crazy stories you have heard

gdmclean said:
Not really a crazy story but interesting nonetheless. Ive heard (from a curernt Eagles player) that Glen Jackovich used to get really messy on the mad mondays that clubs do once their season is over. Apparently after a few drinks, Jacko didnt need any encouragement before he would get up on a bar inside a Subiaco Oval function room, take off all of his clothes, and swing his wang around like he was long john silver.

His immature antics were a large reason why at the end of the 90's when the captaincy was getting thrown around a bit, Jacko never got the nod. He did actually want to be captain, but none of the players wanted him in charge since he was quite the clown and hardly a role model for the up and coming youngsters.

Glenn Jakovitch does not drink during the season at all. Lets just say he definately makes the most of the off season!

On Footy Trips, when it hits 12pm on a certain day, that is it, no more alcohol til the end of the next season.

Emerald said:
Yeah no it's not. Start at the top of the pink line, go up towards where it says "Bassendean" and then go slightly east. And you will find the Domestic Airport.

I don't think so. I think the airport's just under where it says START. But anyway, I think the east coasters are getting bored with the airport argument.

Emerald said:
Back on topic, I was watching the headliners special on the West Coast beginning, and I can't quite remember who was saying it, but one of the inaugural Eagles was talking about how they used to have to train at Scotch Oval. He said that it was so dark one night that you couldn't see where you were running, and one of the young guys tripped and fell and got a star picket jammed in his leg. Funny how things have changed!!!

Reminds me of the Eagles' training session a year or so ago when the players all wore blindfolds (for some reason) and Fletcher stacked it into a fence.

Angry Dragon said:
Wayne Henwood was so stupid that he used to rock up to the wrong oval while playing for Glenelg in the SANFL that the club used to call him on the Sat morning to confirm that he knew where they were playing that day.

Graham Cornes got frustrated with him one night at training and told him to go run full pelt into the point post. He took it seriously and cleaned himself up.

Wayne 'Moose' Henwood used to go for a short 1-2km run before games around the streets...he once got lost - and it was around his home oval, glenelg...

Justin Madden and and a couple of his pi$$ed teamates were out on the town in San Francisco, during a late 80's end of season footy trip.

They stumble out of a club to go back to their hotel, hail a taxi and get into the cab.

Cab Driver - "Where you off to?
Madden - "Corner Van Ness and Powell"
Cab Driver- Huh?
Madden - "Yeah Corner Van Ness and Powell
Cab Driver - "Are you serious!
Madden - "Yes I am, Corner Van Ness and Powell
Cab Driver - "I can't believe you want me to take you there
Madden - "Please just get us home

The Cab Driver turns on the engine, does a u-turn to the other side of the street, stops the meter and says to Madden and Co....."we've reached your destination, that will be $3.50 thanks."

JuddyisGod said:
Yer good one idiot. Firstly, your trip starts at the international airport, not the Domestic airport, which John was at, the domestic airport is 5 kms further up the road. Secondly, your trip takes you across the causeway, which wasn't exactly a safe haven for joggers before they put the bicycle path in in '94. John would have had to have run down Mills Point road and alongside Kings Park beside the Kwinana Freeway. Making his trip a touch under 29kms. And that's assuming he didn't just cross the river straight away at Guldford road, making his trip a hell of a lot longer.

Come back when you get a clue mate.

Just because the international airport is on the map, doesn't mean that's where the trip starts. Check where the line starts, I've entered 'Brearley Avenue, Redcliffe' as the start point.

Guess where that is? That's right, the domestic airport.

Who's the idiot? You.

Bring-Back-Powell said:
Justin Madden and and a couple of his pi$$ed teamates were out on the town in San Francisco, during a late 80's end of season footy trip.

They stumble out of a club to go back to their hotel, hail a taxi and get into the cab.

Cab Driver - "Where you off to?
Madden - "Corner Van Ness and Powell"
Cab Driver- Huh?
Madden - "Yeah Corner Van Ness and Powell
Cab Driver - "Are you serious!
Madden - "Yes I am, Corner Van Ness and Powell
Cab Driver - "I can't believe you want me to take you there
Madden - "Please just get us home

The Cab Driver turns on the engine, does a u-turn to the other side of the street, stops the meter and says to Madden and Co....."we've reached your destination, that will be $3.50 thanks."

True story this - Madden was playing Trivial Pursuit and doing the questions. One was "What is a small dog found in Mexico?" to which my informant replies, quick as a flash - "A chihuahua" Madden insists it is not, an argunment develops until finally they ask "Well, what is it then?" to which the Cabinet Minister replies.

