Autopsy Collingwood: Where to from here?

pretty crazy that no defending premier has won a final since Richmond defending its flag in 2020.

All those premiers have either fallen off the cliff or are on the edge of one.

I have no doubt Pies will end up the same as they are a B grade Geelong in being consistent at contending.

Time to gut the list before Tassie comes or we will never see lil Nick in a final again.

Slobbo had Curnow ranked best player in comp at start of 2023. Doesn't mean a journo is right in their rankings. Cripps will be evaluated higher after this season if he wins a few individual awards, no doubt
Q: ‘Show me an article that rates Cripps the best player in the comp.’

A: ’Hey! Check out this article about Curnow!’

Magician-level misdirection.

Will be bottom 6 next year.

Just no where near enough talent coming through, and have drafted poorly in recent years in the open draft.

Key defensive posts are really poor, and key forwards a real worry too.

I simply cannot believe they are continuing on with Cox and Howe. They seem to be afraid to make the difficult calls.

Who are the kids that have shown promise? Apart from the obvious.

A real worry.

With the season behind us, it’s time to reflect on where Collingwood stands and where we’re heading. The past year brought its share of highs and lows, but as always, the future is where our focus should lie.
Firstly, we need to evaluate our list management. We've got a solid core, but are there areas where we need to strengthen? Do we need more depth in certain positions, or perhaps a game-changing recruit to push us to the next level? It's crucial that our recruiting team targets players who not only fit our needs but also align with the club's culture and long-term vision.
Next, player development will be key. We've seen promising performances from some of our younger players, but it’s vital that we continue to nurture this talent. Are there specific areas where our emerging stars need to improve, and how can the coaching staff support their growth?
In terms of coaching, it's essential to assess if our current strategies and game plans are effective. Are there tactical adjustments that could enhance our performance? Continuity in coaching can be beneficial, but innovation and adaptation are equally important to stay competitive.
Finally, let’s not forget the role of our supporters. Your unwavering passion and commitment are integral to the club’s success. As we move forward, your continued support will be crucial in building a stronger, more resilient team.
Looking ahead, there’s a lot to be excited about. With the right adjustments and a collective effort, Collingwood has the potential to bounce back stronger. What do you think are the key areas we need to address for a successful season? Let’s discuss!
Go Pies!

Um, Dusty, um, Richmond, um………..
Um, The Pies.
There are no similarities between Collingwood and Richmond.

Richmond were a basket case for 35 years before taking advantage of the weakest era in the history of the game, and now appear to be back where they're most comfortable.

Martin had a single AA Squad season after 2020. I'd hope Nick Daicos has more than that in him in the next 10 to 12 years of his career.

I think they'll be in the 8 next year but I don't see them at the pointy end

They are very well coached and generally always competitive
De Goey went backwards this year as did Moore. Both are very important to their structure when at their best.
While Schultz has been sound, the trade was a poor one from Collingwood which may hurt them.

With the season behind us, it’s time to reflect on where Collingwood stands and where we’re heading. The past year brought its share of highs and lows, but as always, the future is where our focus should lie.
Firstly, we need to evaluate our list management. We've got a solid core, but are there areas where we need to strengthen? Do we need more depth in certain positions, or perhaps a game-changing recruit to push us to the next level? It's crucial that our recruiting team targets players who not only fit our needs but also align with the club's culture and long-term vision.
Next, player development will be key. We've seen promising performances from some of our younger players, but it’s vital that we continue to nurture this talent. Are there specific areas where our emerging stars need to improve, and how can the coaching staff support their growth?
In terms of coaching, it's essential to assess if our current strategies and game plans are effective. Are there tactical adjustments that could enhance our performance? Continuity in coaching can be beneficial, but innovation and adaptation are equally important to stay competitive.
Finally, let’s not forget the role of our supporters. Your unwavering passion and commitment are integral to the club’s success. As we move forward, your continued support will be crucial in building a stronger, more resilient team.
Looking ahead, there’s a lot to be excited about. With the right adjustments and a collective effort, Collingwood has the potential to bounce back stronger. What do you think are the key areas we need to address for a successful season? Let’s discuss!
Go Pies!
I can’t see much changing in this off season, we will add to the squad via a few draft picks.

