Central Highlands

can anyone explain how the assistant coach( non playing ) from hepburn can become involved on the field with a buninyong player at 3q time,and when he gets physical and the player responds the ump sends the player off with a red card unable to be replaced for the rest of the game which had a huge effect on the result as buninyong were able to get within 5 pts with one short.
the umps response was that he saw a "unknown spectator" headbutt or attempt to headbutt the player and then saw the player attempt the same thing. so it was his duty to send off the player but he could do nothing about the "unknown spectator". at what point did we stop protecting the players on the field from this sort of thuggery from someone who has no business getting involved with any oppisition player at any time.
the league needs to investigate the matter and ban the assistant coach for life good old hepburn the great family club setting great examples for all up and coming hepburn kids.
if players have no rights when confronted by oppisition staff or supporters might be a great tatic to send suporters out to target good oppisition players and have them redcarded.
due to ump shortages the offending young ump will be fully supported in his decision as to save face and to be seen to fully defend the men in white which is not acceptable.
the league had better investigate this matter and hand out fitting punishment as buninyongs right to play fairly for the cup has been taken away and can not be given back.
this is a major incident and im sure it would not meet the conditions which were given to hepburn on being able to re-enter the league (after one of there better examples of how they are such a wounderful "family" club) and should be treated as such.
the chfl can not sweep this under the carpet it must act and insure that players are unapproachable on the footy field and have the right to defend if assulted.

Investments you may call them, but as i have said before, how many local players actually live in Learmonth or Waubra? Hepburn are a very smart club in what they do and proved it again yesterday. Our players are here for the right reasons, make no mistake about that.
No infighting at all, that was just a heap of crap that our old friend Shane 19 was spreading, trying to derail the club. Bad luck Shane 19 you are the loser and we are the victors! ... hope you have had a prick of a weekend, you deserve it.
I can confirm that Robbo will coach again in 09, and every single player that played in yesterdays senior side ( and i mean every single player )had already signed on before the Grand Final had even been played. So no doubt Hepburn will be up there again.
Our B & F count is on next Saturday, so i will fill you in on the results .

not every player you liar! i infact know that one of your players is leaving the state.

correct. then he is back in time to start the season of 2009

So you can confirm that every single player has actually signed a contract for next year? I would of thought that Darley would be making a huge play for Cox next year and I would of thought that there would be a heap of clubs especially BFL clubs such as Darley and the Marsh trying to get McKay. I hope your right that 'every player on the list' has signed on for next year because you will look awfully silly if your wrong

Darley and Marsh couldnt match their payments, unless they go back for a bit of love and a lot less cash?

every single player that played in yesterdays senior side ( and i mean every single player )had already signed on before the Grand Final had even been played. So no doubt Hepburn will be up there again.

So was it a condition that they had to sign on to play in the grand final then maybe, could be seen as a great policy to retain players but on the other hand could be also seen as undue pressure, giving players a legal avenue out of contracts.

can anyone explain how the assistant coach( non playing ) from hepburn can become involved on the field with a buninyong player at 3q time,and when he gets physical and the player responds the ump sends the player off with a red card unable to be replaced for the rest of the game which had a huge effect on the result as buninyong were able to get within 5 pts with one short.
the umps response was that he saw a "unknown spectator" headbutt or attempt to headbutt the player and then saw the player attempt the same thing. so it was his duty to send off the player but he could do nothing about the "unknown spectator". at what point did we stop protecting the players on the field from this sort of thuggery from someone who has no business getting involved with any oppisition player at any time.
the league needs to investigate the matter and ban the assistant coach for life good old hepburn the great family club setting great examples for all up and coming hepburn kids.
if players have no rights when confronted by oppisition staff or supporters might be a great tatic to send suporters out to target good oppisition players and have them redcarded.
due to ump shortages the offending young ump will be fully supported in his decision as to save face and to be seen to fully defend the men in white which is not acceptable.
the league had better investigate this matter and hand out fitting punishment as buninyongs right to play fairly for the cup has been taken away and can not be given back.
this is a major incident and im sure it would not meet the conditions which were given to hepburn on being able to re-enter the league (after one of there better examples of how they are such a wounderful "family" club) and should be treated as such.
the chfl can not sweep this under the carpet it must act and insure that players are unapproachable on the footy field and have the right to defend if assulted.

Hepburn are the underbelly of the CHFL, they are untouchable for some reason.
There is nothing in the vcfl bfl or chfl rules which allow a player to be sent off for striking anyone other than another player or umpires. Therefore the umpire actually had no grounds to send the player off.
Once again, is this just exagerated rumours or fact.
Bunninyong club, or the player involved need to submit incident reports to the league and VCFL.
Altho i have to admit when the league being managed by the VCFL umpire manager, has such a bad umpire consistancy you have to wonder what these people actually do?

