• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Central Highlands Part 2

cool thanks, i didn't know they have won that many, its hard to argue with that..

i think with doherty v winduss u might have to go with 4 league medals for doherty

Peter Keep from Darley the dominant ruckman in the late 70s early 80s only stood just over six foot what a player.

cool thanks, i didn't know they have won that many, its hard to argue with that..

i think with doherty v winduss u might have to go with 4 league medals for doherty
Winduss did also win 2 Henderson medals in the BFL by the way. But the question was regarding CHFL. Would have been a great contest watching them.
I'll put a slant on Q12. the best 5 CHFL players seen. wont name Hepburn players, but opposition players that have no doubt given us and other CHFL coaches headaches over the years. These blokes could turn a game very quick and tear the heart out of their opposition if they were allowed to.
Weatherly (Clns) Andrews (Clns Lmnth) Drew (beau) V. Gervasoni (New) Wood (Dun) .... have to name Scoble (dfd) & Liston (wau) great footballers who always fall under the radar, because their more high profile team mates get all the attention. These two are just as good as any.
S. Crough in 2001 at Bunga was awsome too, impossible to stop, pity injury stopped him

Winduss did also win 2 Henderson medals in the BFL by the way. But the question was regarding CHFL. Would have been a great contest watching them.
I'll put a slant on Q12. the best 5 CHFL players seen. wont name Hepburn players, but opposition players that have no doubt given us and other CHFL coaches headaches over the years. These blokes could turn a game very quick and tear the heart out of their opposition if they were allowed to.
Weatherly (Clns) Andrews (Clns Lmnth) Drew (beau) V. Gervasoni (New) Wood (Dun) .... have to name Scoble (dfd) & Liston (wau) great footballers who always fall under the radar, because their more high profile team mates get all the attention. These two are just as good as any.
S. Crough in 2001 at Bunga was awsome too, impossible to stop, pity injury stopped him
good pick with crough timmy!!i think he would of been way to mobile for winduss and jump all over him.Interesting you have mentioned wood but i would say hepburn always got towelled up by daisy learmonth and the cahir brothers so maybe more attention should of been given to them,i'd be interested what the burra brainstrust thought of them?

1. Two they started at Gordon
2. Two, he won a B&F with us in 96' and yes he does regret it, wore number 17 ( bit of useless information )
3. i think their last year was 1985. Their two's played us in the 85 GF
4. Doherty or Winduss
5. Ian Denny and he WAS good
6. 1994
7. Hepburn 6 flags
8. Dunnstown
9. Learmonth
10. Good question dont know it off the top of my head
11. Creswick
12. Peter Gervasoni ,Greg Barras, Sam Newton, Andy McKay , Jamie Grant.. but im biased !!! But another good question
13. Not sure i''ll guess at Peter Keep or Grainger
14. Ian McBain???

10 Nathan Thompsom {nth} played for werribee against nth ballarat
13 I thought it was a bloke hunter but perhaps it was grainger they flew him in from adelaide
14 Ian Mcbain kicked most of his goals in the old league my mistake a good effort to kick that many no matter what league
as for the ruckman crough both the venners and how would eyles go against these guys timmy L mahar bungaree had a good year or to for bungaree i can rember him winning a final almost single handly

Well terrible conditions at Daylesford today. Well done to the Daylesford boys too hard at the footy from the outset. There seemed to be a few players missing from waubra though. I didn't see Shaun Mullane or Pholner out there. A couple of the Waubra boys said that they also had a few more to come back in later in the year which could help. Looks like the daylesford boys will be right up there again. few injury concerns to waubra by the look of it.

good pick with crough timmy!!i think he would of been way to mobile for winduss and jump all over him.Interesting you have mentioned wood but i would say hepburn always got towelled up by daisy learmonth and the cahir brothers so maybe more attention should of been given to them,i'd be interested what the burra brainstrust thought of them?
Cahir brothers still play well against us. Your right back in Daisy Learmonth's day, there was a heap we had to try and cover, impossible for us, thats why they were so strong. i have said this before, but in those days we conistantly finished 4th 5th or maybe 3rd if we were lucky. Didn't have the commitment or man power. We learnt a lot from Dunnstown. Nowadays would be a different story, and im sure there would be some great contests between Hepburn of this era and Dunnstown of that era.
Dr Evil , Chris Eyles was a bloody good ruckman, would be right up there. The way he played the game he just might find it hard to stay on the field these days without being red carded.
Today we beat Beaufort by about 5 or 6 goals up there. They have improved a lot and will take a lot of scalps this year. Have the side to sneak into the final 6.

