Kangaroos
Have a read of this rot!

Judd's life as a marked man
Chip Le Grand
July 15, 2005
A BRISBANE footballer yesterday flew 3590km with a single purpose in mind: to stop Chris Judd by any means, fair or unfair.

If he does his job, Brisbane stands a chance of winning tomorrow night. If he does not, it has next to none.

The identity of the Brisbane player will be a closely guarded secret until the teams run on to Subiaco Oval. It appears a two-horse race between Troy Selwood and Brad Scott.

Given the stakes, it would be hard to go past the pugnacious Scott, celebrated for his blanketing of James Hird in the 2001 grand final.

It is but one midfield match-up in a game laden with All-Australian talent.

The Brisbane focus on Judd cannot be at the expense of keeping tabs on Ben Cousins or Chad Fletcher.

West Coast will have its own plans for Simon Black, Jason Akermanis, Nigel Lappin and Luke Power.

Yet the interest in Judd goes beyond the two teams and four premiership points involved.

For the first time in his extraordinary career, the rise of Judd has reached a plateau. And much of it has to do with Judd's troubles in dealing with taggers like Scott.

Judd's season can be neatly divided into the seven games he played before he locked elbows with St Kilda's Steven Baker and the six games he has played since.

Pre-Baker, Judd was at his Brownlow best, averaging 23 touches, six clearances and five inside-50s per game. Post-Baker, Judd has been averaging 20 touches and one less clearance and inside-50.

Judd is hardly out of form. For any other player, these would be outstanding numbers.

Against Essendon a month ago, he was the best afield. But the early-season Juddernaut that obliterated Fremantle and the Western Bulldogs in consecutive weeks is no longer rolling.

According to West Coast, Judd is a victim.

After the Kangaroos' Brady Rawlings held and harangued Judd past the point of frustration last Friday night, Eagles chief executive Trevor Nisbett lamented the inaction of the AFL umpires department.

"The tagging methods used against Chris Judd at the moment are not within the rules of the game," Nisbett said. "We continue to speak to (umpires' boss) Jeff Gieschen and nothing happens. Chris is allowed to be tackled before he even gathers the ball."

Nisbett is right about Rawlings' tactics. But his comments add to a growing feeling among opposition clubs that Judd can be got at with concerted negating tactics.

Judd served a one-week suspension for striking Baker and was fortunate not to be sighted for punching Rawlings.

The tagging tactics that Judd must contend with are a by-product of his own genius.

With others in the competition, assigning a run-with opponent to pressure every disposal and hinder at every contest would be enough to curb a match-winner's influence.

Because of Judd's explosive pace and ability to find space, the tagging needs to go further, as former Brisbane midfielder Shaun Hart explained.

"You have got to be able to grab his jumper to stop him getting a run at it," Hart said. "You can be alongside him and all of a sudden, he breaks a tackle and is in space, even though you have done everything you could.

"He is one of those special players who doesn't need any space to cut you up."

So what is Judd to do? His club has complained to the AFL and gotten no response. His team-mates are prepared to throw their weight around but are restricted by what they can get away with.

Eagles coach John Worsfold insists Judd is working through the problem but his output against the Kangaroos suggested otherwise.

The Australian yesterday contacted two former players on different sides of the tagging debate. Unfortunately for Judd, their only consensus was there is no easy answer.

Sydney's Brownlow Medal winner Paul Kelly went through similar periods in his career and recalled instances where his frustration with taggers resulted in suspension.

He said lashing out at taggers is counter-productive.

"You try not to show it," Kelly explained. "If blokes know they can get to you, they will continue to niggle you.

"You can belt him obviously, but that is not a good option. You have just got to stay focused and get the footy. You can yell out to the umpire but that generally just makes things worse. It does annoy you, but you have just got to keep going.

"I used to find what weakness the tagger has. If he wasn't great near goal I used to take him up forward. If they weren't overly quick I would try to get a block and sprint forward. Sometimes I would go back and put it on the tagger to start thinking about getting the footy himself."

Hart, a triple premiership player and Norm Smith medallist, regularly performed tagging duties for the Lions.

"What he is doing is absolutely the right thing," he said. "He has got to get on the front foot with it and let blokes know that if they are going to cheat off him, he is not going to make it easy," Hart said.

"The guys I'd rather play on are the ones who don't do anything about it. They just concede. It is so easy to win the battle when an opponent concedes. You have just got to make sure you don't go past the point where your team will suffer or your own game will suffer."

The only certainty is that the Brisbane Lion who has flown 3590km to play on Judd will have watched the best of Baker and worst of Rawlings and compiled his own list of things to do. The umpires will watch carefully and see nothing. And the rest will be up to Judd.

How can you take someone seriously called chip.

They didn't mind 10 years of Jakovich scragging of Carey. They can go and get stuffed. They are looking down the barrell of the golden boy being Rawling's biatch so they have to cry to the umpires behind the scenes.

Give him frees because he is not good enough to get it himself!

windsock said:
Have a read of this rot!

Judd's life as a marked man
Chip Le Grand
July 15, 2005

Judd served a one-week suspension for striking Baker and was fortunate not to be sighted for punching Rawlings.

