Cleve Hughes...

Exactly. Has kicked goals at afl level. Is only a 19 year old kpp.
This time last year he was touted as richo's future replacement, now you halfwits are calling for his head.

Well I guess i am a halfwit then. Well if you want to keep his head how about you give me 5 good bloody reasons on his performance to date to keep him on the list for season 2009. Cause seriously I could not name any. I wont be one to have the knife out for the cutting however its only amatter of time before he is found on the streets let alone playing afl football.

Seriously I dont even know why the Tigers even bothered to keep him, the guy for sure cant play hell he cant even make the VFL Reserves for crying out loud. I'm surprised we decided to keep him on the list, when in fact there is probably more players out there more deserving than Hughes.

I dont see him ever improving his game and if he does it wont be much. I even believe a 12 year old junior could play better footy than Hughes. Your thoughts?

Hughes is a heaps good player you dick Mob

Then there is the problem of Richo. As much as I love the guy, I feel that he stifles the development of any other young KPP by demanding the ball all the time and running into their zones. The young guys then feel that they shouldn't get in his way, don't work hard on the lead and become disillusioned at the way the game plan IS NOT instituted. I know for a fact that Wallace has pulled his hair out on many occasions because, for all the planning to share the ball around and NOT become RICHOCENTRIC, the plan goes out the window as fast as the whistle is blown to start the game!

So leave guys like Hughes, Riewoldt and even Schultz a bit of slack. The post Richo era is now only around the corner.

A very interesting point this... we will be able to develop any of our key forwards properly with Richo in the side? Between Gourdis, Schultz, Jack, and Cleve, we should be able to develop one gun. They are all talented kids but maybe we won't see the best of any of them until Richo pulls the pin.

Hughes is a heaps good player you dick Mob

Honestly mate tell me what has Cleve Hughes done to stay in the side? A good player? He hasnt shown anything and he's even struggled to make the Coburg VFL Seniors side, seriously what does that tell you? He's suppose to be playing in the elite level yet he cant even make Coburg's senior side?

He may be only 2 years in, but fact is Hughes hasnt done anything. He hardly ever touches the ball and honestly even struggled when playing for the Coburg 2nd's (reserve side), not a good start to an apparent "good footballer".

A very interesting point this... we will be able to develop any of our key forwards properly with Richo in the side? Between Gourdis, Schultz, Jack, and Cleve, we should be able to develop one gun. They are all talented kids but maybe we won't see the best of any of them until Richo pulls the pin.

Yeah that gun will be Jack. He has already shown more leadership and the will to want to learn in his first year then what the others have. Schultz and Cleve are as bad as each other. Sooner one if not both go the better for the club. They are only holding us back!

Thing is, though Schulz has been in the club for 4 years he's done more in his first 2 years with the Tigers than what Hughes has ever done, even starring in the VFL side, something Hughes hasnt even done.

Schulz kicking 9 against Tassie Devils is proof of that and I believe he could be a good Centre Half Forward if an injury happens and he could probably be an alrite replacement. Hughes on the other hand, may average a goal a game but seriously he needs more work and I dont see him getting much better.

They are all talented kids but maybe we won't see the best of any of them until Richo pulls the pin.

Hughes' wouldnt do anything even if Richo wasnt in the side. Maybe Schultz could be good and well Riewoldt though needs a lot of work he is willing to learn, so really he's got potential to be an important player, but I think we need Richo and Schultz needs to start improving, he's got potential but he's yet to show it.

Hughes on the other hand, pfft you're just waisting your time hoping something comes out of him.

Hughes' wouldnt do anything even if Richo wasnt in the side. Maybe Schultz could be good and well Riewoldt though needs a lot of work he is willing to learn, so really he's got potential to be an important player, but I think we need Richo and Schultz needs to start improving, he's got potential but he's yet to show it.

Hughes on the other hand, pfft you're just waisting your time hoping something comes out of him.

Hughes proved he has talent in Round 5 and 6. Against WC he picked up close to 20 possessions and 10 marks and kicked 3 goals, 1 of those from 55m. He looked quality and exciting for the future. The next week he did almost as good against the Cats when we were embarrassed. He spent most of his first season in Coburg which is expected. He showed some strong signs this year, but also lost confidence late in the season. No other club would delist a promising youngster, so why the hell should we? :cool:

Schulz kicking 9 against Tassie Devils is proof of that and I believe he could be a good Centre Half Forward if an injury happens and he could probably be an alrite replacement. Hughes on the other hand, may average a goal a game but seriously he needs more work and I dont see him getting much better.
In the words or Jack Riewoldt "my mum could kick 10 goals against tassie". Thats nothing special.

Cleve Hughes- Pick 24 - 10 games, 11 goals
Josh Kennedy- Pick 4 - 22 games, 11 goals
Beau Dowler- Pick 6 - 3 games, 2 goals
Mitch Clark- Pick 9 - 10 games, 10 goals

I guess Kennedy, Dowler and Clark are all no good either.

