other places). There isn't much crime out in the northern suburbs (or at least there wasn't)

How many seats? I'll say 37-45,000 (inc. standing room) . Two tiered stadium with a similar build to the Dome just a little smaller. I'd prefer better video scoreboards than what they put in at the Dome.

While I was at it I'd like to see them design an entire sporting complex there. A full on made for basketball (and other court sports) center, a public gymnasium / swimming center (similar but slightly smaller than MSAC) and perhaps a world class golf links. Purchase enough land where you can essentially make a smorgasboard of sporting centers.

While I agree with Jamie that Waverly was a disaster I'm not so sure it was because of it being so far out of the city. The problem with Waverly is that it was built in the middle of the 'rain belt' so that whenever adverse weather hit (be it wind or rainfall) it was god awful both in terms of playing conditions but it was miserable sitting out there. I usually sit out games until the final siren but remember leaving several games when the result was in hand, win or lose.

However, I believe it's damn time that we gave Perth a stadium that compares to the MCG and Stadium Australia. I believe Perth is a fast growing metropolis (am I right, Perthites?) and they currently don't have a giant stadium. They deserve a world class facility that can rival the Eastern states best.

A new GABBA would be nice in Queensland, also. There is a lot to like about the GABBA (the way it was designed is great, in my opinion) but it is getting old and could do with a massive overhaul.

What does Perth's stadium issues have to do with Victoria? It's not our fault the government was full of empty promises there.

I guess Greensbough would be OK for West/NW/Northern suburbs.
From the south east, it is pretty lineball whether you bash your way up through Heidelburg ( can be quicker, but much more stressful) or go through the city and up across the Bolte ( bit longer but more relaxed).

It would be a bit of a trek by public transport though.

quote]

Not a bad area. Although if they were going to do that, they'd need to build an orbital ring road (which has been mooted) out to either the eastern fwy or eastlink, b/c otherwise the traffic from the eastern suburbs is pretty prohibitive, and there's no direct train route (you'd have to go all the way in to the city and then out). If you could do that though it's not a bad area in which to put a stadium.

I guess Greensbough would be OK for West/NW/Northern suburbs.
From the south east, it is pretty lineball whether you bash your way up through Heidelburg ( can be quicker, but much more stressful) or go through the city and up across the Bolte ( bit longer but more relaxed).

It would be a bit of a trek by public transport though.

The transport thing is the only major issue in it. Waverly was the same for non-SE people though, possibly worse.

Train/Bus into the city then a Hurstbridge/Eltham line trek. It's only like 25 minutes by train from the city.

You want a stadium that feels like its in the middle of woop-woop? Try AAMI stadium from Adelaide's CBD.

I live right next to that land and it's actually already sold, subdivided and built-on even as we speak. It's no longer available - I'm not sure it ever was because the roads and transport infrastructure out here is pretty minimal and Whittlesea council hates spending money. For them, the easiest thing to do with land is to sell it for housing, followed closely by shopping centres. They don't do anything for the roads out here. It would be a traffic disaster.

What does another stadium get us? Dont get me wrong, I think 9 teams playing out of two grounds does not work because nobody get a "home" game.

But the questions are what are the advantages AND how can it pay for itself? In Melbourne I just dont see how the numbers can stack up because the marginal costs of playing at the current two grounds, now they are built, is low. It just does not save enough money playing at a smaller ground, especially a ground that has to be paid for.

Also any new ground should be the main home ground for at least 2 clubs (otherwise whats the point) - which 2 or 3 teams would want to play +8 games a season at less than 30,000 stadium?

If I was the fantasy leader of the AFL I would be thinking a Perth stadium development and a third team to get the game numbers up to help pay for it.

Building A New Stadium: hypothetical