- Oct 16, 2011
- AFL Club
- Adelaide
Not sure if there is much point in the W but still I guess it was good for the crowd
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
He's just thinking of the $$Ossies plan has one gaping hole
If you privatise it the consortiums won't care what you plan
Would be shocking for a TV dealTests should have started today, and be done by the second week of January. We should start BBL December 23, they should play Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, and they should finish the end of January, with the test players in their BBL side for the last three weeks.
If you want an international white ball game, do it in February - or just don't bother, that's fine too.
Why?Would be shocking for a TV deal
The last thing they want is to condense the schedule, or they wouldn't have extended the BBL to death.Why?
First - the numbers are dropping and some say due to saturationThe last thing they want is to condense the schedule, or they wouldn't have extended the BBL to death.
Gotta fill up the gaps while there's no footy, and only 3 weeks of tennis
I would agree it's plenty, but I reckon Fox wouldn't.First - the numbers are dropping and some say due to saturation
Second - if you look at Mostyn schedule there will be games from November 15 to February 28-March 5
I dont think there are too many gaps
Test Nov 15 - Jan 16
BBL- Dec-23- 31 Jan
ODI - February
AFL - March 18
Thats plenty
Didn't they just condense the schedule?The last thing they want is to condense the schedule, or they wouldn't have extended the BBL to death.
Gotta fill up the gaps while there's no footy, and only 3 weeks of tennis
I don't think it'll happen.Didn't they just condense the schedule?
Anyway - that's almost the exact BBL schedule. It starts Dec 15 and ends Jan 27. I just moved slightly for less clashes.
They need to have the best players available for it. Our season should be Test and BBL - the other short form internationals aren't relevant, and by the time kids go back to school people start losing interest.
I agree - but disregarding international white ball cricket when it's outside of a tournament should be a startI don't think it'll happen.
The international calendar being what it is, combined with the IPL sides wanting their players when they do, the BBL suffers from it.
You'll never get the perfect solution
It's already disregarded in Australia. In Australia all the international white ball cricket is hidden away behind a paywall, with almost no publicity. It's watched by almost nobody, either at the grounds or on TV.I agree - but disregarding international white ball cricket when it's outside of a tournament should be a start
Completely agree.It's already disregarded in Australia. In Australia all the international white ball cricket is hidden away behind a paywall, with almost no publicity. It's watched by almost nobody, either at the grounds or on TV.
The current tiers of cricket in Australia are:
1. Test Matches (particularly against India & England)
2. BBL
< Daylight >
< More Daylight >
3. International ODI & T20
4. Sheffield Shield
ODIs used to be the jewel in the ACA's crown, drawing massive audiences - both at the grounds and on TV. Then they put them behind a paywall, and now they're almost completely ignored by the public.
I don't think people care about BBL that muchCompletely agree.
Now they just need to build the summer around acknowledging that people only care about Tests and BBL.
Crowds and TV ratings say they do. Ridiculous commentI don't think people care about BBL that much
Crowds outside of Adelaide have been average for yearsCrowds and TV ratings say they do. Ridiculous comment
Khawaja's suggestion was to not worry so much about owning the school holiday period. So no early/mid-December start date.
Run into February so that all Australian international players are available from after the Sydney test onwards.
I'm not sure about mid-week crowds in February though. TV ratings wouldn't change but school weeknights might not be as popular for spectators. Maybe that doesn't matter
No they haven'tCrowds outside of Adelaide have been average for years
In the early years of BBL most games were selling out or close to, now they're as full as a Saturday arvo Port game.No they haven't
Domestic cricket had a base of the two scorers, a few family members of players and Malcolm Ashwood prior to T20
That's because it went from 4 games in each state to a bunchIn the early years of BBL most games were selling out or close to, now they're as full as a Saturday arvo Port game.
The BBL is boring and stale. Changing the schedule won't change that.