Cleve Hughes in the two seasons he's been in the AFL manages 6.5 disposals per game, 4.1 kicks per game, 2.4 handballs per game, 2.6 marks per game, 1.1 goal per game and 1.1 tackle per game. Thats in average out of the 10 games he has made, he really hasnt shown much.

For some bizarre reason, people keep using disposal numbers to judge key forwards, but have a look at the numbers players like Neitz and Fevola rack up. When you look at it across the competition, around two goals a game and 10 possessions are pretty standard base averages for FF types.

Hell the guy can hardly get into the COburg senior side let alone the reserves, I think Hughes' time is up and done IMO, really we shouldve traded him or something along those lines.

He's spent time in the Coburg reserves for discipinary measures and for team balance when Reiwoldt and Schulz are available. His problems are in his head, not with his talent.

wtf are all you guys on about?

what club apart from us expects a 19 yr old KPP to be in their best 22 after 2 years?

The club doesn't, just a portion of the supporters. ;)

Honestly mate tell me what has Cleve Hughes done to stay in the side? A good player? He hasnt shown anything and he's even struggled to make the Coburg VFL Seniors side, seriously what does that tell you? He's suppose to be playing in the elite level yet he cant even make Coburg's senior side?

He may be only 2 years in, but fact is Hughes hasnt done anything. He hardly ever touches the ball and honestly even struggled when playing for the Coburg 2nd's (reserve side), not a good start to an apparent "good footballer".

:confused: How can you expect him to perform well for us when we are playing shit footy. He is 19 FFS.

Thing is, though Schulz has been in the club for 4 years he's done more in his first 2 years with the Tigers than what Hughes has ever done, even starring in the VFL side, something Hughes hasnt even done.

Some players take longer to develop than others. No one was worried about Hughes until he got dropped from the GF side, maybe that has given him the wake up call.

Great post :thumbsu:

How do you know Hughes doesn't want to learn and become a better player? :rolleyes:

The Kid needs to get his arse into gear. He is only a second year player, but he hasn't showed enough yet at VFL level and has looked lazy.

Currently we have the following players looking to take the second tall foward position behind Richo, and the full foward once Richo retires:
- Hughes
- Pattison
- Riewoldt
- Putt
- Gourdis
- Schultz

I would say of these, Riewoldt has shown the potential at VFL (other then Patto) but looks more like a a CHF. We really need to find at least 2 decent fowards in this crop, because once Richo retires (2-3 years), we should have developed midfield and backline that should be there abouts come the end of September. But we don't have enough promosing fowards.

Supposibly we are going to develop Gourids into a CHB and try Schultz in the backline this year, and Riewoldt has looked really good at CHB in the VFL. We really need Hughes to step up

There we go a sensible post! Some Richmond fan's expect too much too quick!

This is true, but you need to look at the teams these guys play for

Josh Kennedy - Carlton...Fevola, Waite and Fisher all get a game before him

Bue Dowler - Hawthorn... Fanklin, Roughead, Thorpe, Boyle all get a game before him

Mitch Clarke - Brisbane... Brown, Bradshaw get a game before him. Has been injured ALOT

The point I'm trying to make is that Cleve has player 10 games, but arguably should have played more because he doesn't have the quality of competition up foward like these other blokes.

I dunno what all the fuss is about, he's only had 2 seasons and has kicked bags of 3 a couple of times at AFL level. I think he will develop into a more than servicable forward for us. But work ethic is the big factor.

Nope, they're all talented youngsters with massive potential and will be good forward targets in future years. Now, if they played for Richmond...they'd be duds, like Hughes. :rolleyes:

all those blokes have been injured at one time or another

kennedy - shoulder
dowler - car accident
clark - groin

hughes has been pretty fit over the last 2 seasons and hasnt done a hell of a lot, jack is already ahead of him finished the season off with richmond while cleve was in the burger 2's

he has talent like any player that gets drafted but he is soft as butter and has no work ethic, the club need to give him a kick up the backside and not just expect him to turn it around because most times they dont eg - schulz

we need blokes like cleve to come good or else we arent going anywhere

In those mini player profile interviews in the footy record and on the website there is always a question "who is the most talented at your club" or something along those lines. In '06 the richmond players were all answering Cleve Hughes.

Now, i doubt too many of them would still give Funbags as their answer.

Heres the upside:

Still very young.
Good hands.
Great, long kick.
Good lead despite lack of pace.

Downside:

Attitude (work rate and confidence)
Pace

If he doesnt lift his game, he wont get in the coburg 22 ever again, let alone the tigers 22, with Pattison, Putt, Riewoldt, Schulz, Rance, Gourdis, Polak, Thursfield, McGuane and even Sylvester all competing for key position posts. Add the certainty of Richo for at least this year, the fact we use bowden and deledio as key position players, and the ruckmen in simmonds, Gus Graham and cartelledge all resting forward, and he mightn't even get a game for the coburg 2's.

Cleve Hughes...