Cameron Hitchcock promoted

Good news - I think Cam really proved in the NAB that he is worthy of a spot on the senior list.

I really think he adds something to the team as well, its good to have a genuine goal hungry crumber, especially with the likes of Tredders, Schulz, D. Stewart and Westhoff up forward.

Congrats Cameron on getting promoted well deserved after a great NAB cup.

Wow. You'd sure feel like a genius if you picked this kid up with the last pick of the buddy draft, wouldn't you? :D

Congrats to Cam. When he dominates, I'll be doing more to my **** than just hitching it.

RangaInTeal said:
Schultz vs. third defender - Schultz is too good for the third defender our first win

Based on?

Ability... Footy Nous and Just that thing in your head that says, watch this bloke!

Then where's all that stuff been for the last 7 years? I still have absolutely no ****ing idea why everyone just assumed Schulz is suddenly a gun player because he's in a Port jumper. From what he's shown so far in his career, he's a spud. Until he shows something in a real game which indicates that this has changed, that's how he should be treated. None of this 'Schulz will be too good for opposition defenders' crap, he hasn't been too good for opposition defenders for the last 7 years. If he starts being too good for opposition defenders, talk him up all you like. Until that happens, it's stupid to just assume he suddenly will be for no particular reason.

he played for Richmond bro....this is why Richo was probably one of the greatest players ever to grace the football field same with Pavlich....

So then you can say that he 'might' be too good for the third defender, not that he 'will'. Danny Meyer came from Richmond too, and he hasn't exactly set the world on fire, has he?

playing a forward role in the richmond team? Problem with Meyer is we have plenty of players like him...and well he couldnt even get into the Richmond 22

Cmon mate he is port now support the man to me Shultz has done all the right stuff so far until he puts a foot wrong I dont know how you can continuously bag him

I'm not bagging him, I'm being realistic. He hasn't put a foot wrong in a Port jumper, but he hasn't done anything to deserve the praise that's being heaped upon him either. Right now I'm sitting on the fence, and even that is somewhat optimistic considering his career to date, but half of the Port supporters on this site have already jumped the fence and proclaimed that Schulz is suddenly going to become a quality player as if it's a foregone conclusion.

He was an underage All Australian, he has produced before, It is like saying Salopek is a hack because he has only done it occasionally.

Schultz has produced some really good games, Round 14 2004 vs Brisbane, Round 22 2005 vs Geelong, Round 18 2006 vs Western Bulldogs, Round 7 2007 vs Port Adelaide, Round 8 2007 vs Adelaide, Round 21 2007 vs Essendon, Round's 2, 4, 5, 11, 12, 15, 17 and 20 in 2008, Not always a Statistical King but impacts in other areas, so Apart from one year and Glimpses of hope, what has Salopek done exactly?

Your writing off the wrong Bloke, he was a forward in a bottom 8 side, He started in the Frawley Era and ended in the Wallace era, that alone would suggest he has had some hard times at a footy club. Better environment, Better delivery, Better output. How about you back in Choco and our Culture to bring out the best of an All Australian Junior!

Have to agree with gopower here, and urge caution about expecting too much from Schulz.

There is nothing in his recent past (i.e. 7 y with Richmond) and precious little from his preseason to suggest that he will be a top 22 player all season.

In fact, Salter can consider himself extremely unlucky not to be ahead of him in the pecking order for tall forward spots, especially if he is omitted from the defence after Chaplin's return in Rd 2.

IMO, we have got it a bit wrong this preseason. Would have liked more perseverance with Trengove in defence, and would have preferred for Salter to be given a chance to work with Daniel Stewart and Tredrea up forward.

So then you can say that he 'might' be too good for the third defender, not that he 'will'. Danny Meyer came from Richmond too, and he hasn't exactly set the world on fire, has he?

Perhaps you should take your own advice and stop declaring him 'a dud' until he has had a chance to prove himself in a Port jumper.

