Coach for a week

scomac

Oct 4, 2007
West
Hello fellow Blues fans as we have had what a best could be described as an insipid week with average coaching,a lacklustre performance from a team that can not or will play the Defensive game plan.
I would like to give every one the option of taking over the reigns and coach this side with a game plan of your choice and the team of your choice to beat Melbourne.(Good Luck)
My Game plan this week will be experienced Defenders,a revamped Midfield, and a tougher Forward line.I have made some tough decisions on players who were not entirely dedicated and have had countless opportunities and realistically are not AFL standard at present. I will be going with a Run and Stun Game plan.

Please bare with me as i am from WA and are not privy to injured players.

Backs Watson Jamison Armfield

Half Backs Carrazzo Waite (the angry one) Gibbs

Centre Yarren Cripps Buckley

Half Forwards Simpson Henderson Murphy

Forwards Robinson Everitt Thomas

Mids Casboult Walker Curnow

Interchange Rowe(No other available choices) Graham and Lucas.
Subs Holman

Absolute pace everywhere,injection of youth and an experienced balanced Midfield with a formidable
forward line.As we severely lack a Ruckman who is of AFL standard at least young Casboult has a crack with Rowe as backup given as there is no immediate options of AFL calibre.
Carrazzo is my backline general,Walker is my Midifield general and Murphy is Forward General.
My immediate instructions to this side after a tough week of boxing,Goal and Field kicking practice mixed up with angry pills and tackling exercises ,would be back your natural instincts,take the game on work hard Attacking and work harder Defending.
It is an exercise in fun please do not derail with negative comments to other selected sides ,i would be interested in everyones sides in any form.

:mad::mad::mad:Crash, bash, maim and if required murder!!!!!!

If we aint gonna win...........lets hurt someone REEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLL BAD!!!!

I am mad as hell too. Make a statement Carlton if not for your supporters, how about yourselves.
Nut up or Shut UP!

Interesting Scomac...

But I would swap Rowe for Wood... can play at the AFL level and would undoubtedly give his all for this chance.

I would go with:

Buckley, Jamison, Armfield
Walker, Watson, Docherty
Thomas, Gibbs, Lucas
Everitt, Casboult, Menzal
Ellard, Henderson, Yarran

Foll: Wood, Cripps, Murphy

Inter: Simpson, Carrazzo, Graham (Temay)

And all this week at training... I would implement the training routine I outlined in the vent thread... I'll find it and repost it here.

We will come out and beat the Demons by 40+ points easily.

Bookmark it,

but whether or not it makes us any better i do not know and the last thing we need is a decent win over the hapless Dee's to soothe everyone's attitudes for 1 week and honestly i did not want to face the Demons after a week like this as it gives false hope and does not provide a true indication of where we are right now ( which is not real high! )

If we lose just shoot me!

We will come out and beat the Demons by 40+ points easily.

Bookmark it,

but whether or not it makes us any better i do not know and the last thing we need is a decent win over the hapless Dee's to soothe everyone's attitudes for 1 week and honestly i did not want to face the Demons after a week like this as it gives false hope and does not provide a true indication of where we are right now ( which is not real high! )

If we lose just shoot me!
I'll be too busy shooting myself... sorry...

This would be my skills training for the rest of the season:

handballs - miss a target, 5 push ups as quick as you can
kicking drills - miss a target, 20m sprint to a cone and back
goal kicking drills - front on - miss, 50m sprint and back
- from an angle - miss, 20m sprint and back
marking drills - (part of the kicking drills) 10 push ups

and the big one... for this we need to get the Bullants players down to help out.
Clearance drills - if you take a quick kick that is an up and under kick and hope type kick, 2 laps

And set them goals for each of the drills
handballs - hit the target 50 times
kicking - hit the target 30 times
marking - because I would have them in groups doing the marking 20 marks each
goal kicking - min of 10 goals from each angle (4 angles, 4 positions)
and do this 2-3 times a week and you dont leave the training track until you reach the quota...

Ripper thread idea. :thumbsu:

Started off o.k!!

BROWN-BOTTLE.gif

Then went to shit!! :D

Find out who has the stones to follow the coach. Tell ordinary footballers there ordinary and your in the VFL until you absolutely SMASH the door down with your form.
Set a team structure in place, respect it and stick to it

I would go old school and play some inspirational videos (cheesy yes, but by the looks of them they need it)

Bring in an old great of the club to talk about how to look after each other, pride in the jumper, hardness at the man and the ball etc.

Then on the track, rigorous kicking drills. Kicking, kicking, kicking. You fail. You box the next person who fails until one of you go down.

Gameday I pull Carrazzo aside (might leave murph out for this one) and tell him to really G the boys up in the huddle.

Game comes and goes, we win by 60+ and then lose to the dogs the following week.

Job done.

