• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Central Highlands Part 2

I went and saw Bungaree play against Bannockburn, to see how Riccardi still goes, and to also see if Bungaree will be much this year. Game was pretty intense and was a good hard contest. Bannockburn were pretty undisciplined and were quite rough. Especially thought Riccardi was a real prick at one stage, when he held one of the young Bungaree players up against the fence for a good 30 seconds, and wouldnt let go of the kid when he was trying to get away.

My opinion on Bungaree is that they will be around the mark this year, they are just short of a quality key forward and another ruck. Their younger kids were probably their best players, with Rumble playing well until coming off in the 3/4.
The only key player i saw missing was Adam Stevens who was running water, but when i asked they said there were about 6 guys still to come back into the side.

For the record, Bungaree won by about a 10points.

who is everyone playing this week? in the last week before round 1

Is their any side in the country that, when asked HOW YA GO? in a practice match the first thing they say is it was a good hit out but we've still go 6 players to come back in. Every team does it. If they lost they say that we've still got 6 to come back in and when they win they say that the opposition side was missing a few just so that they don't get too far ahead of themselves, or to downplay their abilityat this stage of the year. NO ONE GETS A PREMIERSHIP MEDAL IN MARCH :eek:

I completely agree backup!!

Ive played against some pretty tough footballers and was just interested in finding out who everyone reckons is the toughest/hard at it/scariest bloke they have played on in the chfl or country footy for that matter. It can be from days gone by, or it could be current. I know myself that after the side has been read out on a Thursday after training I have had a few sleepless nights some with excitement, some with anticipation and some wondering if I'll have my teeth left after the Saturday.
Maybe we should also include the fairest and best player we have played against....

I completely agree backup!!

Ive played against some pretty tough footballers and was just interested in finding out who everyone reckons is the toughest/hard at it/scariest bloke they have played on in the chfl or country footy for that matter. It can be from days gone by, or it could be current. I know myself that after the side has been read out on a Thursday after training I have had a few sleepless nights some with excitement, some with anticipation and some wondering if I'll have my teeth left after the Saturday.
Maybe we should also include the fairest and best player we have played against....

Secretly hoping to hear your name thrown around amongst the tough guys hey Softshell?

You got me Crackerz. No Im just generally interested in seeing everyones opinion. Just trying to get something happening on here, if it isnt Hepburn V Daylesford banter then nothing happens.

I'll start things off:
Scott Winduss from Daylesford
Crowe from Buninyong
Miller (Grievous) from Springbank
Chief from Hepburn

Played against these 4 blokes, and they were always pretty tough.

Throw Gilbert (Buninyong) Wood (Dunstown) and Joel Adams (Daylesford) Adam Lawler (Buninyong 10 or so years ago) and Bull (not sure of his first name from Bungaree about 10 years ago) into this debat.
Some of these guys are/were hard at the ball players while others hard at the man types either way you feel/felt the presents

Throw Gilbert (Buninyong) Wood (Dunstown) and Joel Adams (Daylesford) Adam Lawler (Buninyong 10 or so years ago) and Bull (not sure of his first name from Bungaree about 10 years ago) into this debat.
Some of these guys are/were hard at the ball players while others hard at the man types either way you feel/felt the presents
Bull is Jason Weir, good choice and Joel Adams is a ripper too. Im a bit older than most on here, but in my Daylesford days in the BFL, playing against Darren (woofa ) Harris was never much fun. Was pretty happy when he joined me at Hepburn a few years later.. he's a top bloke to go with it. Dont know if anyone knows of Ralph Jones the Ruckman from Bacchus Marsh in the 80s & early 90s. That bloke would be sent off every single game these days. Wayne Cracknell from the Marsh is another.
Was always their team mates but Wayne Purtell and Clive Raak didn't mind it hard either. Wayne Jones and Neil Desailly finished at Bungaree tough men. As were Hepburns Greg Farraro, Robert Thomas & Mark Cowan. But all that was a different era and i dont expect many to remember them.

Back from my day, Bevan Holland was a scary unit (Hepburn) and later in my footy years bloke by the name of Hearn from Ballan was probably the hardest footballer at the ball that I've played against. Robert Thomas deserves a mention, Bruce Richardson (Newlyn) was an uncompromising bloke.

I went and saw Bungaree play against Bannockburn, to see how Riccardi still goes, and to also see if Bungaree will be much this year. Game was pretty intense and was a good hard contest. Bannockburn were pretty undisciplined and were quite rough. Especially thought Riccardi was a real prick at one stage, when he held one of the young Bungaree players up against the fence for a good 30 seconds, and wouldnt let go of the kid when he was trying to get away.