10 Nathan Thompsom {nth} played for werribee against nth ballarat
13 I thought it was a bloke hunter but perhaps it was grainger they flew him in from adelaide
14 Ian Mcbain kicked most of his goals in the old league my mistake a good effort to kick that many no matter what league
as for the ruckman crough both the venners and how would eyles go against these guys timmy L mahar bungaree had a good year or to for bungaree i can rember him winning a final almost single handly

I think you will find Nathan Thompson is no longer AFL listed, but you are close.
Doc Doherty won 3 league medals, went to Nth Ballarat and rucked whole year in 1's in VFL then went back to Beaufort and won another league medal.
A Venner was good as was Crough but they were not as good in a physical side of the game, compared to S Venner.

Matt Brown also, Mark "Proudy" Hanns, Biggles Broadbent all over long periods of time would have been automatic selections in any team of the year, and would be considered in the best 5 to have played in the league. But then so should Shaun Simpson and Cooky.

Pick your all time greatest CHFL team and see how the current players stack up. Give it a minimum of 50 games and see what you come up with.

Can anyone give me a bit of an update about what happened out at Gordon between them and Springbank for the Touhey Shield? Sportingpulse gives the best but not a lot of information...

I think you will find Nathan Thompson is no longer AFL listed, but you are close.
Doc Doherty won 3 league medals, went to Nth Ballarat and rucked whole year in 1's in VFL then went back to Beaufort and won another league medal.
A Venner was good as was Crough but they were not as good in a physical side of the game, compared to S Venner.

Matt Brown also, Mark "Proudy" Hanns, Biggles Broadbent all over long periods of time would have been automatic selections in any team of the year, and would be considered in the best 5 to have played in the league. But then so should Shaun Simpson and Cooky.

Pick your all time greatest CHFL team and see how the current players stack up. Give it a minimum of 50 games and see what you come up with.
straight off the top of my head here is a start,i have 7 current players but i'm oldschool sorry
B Henderson Raak Elderfield
HB Peters Newton Mann
C Peake Simpson Holland
HF Tranquilli Wheatherly Mckay
F Hind Howlett Mcbain
RUCK Dougherty
RR Wilke
R P.Gervasoni
Inter Winduss Denny Gladman Scoble
plenty of run and create off back half,fire power galore from centre's to forwards and interchange,i've picked on the assumption off goals win matches even the full back has kicked a ton but he's a better backman!!!

straight off the top of my head here is a start,i have 7 current players but i'm oldschool sorry
HB Peters Newton Mann
C Peake Simpson Holland
F Hind Howlett Mcbain
RUCK Dougherty
RR Wilke
R P.Gervasoni
plenty of run and create off back half,fire power galore from centre's to forwards and interchange,i've picked on the assumption off goals win matches even the full back has kicked a ton but he's a better backman!!!
I would think Luke Adams would warrant a spot on a HFF before McKay.

Mojo07 you have just made everyone dumber on this site from your words of wisdom, thanks mate! Now go back and concertrate on your grade 2 homework, you should be getting good at it now since its your 10 year in grade 2!

You have named underachieving players that are good when the goings good but when the going gets tough they go missing!

Wheatherly kicked goals against sides with no defenders, from what i can recall went to the BFL and couldn't get a kick!

Raak, played his best football at daylesford in the BFL, has done little at Hepburn to warrent a place in this side!

Peake - great player at North but has spent greater time on the sidelines through injury then on the ground, but is a great player!

Simpson, because he played AFL he gets a game!

Tranquilli - game breaker fair enough!

