Chris Benoit 1967-2007

I am not sure I understand the comparison you are trying to make?

The media do tend to find something to pin a senseless death on sometimes. Music lyrics are the primary target for teenage suicide (sometimes school shootings), so some bands are targetted. Kids do try and use wrestling moves and maybe do get caught up in the real v unreal aspect of it I guess. Each in case though, when deciding to allow the lyrics of a song to motivate you to cause harm or a wrestling hold, the seed has already been planted in that the person has a violent capability, depression, some other seed that has been sown, and music or wrestling entertainment is merely a vehicle or a ignition source. Take away the wrestling or the music and these kids will still find someone else to trigger their latent destructive characteristics IMO.

Not defending the industry though, they set the surreal bar quite high, to the point where any wrestling death is considered a storyline and nobody is really hurt in the eyes of the fans.

If you banned kids from watching and doing things that could harm them then they would be locked in their room all day. They are more likely to be hurt on their way to the wrestling then at the wrestling was my point.. I think that using music or wrestling as a reason why a kid does somethin stupid is a soft way out for parents

There are fires, floods, Car chases/deaths, killings, all that stuff all around the world....
A Man died at Mt Macedon when a tree fell through his roof

BUT NOOOOO Paris Hilton, And Rosie O'Donell's Daughter is more important to the Media... Its Bullcrap!

There are fires, floods, Car chases/deaths, killings, all that stuff all around the world....

BUT NOOOOO Paris Hilton, And Rosie O'Donell's Daughter is more important to the Media... Its Bullcrap!

The man at Mt.Macedon has probably done more for the community than what Paris Hilton or Rosie O'Donnell has done. :(

My gf's house had a tree nearly fall through the loungeroom last night... It missed and knocked out the electrcity instead thank god...

The media doesnt cover a non famous person death because he is considered just a man to us who dont know him, not a husband, father, doctor, stamp collector, footy lover, just another person.

However when it comes to a celebrity we know so much more about the person so thus is holds greater significance to us. They are no more importand than the man mentioned above but we recognise them as more than just another entity.

Think about it, what would hold more significance to you: your mother dieing, or the man mentioned above to whome you know nothing about?

This is why the media covers celebrity deaths more than average joe

Well how many other murderers get tribute shows regardless of their profession?
The tribute aired before anyone was aware of what had happened, at the time all that was reported was their deaths at the time it went to air.

I have been in a similar situation, fingers were pointed to someone who i was rather close to. They were innocent. IT DROVE HER TO SUICIDE!

If you ask me, ive got some perspective...

Think about David and Megan, who are just 14 AND 10 YEARS OLD

THESE KIDS ARE HURT FOR LIFE!

THEIR STEP-MUM IS DEAD

THEIR BROTHER IS DEAD

THEIR FATHER IS AN ACCUSED MURDERER
HE IS DEAD!

AND THE LAST THING I WOULD WANT THEM TO HEAR, IS MORE ACCUSATIONS!

Now i ask you.. Have you got perspective?

Interesting thought, however where was that parental responsibility toward his surviving children when he killed their brother, step mother and have left his children the legacy of their father being a murderer and having killed their family?

He clearly didnt give a stuff about those 2 poor children and I hope to god that they have some semelance of normality to help them through the pain of this and the subsequent months.

As for him... as a parent myself to kill your kid is the lowest form of scum.

benoit is just a complete arseh*le, his wife had called the police on him before because of his violent outbursts, and even filed for divorce because she feared for her and her child's safety. Plus now they reckon he did the crippler crossface or at least a chokehold to kill him/there were bruises all over the kid...or has it changed a bit again
he was an extremely popular and established star. It's not like he had to prove anything to Vince or to anyone, and he should have the financial security to retire or at least take an extended vacation by now. I guarantee he could have taken time off with no problems whatsoever. A man's responsiblity is first and foremost to his family. From the sounds of things Benoit had been failing that responsibility for years and was a poor family man far before this incident occured. He should have taken time off, maybe a year or so, to work out his family issues before returning to the ring. There was no reason he needed to be wrestling at that point in his life. I believe this could have been prevented had Benoit been more responsible and more aware of himself. This falls on him and him alone.

Plus now they reckon he did the crippler crossface to kill him/there were bruises all over the kid

TELL ME... You didn't just say that

1. Police say there were no signs of a struggle
2. Do you know what the Crippler Crossface actually is? ITS NOT EVEN A CHOKEHOLD!

Its like saying Undertaker broke someones ankle doing the Tombstone Piledriver!

I guarantee he could have taken time off with no problems whatsoever.
HBK asked for time off Prior to HHH's Injury. He was "asked" to stay on.

A man's responsiblity is first and foremost to his family. From the sounds of things Benoit had been failing that responsibility for years and was a poor family man far before this incident occured.
When she was asked to prove her claims, the Whole lot was dropped

He should have taken time off, maybe a year or so, to work out his family issues before returning to the ring.
He's not long back into the Ring after having time off

TELL ME... You didn't just say that

1. Police say there were no signs of a struggle
2. Do you know what the Crippler Crossface actually is? ITS NOT EVEN A CHOKEHOLD!

