• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Central Highlands

doppelganger said:
Rooster, yes tall poppy syndrome might have something to do with it but it's more about the bullying arrogance that exists at every level of the club - from the president to the supporters. Hepburn win no friends with their "stick it up 'em" attitude (eg singing the club song on the ground to taunt opposition clubs). They have a "holier than thou" attitude & they dish it out but can't take it. What a shame it will be to see all those $$$ paid out & still walk away without the flag...:D Go Waubra!

Totaly agree Buddy, have seen the song sung on the ground twice in the finals and pepole from non Hepburn sides all have similar coments, what Wa***rs is the polite way to put it. Same with the whole team going to the centre for the toss what's with that, thought it was the captain's job. Just wonder if they will do a warm down on Austar while the Roo boys are being presented with premiership medals that would be a sight to see............ Go Roos

Lindenow Cat said:
Moved away from the area, is Conks still running around in the firsts for Waubra, likely to get a game in the GF?

playing coaches of the reserves. nice bloke.:thumbsu: not sure if he will pull on the boots on saturday. skonnas very unpredictable.......
it's been 24 years since waubra's last flag and it would be sweet as to bring home the flag. go roos

T REX said:
Totaly agree Buddy, have seen the song sung on the ground twice in the finals and pepole from non Hepburn sides all have similar coments, what Wa***rs is the polite way to put it. Same with the whole team going to the centre for the toss what's with that, thought it was the captain's job. Just wonder if they will do a warm down on Austar while the Roo boys are being presented with premiership medals that would be a sight to see............ Go Roos

Hehe, they are an arrogant bunch i agree. What im saying is not to right them off thou! I think that you will find that they have sang the song outside for most of the year as there rooms at Hepburn are too small, waiting to start renovations on their rooms.

I find it small minded that people on this site continue to comment about the money being spent by the Hepburn team. Lets not forget that it has been worth it for them the past 2 years!! good luck to a team that can raise the revenue to spend on their players. Mind you, Brown, Kinna, Naylon, Biggin, McIntyre and the likes aren't playing for marbles. I'd just like to see Biggin a bloke who left Learmonth for a premiership go home empty handed.

The professionalism that Hepburn have instilled in the competion is second to none. It has been noted that other teams are catching up to them! Were waubra using ice baths, doing rehab and the likes this year? I think you will find they were, all started by the burra boys two years ago. That team have been a positive influence on the league. Get off their back.

All i can say is may the best team win, that may be waubra or that arrogant team from the burra. By the way i have did some research on the last match waubra played hepburn. The burras were without Brown, Raak and the commelli brothers. Waubra had a full unit that day. Who knows it may not make a difference, but it will help curb the midfield dominance by Waubra that day.

Waubra will have the advantage, a fine day with a number of 6 foot players keen to take home their first flag

T REX said:

Think you will find that Hepburns Captain wasn't playing and that they didn't have a stand in captain. Big brown took the toss, but 22 people couldn't do that!
You never know what they are doing down there at Hepburn, they could be using some of this jargon for motivation!!

T REX said:

Do you think that Robbo was the main influence for singing the song outside against Daylesford and Learmonth. He does have a history with Daylesford and that tennis player from Learmonth (Beacham) may have been an influence of arrogance.
I think that we would find that his respect for Waubra, Skontra and the likes is a lot more meaningful.

ROOSTER1 said:
Do you think that Robbo was the main influence for singing the song outside against Daylesford and Learmonth. He does have a history with Daylesford and that tennis player from Learmonth (Beacham) may have been an influence of arrogance.
I think that we would find that his respect for Waubra, Skontra and the likes is a lot more meaningful.
Think you are spot on with just about everything you say in those last three posts Rooster. Lot of jealousy involved when it comes to Hepburn. A lot said about the $$$ out there but how many people would knock back the backing of a millionaire (allegedly), and the ability to recruit very very good players that comes with it, at their footy club?
Having said that, I hope Waubra give them a touch up.

helmut said:
Think you are spot on with just about everything you say in those last three posts Rooster. Lot of jealousy involved when it comes to Hepburn. A lot said about the $$$ out there but how many people would knock back the backing of a millionaire (allegedly), and the ability to recruit very very good players that comes with it, at their footy club?
Having said that, I hope Waubra give them a touch up.