McKay - doesn't get a game in my books, any player who doesn't chellenge himself to the highest level possible while young and looks to play in a low league can't be called a champion! mcKay struggled at Bacchus Marsh has never done anything outside the CHFL and at 22yo is just a footballer! Agree with Daylesford Dog and Animal, Luke Adams 10 times the player he is!

Ian Denny clearly the best full forward of the CHFL - the Ablett of the bush, brought many in with his entertaining style of play!

Why isn't Tony Trigg in this side?
Damian Wood??????????

and the list could go on and on!

Mojo07 thanks for the laugh!

HB Peters Newton Mann
C Peake Simpson Holland
F Hind Howlett Mcbain
RUCK Dougherty
RR Wilke
R P.Gervasoni

Mojo07 you have just made everyone dumber on this site from your words of wisdom, thanks mate! Now go back and concertrate on your grade 2 homework, you should be getting good at it now since its your 10 year in grade 2!

You have named underachieving players that are good when the goings good but when the going gets tough they go missing!

Wheatherly kicked goals against sides with no defenders, from what i can recall went to the BFL and couldn't get a kick!

Raak, played his best football at daylesford in the BFL, has done little at Hepburn to warrent a place in this side!

Peake - great player at North but has spent greater time on the sidelines through injury then on the ground, but is a great player!

McKay - doesn't get a game in my books, any player who doesn't chellenge himself to the highest level possible while young and looks to play in a low league can't be called a champion! mcKay struggled at Bacchus Marsh has never done anything outside the CHFL and at 22yo is just a footballer! Agree with Daylesford Dog and Animal, Luke Adams 10 times the player he is!

Ian Denny clearly the best full forward of the CHFL - the Ablett of the bush, brought many in with his entertaining style of play!

Damian Wood??????????

The great thing about these type of questions is the debate they create,Adams is highly overated and very selfish in my opinion,tony trigg?c'mon i recall him playing magoos a couple of times against us and didn't touch it,if your in the greatest team you don't play 2's at your peak.This is a chfl team who cares what players have done in other league's.But tony trigg you are an idiot!!!!!i probably am bias though,i can't wait to see timmy's side

Did you just list the Hepburn side of the century?
i actually found it very difficult to leave out other hepburn players.i left out tony kelly easily the best to ever play chfl but i don't think he played 50 games also lockie brown brilliant footballer,but no this is not a hepburn side

HB Peters Newton Mann
C Peake Simpson Holland
F Hind Howlett Mcbain
RUCK Dougherty
RR Wilke
R P.Gervasoni

hhmmmmm.
F. Mckay,Weatherly,Tranquilly
HF.Mcgrath,Crowe,Nicholson
C.Liston,Andrews(50 games?)Grant
HB Gilbert,Newton,Simpson
B.Cook,Todd,Gladman
FOLL Dougherty,Adams,Wood
INTER.Henderson,Venner,Wilkie,Hanns

Very hard task i don't go way back so i am 100% positive that there are some walk up starts that i have missed out on. All the same this team would take some beating.

Damian Wood??????????

Maybe you could put yourself out and enlighten us with your team captian correct!!!!!!

hhmmmmm.
B.Cook,Todd,Gladman

Very hard task i don't go way back so i am 100% positive that there are some walk up starts that i have missed out on. All the same this team would take some beating.

I doubt whether that team would trouble too many 'best ofs' from any league. All handy players but not many in the great category.

You're right though it's a very hard task. The league has been going for 30 years but most of the teams being offered up are made up of players from the last 10 or 15. Speak to people who have been around from day 1 and most say that Springbanks 2000/01 team was perhaps the best outfit to take the field in this league, and they didn't just rely on Simpson and Tranquilli. Ballans team of the early 80s lost something like 2 games in 3 years and contained some legendary players like Bull Hehir, nobody from that era rates a mention simply because not many saw them. Wendourees premiership team was full of guns, Darley had blokes like Keep, Denny from Gordon was a freak as was Kelly from Hepburn. How would your forward line stack up against McBain Nickolovski Hastie Bourke-Finn Denny Clarke Innes McGuigan Barras Gallop Howlett. You're probably the same as me and couldn't say because we didn't see enough of them, or in some cases not at all. The time span is too great.
On McBain, the little I did see and looking at his record and the size of the man is enough to convince me he was one of the greats. Denny and Kelly are the 2 best I've seen in the CHFL.

