cash bonus...who cares

Just how much would you be willing to wager there, champ?

If you have completed one semester of uni, and attended five days per week for 13 weeks, then I had probably worked more 8.30-5, Mon-Fri shifts than days you have attended uni, by the time I was 16.

Putting aside yet another incorrect assertion from yourself, for somebody who claims to have 'communication' as a 'strong point', you really do seem to struggle to answer simple questions.

So somebody doing a course with 25+ contact hours should be able to work 40 hours FT on the side, you reckon?
Lots of Caffeine..........and i mean LOTS

Just how much would you be willing to wager there, champ?

If you have completed one semester of uni, and attended five days per week for 13 weeks, then I had probably worked more 8.30-5, Mon-Fri shifts than days you have attended uni, by the time I was 16.

Putting aside yet another incorrect assertion from yourself, for somebody who claims to have 'communication' as a 'strong point', you really do seem to struggle to answer simple questions.

For a guy who has such limited life experience, and no real reason to be so damned bitter - you can be a real jackass.

If I don't answer your questions directly, its merely because I have no resepct for you.

So somebody doing a course with 25+ contact hours should be able to work 40 hours FT on the side, you reckon?

I can do it. And you think I'm an idiot. So how hard could it be for you? Or anyone for that matter?

For a guy who has such limited life experience, and no real reason to be so damned bitter - you can be a real jackass.

'Limited life experience'? Buddy, you are five years older than me. Get over yourself.

If I don't answer your questions directly, its merely because I have no resepct for you.

No, it is because you know the answer will embarrass you. Rather than leave it at that, you try to hide behind childish retorts. Must be the 'life experience' kicking in.

I can do it. And you think I'm an idiot. So how hard could it be for you? Or anyone for that matter?

I don't think you are an idiot. I think you are a self-doubting fool with an inferiority complex. Big difference.

As for what you are currently doing re: work/uni balance, am I to understand that you are at work right now? If so, your work cannot be too demanding if you are able to post on an internet forum as often as you do.

In any event, I thought you were leaving your work to study? Isn't that what you said just over a month ago?

'Limited life experience'? Buddy, you are five years older than me. Get over yourself.

20% older sounds larger than 5 years though.

No, it is because you know the answer will embarrass you. Rather than leave it at that, you try to hide behind childish retorts. Must be the 'life experience' kicking in.

I don't think you are an idiot. I think you are a self-doubting fool with an inferiority complex. Big difference.

I do love e-psychologists. Please, tell me what the basis is for your diagnosis, doctor fd.

As for what you are currently doing re: work/uni balance, am I to understand that you are at work right now? If so, your work cannot be too demanding if you are able to post on an internet forum as often as you do.

In any event, I thought you were leaving your work to study? Isn't that what you said just over a month ago?

I was going to quit, but realised I don't need to. If I had of known uni was such a bludge I'd have done it ages ago.

Either way, we're getting off topic, and the point still stands - most people can balance FT work with FT uni, it just takes discipline.

I'm sure even you could balance your Philosophy degree (lol) with a FT job at Red rooster (may as well get going down that path early), you just need to believe in yourself.

I do love e-psychologists. Please, tell me what the basis is for your diagnosis, doctor fd.

Well, I don't normally give out free psychological advice over the net, but since you asked so kindly...

You have 'Little Man Syndrome', also known as 'Napoleon Complex'.

I came to this conclusion after reading some of your posts, which clearly demonstrate your desire to make others seem inferior and yourself superior. See below for a typical example.

I was going to quit, but realised I don't need to. If I had of known uni was such a bludge I'd have done it ages ago.

Either way, we're getting off topic, and the point still stands - most people can balance FT work with FT uni, it just takes discipline.

Just out of interest, are you doing your degree in person (ie you must attend lectures, tutes, etc?) or over the net?

I'm sure even you could balance your Philosophy degree (lol) with a FT job at Red rooster (may as well get going down that path early), you just need to believe in yourself.

I do not plan to major in philosophy, although I respect those who do. People like yourself (who clearly have intelligence, but seem curiously unable to reason and engage with other people) could benefit immensely from taking units in philosophy. This is yet another example of you trying to sound smart and superior, but coming away looking even more misguided.

