Arts & Humanities Coincidences...the good, the bad and the ugly

MrsBlueSky

Apr 5, 2024
Have you got a coincidence to share?

Yesterday, I had some 50 year old olive tree prunings on my front lawn for anyone to collect.
One bloke came and gave me a book he had written on sleep because he was so grateful to get free wood to make things from.
The day before, my daughter had to go to a clinic to do a sleep test.
The bloke said he does those and could have done it free of charge.

You could either put that down to a coincidence or just bad luck.
I mean how many times does an expert in sleep tests come around to your house the day after you needed him.

Thinking about this sort of thing keeps me awake at night.
It's your lucky day, you've come to the right thread.
I think you've been a member for a little while now and this amazing thread is the perfect opportunity for you to get a good night's sleep forevermore.
Just lay all your coincidences out on the table for all of us underprivileged folk to read.
If that doesn't help then I can always loan you the book that I was given.
Post away and you'll soon be having sweet dreams..

Ive got a good one

About 20 years ago you couldnt choose ya PIN for your bank card. Hard to believe. It was whatever it was.

I had to get a card for a new account i had opened with NAB and wanted it to be the same as my PIN as my existing CBA account. NAB told me it was coming soon but not yet available. I said ok no worries.

Two weeks later i got my card in the mail and a day later gor my PIN in the mail and it. was. the. exact. PIN. I. wanted.

I had never disclosed or told NAB at the branch.

One day I got the wrong mail delivered to me, like not even close to the part of town I live in, nor a similar name, or similar street name. That in itself is bizarre. The very next day, I had a new student start in my class (maybe a once or twice a year event) and her last name was the same as the mail that was delivered to me the day before. I asked the question, and yes, the mail was meant for her house. Astronomical odds.

One time before a day out I checked the car tyre pressures. Each valve was at the 9 o'clock position. Not just near, but right on it to within an inch, or 5 degrees. Chat:GPT says that the probability of that happening is 0.000277%. To put that into perspective the chances of four dice all landing with the same number is 0.46%.

Back in Chicagoland in the summer of 1975, we noticed a house about a mile away from ours that used to fly an Australian flag next to their American flag. We noticed it since that was the summer I was leaving to teach in Australia.

Fast forward to the Victorian school holidays in May 1976 and I decided to visit Singapore. While there, I went on a bus day trip into Malaysia. We visited an old church, St. Paul's, in Malacca where St Francis Xavier had once been buried. While taking a picture of it, I spoke to a guy next to me who also was American. He told me that he,too, was a teacher in Australia - Sydney, and that he also was on a different day bus tour from Singapore. We got to talking and he said he was from the Chicago suburb next to my family's home. I asked him, of course, if his family home was the one we had seen flying an Australian flag. It sure was! His parents decided to fly the Aussie flag until he returned to his home in Chicagoland.

It still gives me goosebumps when I think about it.

On SM-A135F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Last week in the greatest league of all, The Sweet FA, we were discussing the price of Tim Tams.

Lo and behold, The Herald Sun ran a story yesterday on the exorbitant price of Tim Tams in Coles and Woolies.

i have 2 that involve me and my partner

my favourite footy song is the thing about football - i have the full version on video tape, that i recorded from an old channel 7 footy marathon. i've watched that so many times, and have gone through the process of digitising it so i can keep watching it without using the video tape anymore. i was showing her this video early in our relationship telling her how its my favourite footy song and that I watch this clip all the time. 10 seconds into it she shrieks and says thats me! as a 12 year old, she was in that video!

2 years before we met, we both went to the old melbourne gaol at the same time, on the same day. i'm in some of the pictures that she took that day

Arts & Humanities Coincidences...the good, the bad and the ugly