hhmmmmm.
B.Cook,Todd,Gladman

This is near impossible, and you can never get everyone to agree with you. Very hard to cast the mind right back, but because i am of the opinion that the stronger CHFL clubs in recent have improved this league immensley, i'm leading towards picking recent players as the majority. Longjevity doesn't concern me, if your good enough, your in. ( afterall John Coleman was named Full Forward in the AFL team of the century and only played 98 games ) I wont pick any Hepburn players, only because i will be biased . Although a couple of sides already are thinking the same way as i do. ...This side will do anything and everything to win a Grand Final, and thats what im after... So here it goes

B. G. Phelps A. Madigan L. Henderson
HB J. McGrath B. Fitzpatrick J. Gilbert
C S. Simpson R. Andrews D. Liston
HF G. Drew O. Weatherly V. Gervasoni
F I. McBain A. Tranquilli D. Wood
R P. Doherty M. Milne
R L. Adams
Inter L. Mitchell L. Brown C. Scoble S. Winduss
Emerg J. Cahir T. Howlett J. Adams I. Denny

versatile, hard running backline. high quality on ballers, forward line would cause heaps of headaches, and flexability on the bench. i know i have missed a few but there will always be disputes whatever you pick

Now this is why i didn't include any Hepburn players. Criteria here i have gone on is that you have to have a Hepburn Premiership medalion or i cant consider you. Now this is hard as well

B B. Sheppherd C. Raak J. Manning
HB R. Mann S. Newton G. Ferraro
C B. Holland L. Brown W.Harrison
HF M. Peake L. Cox J. Grant
F A. McKay R. Thomas G. Barras
R M. Brown T. Kelly
R P. Gervasoni
Inter from M. Muesburger G. Malone T. Ferrier L. Porter D. Elderfield D. James J. James M. Cowan C. Eyles M. Dillon S. Uhi P. Nikolovski R. Atkin

Try kicking a goal against this backline. Chief is a GF specialist and his on ballers all average over 30 plus possesions a game, and they all thrive on the pressure games. If they need a rest Peake Grant & McKay go in there! Forward line is unstoppable, and the bench is to hard to choose from, some very talented players there.
Would be interested to see other CHFL best of side or best of club sides if someone wants to have a crack.
A lot more interesting reading than bagging each others comments.... well done...

This is near impossible, and you can never get everyone to agree with you. Very hard to cast the mind right back, but because i am of the opinion that the stronger CHFL clubs in recent have improved this league immensley, i'm leading towards picking recent players as the majority. Longjevity doesn't concern me, if your good enough, your in. ( afterall John Coleman was named Full Forward in the AFL team of the century and only played 98 games ) I wont pick any Hepburn players, only because i will be biased . Although a couple of sides already are thinking the same way as i do. ...This side will do anything and everything to win a Grand Final, and thats what im after... So here it goes

R P. Doherty M. Milne
R L. Adams

versatile, hard running backline. high quality on ballers, forward line would cause heaps of headaches, and flexability on the bench. i know i have missed a few but there will always be disputes whatever you pick

Now this is why i didn't include any Hepburn players. Criteria here i have gone on is that you have to have a Hepburn Premiership medalion or i cant consider you. Now this is hard as well

R M. Brown T. Kelly
R P. Gervasoni
Inter from M. Muesburger G. Malone T. Ferrier L. Porter D. Elderfield D. James J. James M. Cowan C. Eyles M. Dillon S. Uhi P. Nikolovski R. Atkin

Try kicking a goal against this backline. Chief is a GF specialist and his on ballers all average over 30 plus possesions a game, and they all thrive on the pressure games. If they need a rest Peake Grant & McKay go in there! Forward line is unstoppable, and the bench is to hard to choose from, some very talented players there.
Would be interested to see other CHFL best of side or best of club sides if someone wants to have a crack.
A lot more interesting reading than bagging each others comments.... well done...

