cobram v barooga this w'end

jmain14

May 20, 2004
well guys it’s now wednesday so I think the timing is now right to preview this saturday’s big clash between cobram and their old rival barooga at the mcg. I for one am really looking forward to the game, and will be barracking for a tigers win.

cobram will go into the game without coach adam rudd, and doubts are still casted over the availability of skipper phil bourke and ron allen due to their respective injuries. they will rely heavily on midfielders nick howden (key player in their win against finley last week), glen ‘kell’ kelly and damian ‘staffy’ staff. cobram will be hoping the brilliant form of defender andrew ‘andy’ miller can continue, and will be hopeful of big games from the hicks brothers.

would be great to hear some thoughts from any mfl supporters out there regarding the weekend’s clash…

purple hills – will $h!t be going down in the southern stand on sat’y ie. will choppa be going to the game??

what,is Scott Oval not considered worthy of such a game?those two towns bring back fond memories.spent a week in Barooga about 10 yrs ago for a carnival,first proper taste of country life.i distinctly remember walking into the clubhouse at Barooga after a 10 hour trip,honour boards,premiership flags from years gone by,a ground that had been ********ed on for 5 days previous that looked and felt immaculate...then watched Murray vs North-Central at Scott Oval Cobram,in front of a huge crowd,Murray by 60 odd,one day ill be back.

Jock's Netballers said:
Big game...it's just disappointing the Under 17's were given the drop kick and punt off the ground, as they were to be the curtain raiser to the ones...
where are the 3's scheduled to play now - punt rd aren't they??

The thirds are playing in Round 19 when both Cobram & Barooga have the bye. Have heard one rumour that the reason they are not playing was because one vocal Football club president wasnt happy that his team had to play after 2 other games of footy and that the great ground wasnt up to the task. Not to mention that it only has one AFL game there and other weeks it has 3 anyway

its pretty hard to see anything with egg all over my face......watching Fox League Teams last night when the Barooga/Cobram squads came up-bloody fantastic!and on the G no less,i thought it was a gee-up!how did this opportunity come about?the AFL QLD did a similar ballot style comp where regional teams could play each other on the GABBA..also,are the great families of O'Dwyer and Brooks still with the Hawks?got billeted with June and ????? Brooks in 96,lovely folk.

pekay-norwest said:
its pretty hard to see anything with egg all over my face......watching Fox League Teams last night when the Barooga/Cobram squads came up-bloody fantastic!and on the G no less,i thought it was a gee-up!how did this opportunity come about?the AFL QLD did a similar ballot style comp where regional teams could play each other on the GABBA..also,are the great families of O'Dwyer and Brooks still with the Hawks?got billeted with June and ????? Brooks in 96,lovely folk.

Im sure our boys could take on you guys from the west in a pre-season curtain raiser swans match some time next year Pekay...

tbtbtbtbtbtbtb said:
Im sure our boys could take on you guys from the west in a pre-season curtain raiser swans match some time next year Pekay...
ding you're on big Dane,how about Telstra Stadium though?i have to fit all my supporters in somehow.....how you travelling at Tross?

who ever posted this would obviously no Row o'Callaghan the blokes a gun, plyed at echuca with him last year. hows he goin this year havent caught up for a while??

havent seen him in the best

ECHUCABOY said:
who ever posted this would obviously no Row o'Callaghan the blokes a gun, plyed at echuca with him last year. hows he goin this year havent caught up for a while??

havent seen him in the best

Yeah pretty well actually. He's in the Murray league squad to play off in the interleague up at Mildura this weekend.

purple hills said:
Yeah pretty well actually. He's in the Murray league squad to play off in the interleague up at Mildura this weekend.

Purple Hills aren't you in the squad to travel to England next week or has that been put on delay once again...?

jmain14 said:
c'mon sizo - let everyone know what you are up to mate...

Yeah boys can confirm have finally picked up a gig in the UK and after a minor hiccup with the British High Commission will hopefully be running around with the Wandsworth Demons and on the set of "The Bill" in no time

A Jake Maguire has left Barooga to play for Albury in the O and M.
Has anybody heard of him and is he any good?
Previously played for Wodonga in the O and M when they were ordinary and haven't heard of him until he popped up the other week at Albury which is going okay again.

purple hills said:
Yeah boys can confirm have finally picked up a gig in the UK and after a minor hiccup with the British High Commission will hopefully be running around with the Wandsworth Demons and on the set of "The Bill" in no time
when do you fly out?? take it the visa come through alright...

have you played your last game for the tigers for the year??

tbtbtbtbtbtbtb said:
You still keen to pull the boots on for the demons this year PH.... or can I hear an excuse brewing???

Yeah mate hope to get the boots on for the Wandsworth Demons in the BARFL by the end of the year. Dont reckon i'll be able to make it up to have a run with Albatross though. Couldn't even walk last time tb so dont know how i was supposed to get through the lightning premiership. Should play my last game with the tigers this w/e.

tbtbtbtbtbtbtb said:
Ill believe it when I see it, you going to pull the boots on for the Tokyo Goannas on your way over?

Nah don't think i'll pull the boots on for the Goanna's however they do have the Narita cup this weekend and i think the riceman has set a new record for the amount of japanese girlfriends he has arranged to come and watch.

Gonna do my preseason running away from bulls at Pamplona in spain then after this i should be pretty right to take on all in the BARFL

harsh said:
A Jake Maguire has left Barooga to play for Albury in the O and M.
Has anybody heard of him and is he any good?
Previously played for Wodonga in the O and M when they were ordinary and haven't heard of him until he popped up the other week at Albury which is going okay again.

Jake Maguire...famous for shepherding through a Jock's Netballers goal in a reserves match against Lavington in July 2002...and that's about it!!!

cobram v barooga this w'end