Could Greg Inglis play AFL footy?

Gman said:
Where is this bloody G Spot you speak of located Spewing?

I ain't got a clue:eek:

PS

Is Mitsubishi RLs new major sponsor?

Bloody struggling they are:thumbsdown:

I think telstra actually are adding en extra 10 millions a year to what they give to the NRL now...

Mitsubishi or Toyota hmm not much difference they both suck...

oh to the noob who asked in jest if Greg Inglis could sprint and bounce a ball and hand pass...
I can Sprint Bounce a ball every 10 yards hand pass ect and i aint to greg inglis so i'd say he could do it alot better then me...

Some AFL players could make the swith some Rugby league players could make the swith who cares the only people Whinging are the ****ers that dont like league and the original poster said there are plenty of other threads to whinge about league in....

Why do you AFL bafoons say RL has no skill yet tackling in AFL is considered a skill?:rolleyes:

For an example of AFL tackling watch "Lethal" Leigh Matthews "burst" through so called packs it's the equivilent of me running through the school play ground, just as challenging. It's nothing short of pityful, if an AFL player makes more than 5 takles a game he is considered a workaholic.

Gman said:
Where is this bloody G Spot you speak of located Spewing?

I ain't got a clue:eek:

PS

Is Mitsubishi RLs new major sponsor?

Bloody struggling they are:thumbsdown:
Of course you know where the G spot is lol,or else you wouldn't be embarrassed.All AFL players know that so im sure you do to llllllllllllllollllllllllllllll.:)

1908 said:
Why do you AFL bafoons say RL has no skill yet tackling in AFL is considered a skill?:rolleyes:

For an example of AFL tackling watch "Lethal" Leigh Matthews "burst" through so called packs it's the equivilent of me running through the school play ground, just as challenging. It's nothing short of pityful, if an AFL player makes more than 5 takles a game he is considered a workaholic.

the "perfect tackle" in AFL is much more difficult to execute in Aussie Rules.

and it is a three dimensional game. Lethal wouldn't know where his next tackle is going to come from.

the loose tackling rules of union and league mean that a player from those sports would find it very difficult to tackle without giving away a free kick for push in the back, low tackle or high tackle and may still tackle.

The other consideration is that player might tackle, but it may not be effective. Unlike league and union, Aussie Rules players have the ability to dispose of the ball by either hand or foot. This places more emphasis on the "one percenter" skills such as smothering and bumping and decision making.

This is almost always done at full speed rather than just wrapping your arms around an oncoming player who barely has the chance to get up a canter.

thecoastingcoaster said:
Those who think Inglis couldn't play AFL are kidding themselves.
If an Irishman can become a star, then an indigenous RL player with Inglis's talent would become an out and out superstar.

Then I suppose we should be asking ourselves:

a) why has no rugby league player in the history of the NSWRL/SuperLeague/NRL successfully switched codes to play in the VFL/AFL ?

b) who and when will be the first rugby league player to do so ?

c) how much money is Inglis making out of NRL and how much could he make in the AFL ?

This is a really good reference article BTW:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Football_Code_Converts

Fishmonger wrote:
the "perfect tackle" in AFL is much more difficult to execute in Aussie Rules.

and it is a three dimensional game. Lethal wouldn't know where his next tackle is going to come from.

the loose tackling rules of union and league mean that a player from those sports would find it very difficult to tackle without giving away a free kick for push in the back, low tackle or high tackle and may still tackle.

The other consideration is that player might tackle, but it may not be effective. Unlike league and union, Aussie Rules players have the ability to dispose of the ball by either hand or foot. This places more emphasis on the "one percenter" skills such as smothering and bumping and decision making.

This is almost always done at full speed rather than just wrapping your arms around an oncoming player who barely has the chance to get up a canter.

That my friend is the biggest load of one eyed BS. "One percenters" what a load of rubbish, there is no off side rule, knock-on rules, you can attack a ball and it's 50/50 drop it it's play on, pick it up and it's play on. Even kicking for goal rewards you for missing. Mark ball, drop ball play on.

I won't even bother with your comments on tackling:rolleyes: :rolleyes

I have seen footage of so called "lethal" bursting through, mate they were nothing more than arm grabbers and half hearted attempts. Nothing challenging at all. Imagine all he had to do was run and not worry about being tackled, what a luxury,no-one was going to threaten him with their "defence". It is embarrassing.