Copy and paste of what I put for the upcoming game thread with a little extra thrown in:

B: Buckley, Jamison, Watson
HB: Tuohy, Henderson, Simpson
C: Thomas, Gibbs, Everitt
HF: Rowe, Waite, Yarran
F: Menzel, Casboult, Walker
Fol: Wood, Carrazzo, Murphy
I/C: Graham, Lucas, Cripps, Docherty (sub)

THE PLAN:
I believe Mick when he says going long and avoiding the middle is a good method. I think we do it TOO much, but when bringing the ball out of defence from kick-ins etc, it makes perfect sense. In my team above, we have talls who can take marks. Rowe and Casboult will alternate playing up the ground a kick from the play to be the targets.
When we cause a turnover either in the defensive half or nearer to the middle of the ground, we go straight up the guts with attacking footy like we used to.
Going through the middle more will go back to the natural instincts of our players and since Melbourne aren't great ball users either, we are likely to get more opportunity to do so and if WE stuff it up, less chance of it hurting us back the other way. Hopefully I am not underrating them there...

We have Waite up forward to lead up or Casboult/Rowe (whoever is sitting deep at the time) to take pack marks. Crumbers around them. Simple & effective. Working cohesively will be a problem, but the Melbourne game is a good chance to practise it!

The kids who are up to the challenge (fitness and form wise) all get a run - they are the future of this club.
Anyone who can't handle the football is out of the team and stays out (Bell, Robinson, Warnock, Curnow). We BUTCHER the ball. That's not going to turn around with players like that in the team still.

Still a lot of leaders out there and guys with experience. They have to stand up and lead the kids.

ON THE TRAINING TRACK:
I go back to what I know best - absolutely smashing them with aggression training and punishment for bad execution of skills. Lots of contact, lots of hard tackling and contested ball work.
Big focus on team acts (shepherds, using voice, running patterns etc) because I have always believed what you do WITHOUT the ball is more important than what you do WITH it; you only hold the ball for 5% of the game and the other 17 blokes on the park make a huge difference to the effectiveness of what you do with it when you actually kick/handpass.
Shitloads of stoppage work and setting up the structures of them to ensure we don't bomb the ball blindly out unless absolutely necessary deep in defence. Even then, it better clear the 50...

And one last big rule for the game - if you have an opportunity to fairly and legally absolutely POLAX someone, you DO IT. I see someone go half-hearted at the opposition ball carrier or bloke who is laying an obligatory half-hearted shepherd and you dont hit them with force of a mack truck, you are going to pay for it. Big time. It's about time we got some physical presence back with this team! It's all about attitude!

It's not... personally I think that we are only 50/50 at best of beating them... if the same bunch of muppets who showed up yesterday shows up against Melbourne... we are going to get cheesed...

(like getting creamed, but goes on for a lot longer)

It's not... personally I think that we are only 50/50 at best of beating them... if the same bunch of muppets who showed up yesterday shows up against Melbourne... we are going to get cheesed...

(like getting creamed, but goes on for a lot longer)
I refuse to believe that the same effort and shitness will reappear next week, or the rest of the season for that matter. Last weekend was a special level of no effort that is rarely seen. Maybe I am just in denial...

Addendum to my week as coach - every player will read "The Crossroads" by VC winner Mark Donaldson. They need to learn what real sacrifice and mateship is about. None of this "I don't get along with the coach" waaaaaaaaaa crap.

I refuse to believe that the same effort and shitness will reappear next week, or the rest of the season for that matter. Last weekend was a special level of no effort that is rarely seen. Maybe I am just in denial...

Addendum to my week as coach - every player will read "The Crossroads" by VC winner Mark Donaldson. They need to learn what real sacrifice and mateship is about. None of this "I don't get along with the coach" waaaaaaaaaa crap.
true... but the players might have gone into coach killer mode and could be considering tossing the game against Melbourne just to get rid of a strict coach and try and get another warm, brotherly like coach who is in touch with their inner self and all the rest of that new age metro-sexual bullshit.

Tell the shits to stop preening in the mirrors and admiring their latest coiffure from Cicerones and grow a pair... they are supposed to be playing one of the most physical sports around... if they want to be lightweights... they should go and try out for football (soccer type) or Gridiron... but they wear helmets and no one lines a metro-sexual with helmet hair.

Handball, run, handball, run. Use the corridor. I don't care if it's turned over, as long as it's in running play and not a long kick to an outnumbered contest along the boundary. Show some bloody spirit and take it on!

B: Buckley, Jamison, Simpson
HB: Everitt, Henderson, Scotland
C: Gibbs, Murphy, Thomas
HF: Menzel, Casboult, Yarran
F: Walker, Waite, Ellard

R: Wood, Carrazzo, Curnow

INT: Bell, Cripps, Graham SUB: Docherty

IN: Scotland, Cripps, Casboult, Graham, Docherty, Wood

OUT: Tuohy, Garlett, Rowe, Robinson, White, Warnock

It's frightening that people still think beating Melbourne is a foregone conclusion.