Mate you are kidding arn't you?? Darley would be able to pay more than Hepburn and Daylesford combined.
As good as Cox and McKay are, no club in the BFL would try to match Hepburns payments. There are better players in the BFL getting half of what those blokes get paid.

chin up mate another case of sour grapes,start looking to next year the season is over and the best teams won.you have finally come back with an alias shane 19

i am not shane and this is not sour grapes but every player, club ect should be able to compete for the prize at the end of the year without bulls##t like this as all the boys have worked there ass off as im sure have yours and all we want is a fair crack is this to much to ask?????

Trust me readers, they have all signed.. if you look after your players , then they will look after you.. if you dont believe me then ask them yourselves....Coxy and Andy could earn far more elsewhere, both Champions.
Hepburn won two premierships on Saturday and made an absolute shit load running the bar.. thats how you run a footy club...
What other clubs would have the man power to manage having three teams play on Grand Final day, yet still have the volunteers to run a very succesful bar?
write back and have a go if you want, call us arrogant if you want, but we now have 6 flags and the nearest to us is on 3.. only stating facts...
And to confusious say, im wondering why on earth was your coach in the middle of the Hepburn huddle at 3/4 time causing trouble, when the game was in the balance? He was only asking for trouble.. The Buninyong club should be asking him why he was in there in the first place.... supposedly THE OPPOSITON HUDDLE IS A NO GO ZONE, or am i mistaken.

As good as Cox and McKay are, no club in the BFL would try to match Hepburns payments. There are better players in the BFL getting half of what those blokes get paid.

Thats exactly what im saying. Both are locals and why do you think they left, to see the countryside. They left because they werent getting looked after and Hepburn came up with the cash. Good luck to both them and Hepburn because it paid off. And dont worry there arent many better going around in the BFL, both guns and would walk into any country league side.

Trust me readers, they have all signed.. if you look after your players , then they will look after you.. if you dont believe me then ask them yourselves....Coxy and Andy could earn far more elsewhere, both Champions.
Hepburn won two premierships on Saturday and made an absolute shit load running the bar.. thats how you run a footy club...
What other clubs would have the man power to manage having three teams play on Grand Final day, yet still have the volunteers to run a very succesful bar?
write back and have a go if you want, call us arrogant if you want, but we now have 6 flags and the nearest to us is on 3.. only stating facts...
And to confusious say, im wondering why on earth was your coach in the middle of the Hepburn huddle at 3/4 time causing trouble, when the game was in the balance? He was only asking for trouble.. The Buninyong club should be asking him why he was in there in the first place.... supposedly THE OPPOSITON HUDDLE IS A NO GO ZONE, or am i mistaken.

Dont know that they could earn more elsewhere? But whatever they are on they earnt it.

Investments you may call them, but as i have said before, how many local players actually live in Learmonth or Waubra? Hepburn are a very smart club in what they do and proved it again yesterday. Our players are here for the right reasons, make no mistake about that.
No infighting at all, that was just a heap of crap that our old friend Shane 19 was spreading, trying to derail the club. Bad luck Shane 19 you are the loser and we are the victors! ... hope you have had a prick of a weekend, you deserve it.
I can confirm that Robbo will coach again in 09, and every single player that played in yesterdays senior side ( and i mean every single player )had already signed on before the Grand Final had even been played. So no doubt Hepburn will be up there again.

Hey, I am all for smart recruiting, and of course i cannot think of a team that would not want your forward line and it is great for you that they have all re-signed, but you cannot compare the ability of Learmonth & Waubra to use and hold locals, with the likes of Hepburn, Dford, Creswick and Clunes. But learmonth, waubra, Dunnstown and Bungaree are great for players from Ballarat and surrounding area's who have moved for work uni etc. The question is now, and what every team will be asking themselves is what can be done to stop hepburn, for every team now there is only one team to beat. Should be a cracking comp next year.

first up he is not the coach he is a player, and if i recall correctly a small scruff broke out that was harmless, that is until the entire bench lead by chief brown ran onto the ground and made things a whole lot worse than it was followed by staff and supporters, seems a bit of a coincidence that the huddles for the first 2 q's where held 15 to 20 metres from the bench but this one was STAGED on the forward flank where the blew was so defend all you want but fact is fact. this is not sour grapes hepburn where the top team all yeah so losing to them is nothing to be ashamed about, but i would have liked tohave seen the last quater with both sides at full strength. the actions by your officials where out of line as was that of the ump but other than that it was a great game of two's football just a shame that it MAY have affected the result of a game that you only get one crack at winning. u claim to be this all mighty club so lead by example and clean up some of the bullsh#t that keeps coming from within and win with abit of grace and u might get some respect because that is one thing the mighty burra will never be able to BUY.

mate, as an onlooker i saw that your player was in the opposition 3 quarter time huddle blewing with a team offical, if he had any brains he wouldve walked away, remember he was in hepburns huddle, he made the choice to get involved, the hepburn official was not in buninyong's huddle......the umpire repeatedly told him to get to his own huddle which he continued to refuse so the way i see it, the umpire was in the right to be handing out punishment to a player who refuses to leave the opposition team huddle.......if you think that the incident affected the result of the game maybe your club should punish the player because he may have cost you a flag........stupid low act

Please take this post as a serious one, and please believe me I'm not having a dig here at Hepburn. I think we are all in awe of your list, but I have one question.

