Game Day Community Series vs Port Adelaide. RICHMOND OVAL. 3:40pm Saturday 5th March

He gets the best out of himself so respect for that.

Will he help us get to another grand final? No.

That old argument that many used on here for David Mackay. It was as wrong back then as it is wrong now.

Plenty of worse footballers than Keays have been best 22 for Grand final teams.

That old argument that many used on here for David Mackay. It was as wrong back then as it is wrong now.

I guess it’s the how many Ben Keays or worse a team has, we’ve got far too many worse than him.

That’s true, but when rebuilding, you have to find the balance between mature bodies playing a role and developing genuine A-Graders. The position/role they play is also important.

The big issue with Mackay is we he was playing roles that should be reserved for developing youngsters. Half back is one of the easier positions for young players to develop and build confidence. Instead players like Milera and Jones were sent to the small forward wasteland and struggled for confidence whilst Mackay trotted around off half back playing at best “okay”.

I’m not sure Keays is in quite the same category as Mackay, but if he can rotate through HF and midfield, then that’s far more valuable to a young team.

That’s true, but when rebuilding, you have to find the balance between mature bodies playing a role and developing genuine A-Graders. The position/role they play is also important.

The big issue with Mackay is we he was playing roles that should be reserved for developing youngsters. Half back is one of the easier positions for young players to develop and build confidence. Instead players like Milera and Jones were sent to the small forward wasteland and struggled for confidence whilst Mackay trotted around off half back playing at best “okay”.

I’m not sure Keays is in quite the same category as Mackay, but if he can rotate through HF and midfield, then that’s far more valuable to a young team.
The problem we have is we have four scrapper/accumulator types as our main experienced midfield lads and not an elite bone among them..

Playing all four and giving them 80% of the midfield minutes is stunting the growth/development of our youth and damaging our future prospects.. and is the leagues shittest midfield combo which puts pressure on both our defense and forward lines making it even harder for those young lads to develop their natural game.

One of them, at the very least, has to go. Preferably two. Its far too one dimensional as is as they are four very similar types.

My opinion is..

Mcrouch is probably the best out of the lot of them so he stays.

Sloane is the captain and our highest paid player so he aint going anywhere. Although we can put him at half forward so that sort of moves one of them on and out of the centre..

Laird has what? 4-5 years of contract still in front of him? and is probably on reasonable coin?.. so he aint going anywhere.

That leaves keays.. the worst of the four and probably the lowest paid out of them.. thus its less damage to the team if he is sent back to the sanfl and used as depth.

So mcrouch and laird teamed up with rotations of Dawson, rachele, berry, shoey, jones, pedlar, hately, soglio, taylor, milera etc (ive probably missed a couple but you get the point) and Sloane coming in when needed say if crouch or laird are injured or on the bench.

but never have sloane, laird, crouch all at once attending CB’s.

The problem we have is we have four scrapper/accumulator types as our main experienced midfield lads and not an elite bone among them..

Playing all four and giving them 80% of the midfield minutes is stunting the growth/development of our youth and damaging our future prospects.. and is the leagues shittest midfield combo which puts pressure on both our defense and forward lines making it even harder for those young lads to develop their natural game.

One of them, at the very least, has to go. Preferably two. Its far too one dimensional as is as they are four very similar types.

My opinion is..

Mcrouch is probably the best out of the lot of them so he stays.

Sloane is the captain and our highest paid player so he aint going anywhere. Although we can put him at half forward so that sort of moves one of them on and out of the centre..

Laird has what? 4-5 years of contract still in front of him? and is probably on reasonable coin?.. so he aint going anywhere.

That leaves keays.. the worst of the four and probably the lowest paid out of them.. thus its less damage to the team if he is sent back to the sanfl and used as depth.

So mcrouch and laird teamed up with rotations of Dawson, rachele, berry, shoey, jones, pedlar, hately, soglio, taylor, milera etc (ive probably missed a couple but you get the point) and Sloane coming in when needed say if crouch or laird are injured or on the bench.

but never have sloane, laird, crouch all at once attending CB’s.
Why not move laid back to HB and move Jones back to centre later this year?