"A chihooahhooah!"

douls said:
simon atkins was a bulldogs champ, his brother was a hack and played a handful of games. very, very ugly red headed mullet brothers from Tassie

Really Tassie is the only place that has very very ugly red headed brothers:confused: :confused: Bulls**t

I have also heard of a story involving footscray in the late 80's I think it was a guy called "Budgy" new that he was getting dropped at the end of the season and they were on the plane to the end of season trip, he snuk into the cockpit and grabbed the microphone and said "this planes going down!"
Imagine that now a days~

Lingsface said:
I have also heard of a story involving footscray in the late 80's I think it was a guy called "Budgy" new that he was getting dropped at the end of the season and they were on the plane to the end of season trip, he snuk into the cockpit and grabbed the microphone and said "this planes going down!"
Imagine that now a days~
This is so wrong as to be laughable

''Captain Gronewogen speaking.......''

gdmclean said:
His immature antics were a large reason why at the end of the 90's when the captaincy was getting thrown around a bit, Jacko never got the nod. He did actually want to be captain, but none of the players wanted him in charge since he was quite the clown and hardly a role model for the up and coming youngsters.
That's not quite correct. His team mates didn't want him in charge because he was too intense, too serious, couldn't relate to the younger guys, and was a "bit of a knob".

Michael Gardiner was drunk (again) in Mt Lawley last night.

Someone commented to him what a loser he is. Gardy picked up a bottle and threatened to smash this bloke over the head with it and said "just f***ing leave me alone.. f*** off". They left him alone.

Angry Dragon said:

Someone commented to him what a loser he is. Gardy picked up a bottle and threatened to smash this bloke over the head with it and said "just f***ing leave me alone.. f*** off". They left him alone.
Maybe someone should report him to the police

If it happened

Angry Dragon said:

sounds like garbage to me :rolleyes:

PerthCrow said:
Maybe someone should report him to the police
Or maybe they should leave him alone unless they want a beer bottle smashed over their head.

Sure, he's a tool, but just leave him alone. I don't think it's the public's place to go up and tell him. People should have some respect. I don't think they'd like to be treated that way.

Jason Dunstall and (I think) Shaun Ralphsmityh got themselves arrested in The USA on an end of season trip. They told the American cops to ring Alan Jeans as he was a cop in Australia and would know what to do. Jeans got the cops to tell him the names of the two blokes arrested. "Dunstall and Ralphsmith is it?" said Jeans "That's right, what do you want us to do?" says the American cop. "Well if they do a runner, whatever you do, dont shoot the fat one" was Jeans reply.

I heard that John Barnes informed Gary Hocking on the bus enroute to the 94 GF that he'd been sleeping with his wife.

Given it's John Barnes there's always that lingering doubt about it being a crazy rumour.

I heard one that there was arguably the greatest ever CHF who banged his team mates MRS at a BBQ and completely ruined an AFL club forever.........and ever.

Angry Dragon said:
clipei0.jpg

Come back when you get a clue.

So the distance is about 20km, but they're having a bit of a fiddle if they reckon you can get from the airport to Claremont in 20 minutes... at any time of the day! (by helicopter perhaps...)

PS: what site did you generate that map on?

bunsen burner said:
Or maybe they should leave him alone unless they want a beer bottle smashed over their head.

Sure, he's a tool, but just leave him alone. I don't think it's the public's place to go up and tell him. People should have some respect. I don't think they'd like to be treated that way.

Bad luck for footballers unfortunately - they are entertaining dancing monkey's as far as I'm concerned and the public owns them.

rick James said:
Bad luck for footballers unfortunately - they are entertaining dancing monkey's as far as I'm concerned and the public owns them.

Unfortunately there's no shortage of idiots like you who think they're fair game for abuse just because they're "celebs" or "earn heaps of bucks".

Tall poppy syndrome and a lack of empathy and respect. (or is that respek!!!!!!)

bunsen burner said:
Unfortunately there's no shortage of idiots like you who think they're fair game for abuse just because they're "celebs" or "earn heaps of bucks".

Tall poppy syndrome and a lack of empathy and respect. (or is that respek!!!!!!)

They are there to entertain me. I didn't say I abuse them (I'm not that stupid) but I don't see any reason why they should get left alone. Part of their role is being in the public spotlight, if they can't handle the attention they have two choices to make:

1. quit football
2. stop going out to places where it happens

And no, I don't automatically respect somoene just because they play football as you appear to do. It's a job, they do it - they don't get my respect for it.

And empathy? please! "Oh waaah you get paid hundreds of thousands of dollars to play footy - and someone might talk to you in a pub??!? Let me offer my condolensces you huge vagina"

rick James said:
They are there to entertain me. I didn't say I abuse them (I'm not that stupid)
I'm talking about abuse. Go back and read what this originated from.

And no, I don't automatically respect somoene just because they play football as you appear to do. It's a job, they do it - they don't get my respect for it.
Nothing to do with footy. Just respect as a human being. It's disrespectful to walk up to people and have a go at them for no real reason.

And empathy? please! "Oh waaah you get paid hundreds of thousands of dollars to play footy - and someone might talk to you in a pub??!? Let me offer my condolensces you huge vagina"
No, empathy as in putting yourself in their shoes and understanding that you wouldn't like strangers making snide comments at you in public

crazy stories you have heard