Discussion COMPLETED eBay Auctions of AFL Guernseys - NO LIVE AUCTIONS

Re: AFL Guernseys on eBay

interestingly the afl watermark is the 90's badge, yet the chest badge is the current one.

well like stated by the seller it's a pre-production design and Puma were obviously experimenting with shadow badging when production started in 1999, before the AFL logo changed. Coincidently they have applied a similar element to modern Hawthorn guernsey's.

That Werribee jersey could also be a Whitefriars in the ammos their jersey was similar to that years ago.

Also the Nth Ballarat jersey, that is the old VFA logo the first year they changed to the VFL kept old VFA colours, the next year they cahnged to Blue and white.

The patch looks fake like an iron on though not the proper Stitch on badge.

IMO

Whitefriars wear navy, white and gold, and still wear a 'w' design to this day.

As for the VFL logo, North Ballarat were in the comp the year they changed it, so no problems there, and on close inspection of the badge on that particular jumper, there is evidence there to suggest its sewn on. For example, if you look at the main pic you can see the hint of a thread hanging off the top left hand side of the badge.

But I reckon you'd be better off holding out for a standard-issue one to crop up; this one looks like it will be for the serious jumper collector who has it all. The eventual price will reflect this no doubt.

Give this man a prize.

Even I would like one for its sheer cringeworthyness.

You'd definately stand out of the crowd at an Eagles game - you don't see many at Subi for a good reason.
i saw 2, TWO at the first NAB cup game v essendon, thought that was a good omen, but have only seen 1 in the 5 games (port nab, ess H&A, fre, haw, stk) I've gone to since

This is a great and helpful thread. I just bought an ACT rep jumper off eBay and plan on getting some of Canberra's all-time greats to sign it. Got an Ainslie FC jumper a few months ago from eBay and got James Hird to sign it with his original Ainslie number (19).

Under 19s jumper?
Looks like an 80's Hawthorn jumper, logos are right and the material looks fuzzy enough to be acryllic.
Stripes are wide enough too.

One test would be to see how old the logos are.
If they're hard and new, they've been sewn on recently.
If they're soft, it's probably an U19s jumper as these were not available for sale with the official logos.
If the patches are new, it could be anyone's old Brown & Gold stripes.

Under 19s jumper?
Looks like an 80's Hawthorn jumper, logos are right and the material looks fuzzy enough to be acryllic.
Stripes are wide enough too.

One test would be to see how old the logos are.
If they're hard and new, they've been sewn on recently.
If they're soft, it's probably an U19s jumper as these were not available for sale with the official logos.
If the patches are new, it could be anyone's old Brown & Gold stripes.

Number is correct style too.

Here's one that definitely isn't match worn....

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/1980s-Hawtho...=AU_Sport_AFL_Memorabilia&hash=item20b16ad043

Number is correct style too.

Here's one that definitely isn't match worn....

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/1980s-Hawtho...=AU_Sport_AFL_Memorabilia&hash=item20b16ad043
From the range of very well known Polwarth footy jumpers of the 80s.
So well made that they included extra stripes down the sides.
Hawthorn wore that HFC logo from 1985 to 1989.
Leigh Matthews retired after the 1985 Grand Final
Here he is 'playing' in 1985, and the jumpers have wider stripes and there's none at the sides.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r81_FLjfNOg
Sorry, they won't be getting my $2500.
It's about as likely to be worn by Leigh Matthews in a game as it is that I wore it in a game for Hawthorn.

theres a guy in brunswick who i have spoken to before about jumper patch's from the 70's/80's he sells them for $20 it would be pretty easy to get some old footy jumper chuck a few patchs on and say its ridgeie didge from the 80's but they can not fool people who are switched on with jumpers i have one vfl hawthorn jumper i brought at a market for $10 it just has the vfl patch on it the patch is worth more than the jumper..

Where does he get them made?

im not too sure mate... search in ebay afl patch n they sould come up. 19.99 has most teams from what ive seen

I've seen them numerous times.

I just want to know who he gets to do them, because when I wanted some Ford ones made up, every place I went to refused due to breach of copyright.

Discussion COMPLETED eBay Auctions of AFL Guernseys - NO LIVE AUCTIONS