Game Day Changes & Pre-match Discussion - RD 4 vs. Carlton. Thur 03/04 @ 7:30pm (MCG)

Also, with the Blues’ suspect backline (outside of Weitering), I’d be wanting all of Mihocek, McStay and Membrey out there to try and stretch their defence, using their forward craft to exploit some of the weaknesses and mismatches arising from it.
I'd go a small forward line against the Blues - they're smalls are terrible. Just scramble it forward and our smalls will cut them to ribbons.

Have no concerns with McStay or Frampton playing second ruck. With TDK, we're going to lose the hit out so just be prepared to tackle him because he loves grabbing it out of the ruck. I remember West Coast playing this way against Grundy in the 2018 Grand Final, they essentially tagged him and made his life hell throughout the whole day.

If McKay plays, they'll be going in with Curnow, McKay, Kemp, Silvagni, Weitering, McGovern and Haynes. For a team that struggles to run out games, that's very tall and slow. Our MMM forward line and smalls should be able to spread them thin.

Have no concerns with McStay or Frampton playing second ruck. With TDK, we're going to lose the hit out so just be prepared to tackle him because he loves grabbing it out of the ruck. I remember West Coast playing this way against Grundy in the 2018 Grand Final, they essentially tagged him and made his life hell throughout the whole day.

If McKay plays, they'll be going in with Curnow, McKay, Kemp, Silvagni, Weitering, McGovern and Haynes. For a team that struggles to run out games, that's very tall and slow. Our MMM forward line and smalls should be able to spread them thin.
Id challenge McGovern to a race over 50m i reckon. Probably wouldn't win but if he accepted it id count that as a victory. Slow as ****

Just went back to 2000
We've played these clowns 47 times and won 32 of them.

In the past 12 games, they've only won two - one of which was in our slump towards end of the season in 2023 - we know that season ended but I do remember not enjoying the finals with Carlton hanging around like a bad smell.

Just went back to 2000

In the past 12 games, they've only won two - one of which was in our slump towards end of the season in 2023 - we know that season ended but I do remember not enjoying the finals with Carlton hanging around like a bad smell.
I have quite a few other sides that worry more than that bunch of w***ers

Just went back to 2000

Yeah but remember Nick hasn’t taken a contested mark and squibs every contest apart from the 37 touches and 10 clearances he gets a week. He squibs contests he’s not at evidently. The morons are that short of criticism for him they’re playing the “we might be slow and shit but our Dad is tougher” strategy

Just went back to 2000

If you look at the last 20 games against every opponent, we are 50% or better against everyone except 1 team which we have a 5 win - 15 loss record.

Every year when I look at the fixture, I pencil in 3 mulligans where a win is a bonus.

Sydney @ SCG
GWS @ Showgrounds
Hawthorn @ anywhere
I watched the 2011 prelim with 3 Hawthorn supporters that were giving it to me the whole game. When Ball kicked that goal I jumped out of my chair and unleashed on them like Gordon Ramsay to a trio of useless chefs. I think I put a curse on us that night

It's not looking like I'll make it down from Brissy for the game on Thursday night so anyone who's looking for a ticket give me a shout and it's yours. *will know for sure by 1pm.

Word around Houston copped a knock to his nose at yesterdays match sim at olympic park.

Not too sure.

They will assess tomorrow.

Potential his is a rest to let the swelling go.

A watch and see.

Was a light knock by the footy from a contest.

I think they will tape it if he plays this thursday at the MCG.

Checkers WHE available now.

I was thinking the same the other night. Like the Pies from a few eras. They go hard and they're good in a contest, but just have no class to finish. They'll stay in games and will win some where they use it better than their par, but their par isn't good enough.
It staggers me posting this, but they’re actually missing Smith and what he was going to offer with his ability to go inside to out. It would have freed up both Cerra and Walsh.

My big concern is that their decision to target Smith/ O’Sullivan was part of a broader strategy to fix their outside game. I think they’re a good ball movement coach in support of Voss from being contenders again. Both sides did their absolute best to lose it on Friday night because they refused to change angles with the ball in the final 10-15 minutes. It was all long to contest and at that stage everyone’s knackered.

It’s what gives me confidence that even if we’re chasing the game we won’t fall into that trap. Even when it was tight v the Dogs we had plenty of chances because of our ball movement the problem we had was that we butchered them.

Yeah but remember Nick hasn’t taken a contested mark and squibs every contest apart from the 37 touches and 10 clearances he gets a week. He squibs contests he’s not at evidently. The morons are that short of criticism for him they’re playing the “we might be slow and shit but our Dad is tougher” strategy
Check out this squibbing from Nick. His opponents are up for a physical stoush and Nick runs away from it - like a whoosy - none of the Carlton blokes would have done that.

It staggers me posting this, but they’re actually missing Smith and what he was going to offer with his ability to go inside to out. It would have freed up both Cerra and Walsh.

My big concern is that their decision to target Smith/ O’Sullivan was part of a broader strategy to fix their outside game. I think they’re a good ball movement coach in support of Voss from being contenders again. Both sides did their absolute best to lose it on Friday night because they refused to change angles with the ball in the final 10-15 minutes. It was all long to contest and at that stage everyone’s knackered.

It’s what gives me confidence that even if we’re chasing the game we won’t fall into that trap. Even when it was tight v the Dogs we had plenty of chances because of our ball movement the problem we had was that we butchered them.

I think Jagga will be a ripper - those blokes with the moves to find space on the inside and get it out cleanly are golden. They needed to go harder though - should have shifted one of their core out to add Houston as well as Jagga - seeing Houston was there for the taking. Houston's salary doesn't sound that high, so a million dollar man out and they may have also been able to add another decent flaker as well. That would have changed the dynamic big time.

They’d be 3-0 by adding those two. It would completely change their system.

My guess is no one wanted Williams and Carlton weren’t prepared to accept what was on offer for Cerra so it was Owies that got the arse. The end result they further depleted a weak area, were chips in on an 18yo (who’ll be a gun at least) and missed an absolute gun on chump change compared to output. I hope they at least get a good run at it because Hawthorn having their 1st this year is a bit scary.

Our gain though and if we ultimately do anything this year it’ll date back to August last year when Jaicos was shifted back and was then double downed on by their decision to bypass Houston.