To make his article even more pathetic, he can't spell. I believe he means 'cited' not 'sighted'.

windsock said:
The only certainty is that the Brisbane Lion who has flown 3590km to play on Judd will have watched the best of Baker and worst of Rawlings and compiled his own list of things to do. The umpires will watch carefully and see nothing. And the rest will be up to Judd.

It's not the greatest prose going round, but is this sh11tman trying to suggest Baker did a good and fair job in nullifying Judd but Rawlings was bad?

At any rate, I thought Brady had about 20 possies last week. Perhaps next time Juddy can do the chasing.

Bwahaha... they only sook about Rawlings because he is SO GOOD. If he was a hack tagger nothing would be written. Funny how Silvagni was supposedly full back of the century and adored by the media yet he hung off players like noone I've seen...

Everyone has a job to do. Brady's job is to negate star players from having a big effect on the result of our games.

He has it down to a fine art.. live with it.

Chip Le Grand? Sounds like some cheap cafe trying to glorify a bowl of chips.

Go Roos

tashibatts said:

Go Roos
That is a corker Tashi!! I laughed my head off reading that! :)
Sexiano Ronaldo said:
Now there's a Michelle-esque comment if I ever saw one.
You dont think its accurate though or are you just posting crap for the sake of posting something again?

You dont think Carey was scragged and heald for most of his career?

And i hope West Coast and Chris Judd will be ok, really. Sounds like its really getting to them.

I like West Coast, both team and club. Most professional in the league, but this kind of whinging does them no service.

Like every club that has a targeted player, its his teammates responsiblity to chop him out wherever possible and make his tagger the target. West Coast tried it with Brady, as other team have, but went over the top a couple of time and ironically gave away free kicks to him, no to mention the fact that Brady is so good at what he does that he doesnt let it faze him and gets on with his job.

Sounds like Judd and his club need to do the same.

Carlos said:
You dont think Carey was scragged and held for most of his career?
No doubt, but Jakovich played Duck one on one as well as any player ever did. Silvagni on the other hand....

What i find increadibly hard to swallow is they complain about Rawlings, yet never seem to make the the same cries about their own tagger, Tyson Stenglein. The sole reason this man was recruited to the Eagles was to play a negating, tagging role. I believe they are just jealous though because players like Rawlings < Stenglein.

Also i hate hearing these big cries about tagging. Like it's a new thing. Tagging has been around for years. It hans't got any worse. It's just that the media and some supporters honestly beleive that Judd/Reiwoldt and co should be able to run around the ground getting cheap uncontested posessions at whimsy.

After the Kangaroos' Brady Rawlings held and harangued Judd past the point of frustration last Friday night, Eagles chief executive Trevor Nisbett lamented the inaction of the AFL umpires department.

"The tagging methods used against Chris Judd at the moment are not within the rules of the game," Nisbett said. "We continue to speak to (umpires' boss) Jeff Gieschen and nothing happens. Chris is allowed to be tackled before he even gathers the ball."

Nisbett is right about Rawlings' tactics. But his comments add to a growing feeling among opposition clubs that Judd can be got at with concerted negating tactics.
Whilst there is little doubt Nisbetts comments were aimed at Rawlings, they were not attributed directly to him. The comment 'Nisbett is right about Rawlings' is flawed.
Last time I checked, punching someone in the guts in "not within the rules of the game" either.

I reckon Judd is a champion and I love watching him play. Rightly or wrongly people will associate Nisbetts comments with Judd and he will be seen as a sook and lose popularity.

Chip Le Grand also needs to play a different tune, we've heard this song over and over in the last few weeks.

No respect paid to Brady. So they are carrying on like dingbats having an almighty sook. It's not the first time Brady has taken care of business and it won't be the last. Some ppl just ain't smart enough to cop it on the chin. Worsfold had NO PROBLEM so now Chip boy (how many games did he play again ???) :rolleyes: has a problem. Just lost his credibility with garbage articles like that.

Chip La Crap stop tagging North.

"..fortunate not to be sighted for punching Rawlings."? "His club has... gotten no response."?

Excuse me if I chip in for a comment here Mr Le Grand, but if we cited journalists for butchering the English language, then I believe you'd have gotten a few weeks suspension! Still, it is good to see that journalese is still alive and kicking.

I've complained to the AJA, but received no action. What am I to do?

tashibatts said:

GOLD.

At the risk of being accused of being a Michele-lackey, the glorified bowl of chips has had it in for North over the years.

But in the meantime, let Brady's reputation grow. As for Judd, if he's good enough, he'll do like all the other champions have done in the game and he'll find a way to beat the taggers.

Shinboners said:
GOLD.

At the risk of being accused of being a Michele-lackey, the glorified bowl of chips has had it in for North over the years.

But in the meantime, let Brady's reputation grow. As for Judd, if he's good enough, he'll do like all the other champions have done in the game and he'll find a way to beat the taggers.

i Agree, It was Judd tagging Rawlings anyway, Rawlings got 20 possesions, Judd 16 and Rawlings ran off the feild before judd when having a rest. :p

But yeh They Asked Judd on the footy show if they should get rid of the tagging element in the game and To Judds Credit he said no.

Chip Le Grand get stuffed