• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Burnie Dockers

Re: Burnie (Shockers) Dockers

think he actually kicked 35 goals in '97 and averaged bout 14 kicks and 7 marks per game so he did ok i thought

Mate if i was getting 14 kicks and 7 marks a game with the amount of money they were paid i'd be quite ashamed. And lets face it, did he really average that? Clubs will always bolster up an imported players stats to keep the local faith happy..... I bet he only averaged about 10 kicks and 5 marks to be honest with the games i saw...................
however many touches he got, it earnt him runner up in the BnF:thumbsu:, think he missed a couple of games maybe your rememberin them

It always amuses me when average local blokes who aren’t good enough to play senior football at a decent level always have a crack at the paid imported players. Just so you understand Denis, they were paid good money because they deserved it. Why you ask Denis??? because they were proven players at the level and you were not a proven player at the level, so that's why you ended up in the Darwin trying to be a big fish just like them!!!! Out of interest Denis, how many AFL games did you actually play??? That’s right buddy none!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

Reynolds played State Footy when he was here,number 22 as I know a bloke who has his jumper, so he must have been playing reasonable footy at that stage !

I thought real footballers went to the AFL? this is a funny post but we get the point, being a player there at the time you feel the money wasn't well spent? well you are 100% correct because ultimately the league fell over due to these sorts of guys being paid unsustainable amounts!

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: Finally somebody that doesnt talk smack on here:D

Ha Ha your so barking up the wrong tree mate! I have never played in the Darwin! I have mates that play there. I actually play in Bendigo mate, you know, where real footballers go to "The Mainland" you twat! And im not on here to talk about my credentials cause it will embarrass me and you and im not down with that! I happened to play at Burnie when the town forked out big $$$ for them two and we went nowhere. Im all for the imports but they were rubbish and we all know/knew it. Do a little homework mate before you pigeon hole someone.............

I wouldn't have thought playing country football in the Bendigo league would be where real footballers go to play! Not saying there aren't decent players in that league, but if i thought you were something in tassie, you would either go to the AFL, or another state league to have a crack!!!

Like to get your thoughts then Dennis on the money that is currently being paid out of West Park. I'm sure Laycock and Lee did not come cheaply????

I wouldn't have thought playing country football in the Bendigo league would be where real footballers go to play! Not saying there aren't decent players in that league, but if i thought you were something in tassie, you would either go to the AFL, or another state league to have a crack!!!

Like to get your thoughts then Dennis on the money that is currently being paid out of West Park. I'm sure Laycock and Lee did not come cheaply????

Unsure of what they are on. Lee is actually a relative of mine and im sure Laycock would be getting what he deserves around the $120 mark:D

Wrong. Iv never played twos at Burnie and never would. Your homework stinks! And who said im still in Bendigo? I left Tassie and ended up there. Your up for a shit fight arent you mate and the sad thing is iv already won. History proves they were rubbish and the football in tassie is rubbish. My clubs incentives for getting 5th best player is more than what the Burnie gate takes in at a home game mate. Rant over move on. Iv got trophies bigger than you mate:D

And I bet you bought them trophies so that you could say that hey. :D:D:D

LOL yeah found them at the Burnie tip!!!!

Enough said Deeeeennnnnnis, your accually the one defending yourself so im not real sure how that makes you the winner out of this so called s*** fight??? And just to correct you Dennis, you actually wrote "I actually play in Bendigo mate" - thats what you said, so its there for every one to see. Can you make your mind up champ!!!!

Yeah got me:D

All this aside the Dockers are going well with a better team on the paddock,if they do not give the Premiership a shake this year they are building toward next year

Mooch they may as well drop to the NTFL! I drove past West Park a few weeks back and seriously saw about 5 cars and maybe 50 people. Have the crowds got that bad? We use to get more than that watching U18 in pissing rain years ago and thats no joke. You'd think a town the size of Burnie would have more support for their home team..............

Footy dropping off brother,the corporate dollar,alah,Burnie Sports and Events driving die hard supporters away in droves,Crap that no history both footy and cricket can be displayed.Yes,the Point a great spot to socialize but go to the Civic Centre and do this

Burnie has ALWAYS revolved around football and cricket and as much as people will try and say it hasnt they are in denial. If Burnie didnt have football and cricket then the town would die a slow death. Sounds as though Dockers need to grow some balls and kick up a stink at this Burnie sports and events crap.

Fantastic news that Brody Mihocek has been invited to the Draft camp (according to the Mercury newspaper). A great carnival capped off with an All Australian selection.

Wondering how he is getting along as I heard he might have a few minor problems with his hips. Is he playing at the moment?

Fantastic news that Brody Mihocek has been invited to the Draft camp (according to the Mercury newspaper). A great carnival capped off with an All Australian selection.

Wondering how he is getting along as I heard he might have a few minor problems with his hips. Is he playing at the moment?
Yes,and well,the Dockers are are more balanced side when the Mariners boys are playing and will be close to their best side shortly

Interested where you think Mihocek is best suited to playing.

I am assuming he will be drafted this year. At 191cm he was an All Australian this year as a backman.

What end has he played at for the Burnie seniors this year?

Interested where you think Mihocek is best suited to playing.

I am assuming he will be drafted this year. At 191cm he was an All Australian this year as a backman.

What end has he played at for the Burnie seniors this year?
Been down back mostly as they have had Lee,Laycock,Baldock,Hayes and the like up forward,very athletic he is

So Burnie are going to luckily fall into 3rd place. Will finish the year with 11 wins, maybe 12 if they can beat Glenorchy in the last round!

6 of those will be against Sth laun and Dport! and if im right have not beaten a team in the top 6 apart from lauderdale?

Does anyone give them a hope at all of doing any damage come finals?

So Burnie are going to luckily fall into 3rd place. Will finish the year with 11 wins, maybe 12 if they can beat Glenorchy in the last round!

6 of those will be against Sth laun and Dport! and if im right have not beaten a team in the top 6 apart from lauderdale?

Does anyone give them a hope at all of doing any damage come finals?
Dockers have no control over the draw,and yes Launy and Clarence may be one and two however the Burnie boys are at least there and should stay top 3 with an ounce of luck and anything can happen.Not lucky to fall in to 3rd,you can only play against who you are supposed to.

Is a pretty uneven draw though you have to admit........

Its a ridiculous draw. Burnie will only play finals because they play the 2 worst sides in TSL history 3 times each!

give the coaches a little bit of credit u blokes. Coaches are inmportant. Planty has really given the dockers direction and purpose since he took over from pluppy and look at what spaulding has done at the deamons since they got rid of brown. Hope the dockers keep plant