I know it isn't CHFL but daylesford did a Best of The BFL team from 1952 through until 2005 and of the current players only Luke Adams and Scott Winduss made the final cut. Scoble, Joel Adams and Cade O'Brien were three from the current batch that just missed out. I'd post that team and compare it to the CHFL teams but alot of names would be unfamiliar. 13 of the 22 went on or had played VFL /AFL, one brownlow medalist (Noel Teasedale), one ineligble brownlow medalist (Grant), one premiership player (Shane Robertson) and numerous league b&f's and goal kicking award winners. Captain was Bill Malone Jnr, who Timmy would know as the older brother of Glen who is on your extended bench. So it is fair to say that i don't think the CHFL have seen the best of both Luke and Scotty, but thats a personal opinion. Good work MOJO you W#NKA.

R P. Doherty M. Milne
R L. Adams

R M. Brown T. Kelly
R P. Gervasoni

i knew it would be good timmy,can't believe i forgot milne he was a powerhouse very much in the same mould as meusberger for those who don't remember,i notice of the 40 odd players you have named you didn't pick peters,hind,wilke what are your thoughts there as i believe the those 3 towelled us and many other teams up on plenty of occations over long chfl career's.if noddy won a flag where would you fit him in the 18?

R P. Doherty M. Milne
R L. Adams

R M. Brown T. Kelly
R P. Gervasoni

F&ck me Timmy get a life!

i knew it would be good timmy,can't believe i forgot milne he was a powerhouse very much in the same mould as meusberger for those who don't remember,i notice of the 40 odd players you have named you didn't pick peters,hind,wilke what are your thoughts there as i believe the those 3 towelled us and many other teams up on plenty of occations over long chfl career's.if noddy won a flag where would you fit him in the 18?
Had Peters and Wilke on the list, didn't consider Hind, but all great CHFL players i agree. Hind caused some damage against us, but Bourke and Harris were also a handful. If i was to pick Hind , i'd nearly go Mal Sargent in his place. He had a real dip every time i saw him. ( when he was playing for Ballarat as well )
Peters set up a lot of Dunnstowns "switching of the Play " and they gave us some awful floggings. Since Peters played, i just think McGrath and Gilbert are better. And more mobile and versatile back flankers who can play in numerous positions.
Wilke is just up against some quality footballers vying for the same position . Had Mitchell for his hardness on the bench ahead of him, also Scoble's pace off the bench is very damaging, so i went for him. Didn't pick him on my emergencies either only because i thought these four deserved to be there somewhere... but i was tough on him...

Noddy started his coaching career with us, and our commitment as players probably took a toll on his playing performances. Gave his all, but should have stayed at Full Forward, instead of playing in the midfield trying to get the ball down there. Catch 22 we didn't have anyone to stand up and kick the goals. Noddy was the man to kick them, but as coach, he felt that he needed to lead by example and not stand in the goal square. Not in the starting 18 but he would be one of the players on the extended bench no doubt.I tried to get him back to play with us at the start of 07. With Noddy sitting in a pocket under Coxy, with Mckay on fire that day, we just might have got over Daylesford on Preliminary Final day. But he went out Lexton Plains way. Muesburger and Malone should be in the starting 18, but you cant fit everone in.

I know it isn't CHFL but daylesford did a Best of The BFL team from 1952 through until 2005 and of the current players only Luke Adams and Scott Winduss made the final cut. Scoble, Joel Adams and Cade O'Brien were three from the current batch that just missed out. I'd post that team and compare it to the CHFL teams but alot of names would be unfamiliar. 13 of the 22 went on or had played VFL /AFL, one brownlow medalist (Noel Teasedale), one ineligble brownlow medalist (Grant), one premiership player (Shane Robertson) and numerous league b&f's and goal kicking award winners. Captain was Bill Malone Jnr, who Timmy would know as the older brother of Glen who is on your extended bench. So it is fair to say that i don't think the CHFL have seen the best of both Luke and Scotty, but thats a personal opinion. Good work MOJO you W#NKA.
please enlighten me crusader why i'm a w***er?if it's that i don't rate luke adams as a chfl legend,you have just basically said the same!!!

