choppy

Mar 20, 2001
Not the Gold Coast
Shinboners
Noticed that he was fronting the cameras during todays match and not Greg Miller. Seems to have been a noticeable change in frontmen over the last few weeks.

I am quite impressed with him. Is obviously passionate about the Roos but doesn't appear to be full of ******** like some presidents.

I know he is in the IT industry but can anyone tell me more about him. Hopefully he can improve the current official home page which is a shocker.

Hey Choppy.

He is in the IT Industry (I used to work with him), but only at a board level currently due to his new commitments as president of the football club.

He did mention to me at the Cocktail night that the forum on the official web page may soon (I think we all know why). But I don't think he has the time or capacity to change it himself.

I hope the team get a permanent IT person at the club to help out with these sorts of issues.

But I think he can do some good work for us in the future!

Yes, good to see and hear Andrew, taking on more official duties.

Watching Pepsi Chart this morning and You Am I was on. Good to see Timmy with his BEWARE sticker on his guitar. Rock star and football bogan, glad he's on our team........
Luff ya work, Timmy, luff ya work!:p

Andrew Carter is passionate about the club and is definitely a football person. He is not as full of himself as a lot of presidents and I think he will let his actions do the talking for him.

On the IT front the VP's will be working on this as well as marketing and membership issues - I would predict some big changes over the next 12 months.

kmartkid

What is his background. Does he have his own IT company ie is he from the dot com sector or does he have a business background?

I'm just curious?

Also since you seem to be on the inside what about Mark Dawson's comments re dividend payments. Is this official club policy. If not seems to be a few North people; ala Greg Miller re private ownership; shooting thier mouths of at the moment.

Also can you clarify this share ownership thing as was in the Sun today. Is it true that the club is controlled by these shareholders and the members ultimately have no say. Is it possible for members to buy a small parcel of shares. ie what if a member wanted to buy say 500 shares as way of donation to the club. Is this possible?

What is possible in terms of private ownership. Apparently these shares are worth 50 cents and 1 dollar. Can a Packer or Murdock come along, make an offer to good to refuse to the Goods, Johnstones, etc and thereby gain control of the club?

This vice presidents thing seems to be progressing really well. Apart from the financial input these people are making when will we see some of the new ideas and initiatives that will hopefully come from this group. Will we get an eleven game Melbourne membership package back?

I am an unusual VP in that I am a professional but not a business person. Most of the VP's are company directors etc.

I am not sure of Andrew Carters exact background but he has an excellent reputation and I, for one, am impressed with him. I think he is one of the better club presidents going around. His background is more in business than dot coms.

I didn't hear of Marks comments regarding dividends but to my knowledge the Nth shares pay no dividend. There value is purely related to the fact that you are a shareholder in your football club.

My understanding is that the shareholders own the club but that the board and shareholders are beholden to the members. I will check this out. As to how to get hold of shares I don't know. VP' s got up to 10000 shares as part of their package. The best place to enquire is through the marketing department.

I think the issue of a Murdoch or Packer taking the control of the club is a moot point as there is no profit in it. I suppose they could theoretically gain a majority of shares but as it is a non profit sporting club what would be the use? Personally, I have shares because I want to be a part of the club and see it prosper in the future. I don't expect to make money from it or to achieve any benefit apart from personal satisfaction.

The first VP committee meeting is this week. The VP's are a very diverse group of people from all professional groups and I will be invovled in membership issues from both a general and regional point of view. I have quite a few ideas, some of my own, and some from the forums. Most of the changes etc won't be apparent until next year but some (mainly IT) should be seen earlier.

There are currently 87 VP's from all over Australia including 8 from Canberra.

Sorry to but in but I've been reading your posts for months and love 'ya work guys. Hope the following is of use:

Found out a bit about Carter at Christmas through a friend who also used to work for/with him. My memory is hazy (too much Chrissy bubbly), but I think he was instrumental in the Hypertec sponcership a couple of years ago and is quite high up in the Australian info tech market.

Keep up the good work!

:)

Originally posted by Boomer
Sorry to but in but I've been reading your posts for months and love 'ya work guys. Hope the following is of use:

Found out a bit about Carter at Christmas through a friend who also used to work for/with him. My memory is hazy (too much Chrissy bubbly), but I think he was instrumental in the Hypertec sponcership a couple of years ago and is quite high up in the Australian info tech market.

Keep up the good work!

:)

Welcome Boomer. That's correct and he also got Hewlett Packard on board as our sponsor in 1997/1998.

I think we got the rough end the pineapple when we got Carter as our Chairman. He appears intelligent, thoughtful, articulate and puts the clubs interests first without offending the club supporters and AFL.
I don't know about you guys, but surely this is wrong. Shouldn't all Chairperson's be obnoxious, thoughtless swine who care about nothing but the sound of their booming voice???

Originally posted by Vansrooboys

Hey, if ya into footy then your a bogan. I'm a Football BOGAN! Just like you......hehehehehehe

Er....can I claim to be more of a Tim Rogers (sings some half decent tunes) mod-bogan creature than the John Farnham (musical snore-fest) mullut-bogan???? :p

Originally posted by 35eye

I've just been labelled a bogan in my work place because I prefer Eminem to Craig David.

Who the hell is Craig David?

As for being a bogan, take a look at your CD collection. If you own any more than 10 CDs by any combination of the following bands, you are 25% there : AC/DC, Rose Tattoo, The Angels, Choirboys, Cold Chisel

If you own any more than one flanelette shirt, and if you wear one in public, that gives you another 40%. (Bonus 10% if you wear moccasins in public)

If you have any Holden car bodies in your front yard, another 25%.

If you have any in your back yard as well, with a pit bull guarding it by standing on the car's roof or bonnet, you are a bogan beyond doubt.

Not that there's anything wrong with that. :D

C'mon Darky, you should know who Craig David is (the little spunk that he is)!

Monday
Took her for a drink on Tuesday
We were making love by Wednesday
And on Thursday and Friday and Saturday
We chilled on Sunday

Originally posted by Darky

As for being a bogan, take a look at your CD collection. If you own any more than 10 CDs by any combination of the following bands, you are 25% there : AC/DC, Rose Tattoo, The Angels, Choirboys, Cold Chisel

If you own any more than one flanelette shirt, and if you wear one in public, that gives you another 40%. (Bonus 10% if you wear moccasins in public)

If you have any Holden car bodies in your front yard, another 25%.

If you have any in your back yard as well, with a pit bull guarding it by standing on the car's roof or bonnet, you are a bogan beyond doubt.

Not that there's anything wrong with that. :D

Don't forget the Mullet (No offence Invisible Mullet, my main man) and the spray on black Levi's with the Ugg Boots to match!

Oh yeah and the Cigarettes shoved up the shoulder of a white (rolled up) shirt.

Originally posted by Malibu
C'mon Darky, you should know who Craig David is (the little spunk that he is)!

Monday
Took her for a drink on Tuesday
We were making love by Wednesday
And on Thursday and Friday and Saturday
We chilled on Sunday

She's too f*cking easy if you ask me.

I don't really like Eminem, as I had to explain myself to Doc tonight. I just rate him higher than Craig David.

Chairman Carter