Central Highlands

Yes it was true, but it has been withdrawn, as a coach I am able to speak to the umpires, which I didnt take up until after the game to clarify a few things. I thought some of the decisions from one of the umpires was very inconsistent with the 1st 4 goals coming from frees & 50's, but thats not what I spoke to him about. He regaurly provoked Learmonth players about their ability while the play was at the other end and iniated it at times, and seemed more intent on trying to provoke our players then umpire the game. With our players biting back, I was not to impressed with their behaviour and focus on the game. But this was a prime example of a guy who tried to be bigger then the game.
Having spoke with the other umpire who has officiated in over 400 games, who overode this umpire and withdrew the report he said he was the worst he has seen and will not umpire with him again, and has put a complaint into the board of umpires about his performance which i will be doing as well. Im not arguing the decisons he made, as you cop the good with the bad, but his attitude was disgraceful and I give full credit to the Ballan F.C who beat us fair and square. They were harder and more desperate.
Unfortunatly a sign of the times with low umpire numbers hard to see things improving in a hurry. Saw Daylesford beat Waubra on Saturday and there was at least 1 decision made through crowd persuasion fairly funny at the time with both team supporters having a laugh about it. Conditions were shocking under foot and Waubra were penalized for a deliberate out of bounds which was nothing more than a kick slewing off the boot in wet going. Daylesford did a similar thing later in the game right in front of the rooms as soon as it left the blokes foot the Waubra supporters were calling deliberate and the umpire came to the party. I guess you can call that constancy but it looked more like a square up, neither of the two should have been paid deliberate.

Yes it was true, but it has been withdrawn, as a coach I am able to speak to the umpires, which I didnt take up until after the game to clarify a few things. I thought some of the decisions from one of the umpires was very inconsistent with the 1st 4 goals coming from frees & 50's, but thats not what I spoke to him about. He regaurly provoked Learmonth players about their ability while the play was at the other end and iniated it at times, and seemed more intent on trying to provoke our players then umpire the game. With our players biting back, I was not to impressed with their behaviour and focus on the game. But this was a prime example of a guy who tried to be bigger then the game.
Having spoke with the other umpire who has officiated in over 400 games, who overode this umpire and withdrew the report he said he was the worst he has seen and will not umpire with him again, and has put a complaint into the board of umpires about his performance which i will be doing as well. Im not arguing the decisons he made, as you cop the good with the bad, but his attitude was disgraceful and I give full credit to the Ballan F.C who beat us fair and square. They were harder and more desperate.
Hey AJ, come up tonight mate. I am sure that bowesy will be happy to speak to you.

Unfortunatly a sign of the times with low umpire numbers hard to see things improving in a hurry. Saw Daylesford beat Waubra on Saturday and there was at least 1 decision made through crowd persuasion fairly funny at the time with both team supporters having a laugh about it. Conditions were shocking under foot and Waubra were penalized for a deliberate out of bounds which was nothing more than a kick slewing off the boot in wet going. Daylesford did a similar thing later in the game right in front of the rooms as soon as it left the blokes foot the Waubra supporters were calling deliberate and the umpire came to the party. I guess you can call that constancy but it looked more like a square up, neither of the two should have been paid deliberate.
What did you make of the game on the weekend OS. Couldn't get much info out of the courier report. Would you mind sharing your thoughts on the game with us?

Daylesford deserved the win played a better first half missed shots on goal they should have kicked. Having said that Waubra had their chances to win also, hard to gage much due to the state of the ground but with 2 full strength sides and a dry ground it would be a great match. Daylesford would now have to be the outright favorite this year but they will also realize next time round they must be on song . Hard to say allot more than that mate, 6 goals each just a tough slog but an entertaining game at the same time. Wouldn't be surprised on a fine day so see a big margin all depends on which team turns it on.

BRING BACK THE DROUGHT!

I loved the fact all you Central Highland guru's stated that Box and Dridan won't go any good at such a ''high level of football'' judging from the paper each week i would say Box would be close to leading Dunnstowns Best and Fairest and seeing they are 4th he must go ok. By the sounds Dridan is tearin it up too!

Personally i don't think the CHFL is as greater standard as everyone raves on about, the 3 top teams are really good teams then it falls away big time. i saw carngham linton beat dunnstown in a praccy convincingly and from what i was told dunnstown were close ish to full strength. Carngham lost there first four games which they have never done before so it is hard to say they would have been in that greater touch.

All in all i reckon, Skipton or Rokewood would easily be in the top 5 in CHFL.
Would agree when fit that Dridan is a pretty handy player in CHFL and his record in LP speaks for itself. As for box agree with Johny Utah that he is not much of a player at all, doesnt set a very good example for others in the team with his poor on field antics during a game especially been an assistant! As far as been high in the B & F i find that hard to believe D town have some quality players that surely would be ahead of box.