What do some of the local players think about these imported guys and how they (the locals) can't get games even in the reserves now, because they are bumped down the list?

Like I said this is an honest question.

Congrats on the premiership by the way :thumbsu:

seems that you keep forgeting that the huddle was only there because they chose to run onto the field and get involved and that is my point.
it is a shame that commonsense seems to be a thing of the past

seems that you keep forgeting that the huddle was only there because they chose to run onto the field and get involved and that is my point.
it is a shame that commonsense seems to be a thing of the past

i'm not sure how new you are to the game of australian rules football, but when the siren blows signifying the end of a quarter teams generally get together in a huddle and get ready for the next quarter, this requires coaches and players on the bench to enter the playing arena...........the fact is that it was at hepburns huddle and there were several buninyong players getting there nose in amongst where they shouldnt have been in the first place............nobody likes a sore loser confusia, so maybe stop complaining about the result of this year and put in a big preseason and try and knock them off next year

i am not a player for buninyong at this stage but thanks for the words of advice. the result is the result i am not trying to take anything away from hepburn. just shits me to see umpires over umpire maybe they should spend more time worring about the actual game.
still believe that the actions of a certain assistant coach for the burra should not have gone unnoticed.
had my say am now over it.

Please take this post as a serious one, and please believe me I'm not having a dig here at Hepburn. I think we are all in awe of your list, but I have one question.

What do some of the local players think about these imported guys and how they (the locals) can't get games even in the reserves now, because they are bumped down the list?

Like I said this is an honest question.

Congrats on the premiership by the way :thumbsu:
Thats a fair and reasonable question, because you have asked it in the right fashion. So i will try to answer it as honestly as i can and i hope it makes some sense.
After our troubles in 2000, the club decided that it would not hold back any player that wanted to leave and play elsewhere in 2001. We had a mass exodus and we really struggled to field sides in all grades during 2001, constantly officials would walk around the boundary knocking on supporters car windows asking our spectators to help make up the numbers in the two's. Many players fathers helped out by playing that year.
We still had a hard working committee, which could raise funds, so we had to recruit players to compete against the Springbank's of that era.
Our juniors were faltering, so we appointed very good junoir coaches, to teach our kids how to play the game, and hopefully go on to become senior players for us.
We recruited well in 2002 & 03, just missing the finals
In 2004 Robbo came along, and with it so did a lot of excitement, more recruits came, but more importantly the local players really put in and we won the senior and reserves flags of 2004.
This era is still going but we have certainly tapered off in our recruiting in recent seasons, just got a lot smarter in the players we recruit..
For example we recruited only 9 players this year ( 5 played seniors on saturday ), compared to Learmonth about 19 and Buninyong about 30 players.
No doubt we cant keep every local happy, but we had 28 locals with premiership medalions around their neck on Saturday night.
If we didn't recruit , lets say, coxy, andy , shep , and peaky, i reckon we may have been right back in the pack,
without them our best 4 players from the two's would have played ones, so our side would not have been any where near as strong.
Our reserves would have lost 4 very good players, and the 4 players who missed out on a game on the weekend all would have played.
Possibly we could have lost both grades, as we did last year, with a lot of sorry faces getting around.
But as a result of a bit of recruiting , both sides are celebrating.
Premierships dont come easy, you have to do the hard work , and sometimes certain players dont put in the hard yards all through the season when its required. Not saying that ours didn't but to win premierships there is always personal dissapointment as well.
23 of those juniors back in 2001 & 2001 played in premierships on Saturday, and thats not including 16 yo Sam Conroy who played in the seniors.
Hopefully that makes sense in a little of what we do, sounds easy, but its a lot of bloody hard work and 100s & 100s of hours by everone in the club involved with absoloutly no passengers.
We will never keep all our players happy as i know your club cant either. There is always a bump you have to deal with along the way, thats what makes being involved in country football so great.
( id rather see 28 of our locals with smiles on the faces with premiership medalions than than none at all... and i bet every single club would feel the same way )

just thought i'd let everyone know that joey carmody won the Bungaree B&F and Chris Morley came runner up. excellent year by both of them... i think everyone out at Bungaree was shocked when Joey didnt even get 1 vote in the league B&F.

and Bungaree are looking to change their name from Bungaree Demons to the Bungaree Lions... after they have recruited half of redans players for 09.

We recruited well in 2002 & 03, just missing the finals
In 2004 Robbo came along, and with it so did a lot of excitement, more recruits came, but more importantly the local players really put in and we won the senior and reserves flags of 2004.
This era is still going but we have certainly tapered off in our recruiting in recent seasons, just got a lot smarter in the players we recruit..
For example we recruited only 9 players this year ( 5 played seniors on saturday ), compared to Learmonth about 19 and Buninyong about 30 players.
Timmy, what percentage do you think the Hepburn senior side has of locals? I did a quick look over of the D'ford side and could only count 4 imports (according to country footy scores/vcfl site team line ups). Out of the 4, D.Thompson is one of them, although he has been there for years. Would you or other Hepburn supporters consider Newton, Leehane and the James' as locals?