Craig McLachlan

If you have the stomach check this out, very hard to watch, old mate Craig absolutely bombing doing stand up on the NRL footy show, absolutely cringeworthy

2 minutes in summed it up;
Craig: Whats worse than Poo?

Heckler: You!!

I'm no fan of Craig McLachlan but whatever happened to innocent until proven guilty?
I hear ya but when there is 3+ people accusing him the bloke looks about as guilty as a puppy sitting next to a pile of poo.

Seriously though what the hell was with that shit last night?? I had honestly forgotten about this stuff until that, now he just looks like a creep after watching it. One of the most bizarre and funniest thing I've ever seen.

Very interesting TV I thought, bit strange how he was trying to turn the whole thing into a musical but rocky horror every one is half naked and no doubt someone a bit full of themselves over stepped the mark at times. Strangest part was the magistrate found him not guilty yet said the witnesses were brave and truthful, if he got off they were not telling the truth, end of the day his career and life as he knew it is over

It’s so strange. The whole thing. You would have thought that in court everything would have been gone over with a fine tooth comb yet he gets found not guilty. And the show basically had the abc producer saying we want him out of his job .,,also the girls were coached on what to say. I just dont know what to think.

I think even if he is guilty yeah he’s definitely ruined. I think mentally he’s ruined.

Without going through all the charges, I'd imagine that the mental element of them couldn't be properly proved - which could mean that he didn't (mean to) do anything, or it could mean that he is enough of a ****wit that he believed that he was acting appropriately.

Didn't the judge say the evidence didn't meet a high enough standard but that he'd basically be ruined anyway which it seems like he has been.
The NSW consent law changed in 2007 - between the time of the alleged offending, and the time of the trial

The law at the time of the offence required the court to consider the subjective state of mind of the accused. i.e. if McLaughlin genuinely believed he had consent, there was no intent and therefore no crime. This obviously makes things very difficult for the prosecution as it's pretty hard to prove or disprove what's in someone's head.

The current law applies a reasonable person test - i.e. would a reasonable person believe they had consent, if placed in the same situation? What McLaughlin himself believed (or could be proven to have believed) at the time becomes irrelevant.

The magistrate in McLaughlin's case said that she found all the prosecution witnesses brave and credible, and had he been tried under the new consent laws the result may have been very different

Realistically the pre-2007 law was terrible, and the reason it was changed is that some very nasty characters got off scot-free from unsuccessful rape prosecutions. There has since been another review after the Luke Lazarus case, and it looks like we will have another change as it seems like the bar is still too high.

Given all that, I don't think the not guilty verdict for McLaughlin under the pre-2007 laws is any kind of exoneration.

This is only the tip of the iceberg, Ossie Ostrich on Hey Hey and Agro on Wombat.

They were just puppets, there were more sinister people pulling the strings behind the scenes.

There's plenty of footage about of Jamie Dunn using Agro to interact with the female hosts in such a way that could be viewed very differently if it happened today.
I still remember one clip where he grabs Ann-Maree Biggar (I think) by the leg (or somewhere) and she jumps up and starts giving Jamie a kicking under the desk.
Here's some stuff that's very 1990's.

I reckon I can remember the Ranger Tim segment with the Burmese being aired originally

There's plenty of footage about of Jamie Dunn using Agro to interact with the female hosts in such a way that could be viewed very differently if it happened today.
I still remember one clip where he grabs Ann-Maree Biggar (I think) by the leg (or somewhere) and she jumps up and starts giving Jamie a kicking under the desk.

I reckon I can remember the Ranger Tim segment with the Burmese being aired originally

That would be worth millions in compo today

Yeah I don't think Agro would be acceptable on kids tv these days, he quite often made smutty jokes on Wombat that would go over kids heads.

Hmmm, interesting

"Sky News host Chris Kenny says highly disturbing footage has revealed ABC journalists and producers "coached" women what to say when they made allegations against actor Craig McLachlan.

I remember the days when the ABC simply reported the news instead of manipulating it. It needs a massive cleanout or even privatisation, because at present it doesn't belong as part of government.

Craig McLachlan