You my friend are leading for clown of the day.

fishmonger said:
Then I suppose we should be asking ourselves:

a) why has no rugby league player in the history of the NSWRL/SuperLeague/NRL successfully switched codes to play in the VFL/AFL ?

b) who and when will be the first rugby league player to do so ?

c) how much money is Inglis making out of NRL and how much could he make in the AFL ?

This is a really good reference article BTW:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Football_Code_Converts

Has any AFL players jumped to rugby league?

Inglis just signed a 4 year 2 mil deal with the storm, the NRL has a salary cap...

Y2eel said:
Has any AFL players jumped to rugby league?

Inglis just signed a 4 year 2 mil deal with the storm, the NRL has a salary cap...

With that sort of pay, he'd have to be one of the top 40 players in the AFL.

There are other reasons for switching codes though.

Adrian Barich signed with the Western Reds after his career at the West Coast Eagles. I remember seeing him play rugby league. He wasn't bad.
It was SuperLeague, not technically the NRL, but proves it can happen.

The Demons Matthew Whelan would have made a great NRL player, growing up in Darwin playing league. He chose Aussie Rules instead. He has had to keep his weight trim to play footy, but for a little guy he is an absolute axe and has really worked on his kicking accuracy.

This shows the guys ignorance. Why would a player who is established in first grade switch to AFL and get similar money? If a league player wants a challenge or to continue his career he has the luxury of going overseas or switching to rugby union.
Maybe Fishmonger should ask why no AFL player has ever switched codes and made first grade let alone representative football?
Other than 22 rounds and some finals, oh, and a medal, AFL offers very little that other sports don't already have.;)

I'm not arguing with you buddy, but maybe if you want to make personal attacks against people who follow the AFL you shouldn't be posting here in the first place. :thumbsdown:

1908 said:
This shows the guys ignorance. Why would a player who is established in first grade switch to AFL and get similar money?
You answered your question yourself - as much as I'd love to see talented players show enough versatility to switch codes I have never argued against the fact that there is simply not enough difference at the moment between player salaries across codes to make a switch viable.

You assume that everyone on this board is ignorant. I grew up with rugby league. I could probably name more NSWRL players than you have clean pairs of nappies.

1908 said:
If a league player wants a challenge or to continue his career he has the luxury of going overseas or switching to rugby union.

Shows your ignorance of Aussie Rules.
A premiership is considered the ultimate, and an AFL premiership moreso.

Even if we did have a national Aussie Rules team it still would be.

And if they're good enough, they can go the the NFL in the USA after their careers and earn a cool million+ a year for making a 4 second appearance each week.

1908 said:
Other than 22 rounds and some finals, oh, and a medal, AFL offers very little that other sports don't already have.;)

Apart from the abovementioned, there is International Rules tests representative football, which Michael Voss obviously rates high enough to come out of retirement for.

And there was Interstate Aussie Rules long before Rugby League State of Origin was even a concept. Which will be returning in 2008.

BTW aren't SuperLeague Europe's wages less than the NRL ? Is playing in a lesser league considered a challenge ? Maybe that's why players from up north stay in the NRL ....

Maybe then Aussie Rules players could take the challenge of playing amateur Gaelic football in Dublin ...

1908 said:
Maybe Fishmonger should ask why no AFL player has ever switched codes and made first grade let alone representative football?
I told you. Adrian Barich. He represented both NSW and captained WA in Aussie Rules State of Origin. He made reserve grade ARL at the age of 32 and played a full 2 seasons before retiring ! That's not a bad career.

Now show me someone from the NRL who's done the equivalent in Aussie Rules - even so much as made a rookie list and I'll be happy. :rolleyes:

fishmonger said:
I told you. Adrian Barich. He represented both NSW and captained WA in Aussie Rules State of Origin. He made reserve grade ARL at the age of 32 and played a full 2 seasons before retiring ! That's not a bad career.

Now show me someone from the NRL who's done the equivalent in Aussie Rules - even so much as made a rookie list and I'll be happy. :rolleyes:

Reserve grade? Come on, fishmonger.

If we're going to talk about that, then how about we say that Wayne Carey, Paul Kelly and Matthew Whelan all played Rugby League before converting to AFL?

Now, now fishmonger, you still are clubhouse leader as fool for the day.:D

You posed the original question:

I simply gave you an answer.
I'll test your league knowledge, what two NZ brothers played in the forwards for Cronulla in the late 70's and 80's?

