Cameron Noakes - a Fatwa surely imminent

Blight von Torp

Apr 13, 2009
I feel bad drawing attention to it, but did anyone else see the comments from him in the Age today - well the online version anyway. Not one, but two absolute cheap shots at NMFC. I don't get riled easily, but what he wrote was vindictive and crossed way over the line.

What an absolute rubbish article from start to finish. Clear biases shown and professionalism at a minimum.

Hence his employment with The Rag, where it runs in the family from top to bottom.

What a load of shit. Suggest an effigy burning of Noakes is in order.

_41289224_effigy_ap416.jpg

Effigy of the paper it's self should be looked at too.

For a $1.50 we could burn the real thing.

I dunno, I think a Fatwa may be a tad excessive.

I reckon we hire Patrick Smith and a crane, and chuck a Fatwa(nker) on him instead.

It's not the first time this flog has had a dip.

If he did his homework, he would know that we've been rotating the images on the website masthead. We started with Brad, Boomer and Drew...then had matty Campbell, ben Warren etc...flog!

And do you get premiership points for the most memberships?

If he did his homework, he would know that we've been rotating the images on the website masthead. We started with Brad, Boomer and Drew...then had matty Campbell, ben Warren etc...flog!

We can put him in the barrel with the rest of the media flogs who persist in seeing only negative things about our great club.
If we spoon fed these flogs the positive they would still choose to point out the negative.
Do their homework? If only, too easy to take a swipe than write fact.
I can only imagine the exasperation these flogs cause you because they sure drive me insane.

The million dollar question is why do some of the media and public refuse to acknowledge the progress made by the club, delight in pointing out our financial disadvantages and discussing them ad nauseum, meanwhile ignoring discussing the dire financial position of the Dogs,and in particular Melbourne, who are both in far worse financial positions than North?
They seem to find our club a far juicier topic for discussion.
I suppose it is better to be discussed than not thought of at all:confused:

We can put him in the barrel with the rest of the media flogs who persist in seeing only negative things about our great club.
If we spoon fed these flogs the positive they would still choose to point out the negative.
Do their homework? If only, too easy to take a swipe than write fact.
I can only imagine the exasperation these flogs cause you because they sure drive me insane.

The million dollar question is why do some of the media and public refuse to acknowledge the progress made by the club, delight in pointing out our financial disadvantages and discussing them ad nauseum, meanwhile ignoring discussing the dire financial position of the Dogs,and in particular Melbourne, who are both in far worse financial positions than North?
They seem to find our club a far juicier topic for discussion.
I suppose it is better to be discussed than not thought of at all:confused:
Yes its funny KL.

I can understand why they focus on negatives (as I assume it sells papers) but I have always had questions as to why they choose to bash a club with 'so little support' like ours. Surely bashing Carlton over the head for some of the stuff they have done in the last six months would sell more papers.

I guess they are cowards, scared of the retribution a bigger club can hit them with.

Bingo. The 'bigger' clubs DO sells papers and they need to stay 'in' with them. The don't want to lose a source and risk losing sales.

Focussing on the negatives with us offends nobody except us - and that doesn't hurt readership as much as if they can't get exclusives from The Blues or the Pies.

:thumbsu:

I noticed this crap in the paper the other day, but didn't pay any attention. Who reads this page anyway?
If that's the worst the Age writes about us this year, we're in for a good year.

I couldn't have summed up my views on No Bull's post any better.:thumbsu:

First time I've done it this year (taking a whole four days), but a big hear ye is in order.

So...

Hear ye, hear ye. :thumbsu:

Yep, Noakes has form with regard to taking cheap shots at North. I remember last year, he had a dig based on our inability to draw a crowd to the 08 final in Sydney...................der, good one! :rolleyes:

Clearly a deadshit who thinks he's funny ; isn't ; yet still holds on to a job at The Aged.

When the rest of you have a cv like this..

Cameron Noakes has been a journalist for more than 14 years and started his career writing about grass-roots football in the north-west of Melbourne for Leader Newspapers. Six years ago, Noakes started working at The Sunday Age, taking on Paul Daffey's role as the paper's country football and amateur football correspondent.

Noakes's column on "Town and Country" football also features in The Age's Monday paper.

Some of you may remember him from the cult football show "Mongrel Punt" that appeared on Channel 31 for five years. The show has ended but Noakes's irreverent attitude to the AFL can still be caught on the back-page of Friday's sport section where he pens "The Mongrel Punter" and attempts to find footy fans some tempting odds for the weekend.

http://www.countryfootyscores.com/cameron-noakes-mainmenu-97.html

Or look as dashing as this..

headshot_noakes-100x85.gif

..then maybe then you can start passing judgement on this scribe, this 21st century Mailer if you will.

I saw that article and immediately thought, what?
It was pretty pathetic. Not worth a mention here on BF.
Bring back the real Cow I say.

Cameron Noakes - a Fatwa surely imminent