Don't you love biased healthy debate. yet no comment from Learmonth.

If you want a good challenge and take the bias out of the debate, try naming the 5 best players from other clubs and develop a squad to pick from. I will have a go at naming some players but I have been away from the league for a while, and never played against Daylesford.
Hepburn: Raak, Brown, Grant, Baras, Mann
Dunstown: Cahir, Cahir, Learmonth
Springbank: Venner, Simpson, Tranquili, Cook, Lamb
Beaufort: Hanns, Broadbent, B Fitzpatrick, A Bones, Doherty
Waubra: Allen, Liston
Learmonth: Sobie, Gunn, Basham
Bungaree: Nicholson, Drew, Steinhouse, Trigg, Clough
Clunes: Hill, Weatherly, Hind, Adams,
Creswick:
Gordon: Sheedy
Bunningyong: Henderson, Phelps, Dean
Newlyn: A Venner, Stewart, Preston, Faull, Bromley

Now I know i have shorely missed potential players here, but that is all I could remember from playing the league for 6 seasons. I have also got a bad memory for names so I am sure a few others could pop into my head over time.

You could discuss this until the cows come home, but I think these teams are a waste of time. It's similar to the debate of weather Ablett Jnr is better than snr? The game has evolved and changed so much that it is impossible to make comparisons from one generation to the next... I'd be interested to know who people think are the top 5 current players of each team to watch?

Don't you love biased healthy debate. yet no comment from Learmonth.

If you want a good challenge and take the bias out of the debate, try naming the 5 best players from other clubs and develop a squad to pick from. I will have a go at naming some players but I have been away from the league for a while, and never played against Daylesford.
Hepburn: Raak, Brown, Grant, Baras, Mann
Dunstown: Cahir, Cahir, Learmonth
Springbank: Venner, Simpson, Tranquili, Cook, Lamb
Beaufort: Hanns, Broadbent, B Fitzpatrick, A Bones, Doherty
Waubra: Allen, Liston
Learmonth: Sobie, Gunn, Basham
Bungaree: Nicholson, Drew, Steinhouse, Trigg, Clough
Clunes: Hill, Weatherly, Hind, Adams,
Creswick:
Gordon: Sheedy
Bunningyong: Henderson, Phelps, Dean
Newlyn: A Venner, Stewart, Preston, Faull, Bromley

Now I know i have shorely missed potential players here, but that is all I could remember from playing the league for 6 seasons. I have also got a bad memory for names so I am sure a few others could pop into my head over time.

I have no idea, didnt take one bit of interest in the CHFL until I became coach of Learmonth 4 years ago. And that is including when I played 8 games at Gordon due to needing to be transferred out of the league from Redan so that i could play with Dford on Permit. Wouldnt even know who the coach was, though he did have a lot of tatoos and plenty of teeth missing. Probably was doing community service or had just been released from Pentrige and the Gordon committee was to scared to tell him he is not coach! When playing at Redan though as a 16 yo, we had Ian Denny come in and play with us on permit and he was a freak!!! Kicked a Torpedo in the wet from the HFF at the City oval in the wet and it went through goal post height!!

No real talk so far regardingthe most important topic and that is current happenings in the league. Dford beat Waubra very easy and are setting the bar high, 2 big scalps. L'Month surprisingly beat Ballan going by majority of the posts before last weeks game..Good upset win. Beaufort as previously stated are a top 6 side and the Burras once again prove they are the side to beat with a very good win in wet conditions over a side I respect big time.
Season is getting interesting already as I think if you lose more than 2 games you may struggle to get the double chance. At worst 3 and a very good %. With Beaufort, B'Yong & Waubra all losing 1 so far some important games over the next few weeks.

Beaufort V B'Yong this week- Massive game for both sides- One will have 2 losses by the end of this weekend.
Waubra V Beaufort Rnd 4- One side will have 2 losses by rnd 4- Beaufort
could have 3

These could be season defining games.................