Its like saying Undertaker broke someones ankle doing the Tombstone Piledriver!

HBK asked for time off Prior to HHH's Injury. He was "asked" to stay on.

When she was asked to prove her claims, the Whole lot was dropped

He's not long back into the Ring after having time off

Why are you in denial about what has happened? :confused:

IF Daniel had a broken neck... Yes, Maybe the Crippler CrossFACE may be a possibility....

1021041-L.jpg

Thats a Crossface, and it doesn't look to me like strangulation

Is MOR still denying that his hero is the lowest form of scum around?

The guy deserves to rot in hell.

No, i just can't believe the heart of some of you people.

You have Two kids, who's Father, Brother, and Stepmother are dead...

All they are hearing is that their Dads a Killer... Put yourself in their shoes, and show some heart

Ok MOR,
Benoit knew that there would be national outrage and hoped that it would change the 'E for the better, saving the next generation of stars from industry-aggravated deaths. (Probably fruitless, but I think we can agree that he had good intentions, eh?) Chris Benoit made the ultimate sacrifice for the future of the WWE, he took one for the team and I think history will bear him out as an inspiration.

Of course it's bad for the children, but **** chris benoit

No, i just can't believe the heart of some of you people.

You have Two kids, who's Father, Brother, and Stepmother are dead...

All they are hearing is that their Dads a Killer... Put yourself in their shoes, and show some heart

Gee their dad sure showed them respect and heart didn't he? END OF STORY. So just stop with this nonsense if he cared about his kids he wouldnt have left this nightmare legacy for them.

Not so easy to take the moral highground when thats pointed out is it???

Whether Benoit Did it or not, Whether He is Scum or not, Whether there were Steroids/Drugs involved or not, Whether he was Sane or not... Whether He thought about the Consequences or not

WHAT DIFFERENCE DOES ANY OF THIS REALLY MAKE

THE BIG ISSUE is that 3 lives are lost...and 2 KIDS are left stuck in the middle of it all

Adelaide Girl - The issue isn't whether he cared about them or not... thats entirely irrelevant

Whether Benoit Did it or not, Whether He is Scum or not, Whether there were Steroids/Drugs involved or not, Whether he was Sane or not... Whether He thought about the Consequences or not

THE BIG ISSUE is that 3 lives are lost...and 2 KIDS are left stuck in the middle of it all

Adelaide Girl - The issue isn't whether he cared about them or not... thats entirely irrelevant

We know 3 lives are lost! We know that! Duh!

Errrr no, you are pushing how we should all respect the kids.... why when the person who is supposed to be there for them and protect them didnt give a shit about anyone but himself.

You maintain you have a right to an opinion and you do, but so does everyone else. Stop with your sanctamonious bs and telling everyone else what they should think and feel, we are all able to read, watch, listen and make up our own minds. Unless you were there of course and are able to tell me that the ME and LE in the states have no idea. If not, to quote.... 'if you don't like it - don't read'

I'm with MOR on this one, (Surprisingly)

I think its time to lay off the Benoit Bashing, and let their respective families and friends mourn their losses.

As roc eluded to, whether mr benoit was in a steroid rage, whatever the answer is, its not going to make it any easier on their friends and family.

Oh my god I thought MOR would have shut up already. You should show a bit of maturity, you are saying stuff like 'whether he did or he didn't' of course he did it. It has been proven. Now if he did kill his son in a wrestling hold that is even worse. You are defending a child killer mate. Of course we should feel sorry for his other kids but it was all caused by Chris Benoit.

Im gonna have my throat jumped right down here, but MEH

Nancy: There are many possibilities, of Why he done it... and only one, could ever Justify it... Self Defense (under the eyes of the law) But Realistically, we will possibly NEVER know... (This is obviously out the window, if Forensics can determine that the binding of the ankles and wrists were pre mortem)

Daniel: Given that His mother is believed to be already dead, I would tend to believe that this was (in Chris' eyes) somewhat of a "mercy killing" Given that we have heard about Daniels medical problems, and the fact that Chris from all reports admired the kid... That, along with the obvious mental trauma as for what had just happened, well, lets say its not a good mixture to be running inside someones head!

i am NOT trying to justify it, as i said, theres only 1 real justification, and it looks very unlikely

But we all are waiting anxiously to hear of motive. Whether the end motive changes anything in your minds or not, thats up to each individual

You really are in fantasy land ROC..

Why do you continue to look for the ace that will make it easier for you to accept what's happened.

Benoit killed his family...His KID.....The motive is simply irrelevant...

You have pumped out 400 posts in 3 days which mostly all dance around the fact that Benoit is a cold blooded killer and will be remembered that way...A child murderer...

The fact that you are still suffering from your own personal trauma's that you have mentioned is proof that your own judgement is clouded.

Rest in Hell

Beniot has lost all respect i had for him.
how could u kill u wife and son.