Cricket things that annoy you

Jake Fraser-McGurk is the most overrated bat in the country. Averages 18 in FC cricket, cant get in the SA side and has had one good hit in one day domestic. Shouldnt be anywhere near the australian side.

Reminds me of the fat lower grades slogger who would hit 15 off an over then get out last ball trying to put another over the fence, then tells you he got ball of the day

That innings yesterday was one of the worst I've seen.

He had a good IPL but that is the equivalent to a good innings on North Sydney Oval or in his case, Karen Rolton. Not discounting the IPL at all but the batting conditions particularly this year were ridiculously favourable.

For people with goldfish attention spans. Box of piss, comfy couch and a 5 day Test is my idea of cricket
People who don't respect their children, think they have to copy you.
I love Test Cricket but laugh at the people who use it as hate.
My kids are going to remember numerous T20 games, zero Test games, and think zero of old people's opinions on what they enjoy.

People who don't respect their children, think they have to copy you.
I love Test Cricket but laugh at the people who use it as hate.
My kids are going to remember numerous T20 games, zero Test games, and think zero of old people's opinions on what they enjoy.

Will they actually remember the t20 games, though, beyond being at the ground?

Saturation inherently makes that harder and harder. It dilutes the product in the same way that too much currency causes its value to drop.

Players like Jamie Overton getting a career out of some sort of broad acceptance that he’s a ‘specialist’ bits and pieces player or a white ball ‘death bowler’ or a ‘hit the deck’ bowler who can hurry batsmen and offer some power hitting or something.

He’s not.

He’s a product of England, a country with nearly 20 domestic teams, handing out international caps like tic tacs, and t20 franchises doing the same thing with contracts, and convincing themselves of the same thing.

In reality he’s yet another in the production line of players who is not ‘good’ at any aspect of the game let alone multiple.

He doesn’t average under 30 with the ball in either of the longer formats.
He BARELY scrapes above 20 in the first class game.

Even in t20 franchise cricket where it’s easiest to average under 30, he only just manages it….. and he does it at an economy rate above 9.

This is the definition of a cricketer who is lucky to be playing regularly at the professional level, let alone the international level.

By the same token we're largely responsible for giving Shite Hope an international career.

Um, yeah, not quite.

He averages 50 in ODI cricket and only 2 of his 17 hundreds have come against England.

He averages over 39 against the following tier one teams:

Afghanistan (91 across 9 matches)
Bangladesh (70 across 13 matches)
England (42 across 19 matches)
India (47 across 25 matches)
Pakistan (39 across 7 matches)
South Africa (144 across 2 innings - he hit 128* in one of them)
Sri Lanka (47 in 13 matches)

He has hit 13 his 17 centuries against these sides.

‘Shite’ Hope has shat all over more teams than yours, sorry mate.

He’s underwhelmed in test cricket and as a west indies fan no one has been more frustrated by it more than me. But no means of slicing and dicing his one day career results in anything other than the fact that he’s been an exceptional top order wicketkeeper batsman.

A cricket thing that really annoys me is people defending players I don't like with stats and facts.

I honestly wish Dawid Malan was given more games, he'd have shat on everyone in the piss formats.

Is there a thread for BBL Supercoach on Big Footy or have they gone the way of the free to air with a 'no mens policy'.

A cricket thing that really annoys me is people defending players I don't like with stats and facts.

I honestly wish Dawid Malan was given more games, he'd have shat on everyone in the piss formats.

Just out of curiosity, and bare in mind everyone’s likes and dislikes are their own - what’s behind your dislike of Hope?

His Test career mainly - 37 crap games and a gifted two-century game at Headingley.

England always underperform against WI and I reckon it's down to a combination of complacency, believing the hype and listening to Mark Nicholas refer to the great 80s players by first name.

His Test career mainly - 37 crap games and a gifted two-century game at Headingley.

England always underperform against WI and I reckon it's down to a combination of complacency, believing the hype and listening to Mark Nicholas refer to the great 80s players by first name.

I don’t know why it is but we seem to play with a significantly higher amount of belief against England as well. It’s almost tangible.

Cricket things that annoy you