As for your taunt re: Red Rooster, I wish I was smart enough to be a 'financial planner'. Unfortunately it seems my knowledge re: what currencies are backed by (ie not gold), and Australian income tax rates, makes me 'over-qualified' for the job -- whatever that means...

20% older sounds larger than 5 years though.

Try going part time instead of ditching the course altogether and ask your boss that you are doing a course as well and you are only going to be able to do it part time.
Karl, it doesn't stack up.
Please tell us what your full time job is and what your full time study is.
Then maybe I can understand and empathise.
Good advice
Well, I don't normally give out free psychological advice over the net, but since you asked so kindly...

I came to this conclusion after reading some of your posts, which clearly demonstrate your desire to make others seem inferior and yourself superior. See below for a typical example.

Just out of interest, are you doing your degree in person (ie you must attend lectures, tutes, etc?) or over the net?

I do not plan to major in philosophy, although I respect those who do. People like yourself (who clearly have intelligence, but seem curiously unable to reason and engage with other people) could benefit immensely from taking units in philosophy. This is yet another example of you trying to sound smart and superior, but coming away looking even more misguided.

As for your taunt re: Red Rooster, I wish I was smart enough to be a 'financial planner'. Unfortunately it seems my knowledge re: what currencies are backed by (ie not gold), and Australian income tax rates, makes me 'over-qualified' for the job -- whatever that means...
Awesome advice there.
Ouch. FD nails Karl spot on. Big time! :eek:
I agree

Fail, again.

My opinion that ANYONE can do FT uni and FT work is 100% correct, and impossible to disprove. It is a matter of motivation, not a matter of ability.

If you want to talk about people trying to seem superior, look no further than your constant gloating about getting one minor fact right, or your continual lack of ability to take any subject less than seriously.

On the other hand I regularly hypothesise, theorise and stick my neck out with opinions, even when there's a good chance I'm wrong. I then admit when I'm wrong. Why? Because I learn from it, and frankly don't really get bothered by being wrong as long as I learn from it.

The most logical explanatikno is that you personally see me as superior to you (which is a natural response considering the dynamic of our relationship), you interpret this as me constantly trying to prove my superiorty, because you are in denial.

Over the net, but I must attend tutes and lectures. Its full time uni. And like I said, anyone can balance FT uni with FT work, just a matter of discipline and motivation.

I'm actually doing 2 philosophy units right now as electives. I just like stirring you up. My comment about it being easy to do FT work and uni, and how only arts students bludgers say otherwise etc.... that was all for you fd. you are entertaining to me, but at the same time I have no respect for you. You are close-minded and petty to the point that you are a black hole of good discussion, you deviate topics to the minutest detail because you can not grasp larger concepts.

Your overconfidence is very funny to me. But what I must ask, is if you're 20 and you've been at uni for two years already (unless you were kept back in high school - 85% chance of that imo) and you don't know what you're even going to major in yet?

Isn't that a bit, you know, a bit stupid?

What do you do for work btw?

Fail, again.

Denial. A natural response.

On the other hand I regularly hypothesise, theorise and stick my neck out with opinions, even when there's a good chance I'm wrong. I then admit when I'm wrong. Why? Because I learn from it, and frankly don't really get bothered by being wrong as long as I learn from it.

Yes, yes, we've all heard your theory that it is better to talk shit and get pointed out on it, rather than to get things right from the start or keep your trap closed.

The most logical explanatikno is that you personally see me as superior to you (which is a natural response considering the dynamic of our relationship), you interpret this as me constantly trying to prove my superiorty, because you are in denial.

Projection. A natural response.

Over the net, but I must attend tutes and lectures. Its full time uni. And like I said, anyone can balance FT uni with FT work, just a matter of discipline and motivation.

May I ask how many hours you are expected to attend in person for your course, and what times you are expected to turn up?