Everyone seems to be sick of the $$$ talk and rightly so... Simple fact is no club will win a flag without spending a certain amount of coin, the days of a team full of local blokes and winning flags are long gone , kids don't live where they grew anymore simple as that !!! Football clubs are no longer a turn up and run themself show, they are a small busniess therefore the clubs with good busniess minds running them will prosper the others will fall away. The main concerne is if some clubs get so financial they become out of reach the rest.

As for the bagging of Hepburn and there ways they run a great show and have taken risks to get there (e.g. Truck Raffle etc) well done. Main worry for them is who is going to continue the hard work generating the coin they opperate under now when Eddie and co call it a day.

Bring on saturday fine perfect day for footy all the questions will be answered still can't help but say ....... GO ROOS!!!

ROOSTER1 said:

I do think the song biso was a ploy to make a few people think no doubt about it. As for the respect for waubra, i have heard both clubs have a good respect for each other on and off the field . If word is correct Robbo spoke to Waubra after they were beaten be them during the year and had nothing but praise for them and hoped the two would meet again in finals to put on a show. He has his wish that might be bad news for the roo boys...

Finaly the best 2 teams have made the G/F that does not always happen should be a cracker!!

learmonth said:
Lets all hope Waubra smashes Hepburn on the weekend! Skonta and the Waubra boys deserve it. Been the best side all year. Go Roos! Hepburn very well ran club, but do they have ******* supporters. Easiest way to kill them off would be to put them all on a bus, poison the windows and watch them lick it......

Typical jealousy from an unsuccessful person.

Go Hepburn. I hope they show why they have been at the top and demonstrate that all the things they do are not arrogance they are tactical ploys that intimidate others. Since Robbo walked in day one everything that has been done is for a purpose...

JGraf said:
Typical jealousy from an unsuccessful person.

Go Hepburn. I hope they show why they have been at the top and demonstrate that all the things they do are not arrogance they are tactical ploys that intimidate others. Since Robbo walked in day one everything that has been done is for a purpose...

Hepburn are a pathetic weak side, and i wouldnt be jealous of any of them. They are ferals and are treated appropriately (Like scum). If only they could learn to except abuse and criticism back, they may gain some respect. Its funny how their players complain if they have things yelled over the fence at them, but are quite happy to do the same with their unintelligent supporters who can only use swear words. Thats about the size of their vocabulary!
JGraf, u are an inferior person, who probably doesnt have the heart to even step on a football field, due to being a coward like all Hepburn supporters.

I leave u with this CLOWN- Most people have two ears and one mouth, so shut up, listen and learn, and you may gain some knowledge..

learmonth said:
Hepburn are a pathetic weak side, and i wouldnt be jealous of any of them. They are ferals and are treated appropriately (Like scum). If only they could learn to except abuse and criticism back, they may gain some respect. Its funny how their players complain if they have things yelled over the fence at them, but are quite happy to do the same with their unintelligent supporters who can only use swear words. Thats about the size of their vocabulary!
JGraf, u are an inferior person, who probably doesnt have the heart to even step on a football field, due to being a coward like all Hepburn supporters.

I leave u with this CLOWN- Most people have two ears and one mouth, so shut up, listen and learn, and you may gain some knowledge..

Learmonth, you are an absolute **** smoker. If ever I have read some bull**** it is from you! I agree that some supporters and I mean some use some very inappropriate language for the family atmosphere in some games. However, I read in the Courier earlier this year about a supporter from Learmonth yelling abuse from the sidelines against Hepburn. Is that correct? I believe that this no brainer was the brother of your current coach (that other idiot that everyone in Ballarat wants put down- like a useless dog).
I do believe that Robbo does everything for a purpose, im just happy that they sang their song outside against that weak as **** team from Learmonth.
Get off this site Learmonth, you are making the general public that read this site sick

