Central Murray FL Discussion 2025

Big Arnie is an interesting one. Top player bo doubt but seems to play his best footy up north rather than here at hom3

I reckon he’s always a bit lighter/fitter up there though. He had a very very good period a few years ago playing for Waratahs then for woorinen then Waratahs then Sebastopol all back to back

I'd love to see him give the ovens and murray a crack, I reckon big grounds and opportunity against the best would push him no doubt, and get the absolute best out of him.

K/B are the big watch for mine, lot of pressure on demario to succeed hence why there dragging blokes from anywhere and everywhere. I reckon if the drovers dog could kick a footy he’d get thrown bone there
What do the raiders stand for as a club? Haven't won a flag since 93. What's their plan? To me I reckon there's instant pressure on marcus to succeed, without a long term vision. They seem to.either do nothing or spend big with no locals hardly in the side and when theres not that local pull they fall short.

They only have to look down the road at kerang, ro see how its being done, invest in locals, they've done that with Thomas, bremners, Wilkinson.

Then they get arho and bilton, which doesn't suit their earlier signings. I reckon there's real pressure on the coach to play finals straight up and not build a list. Don't think it's the coaches fault.

With the 4 young signings, they should be looking for more youth from golden rivers and kerang and build, get a good core and get 2 or 3 guys in their prime, and build a side

What do the raiders stand for as a club? Haven't won a flag since 93. What's their plan? To me I reckon there's instant pressure on marcus to succeed, without a long term vision. They seem to.either do nothing or spend big with no locals hardly in the side and when theres not that local pull they fall short.

They only have to look down the road at kerang, ro see how its being done, invest in locals, they've done that with Thomas, bremners, Wilkinson.

Then they get arho and bilton, which doesn't suit their earlier signings. I reckon there's real pressure on the coach to play finals straight up and not build a list. Don't think it's the coaches fault.

With the 4 young signings, they should be looking for more youth from golden rivers and kerang and build, get a good core and get 2 or 3 guys in their prime, and build a side
I don’t know what they stand for Trent, they leave a lot to be desired.

Maybe just maybe it was a better decision financially to get 2 older guys rather than 2 or 3 in their prime. Guys in their prime who can genuinely play are signed before the season is completed and demand big $. Give barham 2 years and they will be winning more often than not. Tyntynder, Swan Hole, Balranald, Lake Boga are the ones you should giving your wisdom to mate.

They have been trying pretty hard to get recruits from every club around them. Only one Bremner is heading over, the other one is happy in Kerang.

Lalbert are under the pump this year more than anyone given the $$$ they’ve spent!! They’ve been up there for years and always stumble at the last hurdle. They’ve had a good team that’s played a bit of footy together and recruited a couple in. It’s time they stopped tripping over themselves and learn how to capatilise

Same can be said about Cohuna.

They aren’t easy to win….yep lost 2 grand finals and made a prelim…

Should have won one of the gf’s but we won’t go into that.

I’ll take the recent record of the club over what I experienced when I played

Maybe just maybe it was a better decision financially to get 2 older guys rather than 2 or 3 in their prime. Guys in their prime who can genuinely play are signed before the season is completed and demand big $. Give barham 2 years and they will be winning more often than not. Tyntynder, Swan Hole, Balranald, Lake Boga are the ones you should giving your wisdom to mate.
I don't think those guys are cheap though.

But yep boga with talented juniors can't seem to keep them long enough, they used to get the good nully guys across too.

Tyntynder I don't know what's happening there, they seem to have become irrelevant now.

I reckon swan hill will be the same as last year, their kids generally come on quicker than expected. They usually always have a few star senior guys to learn from though, maybe their coach is their only a grade player

But yep boga with talented juniors can't seem to keep them long enough, they used to get the good nully guys across too.

Tyntynder I don't know what's happening there, they seem to have become irrelevant now.

I reckon swan hill will be the same as last year, their kids generally come on quicker than expected. They usually always have a few star senior guys to learn from though, maybe their coach is their only a grade player
I dont think bilton is in the same category as Arho is he? Past his best but he will be a good asset for some on field leadership. I don’t think he would be on ridiculous money? And probably a fair bit better bloke than Arho as well

Well carisbrook he's home club will be a shoe in to play finals, he's probably been their best player for the past decade, so to leave and travel all the way up to the raiders, I'd think the offer was too good to refuse. He'll provide good leadership but there's a big difference in the grounds of mcdfl compared to central murray too, not sure the big dry grounds will suit him now

Has he played down this way before?

I agree… plenty of talk about Marcus being under pressure a few months into a new project at the Raiders where they’ve won 3 games in 3 years which I think abit unfair.

Huge pressure on Harry & Brent to deliver a premiership in 2025, they’ve been perennial bridesmaids for the best part of a decade… big names on every line, added even more firepower with the signing of Rankine.. the wolves are at the door, time to deliver

How many years was Arho at Nyah? If it's more of a multi year plan to rebuild and be competitive, provided the funds are there hell probably stay the duration. Saves the battle of looking for and getting a new forward every year

Central Murray FL Discussion 2025