They will have a big pre-season and try and instil the hunger back into this group. A tweak or two to the gameplan to keep up with its rivals and then there isn’t any reason why this current group can’t again contend. It would require some better luck on the injury front as well.

I think you’ll find Collingwood will be probably one of if not the biggest players in the FA and Trade market come 2025 seasons end.

I think 2026 is when you’ll see a vastly different Collingwood.

There are no similarities between Collingwood and Richmond.

Richmond were a basket case for 35 years before taking advantage of the weakest era in the history of the game, and now appear to be back where they're most comfortable.

Martin had a single AA Squad season after 2020. I'd hope Nick Daicos has more than that in him in the next 10 to 12 years of his career.
They also sat by average 10th from an age perspective after winning their first.
With all of their top 10 players 30 and under, most in that prime 26/27 age bracket.
Where do you think Collingwood rank from an age perspective after last year? I’d reckon you’d know….
I’ve seen you compare top 10 B&F finish results from an age perspective before, what do you think this years results will say about the Pies?
And I’d agree, there’re aren’t many similarities, they had the best player in the league at the time, Collingwood doesn’t, Richmond’s list was balanced, Collingwood’s isn’t, Richmond had continued success, Collingwood haven’t,
Richmond had one player on the list older than 30, Collingwood have………..
Yep, not many similarities at all really
Appreciate you pointing that out.

They also sat by average 10th from an age perspective after winning their first.
With all of their top 10 players 30 and under, most in that prime 26/27 age bracket.
Where do you think Collingwood rank from an age perspective after last year? I’d reckon you’d know….
I’ve seen you compare top 10 B&F finish results from an age perspective before, what do you think this years results will say about the Pies?
And I’d agree, there’re aren’t many similarities, they had the best player in the league at the time, Collingwood doesn’t, Richmond’s list was balanced, Collingwood’s isn’t, Richmond had continued success, Collingwood haven’t,
Richmond had one player on the list older than 30, Collingwood have………..
Yep, not many similarities at all really
Appreciate you pointing that out.
Your defence of your Richmond Brotherhood is admirable, but misguided.

If you comprehend the post I responded to, it was suggesting that Collingwood would fall of the cliff in the same way Richmond did, due to the parallels between the two clubs.

There are no parallels between Collingwood and Richmond.

'Richmond had the best player in the league, Collingwood haven't':
  • Martin was generally considered the best player in the league between 2017 and 2020, though he only performed as THE best player in the league in a single season - 2017. Then he didn't fire a shot after 2020, making a single All-Australian Squad after that time.
  • Compare that to Daicos, who would have swept all the individual awards in his second year if not for his late season injury, and is going to back it up in his 3rd year with AT LEAST the AFLCA Coaches Award. And he is only 21 years old.

'Richmond had continued success, Collingwood hasn't':
  • Richmond had a four year window when they contended, and fortunately won three flags during that window. That team did not win a single final outside of that window. And that is after a 35 year period of failing to play in a single Grand Final, and barely winning a final in that time.
  • Collingwood had played in 11 Preliminary Finals and 6 Grand Finals in the previous 22 seasons.

I know who I'd be backing if I was predicting who was going to build a team to contend again in the short, medium and long term...

Phil Davis’ heart was shattered by the 2023 preliminary final result. Not the first and won’t be the last “media figure” if you can call him that to drop a salty article about the Pies. Nick Riewoldt and Leigh Montagna still haven’t recovered to this day.

While we all enjoy watching the Pies stumble, they have the capacity to recover swiftly from terrible list decisions:

Trade all our eggs for Dayne Beams?
Pay Treloar to be AA at another club?
Pay Grundy to ruck at two competing clubs?
Go all in on one of the dodgiest drafts in recent years?
Get rid of Ginnivan, then and vastly overpay in the trade for an journeyman forward?

Finals four out of the last six years, two GFs and a flag.

They’re not finished yet, they’ll have a proper break this year, get the majority of their list back and injury free before the pre season starts and get push for finals next year. They still played solid footy at times this year when they had a decent team to pick from

Outside of Degoey which players have been injured who aren't in the latter part of their careers where they're more likely to get injured year on year?
It's more which players weren't injured.