A premiership is considered the ultimate, and an AFL premiership moreso

You knucklehead, of COURSE IT IS, there is NOTHING else.:rolleyes:

Apart from the abovementioned, there is International Rules tests representative football, which Michael Voss obviously rates high enough to come out of retirement for.

I'm talking about Aussie Rules not some made up rubbish, that has 0 credibility with most Australians. No one has ever said AFL players don't say the right things to protect the image of the game.

Where has interstate AR been for the last 10 years, gone the way of the dodo:thumbsu:

You better do some research, UK rugby league clubs operate on a salary cap of $4.2 million which is greater than Australia, along with some tricky off shore tax dodge players can earn a great deal indeed. It is still a very high standard competition.

The Western Reds only had a reserve grade, how many games did he start?

Now show me someone from the NRL who's done the equivalent in Aussie Rules - even so much as made a rookie list and I'll be happy.

See beginning. I gave you reasons why switching to AFL would not be high on a league players agenda, what incentive is there?

Talking about salary cap 1908,did you hear stuart fielden transfered from bradford to wigan for a cool 1.6 million dollars?That is big bucks,considering he only signed the release papers that took him a second lol.1.6 million dollars how much money do these rugby league clubs have in the UK .

Spewing said:
Talking about salary cap 1908,did you hear stuart fielden transfered from bradford to wigan for a cool 1.6 million dollars?That is big bucks,considering he only signed the release papers that took him a second lol.1.6 million dollars how much money do these rugby league clubs have in the UK .
So you have to play in UK to make good money in RL?

If I were Inglis I'd be converting to Union. If Tuqiri can get a cool million baseline Greg would be on similar to convert. You'd have to pay a premium to get him to convert of course.

As a sign on bonus he'd be taught to read and write. Be the envy of all his ex-RL colleagues.

So you have to play in UK to make good money in RL?

Not at all, however it is an option. Beats playing for Norwood or Ballarat in AR.:p

Why would Inglis go to union? They barely play any games that are fair dinkum, waste of his talent. Why do you think Tuqiri is expected to return to league after the union WC?

1908 said:
Why would Inglis go to union? They barely play any games that are fair dinkum, waste of his talent. Why do you think Tuqiri is expected to return to league after the union WC?
Money.

Super14, Tri-nation, Bledisloe Cup, World Cups that mean something, northern hemisphere tours. Nah they don't play much at all.

Tuqiri won't return, Union will keep him.

philhawk said:
Reserve grade? Come on, fishmonger.

If we're going to talk about that, then how about we say that Wayne Carey, Paul Kelly and Matthew Whelan all played Rugby League before converting to AFL?

If Barich converted at age 22 instead of age 32, he would have been a gun in the ARL.
He excelled at rugby union, league and rules in Canberra at junior level.

Name me one NRL rookie who has started at 32 and been a regular player ...

1908 said:
Not at all, however it is an option. Beats playing for Norwood or Ballarat in AR.:p

you didn't address Ben Graham signing a six years deal with the New York Jets worth over US$5 million at age 33.

Or Darren Bennett's US$3 million a year with San Diego and Minnesota.

Or Matt McBriar's US$1.47million 3 year contract.

fishmonger said:
you didn't address Ben Graham signing a six years deal with the New York Jets worth over US$5 million at age 33.

You didn't mention bob cooper western suburbs rugby league player in the 70s to 80s that went over to the NFL for a reported 18 million dollars a season.

If Barich converted at age 22 instead of age 32, he would have been a gun in the ARL.
He excelled at rugby union, league and rules in Canberra at junior level.

Name me one NRL rookie who has started at 32 and been a regular player ...

Hypothetical. Fact is he didn't and wouldn't. If he was so good as a junior why wasn't he playing junior reps or spotted by a league club. I dare say the Reds signed him to give them some publicity. Tell me how many RESERVE games he started?

Mate you just keep out doing yourself. :p
Are you seriously comparing 3 kickers to 150+ players earning a crust in the UK and France?:rolleyes:

I believe former Rooster and Australian centre Mark Harris played a season in Canadian football as a runner, not just a kicker, but actually played in the game.

Spewing said:
You didn't mention bob cooper western suburbs rugby league player in the 70s to 80s that went over to the NFL for a reported 18 million dollars a season.

Source??

Carn Spewing, give us the facts or is another wild assumption??

Could Greg Inglis play AFL footy?