Ranga and B2B if you don't stop spelling Schulz with a "T" I'm going to find out where you live and blow up your letter boxes.

He was an underage All Australian, he has produced before, It is like saying Salopek is a hack because he has only done it occasionally.

/facepalm. No, it's not like that at all. Not even close to like that. Comparing Salopek to Schulz is absolutely ****ing delusional. I'm not even going to bother addressing the rest of it.

RangaInTeal said:
Your writing off the wrong Bloke, he was a forward in a bottom 8 side, He started in the Frawley Era and ended in the Wallace era, that alone would suggest he has had some hard times at a footy club. Better environment, Better delivery, Better output. How about you back in Choco and our Culture to bring out the best of an All Australian Junior!

FFS. How many times do I need to say this. I'm not 'writing him off', I'm just not suddenly declaring him a quality player on the back of 7 shit years at Richmond and a 4 goal pre-season. If (and hopefully when) he does something in the real stuff, I'll be more than happy to praise him. But if 2010 Schulz is just as shit as 2003 Schulz, 2004 Schulz, 2005 Schulz, 2006 Schulz, 2007 Schulz, 2008 Schulz and 2009 Schulz, then I'm hoping you'll all stop talking him up as a quality player, because on what we've seen to date he's not.

Also, why are we all happy to write off Ebert but we heap praise on Schulz? Ebert kicked as many goals in one year as Schulz has in his career.

/facepalm. No, it's not like that at all. Not even close to like that. Comparing Salopek to Schulz is absolutely ****ing delusional. I'm not even going to bother addressing the rest of it.

FFS. How many times do I need to say this. I'm not 'writing him off', I'm just not suddenly declaring him a quality player on the back of 7 shit years at Richmond and a 4 goal pre-season. If (and hopefully when) he does something in the real stuff, I'll be more than happy to praise him. But if 2010 Schulz is just as shit as 2003 Schulz, 2004 Schulz, 2005 Schulz, 2006 Schulz, 2007 Schulz, 2008 Schulz and 2009 Schulz, then I'm hoping you'll all stop talking him up as a quality player, because on what we've seen to date he's not.

Also, why are we all happy to write off Ebert but we heap praise on Schulz? Ebert kicked as many goals in one year as Schulz has in his career.

Your general under tone to your comments comes across very negative to Schulz. I do understand what you are saying, but if we are to ignore his time at Richmond and looked at him a purely a new recruit, his pre season was actually very good as a lead up forward.

He was compared to Damon earlier but his hands are stronger, his mobility is much better and he has shown good endurance.

I wanted Salter playing his role, but if Salter was burning it up, surely the club would have played Salter in the role over Schulz, so all I can assume is that over the pre season Schulz has shown more that Salter.

As for my buddy Ebo, too right, he's a legend and if he keeps playing like has this pre season I reckon he's in for a big one. But there are always scapegoats, which reminds me another thread time :)

You call it negative, I call it realistic.

You know all this Schulz talk is actually taking attention away from your buddy, who once was a rookie and now is a fully fldge member. When did you pick him up in the draft again?

Last pick. :D gopower = whoever decided to pick David Rodan.

And that's a fair point. Let's get back to talking about Hitchcock. Could be the answer to our crumbing forward problems, and releases Gray to play as a just about permanent midfielder.

When did this thread change from the "well done Cam Hitchcock" thread to the "lets give Schulz a complex and kick him in the guts while sitting on the fence waiting to see how he goes" thread? :confused:

We have moved on from that and back to Hitchy so don't derail it again lol

Everone, like me, is suprised about Hitchcocks pre season. To be picked up in the rookie draft from pick 12 then to be in contention for Rd 1. What I find amazing about Alfie is that he went form last year in the SANFL Under 18's/Reserves straight into the 1st team (if he gets picked Rd 1 that is) without playing any SANFL matches, i can't think of any other player that has got straight into the team from SANFL reserves.

Cameron Hitchcock promoted