May the best side win tomorrow

ROOSTER1 said:
Learmonth, you are an absolute **** smoker. If ever I have read some bull**** it is from you! I agree that some supporters and I mean some use some very inappropriate language for the family atmosphere in some games. However, I read in the Courier earlier this year about a supporter from Learmonth yelling abuse from the sidelines against Hepburn. Is that correct? I believe that this no brainer was the brother of your current coach (that other idiot that everyone in Ballarat wants put down- like a useless dog).
I do believe that Robbo does everything for a purpose, im just happy that they sang their song outside against that weak as **** team from Learmonth.
Get off this site Learmonth, you are making the general public that read this site sick

May the best side win tomorrow

Spot on Rooster, was at that game right next to him, and he didnt swear once, very witty and comical and good too see hepburn was disciplined as they bit back. 1st rule of any good footballer is not to take any notice of the crowd. Even Robertson got distracted and tried to have his say. Then they wrote a pathetic letter into the courier..What a pack of sooks. As i said, like to abuse themselves, but once they get it back, bring on the tears.

As for the Beachams mate, especially AJ, he made Hepburn players look 2nd rate in the final the other week, and his brother Tim, geez ild hate to see what he would do in the Central Highlands...
Problem is with you clowns is that you abuse the Beachams, and they wouldnt even have a clue who you idiots are. I guess you wish that one of them would shake your pathetic hand so you could act important and be a cool cat.
If only you could play the game buddy!!!

learmonth said:
Spot on Rooster, was at that game right next to him, and he didnt swear once, very witty and comical and good too see hepburn was disciplined as they bit back. 1st rule of any good footballer is not to take any notice of the crowd. Even Robertson got distracted and tried to have his say. Then they wrote a pathetic letter into the courier..What a pack of sooks. As i said, like to abuse themselves, but once they get it back, bring on the tears.

As for the Beachams mate, especially AJ, he made Hepburn players look 2nd rate in the final the other week, and his brother Tim, geez ild hate to see what he would do in the Central Highlands...
Problem is with you clowns is that you abuse the Beachams, and they wouldnt even have a clue who you idiots are. I guess you wish that one of them would shake your pathetic hand so you could act important and be a cool cat.
If only you could play the game buddy!!!
You said you didn't know Tim???

X man
You wanted a report so here it is. Good win by a well coached, prepared and balanced side. John Coleman won the medal which is fantastic for the young bloke. Not so fantastic was his performance spewing on the bus on the way back to Ballarat on Saturday night. Mully was Mully, hard at it, with great leadership and a quiet 5. Gav "wild man " Miller got leather poisoning and Ben Naylon must love the warm September days with 2 brilliant finals performances. Another good performance on Saturday night by a tall, young, blonde headed bloke that plays on the wing. (not for Waubra, yet???) Budge was good on Mckay, but on Sunday was nursing a nasty bruise on the neck about the size of a 20 cent piece. Was this from Andy?? or maybe people in the crowd armed with golf balls. The big unit they call the fridge was good leading Newton outside 50 leaving the talls and smalls up forward to have a ball. But if he ever pulls that boot trick on me again he is rooted! Backline solid as ever led by the old fav in Steppa and a Learmonth reject. (thanks Learmonth). Hope to get to your granny on Sat all the best. Need to get one more leave pass for a Saturday off my lovely wife. That is your job Scoop 22 . Start your mission immediatly. More to come.

NCFL said:
X man
You wanted a report so here it is. Good win by a well coached, prepared and balanced side. John Coleman won the medal which is fantastic for the young bloke. Not so fantastic was his performance spewing on the bus on the way back to Ballarat on Saturday night. Mully was Mully, hard at it, with great leadership and a quiet 5. Gav "wild man " Miller got leather poisoning and Ben Naylon must love the warm September days with 2 brilliant finals performances. Another good performance on Saturday night by a tall, young, blonde headed bloke that plays on the wing. (not for Waubra, yet???) Budge was good on Mckay, but on Sunday was nursing a nasty bruise on the neck about the size of a 20 cent piece. Was this from Andy?? or maybe people in the crowd armed with golf balls. The big unit they call the fridge was good leading Newton outside 50 leaving the talls and smalls up forward to have a ball. But if he ever pulls that boot trick on me again he is rooted! Backline solid as ever led by the old fav in Steppa and a Learmonth reject. (thanks Learmonth). Hope to get to your granny on Sat all the best. Need to get one more leave pass for a Saturday off my lovely wife. That is your job Scoop 22 . Start your mission immediatly. More to come.

