Changes vs Geelong

Neagle took some good marks and applied a few tackles which is good to see. I can't see him being dropped as we want to get some game time into him. NLM was just stupid in what he did, played a decent game and took some good marks. Dempsey should be fine; looks like he rolled his ankle.

As for McVeigh, even if he is right I would say leave him out for another week. No point in bringing him in against Geelong and having him injure himself so we have a chance. Not sure how Lucas has done in the VFL, so no comments on him. Hurley, I would like to see him back in action :)

Firstly hopefully Dempsey's ankle comes up ok.

I reckon Lucas will be recalled against Geelong. Neagle has been OK, but we need Lucas' experience if we are to stretch their backline.

I reckon Dyson's spot could be under review after a pretty poor performance, McVeigh would have to be a certainty if he gets through the Bendigo game.

Geelong do not have the tallest forward line and I think Hurley would be a pretty good match up on Mooney. Not sure if people agree, but I reckon Hooker might make way for Hurley. If NLM gets reported he will go out for Hurley.

Out: Neagle, Dyson, Hooker

In: Lucas, McVeigh, Hurley

Bit premature considering Bendigo is yet to play.

I think Lucas would of seen Neagle's game tonight and his eyes would of lit up. My tip is he will play a blinder in the VFL tommorow and get a gig next week in the seniors.

I reckon Lucas will be recalled against Geelong. Neagle has been OK, but we need Lucas' experience if we are to stretch their backline.

I reckon Dyson's spot could be under review after a pretty poor performance, McVeigh would have to be a certainty if he gets through the Bendigo game.

Geelong do not have the tallest forward line and I think Hurley would be a pretty good match up on Mooney. Not sure if people agree, but I reckon Hooker might make way for Hurley. If NLM gets reported he will go out for Hurley.

Pfft come on mate i've been a very harsh critic of Dyson over the years and although he was quiet tonight its hardly time to call for his head as he has been very good in the past coupla weeks.
How can u say after one quiet one that he should be dropped, come on mate your better than that.

hooker on mooney.

if we drop hooker, i am rocking up to the game in a geelong guernsy.

HOOKER IS A GUNNNNN !

3 guys in the gun for me:

Neagle - has talent but he does f'all for 3 1/4's each game. I just hope he learns the consistency needed cause he has all the tools

Lonergan - has been a passenger - lucky we have had injuries in his position. Love his attack on the footy - but Sammy - for a mid you just don't get enough of the pill

Jetta - showed zero confidence and made a few half hearted efforts - this kid can play - just don't think he is doing as much as his previous seasons when he was in the team.

I suspect one or two will be lucky to stay in due to injuries/brain explosions.

As to who comes in - lets wait till Bendigo play.

I will reserve my judgement until after Bendigo play and we hear more on Dempsey.... though I will say that I think it's important that we get bigger bodies in.

On tonights game I think all of Dyson, Jetta and possibly Bellchambers in danger though we will probably need him against Geelong.

If McVeigh and Hurley play well for Bendigo I think both should come in... possibly even Skipworth if he performs...

I will reserve my judgement until after Bendigo play and we hear more on Dempsey.... though I will say that I think it's important that we get bigger bodies in.

On tonights game I think all of Dyson, Jetta and possibly Bellchambers in danger though we will probably need him against Geelong.

If McVeigh and Hurley play well for Bendigo I think both should come in... possibly even Skipworth if he performs...

You are right on Bellchambers - forgot about him - but who do we replace him with - Chook is a few week off yet and Hooker is not a ruckman.

Good experience for Bellchambers - just needs time an hopefully he wil come on.

3 guys in the gun for me:

Neagle - has talent but he does f'all for 3 1/4's each game. I just hope he learns the consistency needed cause he has all the tools

Lonergan - has been a passenger - lucky we have had injuries in his position. Love his attack on the footy - but Sammy - for a mid you just don't get enough of the pill

Jetta - showed zero confidence and made a few half hearted efforts - this kid can play - just don't think he is doing as much as his previous seasons when he was in the team.

I suspect one or two will be lucky to stay in due to injuries/brain explosions.

As to who comes in - lets wait till Bendigo play.