I'm actually doing 2 philosophy units right now as electives. I just like stirring you up. My comment about it being easy to do FT work and uni, and how only arts students bludgers say otherwise etc.... that was all for you fd. you are entertaining to me, but at the same time I have no respect for you. You are close-minded and petty to the point that you are a black hole of good discussion, you deviate topics to the minutest detail because you can not grasp larger concepts.

Yawn.

(Chief, any chance of a 'yawn' emoticon?)

Your overconfidence is very funny to me. But what I must ask, is if you're 20 and you've been at uni for two years already (unless you were kept back in high school - 85% chance of that imo) and you don't know what you're even going to major in yet?

My overconfidence? Aren't you the guy who claims to be smarter than 99% of the population (yet thought that dollars were backed by gold)?

I'm 21. Spent last year in Engineering and did not like it, and it did not like me.

So I was technically a 1st year Arts student this year.

See how easy it can be to answer simple questions?

What do you do for work btw?

Red Rooster part time. On holidays I'll normally do 4-6 weeks of temporary, full-time work at various places. This money tends to come in at just the right time to pay off car rego, car insurance, car service etc.

Not as glamorous as 'financial planning', but at least they teach me useful things. In our level 1 management manual, the first two sections are devoted to 'Currency: What backs our dollar?' and 'Income tax: Are you in the top bracket?'. ;)

Yes, yes, we've all heard your theory that it is better to talk shit and get pointed out on it, rather than to get things right from the start or keep your trap closed.

I've actually been learning that exact theory in my first year philosophy subject as well. Good to be validated by the uni, but of course I already worked out that little "theory" myself, because its common sense.

That you can't see it speaks volumes for your lack of wisdom/enlightenment.

Projection. A natural response.

Shitness.

May I ask how many hours you are expected to attend in person for your course, and what times you are expected to turn up?

Nah, you may not.

Yawn.

(Chief, any chance of a 'yawn' emoticon?)

My overconfidence? Aren't you the guy who claims to be smarter than 99% of the population (yet thought that dollars were backed by gold)?

I don't claim, its actually been proven. Innate intelligence does not change remember, so regardless of how much philosophy teh rest of the population is exposed to, I'm smarter than 99% of them. I would wager you're in that group.

I'm 21. Spent last year in Engineering and did not like it, and it did not like me.

So you've only been at uni two years? or Three?

Started uni when you were 19? Must have been kept back.

So I was technically a 1st year Arts student this year.

Keep racking up that HECS debt, it will serve you well when you're working in fast food.

See how easy it can be to answer simple questions?

Nothing is ever a matter of can or can not with me. Like I said many times (in my vain attempt to try and educate you), it is a matter of discipline and motivation.

Red Rooster part time. On holidays I'll normally do 4-6 weeks of temporary, full-time work at various places. This money tends to come in at just the right time to pay off car rego, car insurance, car service etc.

LOL are you ****ing serious? I said Red Rooster as a joke! Classic stuff! You work at Red Rooster.. oh man, I'd say "you couldn't script this shit" but you know, I just kinda did.

Not as glamorous as 'financial planning', but at least they teach me useful things. In our level 1 management manual, the first two sections are devoted to 'Currency: What backs our dollar?' and 'Income tax: Are you in the top bracket?'. ;)

That's swell, still, I learn more than you, earn more than you and owe less than you. Nice life you got there fd.

From this day on, I promise to not be such a cantankerous prick to you, I didn't realise you had it so rough.

I've actually been learning that exact theory in my first year philosophy subject as well. Good to be validated by the uni, but of course I already worked out that little "theory" myself, because its common sense.

That you can't see it speaks volumes for your lack of wisdom/enlightenment.

Are you being taught that it is good to talk shit rather than looking facts up first, or are you being taught that money is backed by gold? :confused:

Nah, you may not [ask how many hours I attend uni]

Even by your standards, that is pretty pissweak.

Getting on your soapbox and telling everybody how easy it is to study and work FT, but intentionally omitting the fact that you are studying online, and then refusing to actually explain how many hours you even need to turn up.

I don't claim, its actually been proven. Innate intelligence does not change remember, so regardless of how much philosophy teh rest of the population is exposed to, I'm smarter than 99% of them. I would wager you're in that group.

