Central Highlands

I see Hepburn have picked up another James. All reports are that he was one of their best in the praccy and is better than the other two. Does anyone know if he is on the Bendigo Bombers list? i think he is but probably won't play a lot of games.

Yeah they have, but dont think he is anywhere near as good as his older brother, daniel. Heard a few rumors the hepburn boys have something up their sleave so stay tuned. Big shep was good in the first quarter when up at full forward and had the whole 50 to work with against some kid from maryborough. Died out over the next two quarters though. If he does play up forward he will be easily shown up by a hard running backman over the first 6 weeks till he is fit, or a team that takes his space away. Other recruits were pretty quick, but hopefully they get alot of the footy cause their kicking was horrendous. Someone that looked good was a bloke wearing 22. Played alot like ferrier but up the field a bit more and looked a bit taller so could be someone to watch out for. Other than that no one really stood out, but they did have a lot resting.

U seem to be pretty close to Hepburn Crusader..??? With a lot resting, who are the ones that wont be at the club this season. Is it true that both Newtons have left, one overseas and the other relocated to Cairns. Did Lee Cox play, and how was his form, will be a dangerous player in the CHFL. In my opinion, it will only be a few weeks before Raak & Grant play one's. Cant see them both playing 2's for too long.
With Dford I have heard that Trav Grigg is a little bit overalled and red faced after jumper presentation night are receiving a prestigeous number..???

U seem to be pretty close to Hepburn Crusader..??? With a lot resting, who are the ones that wont be at the club this season. Is it true that both Newtons have left, one overseas and the other relocated to Cairns. Did Lee Cox play, and how was his form, will be a dangerous player in the CHFL. In my opinion, it will only be a few weeks before Raak & Grant play one's. Cant see them both playing 2's for too long.
With Dford I have heard that Trav Grigg is a little bit overalled and red faced after jumper presentation night are receiving a prestigeous number..???
Yep you know how close i am with hepburn mate. With the newtowns im not sure what is going on. No clearances in but i know one is overseas and the other was supposed to be heading interstate, but was supposedly seen after training the other week. That was james. cox didnt play but he will be lethal if he gets going, just lazy though as you would remember. Granty was running water, but i reckon he will have another crack at it.
Griggy was disgusted in how we could give him a number that was so over rated back in the old demons days. talking about wearing number 87 so he doesnt have to wear the 17 and get a bad name for himself.

You blokes are obviously running out of things to talk about. Does anyone on this forum understand the meaning of the word "PRACTICE"? Don't forget that Carlton won the pre-season practice match comp. I was also at the game and are not convinced that Waubra actually got beaten considering Old Westbourne only kicked 2 goals for the entire first half.

Old Westbourne had 3 goals to 1 at quarter time Archie. then Waubra kicked 3 goals to 0 in second 1/4. Waubra only managed 1 goal in the whole second half. And OW came out and kicked 5 goals to nothing in 3rd 1/4. Straight from the score sheet.

Word from the Waubra boys was they only had 3 out of the side they expect to line up in round 1! Whether that means quality players are playing 2nd's due to not training i'm not sure.

But as you all know it was only a practice match.

Big shep was good in the first quarter when up at full forward and had the whole 50 to work with against some kid from maryborough. Died out over the next two quarters though. If he does play up forward he will be easily shown up by a hard running backman over the first 6 weeks till he is fit, or a team that takes his space away.

If CHFL teams don't do their homework on Sheppherd, he will make you pay big time. From what I know and have seen of the guy, he has the potential to be the MVP in the CHFL. He is a genuine hard man and I guarantee someone will learn that the hard way every single week against Hepburn.

He's played most of his footy, that I know of, off the half back line and I couldn't see Hepburn taking him away from his preferred position.

Yep you know how close i am with hepburn mate. With the newtowns im not sure what is going on. No clearances in but i know one is overseas and the other was supposed to be heading interstate, but was supposedly seen after training the other week. That was james. cox didnt play but he will be lethal if he gets going, just lazy though as you would remember. Granty was running water, but i reckon he will have another crack at it.
Griggy was disgusted in how we could give him a number that was so over rated back in the old demons days. talking about wearing number 87 so he doesnt have to wear the 17 and get a bad name for himself.
Did Big Matty Brown play on the weekend? Do you know if he is lining up this year for Hepburn, I heard Rokewood in the Lexton Plains were chasing him?

If CHFL teams don't do their homework on Sheppherd, he will make you pay big time. From what I know and have seen of the guy, he has the potential to be the MVP in the CHFL. He is a genuine hard man and I guarantee someone will learn that the hard way every single week against Hepburn.