Excellent post, and I couldn't agree more. On all counts.

Lonergan and Jetta are complete passengers at the moment, and Jay's (lack of) stamina is a serious problem.

However, it's way too premature to be nominating ins and outs until we've seen Bendigo play and taken account of any injuries and/or suspensions among the 22 who played tonight.

You are right on Bellchambers - forgot about him - but who do we replace him with - Chook is a few week off yet and Hooker is not a ruckman.

Good experience for Bellchambers - just needs time an hopefully he wil come on.

Yeah I agree, Belly has to stay in, Ryder can't do it on his own... Hooker will be a good matchup for Moonee, with McPhee taking Johnson, Hurley coming back to play on Hawkins and Pears going to someone like Enright or another mid sized forward. Will be interesting to see what they go with. I think Lucas in for Neagle is an option, its been 3 weeks, Jay has been good but not offering heaps and provided he plays well today, if he is ever gonna come back you'd think this week should be it...

It's almost turning into an embarrassing of riches for us in terms of players returning from injury who probably deserve a spot in the seniors given a good performance or two in the reserves.

Injuries have actually been a blessing in disguise for us so far this year. We have unearthed some very, very good talent that is gaining big game experience which will benefit us massively as a club in the longer term. Unlike Carlton who are one major injury from being a total basketcase. Could you imagine them without 8 or 9 of their starting 22, including two of their best defenders and two of their best midfielders? BAH.

Will be an interesting selection coming up this week.

Hopefully NLM is not rubbed and Dempsey comes up ok.

I hate to say this, as i like him as a player, he goes hard at it, gives his all and is not scared of anything, but the fact is he doesnt get enough of the ball, so Lonergan would have to be an out for me, directly replaced by McVeigh if he has runs out a good game for Bendigo, or possibly Prismall to play his first game against his old side.

Jetta once againt didnt shine and went missing alot of the time, however layed a couple of nice tackles to set us up. I dont think he should be in the team, however in saying that, i dont think he should be dropped. As other have previously stated, he needs to get consistant games in the seniors to be judged on, otherwise his confidence will be severely effected.

Dyson made some poor decisions, and disposal was a bit sloppy at times, still wasnt the worst out the and did some good things. His spot isnt in Danger.

Hooker didnt look as comfortable against smaller opponents, still provided a bit of daring run off his player. Stays in the team.

Neagle.... did he only play 40% game time or something? was watching the game on TV and thinking to myself "where the #@$% is Neagle" took couple of strong marks. Position could be in in question, although i hope not.

I think Houli has shown enough defensive work to warrant his place in the side, just need to work on his decision making at times, particularly with handballs. His kicking is very good though.

Bellchambers still doesnt look ready. I know it could be a bit early, but if Laycock can get a decent run with Bendigo and come up ok, he could be an inclusion. Belly is only playing limited gametime, im sure Laycock would be able to handle 50% gametime, partly up forward, part in the ruck.

My changes for next week:

Outs: Lonergan, Bellchambers**
Ins: McVeigh/Prismall, Laycock** dependant on fitness and gametime at Bendigo.

A lot of people seem willing to see Neagle out in favour of Lucas. Neagle was quiet last night. I would be interested to know how much game time he actually got last night, because I don't think I even saw him provide a lead. His game against Hawthorn was terrific, he's a massive body and a good kick.

Lucas has kicked some goals in the twos, but to what extent does the pace of the twos suit where he was at before he was demoted? Sorry, I'm not convinced re: Lucas. As soon as Neagle was brought in he did the things Lucas couldn't in the first six matches, and now on the back of two matches for Bendigo people think he'll be right against Geelong? I reckon he needs at least a couple of more weeks at Bendigo or until he finds the touch and pace of last year. Bring him back against a side he's likely to have success against (and Geelong ain't it) so that he can build his confidence at the top level. I would suggest that's against Melbourne.

On Neagle. Knighter's philosophy suits everyone with every other player than Neagle? Take the rose coloured glasses off folks. Scott is almost done. We need to get game time into Neagle. Hopefully, sooner rather than later, he'll be kicking bags. I hoped that was going to be last night. It's never out of the question as far as I'm concerned, especially when he's the size he is. Lead - mark - kick.