The Malthouse plan has made us the most predictable team in the competition, The Ratten plan was unsustainable and often unaccountable, despite his rantings. We do not have the cattle to play the boundary line theory. When we have a player present in the middle, the players are too bloody scared to think for themselves and vary from the Mad Mick plan. Kreuzer and Hammer may not have held as many as most would like, but they provided a contest and gave our runners a chance. The 7 foot witches hat does not get to the contest very often, let alone provide one.

If I am coach for a week, this week, I am concerned that Roos will work us over. Our exposed cattle have obvious weaknesses which Malthouse seems to want to expose for assessments sake, rather than coaching to cover the weaknesses and complement each other. This is a real danger game. Think what you want of our list, we have more talent than Melbourne. Let us use it, let the players enjoy an open, shoot out rather than enduring a tedious lecture.

On the track: 6 day turn around. Flogging them mercilessly is not the answer. However skills have to be the key. Full ground drills, quick movement, goal kicking. Forget the sports physios restricting the number of kicks and the like, work it until they hit the targets. Stuff the contact work, stuff the sprints. Yes we missed some tackles, but if they are not up to it now, they never will be. Anyone not hitting the target on the track is in for a weekend with the 'Ants. Come Saturday anyone missing tackles or shirking contests, or making glaring execution or decision making errors, can expect to play elsewhere.

Do we make changes 5hit yeah. I was thinking just a couple, this player for that player and the like. The bottom line is we are now looking more at the future than the now. Provided team balance is not stuffed, and the player is working sufficiently, they get a gig. I love Bell and Robbo for what they can bring, but they are not producing enough. I was reticent to name Cripps, but it is Melbourne, we will have a sub, and we are all hoping for him to be the cornerstone of our future. He is in. Graham has been doing the job for 12 months now in the 2's and has earned a crack. Can't play all kids so Doc has to wait, and Cachia a little unlucky. Rowe and White are very likeable blokes, but are not our future Watto has to come in. Forget the match up queries. Back to the future, disposal an issue, run an issue, Scotto gets a gig. Sub spot up for grabs Bell or Robbo. Robbo more versatile and will be breathing fire, guaranteed impact. Casboult has earned a spot, and can take a grab around the ground, must come in. GArlett too many chances. Ellard another loveable player who cannot provide enough impact consistently.

Not quite so brave as to lock it in, but really think we could get better mileage rucking Rowe and Casboult in tandem than Warnock. Couldn't stretch it that far, but I would not complain if it was done. Elevating Wood takes away motivation for the other rookies/

Buckley Jamison Watson
Simpson Henderson Everitt
Thomas Cripps Murphy
Gibbs Casboult Menzel
Yarran Waite Walker
Warnock Curnow Carrazzo

Graham Tuohy Scotland Robinson

Docherty to come in in a week or 2, Giles to be blooded during season. Temay, Holman AND THE ROOKIES WILL BE PRESSING BY SEASON'S END

"At least DO SOMETHING! DO! Don’t think, DO! Don’t hope, DO! At least you can come off and say ‘I did this; I shepherded; I played on; at least I did something!"
Even reading that makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up.

Unsure how I'd approach the coaches box, but completely tinkering with everyone's position clearly ain't working. Yeah sure we need a few swing men to cover our asses, yeah sure mick is to be applauded for making young Buckley a defender (which appears to be working - for now) but I feel the best way to make players respond is to give them what they want - at a cost. if they are given their natural positions, and still don't respond, then no-one is safe from the axe. I mean for a few weeks too, not for just the Melbourne game. Right now, Hendo seems to be the only semi reliable KPF, so put him up forward. We'll probably leek a few goals but it will give Hendo a chance to settle, as it will his replacement (most likely Watson). Waite clearly needs to be dropped (Touhy has had a horror start too)as does a few others. What we need is a clear message that no-one is safe from the axe (including Gibbs - no matter what the cost) and those who play well in the VFL will be rewarded. Secondly, I'd give a free pass to have a shot at goal if there are no clear options out one on one. If you have it and are in range, you take the shot, not hold it up until the whole forward line is flooded waiting for an option to appear. Thirdly, if you are in the clear, keep running it in. I've players look to give it off after a few bounces because they seem to believe they are going to make it inside 50. If you are clear, keep going. Finally Tackles and shepherds, if you don't make a realistic attempt apply them when your near the ball or a teammate, you aint playing next week. No more of these half-asses chases only to throw one arm out at the last moment, or running along side a team mate expecting to receive. If you want the ball, get into clear space, to advantage.

Coach for a week