He's played most of his footy, that I know of, off the half back line and I couldn't see Hepburn taking him away from his preferred position.

He does it extremely well, and Im sure he will get some victims, but umpires are aware of him and even if it is fair, the size of the guy and the speed that he will hit them at, he may find himself in trouble. Heard he had plenty of problems with umpires playing for Castlemaine with the good old fashioned shirt front. I respect the way he plays, and I feel sorry for the person that he gets, but thats footy and you must have good vision, awareness and courage to play our game and he will keep players on their toes.
Is carrying a pretty serious shoulder injury and most likely will play only against the better sides.
Easiest way if he plays of the H/Back Line take him away from there (deep forward) otherwise one of your gun midfielders may get collected when there not ready. Umpires will be aware of him, and I bet he ends up coming under report at some stage.

He does it extremely well, and Im sure he will get some victims, but umpires are aware of him and even if it is fair, the size of the guy and the speed that he will hit them at, he may find himself in trouble. Heard he had plenty of problems with umpires playing for Castlemaine with the good old fashioned shirt front. I respect the way he plays, and I feel sorry for the person that he gets, but thats footy and you must have good vision, awareness and courage to play our game and he will keep players on their toes.
Is carrying a pretty serious shoulder injury and most likely will play only against the better sides.
Easiest way if he plays of the H/Back Line take him away from there (deep forward) otherwise one of your gun midfielders may get collected when there not ready. Umpires will be aware of him, and I bet he ends up coming under report at some stage.

You're right there Learmonth. I can't see him adopting a new stategy, and even if he hits guys as clean as a whistle, the umps tend to give frees away or take a name in the book. I had a look at him a couple of years ago in the interleague and he was destroying players. And playing good footy.

Anyone tell me where Bungaree is at. Used to play there and haven't heard much about them except that they have picked up a few ex-Redan boys.

I did hear that porter was back at bunninyong, if they can manage to win a few games before he is back, i think they will be in for a good year he will still kick 50 plus goals when he is back.:thumbsu:

Old Westbourne had 3 goals to 1 at quarter time Archie. then Waubra kicked 3 goals to 0 in second 1/4. Waubra only managed 1 goal in the whole second half. And OW came out and kicked 5 goals to nothing in 3rd 1/4. Straight from the score sheet.

Word from the Waubra boys was they only had 3 out of the side they expect to line up in round 1! Whether that means quality players are playing 2nd's due to not training i'm not sure.

But as you all know it was only a practice match.

Don't know which game that score sheet came from considering L. Brown kicked 2, R. Brown kicked 1 & J. Coleman kicked 1 as well all in the first.

Maybe you've mistaken the 2nd quarter for the 1st. Definitely didnt't kick 4 goals in the 1st.
But who cares about the score really. The moral is that Waubra have a fair bit of work to do before they reach their potential!

Maybe you've mistaken the 2nd quarter for the 1st. Definitely didnt't kick 4 goals in the 1st.
But who cares about the score really. The moral is that Waubra have a fair bit of work to do before they reach their potential!
Will you 2 get over the practise match. Call it a draw and move on.

Hey Learmonth is there any truth that Madigan has retired along with P. McGuigan? Also no C. mcGuigan, Veldhuis or Gudgeon this week?

Archie Thredbo, U are in the know, To know so much about Waubra & Learmonth you could have used the alias name as Archie from St Arnaud or Archie 31.

From what you have said your fairly close to the truth, but not completely

so whats the latest from the courier chfl write up this year looks as though ballan have really opened up the cheque book trying to match hepburn

Archie Thredbo, U are in the know, To know so much about Waubra & Learmonth you could have used the alias name as Archie from St Arnaud or Archie 31.

From what you have said your fairly close to the truth, but not completely

You're off the mark a bit there Learmonth. I never played for either.

No need to hide the identity Archie....... Have been through your posts and I can guarantee anything that you are the person im stating (Dont worry, I wont give you away to everyone else). Only way you can know that info is from someone from the club who was involved in our meeting on Tuesday and you are very close to a few boys, especially one who is an electrician and was at the meeting. But once again, we have nothing to hide......

U looked good in an apron the other night aswell

No need to hide the identity Archie....... Have been through your posts and I can guarantee anything that you are the person im stating (Dont worry, I wont give you away to everyone else). Only way you can know that info is from someone from the club who was involved in our meeting on Tuesday and you are very close to a few boys, especially one who is an electrician and was at the meeting. But once again, we have nothing to hide......

U looked good in an apron the other night aswell
Mads has known for a while he's body isn't up to it. Also, is that Archie the one that is always blind every week end? Does he play footy?