Chest Bumps

Long as they don't start a beard growing competition! Apparently that is now the height of arrogance or too fun or something? I suppose no-one would want their beard juxtaposed against Dempsey and Hunter, they'd make anyone's beard look like bum fluff.

Also when Goddard scrubbed that torp, did anyone else immediately think of this?

But seriously do I have to be the dickhead to tell everyone to calm the **** down? A chest bump. Probably something they do in training. Ask Wallsy what he thinks of Carrots' celebrations.

Wow, a Carlton nuff nuff accusing another club of arrogance.

Wonder what he thinks of the Betts/Robinson celebrations. Plenty of psuedo chest bumps there (they bump chests with arms outspread and not leaving the ground, instead of a hug), plus hip-gansta-wannabe handshakes.

Walls is a major flog.

And the person whose opinion I could not give a flying **** about is?

I'm fine with it. The game was well and truly over and a couple of our guys celebrated a goal. They aren't robots - let them do it.

Yeah, as I said, the boys should be able to enjoy their efforts. Match was over, team performed, all good.:thumbsu:

Don't care what Walls thinks, but I'd rather not have him polluting the air, trying to cast dispersions on our boys and the club. (Shoulda called in to morning glory and had a rant:D)

I think ryder and carlisle will get a bit of a 'pull your head in guys', thats all. no big deal.
But I liked that when watson was kicking goals he was just turning around. a real leader with a professional attitude.

Wonder what he thinks of the Betts/Robinson celebrations. Plenty of psuedo chest bumps there (they bump chests with arms outspread and not leaving the ground, instead of a hug), plus hip-gansta-wannabe handshakes.

Walls is a major flog.

Learn to swim

Walls is a major flog.

Watson agreed with him.

My take...

Stuff like that should be reserved for 5 minutes to go in the GF, when you are 8 goals up. Coaches hate it.

non issue, we were 130 points up at the time, ryder hadn't kicked any yet despite playing much of the game forward, and finally got on the board.

we've got bigger problems than our players actually showing some emotion

Watson agreed with him.

But Watson doesn't take a pot shot at Essendon at every available opportunity.

If Walls calls out any goal celebration other than a high 5, manly hug/manly group hug or manly slap on the ass - which let's be honest seem to be the only "approved" celebrations going around - then carry on. I bet he doesn't though.

I love it. Why not show a bit of emotion. They do it all the time in the nba why should the afl be any different.

Nothing at all wrong with showing emotion. Mis-placed arrogance, however...

I'm not sure that doing that sort of thing against a very poor side in round two is the right time for it.

I can't believe I am the only one that noticed what they were doing and why. I'l admit straight away I though "Come on guys.." But then I remembered a certain match last year.

Gather round lads and I will recite a story of revenge and triumph!

Cast your minds back to Round 10 last year, Essendon flying, Melbourne not so much so.. In fact, going in to the round being flogged every which way by the media and didn't even look like winning a game.

A game Essendon was expected to win, and indeed based on most stats (except goal kicking accuracy) were well and truly in a position to do so.

The siren went, Essendon gutted naturally.. Then pan your eyes across the field and look at the Melbourne players reactions, and you will find the exact same "chest bump" being carried out by a number of players.. And one player in particular (Linden Dumb I believe) was in Paddy Ryder's face giving it to him as he crouch down in heartbreak.

NOW!! Re-watch the chest bump from Saturday night and still tell me they have to pull their head in.. I THINK NOT!! It still puts a smile on my dial.

They also asked Paddy about it after the match. He didn't tell this story of course, but just said that the defenders had been into them all night (as they should be) and that it was good to get one on them.

We are over reacting. The team was quiet professional in the way they handled spanking Melbourne like that.

Paddy gets crucified in the media because he looks like he doesn't care, he shows some emotion with this and people get all annoyed at how it looks. It was a celebration with a team mate whilst doing something he loves. These guys are not machines.

What is a bad look is guys like Betts doing it to the crowd and acting arrogant. Huge difference.

For a guy like paddy we need him in a good positive headspace. It's when he plays his best footy.

Another "bad look" for the game is the North players all standing over caddy tryin to be all tough. What makes that ok is the fact they then surrendered a 41 point lead and got rolled. :)

Chest Bumps