My opinion on Bungaree is that they will be around the mark this year, they are just short of a quality key forward and another ruck. Their younger kids were probably their best players, with Rumble playing well until coming off in the 3/4.
The only key player i saw missing was Adam Stevens who was running water, but when i asked they said there were about 6 guys still to come back into the side.

For the record, Bungaree won by about a 10points.

who is everyone playing this week? in the last week before round 1

Oh please princess!!! I saw the incident and there was nothing in it, he grabbed hold of the Bunga player for about 5 - 10 seconds and then continued on with play. Both sides went at it hard and the game was actually a very good contest. Nothing dirty, rough or malicious all day except for perhaps the incident where the Bannockburn player had his nose broken in the 3rd quarter. Having said that it may have been an accident, its football not netball. Standard of umpiring is a concern again, was terrible until half time when Jamie Love took over. It was the reason for Bannockburns so called undisciplined acts of arguing with the umpire. For the record and not that it really matters considering it was a practice match but Bannockburn actually won the game by about a goal. Bunga had about 3 players out but unfortunately Josh Quinlan may have seriously injured his knee. I think theyll finish around 5th - 7th. Anyone from Bunga give us an update on Quinlan?

Good to hear Springbank beat Carngham even if they did have some players out. Hopefully the Tiges are a little stronger this year. It may be a long year ahead for the Eagles with them going down to Rockbank on the weekend. Heard Clunes got touched up and the Bunnies and Hepburn had good wins.

I believe Springbank play Rokewood this week but haven't heard of any other games.

Oh please princess!!! I saw the incident and there was nothing in it, he grabbed hold of the Bunga player for about 5 - 10 seconds and then continued on with play. Both sides went at it hard and the game was actually a very good contest. Nothing dirty, rough or malicious all day except for perhaps the incident where the Bannockburn player had his nose broken in the 3rd quarter. Having said that it may have been an accident, its football not netball. Standard of umpiring is a concern again, was terrible until half time when Jamie Love took over. It was the reason for Bannockburns so called undisciplined acts of arguing with the umpire. For the record and not that it really matters considering it was a practice match but Bannockburn actually won the game by about a goal. Bunga had about 3 players out but unfortunately Josh Quinlan may have seriously injured his knee. I think theyll finish around 5th - 7th. Anyone from Bunga give us an update on Quinlan?

Good to hear Springbank beat Carngham even if they did have some players out. Hopefully the Tiges are a little stronger this year. It may be a long year ahead for the Eagles with them going down to Rockbank on the weekend. Heard Clunes got touched up and the Bunnies and Hepburn had good wins.

I believe Springbank play Rokewood this week but haven't heard of any other games.

Yeah, i was at the Bungaree and Bannockburn game too, and it was a good hard contest.. Quinlan hurt his foot, not his knee and has done ligaments in his foot, so could be out for a few. Players Bungaree were missing were Adam Stevens, Leske, Abbott, O'neil and Cowan.
They play Diggers Rest this week @ Bungaree.

Bull is Jason Weir, good choice and Joel Adams is a ripper too. Im a bit older than most on here, but in my Daylesford days in the BFL, playing against Darren (woofa ) Harris was never much fun. Was pretty happy when he joined me at Hepburn a few years later.. he's a top bloke to go with it. Dont know if anyone knows of Ralph Jones the Ruckman from Bacchus Marsh in the 80s & early 90s. That bloke would be sent off every single game these days. Wayne Cracknell from the Marsh is another.
Was always their team mates but Wayne Purtell and Clive Raak didn't mind it hard either. Wayne Jones and Neil Desailly finished at Bungaree tough men. As were Hepburns Greg Farraro, Robert Thomas & Mark Cowan. But all that was a different era and i dont expect many to remember them.
I am suprised big G. Seiz doesn't get a mention by you timmy, what a unit. Cracknell was a dirty bloke but was tough as nails. I bet he made you take a couple of backwkards steps back in your day. I would also add big Reeves to that list now, if it is physicallity. Probably got the best hip and shoulder in the CHFL, and i reckon most blokes would have a second think with a one on one with him at the footy. Got some good scalps over the past years, Aj Beacham, James just to name a couple. And AJ used to bring a bit of that to the table when he was at Daylesford. Seen him take a few to the cleaners when he was a bit bigger, not the 75 kg he is at now! ha

Last I heard Abbott was going to miss the whole season unless finals were on the cards, with his kneee still not being right from the reco...

Righto...enough of this talk about daylesford and hepburn, there has been no mention of the crows this year.
From what i hear, they are talking up their forward structure very highly. Apparently one of their 'forgotten' sons Jarrod Trigg is back after 3 years off and on, recovering from all sorts of injuries. Ive been told that his feet are finally healed and that he is ready to show his wares.
With jarrod crashing the packs and creating a front and centre contest, the other 'hyped' up player is Dane 'wizz' Harney, who is said to be one of the best crumbers the club has produced, having nurturing him and moulding him since his junior days.