Out of curiosity, what is it that makes you think you are in the top 1% of adults in terms of intelligence?

So you've only been at uni two years? or Three?

Started uni when you were 19? Must have been kept back.

Started uni when I was 19, but was not 'kept back'. Keep trying. :thumbsu:

Keep racking up that HECS debt, it will serve you well when you're working in fast food.

Sorry to burst your bubble, but HECS is not an issue for me -- I am on a scholarship which covers all HECS costs.

:thumbsu:

LOL are you ****ing serious? I said Red Rooster as a joke! Classic stuff! You work at Red Rooster.. oh man, I'd say "you couldn't script this shit" but you know, I just kinda did.

I have mentioned on this forum many times that I work at Red Rooster.

What is wrong with working a low-level job to support oneself through uni?

That's swell, still, I learn more than you, earn more than you and owe less than you. Nice life you got there fd.

What?

Well of course -- you work full-time. :rolleyes:

Wrong (as you so often are*).

I'm actually quite happy with my lifestyle, thanks. So happy, in fact, that I do not feel a need to get into petty arguments as often as I can on an anonymous internet forum to try to make myself feel better about the cards life has dealt me.

I live independently, enjoy what I study, enjoy the company of my workmates at a job that isn't so bad, have plenty of free time to enjoy being young, enjoy the sport I play and the people I play with, and most importantly, I am optimistic about a bright future ahead of me.

If any of that gives you reason to feel 'superior' to me, then it might be time you stepped back and asked yourself why it is you always need to feel 'superior'...

From this day on, I promise to not be such a cantankerous prick to you

At least you realise that you are a cantankerous prick. The first step towards fixing ones character flaws is to concede that they are there.

*I know, I know, you like to talk shit and get pointed out on it, yada yada.

I'm actually quite happy with my lifestyle, thanks. So happy, in fact, that I do not feel a need to get into petty arguments as often as I can on an anonymous internet forum to try to make myself feel better about the cards life has dealt me.

I live independently, enjoy what I study, enjoy the company of my workmates at a job that isn't so bad, have plenty of free time to enjoy being young, enjoy the sport I play and the people I play with, and most importantly, I am optimistic about a bright future ahead of me.

If any of that gives you reason to feel 'superior' to me, then it might be time you stepped back and asked yourself why it is you always need to feel 'superior'...

At least you realise that you are a cantankerous prick. The first step towards fixing ones character flaws is to concede that they are there.

*I know, I know, you like to talk shit and get pointed out on it, yada yada.

Matey, I'm ****ing with you. I worked at Red Rooster myself from the age of 16-18, and loved that job.

Its one of the biggest regrets in my life that I didn't go straight in to uni at 18 and truth be told I'm kind of jealous that you went straight there. Still, never too late to correct a mistake, so I'm doing it FT with my FT work. No way in hell could I have realistically done that when I was 18-23 years old cause I was too busy running amok.

I think we differ a fair bit on our learning styles and debating techniques, but that isn't the end of the world - as long as you keep on learning, it doesn't really matter what method you find best. You're obviously a detail guy. I'm not.

How about discussing the cash bonus, and you guys PM'ing each other?

Well it stemmed from a comment that young singles find it harder to re-skill than married people (which I thought was wrong as any young single can easily juggle FT work and FT study if they want to)

It's impossible to do that especially if you work during the day and your course is during the day.

Yes, but you are playing the man rather than the subject.

It's easy to enjoy a public brawl, but there are personal losers in it.

Stick to the subject and debate it, you will learn far more.

There are many people all with different views, mindsets, and values. Give them their chance, sometimes you can learn from the most outrageous people.

None more than Chief and I. Gee, I'd love at times to give him heaps, but the only loser is me. Chief has the ability to rationalise, so he posts his thoughts without personal insult as debate is useless otherwise. Nobody gains.

ps If it seems I am praising 'Chief', ignore this ;)

What a joke this bonus is. Sure the pensioners deserve every cent but why are hard working people with a mortgage getting nothing yet some people who have a heap of kids,sitting on the dole, living off child support are getting a fortune in addition to that? What's the point of working hard and being decent people??