Neagle.... did he only play 40% game time or something? was watching the game on TV and thinking to myself "where the #@$% is Neagle" took couple of strong marks. Position could be in in question, although i hope not.

Bellchambers still doesnt look ready. I know it could be a bit early, but if Laycock can get a decent run with Bendigo and come up ok, he could be an inclusion. Belly is only playing limited gametime, im sure Laycock would be able to handle 50% gametime, partly up forward, part in the ruck.

I concur re: Neagle.
Disagree re: Laycock. He was getting bagged last year for his lack of fitness and pace. The guy has been out for yonkies, no way he is playing firsts next week. I reckon he'll be lucky to play 50% at Bendigo.

I think Bellchambers will stay in the side for another couple of weeks till Laycock gets some match fitness.
Leeroy ha s to go back to the seconds and put a string of good games together till he gets back in the side. Showed he had no confidence last night, and every time he got the ball he spent it before he got it ie dropped chest marks.
Hooker looks like he will be a player but make a lot of mistakes tonight and i think that everyone will agree that Hurley is a better option.
I think Lucus will come back into the side next week plus we fell down a bit through half forward.
Also Ricky Dyson has to be on shaky ground again some very poor skill errors

Ins: Lusus Hurley McVeigh

Out: NLM (Susp??) Hooker Jetta

The geelong game isnt the one to test Lucas' form for the AFL. That said, we are gonna lose, so whats the harm. So maybe bring him in, but i wouldnt drop Neagle. Lloyd and Neagle are working a lot like Roughead and Buddy. One is quiet, the other plays a blinder. I like this combo.

NLM is going to be missing for a few weeks and i think his spot in the side has been jeopardised now. has been playing great, but he gave the opening for one of prismall, reimers or mcveigh to come in. Possibly even Hurley to release McPhee up forward.

With chappy out, all we need is someone to watch Selwood (no point trying to curtail ablett. stick winderlich on him to at least make him accountable for one of our players). I would like to Lonergan keep his spot to do this. if not lonergan, perhaps Reimers or Welsh if either can get up for the match

Does anyone know if Ottens is back? Without Ottens, Milburn and Chapman i think we can put up a decent fight with the team we have

small changes:
Out: NLM (susp), Jetta, *Dempsey if injured
In: Hurley, Skipworth, *Lucas

Hooker was slightly off last night, but the younger guys will be inconsistent for awhile. But still did enough to hold his spot surely.
He was originally put in the team as a back up ruckman ahead of Bellchambers wasn't he? Bellchambers just needs time in the VFL to get his tank up. More of a liability atm. Hooker is very mobile for a bigman, whack in Hurley for next week down back, and Hooker can help out Ryder when he's tired, then swing back into defence as a loose man (Fletcher role)?? I reckon he'd go alright in ruck, and could do enough to give Ryder a rest here and there.
Would be nice to see Prismall debut for the Dons against his old club, hopefully he plays alright today, but still probably needs another week in the magoos.

Possible OUTs: Bellchambers, Neagle, Houli, NLM(susp)
Possible INs: Hurley, Lucas, McVeigh, T.Slat/Prismall (if NLM goes)

Still depends on how they all go today though

Does anyone know if Ottens is back? Without Ottens, Milburn and Chapman i think we can put up a decent fight with the team we have

small changes:
Out: NLM (susp), Jetta, *Dempsey if injured
In: Hurley, Skipworth, *Lucas

Ottens is still a few weeks off at best. Chappy will definately miss at least 1 game. Not sure about Milburn but Longeran or David Johnson can sufficiently fill his roll down back.

The dogs basically ran over the top of us on Friday, if you blokes stay with us for the first 3 quarters there is no reason why you couldn't do the same. Should be a good game.

I'm hoping that Skippy and Hurly get back into your team to strengthen my SC team ;)

Too early to call yet...

But i can see Lonergan being dropped, NLM being suspended and Dempsey out with his ankle injury.

I can also see McVeigh, Lucas, Prismall and Hurley coming back into the side :D

Although the side may need a re-shuffle if that's the case, so may be a couple of more outs / less ins.

Changes vs Geelong