Now the crows defence might be a bit shaky, but after attending a few training sessions, it is clear that they may just have the forward attacking weapons to make a dent in the top four this year.

Throw uncle franc and drew boy in the mix... and who knows where season '09 could take the crows.

Thoughts??

Oh please princess!!! I saw the incident and there was nothing in it, he grabbed hold of the Bunga player for about 5 - 10 seconds and then continued on with play. Both sides went at it hard and the game was actually a very good contest. Nothing dirty, rough or malicious all day except for perhaps the incident where the Bannockburn player had his nose broken in the 3rd quarter. Having said that it may have been an accident, its football not netball. Standard of umpiring is a concern again, was terrible until half time when Jamie Love took over. It was the reason for Bannockburns so called undisciplined acts of arguing with the umpire.

Anyone know how many senior games a week will require club umpires?

Back from my day, Bevan Holland was a scary unit (Hepburn) and later in my footy years bloke by the name of Hearn from Ballan was probably the hardest footballer at the ball that I've played against. Robert Thomas deserves a mention, Bruce Richardson (Newlyn) was an uncompromising bloke.
i can't believe i forgot a bloke who tried to intimidate the chfl seconds for years(i actually never played against him) but was hilarious to watch considering he had no idea how to handle himself!!!!his name-shane pedretti:eek:

I am suprised big G. Seiz doesn't get a mention by you timmy, what a unit. Cracknell was a dirty bloke but was tough as nails. I bet he made you take a couple of backwkards steps back in your day. I would also add big Reeves to that list now, if it is physicallity. Probably got the best hip and shoulder in the CHFL, and i reckon most blokes would have a second think with a one on one with him at the footy. Got some good scalps over the past years, Aj Beacham, James just to name a couple. And AJ used to bring a bit of that to the table when he was at Daylesford. Seen him take a few to the cleaners when he was a bit bigger, not the 75 kg he is at now! ha

The only time this bloke is hard at the footy in a one on one is if the bloke coming the other way is half his size. It's not hard to pick blokes off when they have their eyes on the footy and there's nothing tough about it.

Nobody has mentioned Dean Lupson or Darren? Tarczon, both hard, tough and nutcases as well.

In CHFL, Matt Brown & Woofer Harris from Hepburn and Marty Conroy from Ballan, all intimidators who backed it up and Dunnstowns Damien Wood was as tough as nails.

The only time this bloke is hard at the footy in a one on one is if the bloke coming the other way is half his size. It's not hard to pick blokes off when they have their eyes on the footy and there's nothing tough about it.

Nobody has mentioned Dean Lupson or Darren? Tarczon, both hard, tough and nutcases as well.

In CHFL, Matt Brown & Woofer Harris from Hepburn and Marty Conroy from Ballan, all intimidators who backed it up and Dunnstowns Damien Wood was as tough as nails.
add Mick Carey to that lot

Each to their own opinion i guess and as i have played with him over the past four years i see it a bit different. Tarczon brothers were mad, probably the most intimidating blokes yo come up against on the field. As for lupson he is one of those who pick off their targets, as i found out the hard way as a 17 year old kid. And a psycho to boot. But when he did something he didn't do it in halves.

Damien Wood was tough and tough when mattered with his head over the ball. Wasn't very big either not like alot of the guys mentioned. Some players mentioned are/were tough but dirty. I have more respect for someone like Woody given his size and that he played hard but fair. Belting and shirt fronting blokes when they're not looking is not really that tough. Playing hurt and with injuries deserves more respect.

Agreed. He was tough as nails!

oh is that his name i thought that was joe dirt running arround for the burra
good call confusia:D a better joe dirt lookalike is one of the w***er Blake's from creswick!!!!just on the wicker's it amuses me they have been so ordinary for so many years,what with the talented juniors they always seem to produce????surely the worst ran senior club going around.I've seen brian harrison play and don't be fooled he can play 85 goals in a pocket in a premiership year dictates to me he can play a little,and the horsham district league still has many top players,one of harrisons teammates was selected for vic country.Kalkee would of beat the bulldogs lastyear but going on what the burras produced gf day would too be a long way off.

What about Jake Pring? Guys might laugh when I say this but this guy really packs a punch. Iv heard He had a team mate recieve 4 weeks for something he didn't do cos noone suspected little Jake pring could brake a guys jaw in several places. Iv also heard he's smashed alot of very big bouncers as well. I must admit though he could be a little more at it when it comes to "moeing guys down" but this is something that he's improved on.

Young fella from Geelong, played Falcons I believe, but did a knee only a few games in last season and had a reco.