Would love that.. have suggested many times that Jones now looks to have regained his confidence and should be thrown back into the middle. Hes got more skill, speed and footy smarts than nearly anyone at the club..

But it seems the club is hell bent on making a fulltime mid out of Lairdy… they probably rate him in front of sloaney and crouch at the moment!..

Well Keays is forever a free agent so it'll only take another club offering him a deal for him to leave.

No contending club will have any interest in Keays. He suited us at the time he was available. He's now the first neck on the midfield chopping block. There's no point having a mid/fwd that can't identify and then hit a target inside 50. Happy to show some patience though, it's not like wins matter. But to me it looks pretty obvious, Brisbane were very correct choosing Lyons and delisting Keays given where they were at.

Keays isn't underperforming that's the big flaw in the crap you keep spouting.

Get back to us after the real stuff starts next week.

There's not a player in our midfield that you needs to be improved upon. If we recruited Petracca you'd be posting that it must be as a half forward becyse our midfield is already stacked with 30 touch guns.

David Mackay
Riley Knight
Rory Atkins
None of these guys attended 80% of our CB’s though..

How many of these guys below did?.. i cant even remember much of em!..
Chad Rintoul
Andrew Eccles
Clay Sampson
Matt Connell

we are talking about a guy whos in our main midfield combo of 3/4 players and attends 80% of the CB’s for us..

Rory Atkins wasn't a genuine mid?
Rory atkins attended 80% of our CB’s did he?…

I dont recall that being the case at all.. seem to recall him playing more off a wing..

And rory atkins has far better skills than keays.. rory’s problem is he rarely uses them.. and he’s allergic to ****n tackling.. and effort..

Hmmm - I said players

So it has to be specifically from the midfield group? Okay - I'll bite. Here are 2 from the past 4 grand finals.

Adam Kennedy - GWS 2019.
Chris Masten - WCE 2018

Collingwood also played in 2018:

Tom Phillips
Brayden Sier
James Aish
Levi Greenwood

All in the midfield and all are worse than Keays

What about:

Marlion Pickett
Kamdyn McIntosh
Brandon Ellis
Ryan Crowley
Tendai Mzungu
Toby McLean
Matt Rosa
Craig Bird
Nick Suban
Cam Sutcliffe
Will Langford
Clint Young
Mitch Morton

There have been HEAPS of pretty bog average midfielders in grand final teams

There's not a player in our midfield that you needs to be improved upon. If we recruited Petracca you'd be posting that it must be as a half forward becyse our midfield is already stacked with 30 touch guns.
Haha

Both average close to the same disposals per game in 2021

Benny has Christian covered for Turnovers per game.....just. BK 6.59 - CP 6.20

Christian has Benny for Clangers per game...just. CP 5.0 - BK 4.64

Christian has Benny covered for Disposal efficiency....just. CP 62% - BK 65.5%

For all those lauding Brisbane's role in delisting Keays it should be remembered he was in reality swapped for CEY.
He's improved each year he's been with us and there's no reason to think that can't continue.
It's only his decision making that's holding him back. If he improves this he'll be fine.

I disagree that they were worse.

Genuine mids?
None of them were genuine mids.
You reckon Chad Rintoul and Clay Sampson were better than Keays????

No wonder you had Thilthorpe going at 9...

You reckon Chad Rintoul and Clay Sampson were better than Keays????

No wonder you had Thilthorpe going at 9...

I said they weren't worse than him, and were they genuine midf?

And like my Luko prediction (which has been proven correct), give my Tilly prediction some time (I think 9 will be just about spot on).

I said they weren't worse than him, and were they genuine midf?

And like my Luko prediction (which has been proven correct), give my Tilly prediction some time (I think 9 will be just about spot on).
Yes, they were worse than Keays.

Game Day Community Series vs Port Adelaide. RICHMOND OVAL. 3:40pm Saturday 5th March