Injury reports: may

June/July

July

The ones that weren't injured this season were Nick D, Crisp, Moore (was hampered), Hill, Quaynor (had a toe injury but I don't think he missed) Josh D (might have missed 1(corky) but can't remember).

It's a damned if you do, damned if you don't thing. Top up, and they could snag one, and let me tell you, any pain, time down the bottom is worth it if you've got another flag. That said, if they don't start to look towards rebalancing their list, there will be a period of struggle coming, they've already struggled, and frankly their 23' side were one of the weaker premiers we've seen, with a lot of very narrow wins. It wasn't a list streets ahead. Tasmania will compromise the draft, and sides like the Pies, maybe even mine, will be working out issues at the wrong time unless the right moves are made here.

If anything, they should be looking for players to get in who are mid 20s, 24-27 years old, at least one quality player at that age, to be part of the next senior group in years to come.

Daicos is incredible, so they've at least got one cog for the next 10-12 years. I think they have slightly shot themselves in the foot, but the turn around can be relatively quick, 3-4 years back to finals solidly if they play it right. Any father sons on the way for the Pies?

Start playing more of the youth next year, get games into them. The worst thing would be to give them no exposure, and never develop them. 2nd last in the VFL is worrying there though.

Since Richmond locked down the spoon, expect to see a whole bunch more of these "I'm depressed about my club, so I want everyone else to be depressed about their clubs too" threads and posts.

Big deal. Supporting a club in the doldrums doesn't make someones assessments on other teams invalid. It's not as if you're more correct, and your football knowledge increase based on your teams ladder position. It's flat out idiotic how many people on bigfooty try and downplay based on someone else's side being lacking or just resort to childish ad hominem.

Yes, Richmond are tripe right now, but the Pies DO HAVE a big decision to make regarding their list & arguably Richmond supporters may very well understand the situation given they just watched their own club, F-up by topping up the list at the detriment to youth, & now they're in a worst position for it. Ditto the Hawks who also screwed themselves in 16-18', now they're rising because of recognizing the importance of a strong youth core.

It's more which players weren't injured.

Injury reports: may

June

July

The ones that weren't injured this season were Nick D, Crisp, Moore (was hampered), Hill, Quaynor (had a toe injury but I don't think he missed) Josh D (might have missed 1(corky) but can't remember).
All I'm seeing is a heap of Tom Mitchell, Dan McSpud, Cox, Howe, Mihocek etc with a sprinkling of Schultz and Maynard types missing 1 or 2 weeks occasionally... 90% of ur injuries to b22 players were to old veterans.

They aren't getting any more durable with another year on the biological clock.

Big deal. Supporting a club in the doldrums doesn't make someones assessments on other teams invalid. It's not as if you're more correct, and your football knowledge increase based on your teams ladder position. It's flat out idiotic how many people on bigfooty try and downplay based on someone else's side being lacking or just resort to childish ad hominem.

Yes, Richmond are tripe right now, but the Pies DO HAVE a big decision to make regarding their list & arguably Richmond supporters may very well understand the situation given they just watched their own club, F-up by topping up the list at the detriment to youth, & now they're in a worst position for it. Ditto the Hawks who also screwed themselves in 16-18', now they're rising because of recognizing the importance of a strong youth core.
Melbourne sucks/ignored your post ;)

What would you know, you support Melbourne?

All I'm seeing is a heap of Tom Mitchell, Dan McSpud, Cox, Howe, Mihocek etc with a sprinkling of Schultz and Maynard types missing 1 or 2 weeks occasionally... 90% of ur injuries to b22 players were to old veterans.

They aren't getting any more durable with another year on the biological clock.
You didn't look properly. Let me read out some of the younger ones you missed on those reports. And let me explain there are more with this just being 3 reports over a 24 round season.

McCreery, Noble, Richards, Harrison, Begg, Ryan, Steene, Carmichael, Parker, Cameron, Eyre, Markov, McInnes.

Sure they are not all household names but that doesn't mean they aren't useful players.

Autopsy Collingwood: Where to from here?