Maybe we all should start a campaign to BRING BACK KENNY HILL. I never thought i'd say it. The standard of reports in the courier have dropped this year, whoever does the previews really had no idea about the players or the teams.

agree with you ther nev. i can understand why coaches get frustrated with hill but he tells you what you want to know. It shows just how little pedler knows about the teams when he gives his prediction on the games. id say he would be a fair bit off the pace in the footy tipping

Would bu unusual as now other town has two major leagues based around it. Also the standard is not of a level near major league football, really are mostly small towns with the exception of Beaufort and Daylesford

I dont really keep up with the CHFL too much, but are there any clubs within the league that are struggling, as far as mid/longterm survival goes?

The first two that would come to mind would be Creswick and Gordon. I was approached to play for Gordon a few years back and I said "I hate playing on that ground once a year let alone once a fortnight". Its been quite a while since either had a competitive outfit. Noddy Gladman seemed to get Creswick going a bit when he was there, may have had trouble with blokes getting injured if memory serves. Their 2's made the finals a cuppla years running.

Just wondering how bad the Learmonth footy ground is at the moment? Saw the scores on saturday's game, pretty low, and the conditions weren't that bad! Has it been overused this year and turned it into a slush?

The ground is in shocking condition, and has had a stack of use, and with all this rain, it just hasnt recovered. Will need a few weeks of dry weather, and windy conditions to get it back to just average conditions. It reminded me of the good old days in Dford, and if we get much more rain, im guessing we will be playing in the same conditions this week.

Hey guys just wanting to know how an old mate is goin, havent seen him in a while.. Brad Beseler hes playing for Waubra i think, can anyone tell me how he is goin with his footy?? cheers..

I loved the fact all you Central Highland guru's stated that Box and Dridan won't go any good at such a ''high level of football'' judging from the paper each week i would say Box would be close to leading Dunnstowns Best and Fairest and seeing they are 4th he must go ok. By the sounds Dridan is tearin it up too!

Personally i don't think the CHFL is as greater standard as everyone raves on about, the 3 top teams are really good teams then it falls away big time. i saw carngham linton beat dunnstown in a praccy convincingly and from what i was told dunnstown were close ish to full strength. Carngham lost there first four games which they have never done before so it is hard to say they would have been in that greater touch.

All in all i reckon, Skipton or Rokewood would easily be in the top 5 in CHFL.

100% agree. Skipton & Rokewood would give all but Daylesford & Waubra lots of problems. Box & Dridan are doing enough at Dunnstown to suggest that CHFL quality ain't what its talked up to be. Have not seen a lot of Dunnstown games but they seem to go OK.

the practice match Dunnstown had against carnhamlinton was a 6 Quarter game with dunnstown fielding most of there better player at the start of the game the scores were wiped at three quater time then carnhams better players went on and yes carnham were up at the end of the game it was not much of a spectical but i have never seen a good game at a practice match yet Skipton have 5 ex Dunnstown players there coach played in three grand finals with Dunnstown i think if my memory is correct winning in 98 99 and m george and brett conroy both played at dunnstown last year the other 2 r dixon who has enough speed he ran at stawell but couldnt make it at dunnstown the other is lench who played jounior footy there and a few reserves games when he was younger he has oviously improved a lot since then.Box is hard at it but his kicking lets him down,proble wood be doing well in b n f along with saws and j cahir. Dridan is a good player i think he won 2 league b n f at lexton.I dont think that chokewood wood get within ten goals of d ford waubra or hepburn,but nor can the rest of the chfl.Dunnstown have injurys to a few of there bigger players and lack a Quality forward so will battle to make the finals p.s c linton wont be any good till the sack troy nunn as fitness coach and give the job to his brother. I wouldnt right c linton of if they get head back at finals time. They r the only side that can beat skipton.

would have to agree with u didak, Savage and Pring both seem to be going well at daylesford, as is watson at bungaree wich all of those three came from the LPFL aswell, and r holding there own:thumbsu:

You can't compare league's by looking at the top players that swap leagues as these players will play well in most leagues. You need to look at the bottom 5-10 players to really test the strength of a team. An example is that 3 of gordon's bottom 5-10 players left at the end of 2004 and all played in skipton's premiership team in 2005. This cannot say much for the depth of the LPFL .Therefore i'd say skipton would probably finish around the 6-8 region in the CHFL.

It's a never ending debate and I've watched a fair bit of both competitions this year. Skipton and Rokewood are very good teams and very well coached. I would say McKay gets a lot more out of his players than most coaches around Ballarat so that might explain the Gordon players.

Coon and Allen are highly rated out at Clunes and in CHFL circles but they went to Carngham-Linton and couldn't get a kick.

My view is that Skipton and Rokewood would be 4th and 6th in this league respectively. I'd like those 2 teams, Carngham and Illabarook to join the CHFL and scrap the LPFL.

be nice to see a 16 team comp with a final 8 system but doesnt seem all that likely.
any predictions to how the ladder(top 7 teams) will pan out before the season hits finals