I agree with most of your post, but why do pensioners deserve a one off?

I think they deserve a permanent raise.

I guess Mr, Ridd is thinking they will spend it on presents for the Kiddies.

But in reality there are two main groups of pensioners IMHO.

1. Those that are in strife, and will pay off debts.
  2. Those that have structured their finances so as to get a pension and keep assets, now those people are struggling with investment decline and are likely to save it, not spend it.
So, IMHO the pensioner bonus will not have a lot of impact on economic growth.

It's an each way bet.

The idea is to stimulate growth by pumping money into the economy.

The execution is to hand out money to pensioners & carers, who are struggling, and to families who already receive welfare, who are (allegedly) also struggling.

Had Rudd lowered the marginal tax rate or handed out cash to the well off, he would have been castigated, despite the net effect on the economy probably being more beneficial. End result? Little benefit for the economy, popularity points gained and $10bn wiped out.

A new stadium in Perth would cost around $1bn. How many jobs would it create? How much money would it bring in for decades to come? An infrastructure project of this magnitude in each of the 5 major cap cities would cost half of what Rudd is spending in rubbish payments. The mind boggles.

By the sound of it, you are doing OK. If you're doing well enough to be ineligible for FTB A, then good on you. No doubt there are families who are also paying for the latest handout, but there are plenty that aren't. I'm not seeing too many singles on the receiving end of, well anything, hence the anger.

The fact remains that middle income families get a much, much better deal than singles & couples. 'Working families' earning $90k a year don't need a yearly handout to buy their kids a new XBOX any more than I need one to buy a new beer fridge.

Not grizzling about not getting the handout - it should go where it is needed - cash up the pensioners I say - I was grizzling about the poster going on about young singles being the ones paying for it which is not the case. It comes out of all of our taxes.

We fall just the wrong side of all cut off points for any govt handouts but it doesn't necessarily mean we are bathing in coins and lighting fires with ten dollar notes either! 90k per year for one or two people goes a lot further than 90k for a family of 5. Again kids were our choice so we provide for them.

And in reference to us having kids to fund retirement etc true, we don't have kids for that reason BUT people do need to remember that society does need a certain rate of reproduction to survive, so those who don't reproduce (or haven't as yet) may want to refrain from attacking those who do have children. Maybe direct the anger at the govt of the day (and those tarty young single mums who get on their mangy little faces on tv spouting 'why should we work?' philosophies...)

Not grizzling about not getting the handout - it should go where it is needed - cash up the pensioners I say - I was grizzling about the poster going on about young singles being the ones paying for it which is not the case. It comes out of all of our taxes.

We fall just the wrong side of all cut off points for any govt handouts but it doesn't necessarily mean we are bathing in coins and lighting fires with ten dollar notes either! 90k per year for one or two people goes a lot further than 90k for a family of 5. Again kids were our choice so we provide for them.

And in reference to us having kids to fund retirement etc true, we don't have kids for that reason BUT people do need to remember that society does need a certain rate of reproduction to survive, so those who don't reproduce (or haven't as yet) may want to refrain from attacking those who do have children. Maybe direct the anger at the govt of the day (and those tarty young single mums who get on their mangy little faces on tv spouting 'why should we work?' philosophies...)

Fair call Bunny... From a childless couple. :)

Directing money 'where it's needed' isn't the purpose of a fiscal stimulus package. An 80 year old couple living off a $150 a week pension needs additional money more than I, a working 20-something do, however I am more likely to spend $1,000 on consumer items than said couple. If the purpose of the handouts is to generate spending, then they are going to the wrong people. If the purpose is to give it to those who deserve it, it is still going to the wrong people. As I stated in another post, it's a populist exercise and an each way bet of a policy.

The government should never be there to subsidise people's lifestyles. No doubt you had more money pre-kids, but having kids is supposed to be a sacrifice. I bet you had more spare time and slept better pre-kids too! The government should be there to provide assistance if you (and I mean anyone, not you personally of course) cannot afford to feed your kids, or provide them with school uniforms etc.

cash bonus...who cares