Cometti's worst one-liners

Yes forssy....Basil's reference to Vin Waite was awful...

"Did you see that Vinnie??"

Vin Waite died some years ago......truly awful.

I thought the way he said it he was thinking Vinnie was sitting in the stands.I think it might've been Hamish who later said something like "Vinnie would be looking down"

Yeah, well, they hired Hamish to take away attention from how rubbish the rest of them were. Dead set joke of a human being, in every way.

if gilligan did jump ship to the nrl does he take his knob brother with him? should be a package deal, but hame is like the steak knife set. if only he was as sharp as a knife set.

on a more serious note, what do people expect from tv commentators?

i hardly notice them myself (beside actuall really listening for the inevitable basil z/hame faux pas coz it is hilarious they are so incompetent) as i can visually see what is unfolding.

I like dennis -what about that day Libba got eye gouged-Dennis said something along the lines of -Liberatore went into the pack optomisticly and came out optically challenged-or something along the lines of that -it was a beauty

The best instant one liner ive ever heard was by David Swan Mckay- an arround the ground commentator for ABC radio -AT the time -there was the big Wharfies dispute -a multi millionaire businessman by the name of Chris Corrigan was trying to sack all these Wharfies . Anyhow Geelong were playing Fremantle -and Geelong had a player by the name of Corrigan and he got concussed -anyhow Tim Lane said David McKay at Geelong -and Swan McKay said -"Oh the Dockers have just Knocked out Corrigan-that seems appropriate"-classic stuff

I like dennis -what about that day Libba got eye gouged-Dennis said something along the lines of -Liberatore went into the pack optomisticly and came out optically challenged-or something along the lines of that -it was a beauty

The best instant one liner ive ever heard was by David Swan Mckay- an arround the ground commentator for ABC radio -AT the time -there was the big Wharfies dispute -a multi millionaire businessman by the name of Chris Corrigan was trying to sack all these Wharfies . Anyhow Geelong were playing Fremantle -and Geelong had a player by the name of Corrigan and he got concussed -anyhow Tim Lane said David McKay at Geelong -and Swan McKay said -"Oh the Dockers have just Knocked out Corrigan-that seems appropriate"-classic stuff

"He went in optimistically, and came out misty optically"

If they stopped letting him and Bruce do it together, I reckon he would be alright. But together, geez, they are like to teenage boys trying to come up with the funniest "willy" joke. He has had some terrific calls over the years but.

Agreed. They need to split them apart because all they do is try and outdo each other & dont concentrate on calling the game.
I know Brayshaw & co on MMM get bagged out for their innuendo and what not, but at least when the game is tight they all shut up and call it like it is.

I love the Dennis/Bruce "classic" : "Handpasses to Stokes or is that Christensen, they look like twins"
Er, no they dont. Learn your players and stop trying to be "witty" you flogs.

I uses to like Dennis. Now the whole team pi***s me off including Tom. Must be something they're smoking in the commentary box. I actually like when I hear Richos voice - its refreshing!!!!

Loved Mckays dry wit. One of the best I heard was Billy commentating on a Cats / Blues game that Matthew Clape was dominating. At one stage Clape was 20 metres in the clear , Billy said something like - look at the distance around Clape , anyone would think he had it............

Bruce McAvaney used to be good. Used to be.

The other night, he referred to Corey Enright as Boris.
Now Bruce, you're not a team mate, nor a supporter.
He does this only a weekly basis using players nicknames.
This is not acceptable for a professional commentator.

Commetti is actually a brilliant and underrated 'play by play' caller. Never gets overwrought, never schmalzy, never too emotional. His commentary of the play is actually fairly minimal and objective. He knows that 'less can be more'. You also get the sense that he knows there is more to life than treating football like a religious event. He has a humour about football as a result, which w***ers like Darcy, King, and Malthouse do not. Good for him on that score.

The problem is that in recent years his humour and witticism have become too prominent. I'd say the broadcasters are responsible for that and have had him push that side of his commentary (probably as his jokes were once popular with punters). Now he is made to over do it, which is a shame as he is pretty funny in the right context and in the right amount.

Also one of the few commentators with a massive soft spot for Geelong, despite his support of WA teams.

Peter Landy was the shit
My recollections of Peter Landy were that he always used the term 'desperation plus' and 'that kick went 40m...20m up and 20m down'....not too mention the rowing at the olympics...one of the few footy commentators who could cross over with pre existing knowledge of the other sport...

BT was okay before he let banter with other commentators take over.
As previously mentioned, every time Richo says something informed or sensible, he gets shot down in flames by Darcy and BT.

BT was okay before he let banter with other commentators take over.
As previously mentioned, every time Richo says something informed or sensible, he gets shot down in flames by Darcy and BT.

Richo's problem was that they hired him to be a professional buffoon, but he wasn't smart enough to carry it off.

I was watching on Sunday as Dogs are my 2nd team, but that Djerrkura line was a turning point. That's all I can stands, I can't stands no more. So I turned the volume off, I just drew my own conclusions about what was happening. It was really peaceful, so I think I'll be doing that from now on. It would be great to have some crowd noise only option. Something has definitely shifted in TV commentary this year, Ch 7 at least on all broadcasts, and I don't like it. Sat night on 7 is probably the worst. It's such a shame as Lingy could be a good performer, Richo too, but they are dragged in to buffoonery too often. Tom Harley I'm sad to say is like Hackett reading the sport on 9, just really bland. Luke Darcy I can't stand. BT shouldn't be on TV. Basil and Hamish are like amateurs. Den has become a caricature of himself, and Bruce is probably struggling with the new "less serious" focus. They need to pay the game a bit more respect.

It's funny because radio across the board is still pretty good during the game at least even with some of the above in the mix.

on a more serious note, what do people expect from tv commentators?

i hardly notice them myself (beside actuall really listening for the inevitable basil z/hame faux pas coz it is hilarious they are so incompetent) as i can visually see what is unfolding.

I expect them to call the game. I'm bloody sick of hearing their opinionated bullshit whilst the ball is in play, call the bloody game! With the terrible camera angles we are shown these days, and the commentators talking about bloody everything except what is happening on the field, TV broadcasts are becoming painful to watch.

Watching the Grand Finals of recent years with a radio broadcast is the best thing in the world.

I was watching on Sunday as Dogs are my 2nd team, but that Djerrkura line was a turning point. That's all I can stands, I can't stands no more. So I turned the volume off, I just drew my own conclusions about what was happening. It was really peaceful, so I think I'll be doing that from now on. It would be great to have some crowd noise only option. Something has definitely shifted in TV commentary this year, Ch 7 at least on all broadcasts, and I don't like it. Sat night on 7 is probably the worst. It's such a shame as Lingy could be a good performer, Richo too, but they are dragged in to buffoonery too often. Tom Harley I'm sad to say is like Hackett reading the sport on 9, just really bland. Luke Darcy I can't stand. BT shouldn't be on TV. Basil and Hamish are like amateurs. Den has become a caricature of himself, and Bruce is probably struggling with the new "less serious" focus. They need to pay the game a bit more respect.

It's funny because radio across the board is still pretty good during the game at least even with some of the above in the mix.

I really like that idea!

Cometti's worst one-liners