what a fantastic report NCFL i tell you what the level of professionalism shown by Waubra on saturday was certainly the best i have seen for a long time. The boys were certainly in the zone right from the first bounce and many didn't leave that zone (aka Firewalking - Miller) until i would say late on Sunday night. Very disappointed in the coverage that they gave Waubra on Monday night on the the news, more interviews from the Hepburn coach...My report on the game is almost complete and i will post my recollections of a very memorable grand final...Hopefully NCFL you are still celebrating hard at the Golfy!!!
The lovely wife and kids i am sure would love a day out in the North Central watching what is hoped to be a donald victory! Stay tuned!!!

G'day guys, just a quick question from Southern NSW. A player called Jason Hill was up this way playing a season with a side around the Echuca area. Wondering how he went and will he be staying around the area. I have heard that he was quite a pick up - finishing well in the b + f for his club. I know he was from the Central Highlands league so hoping someone can help me out with some info and maybe a rough estimate of $$$$ it would take to keep him up this way.

Winged Warrior said:
G'day guys, just a quick question from Southern NSW. A player called Jason Hill was up this way playing a season with a side around the Echuca area. Wondering how he went and will he be staying around the area. I have heard that he was quite a pick up - finishing well in the b + f for his club. I know he was from the Central Highlands league so hoping someone can help me out with some info and maybe a rough estimate of $$$$ it would take to keep him up this way.

I know Hilly well and have played with him. Left the cop force (in Training) to play for big $$$ and a job. Asks for around $700, but only goes to clubs that can afford that. In reality he is worth b/t 250-$300
Quick hard at it Midfielder, but skills can hurt him....

learmonth said:
I know Hilly well and have played with him. Left the cop force (in Training) to play for big $$$ and a job. Asks for around $700, but only goes to clubs that can afford that. In reality he is worth b/t 250-$300
Quick hard at it Midfielder, but skills can hurt him....

Understand he also won the league medal in the CHFL, how would he do that with poor skills. Also heard the whisper from his 2006 club that he will be returning to the CHFL to finish career. Hopefully he is not looking for the big $$ this time round if what you say is true.

Any news on the coaching front, or is all staying the same, heard Malcolm Scott may be leaving Ballan and Gladman leaving Gordon. Any other Goings or comings?
Also is it true that Hepburn start training in 3 weeks?

scoop22 said:
what a fantastic report NCFL i tell you what the level of professionalism shown by Waubra on saturday was certainly the best i have seen for a long time. The boys were certainly in the zone right from the first bounce and many didn't leave that zone (aka Firewalking - Miller) until i would say late on Sunday night. Very disappointed in the coverage that they gave Waubra on Monday night on the the news, more interviews from the Hepburn coach...My report on the game is almost complete and i will post my recollections of a very memorable grand final...Hopefully NCFL you are still celebrating hard at the Golfy!!!
The lovely wife and kids i am sure would love a day out in the North Central watching what is hoped to be a donald victory! Stay tuned!!!

Scoop, I'm looking forward to reading your full report on the CHFL GF. I'm also hoping that you may be able to confirm rumours that the Fridge has been seen ordering big at both the Wendouree and Sturt street KFC's this week?

I'm considering venturing up to the North Central GF to watch Fridge Jnr carve them up. Apparently the boy can play just as well as the Fridge, is bigger, and has been known to enjoy the odd Wicked Wing too!

From what i hear Gordon, Ballan, Bunga, Creswick, Beaufort are all looking 4 new coaches. Plyed against hilly fair bit and is good player, dont think ball skills are a problem 4 him and he wins plenty of ball, doesn't seem 2 b able 2 settle down at a club

have heard Ballan, Gordon, Bunga, Creswick, Beaufort will b looking 4 new coaches. as for Hilly have played against him many times , has no problems getting the ball or lack of skill hes problem is settling down

have heard Ballan, Gordon, Bunga, Creswick, Beaufort will b looking 4 new coaches. as for Hilly have played against him many times , has no problems getting the ball or lack of skill hes problem is settling down[/quote]