Crown Casino, Melbourne - Part 3

Couple money-saving tips:

If you like your Red Bull, don't pay $5 for it in the poker room or from the food court. Get it for $3.50 at the Gazette Kiosk which is half way between the Maccas food court and the Village Box Office.

If you forget your Crown Card at home, just go to a Signature Club desk and get them to print off a new one. That way, you can save $20 on parking. When I asked 2-3 years ago, I was told you can get up to 10 new cards printed per year free of charge.

anyone played any of the $60 omaha tournaments on a wednesday?? worth it or just a lottery tournament?? with only $45 going into the prizepool it's a bit rich as well....

yeah they're only third week into the series. 35 runners first week, high 40's next two weeks. first place paying about $700. not bad, but i imagine - especially given the nature of omaha - it's a bit of a lottery.

Worth it only for a relatively cheap way to practice live Omaha. But at usual structures, it's going to degenerate to shove and pray pretty quickly.

Didn't want to go to Crown yesterday but a mate was keen and another mate came later also. On table 8, second hand in the SB, get 88, I limper, LAG Asian CO raises to 20, I check his stack, he only has 50 left, I fold, limper calls. Flop all clubs, including 8:club:. Turn J. River 8, CO doubles up with AJo. Can barely win a hand for hours until I get K:club:Q:club:, flop broadway and turn a flush draw, but that's as far as the hand went :(

Then the change comes. I'm SB in seat 9, dealer struggles to pitch the first card to me, it gets stuck near the shuffler, so he pushes it to me. I look down at A:spade:. When he gets back to me he pitches it at the button and it goes flying back into the middle of the table, still face down. A:diamond:. Playable hand, probably want to see a flop. Couple limpers, same Asian from before makes it 20. Seat 1 had min-raised him earlier so rather than call or raise big, I raised to 40. Limper calls 40 :confused:, Asian thinks, I swallow, shake my head a little, look nervous, look at Asian as if I'm worried. He shoves. I tank. "I'm confused. 20, 40, he calls, you shove. How much is it? I think I have to call. OK, I call." Limper folds what he later said was QQ. I flip my hand over, Asian says he needs hearts. I'm praying to flop A:club:. Flop K high, 2 hearts, turn heart :mad:, river A:club:. Asian actually had QQ with Q:heart:, so I finally win a hand aipf, which I'm not usually successful at.

Next orbit I'm UTG+1. New guy sits down and posts from UTG, and if he didn't, this hand would have been completely different. He checks his option, I get QQ. I gay-raise to just 13, seat 1 who's on about 1200 calls, his wife in seat 2 calls, crazy Indian in seat 6 calls, LAG Asian calls. Flop 982r. I bet 25, hubby calls, wife calls, crazy drunk Indian shoves for 120. He's been there all day and lost about 1200. I'm a little worried about big stack hubby. I decide to flat rather than raise, he thinks for a while, says something to the effect of he's drawing, enough money in the pot, he calls, as does wifey.

I now put him exactly on JT, no idea what wifey has, not worried at all about Indian guy. Praying for a brick. Turn J, not exactly a brick, but I don't think anyone has T7, but J9 is a possibility, maybe. I shove for about 340. I'm wanting him to fold, no matter what he has. He says "I know he has Jacks, that's what I put him on before." I quietly say to new guy in seat 8 "I've got Jacks" just loud enough for seat 1 to perhaps overhear. Seat 8 implies that I don't have JJ. Hubby calls :(, pushes out 3 and a bit stacks, and yes, he has JT. Wifey tanks and folds exactly what I have, QQ. Crazy Indian has A2 lol. Hubby can't catch a Q, T is no good for him, he needs a J or a 7, but he misses, no A or 2 either for Indian and I scoop a pot of over $1200 :thumbsu:.

13 IMO isnt a gay raise if you opening the pot depending on various stack sizes... Maybe I make it 15 with a limper, but if this amount gets more callers, its ok because you will dominate them a lot and be able to roflpwnt them after the flop with your sick poker skillz... OOP sucks, but so does life...

pic from other night

1200chips.jpg

I'm really no good at very long sessions, 5-7 hours is usually my limit. If I was more of a degenerate I'd try to do 12-15 hours, see if I could hit 2-3k. But I usually pike relatively early while my mates stay till morning.

I was at Crown one Saturday night last year, about 10pm and this Asian guy said he sat down at about 7pm.

The previous day :eek:

I was at Crown one Saturday night last year, about 10pm and this Asian guy said he sat down at about 7pm.

The previous day :eek:

There is one person from Burswood thats pretty good in terms of long sessions. One day, I arrive at the casino around 10pm, he says he has been here around two hours before hand. I play until around 5pm the next day or so (not my longest session...) and he is still there when I left, and apparently played 28hrs. In that time, sitting next to each other, I think we played 4 hands together total or something sick. He respected my opens, and I respected all two of his opens UTG...

Is it easy to get on 0.5/1 & 1/2 tables?? i.e is it long wait etc.
I'm not a short stacker, it's just I don't gambling a shit load of money like some on here. I'm under no illusion that i'm anything better than a hacker. Play only online for a last couple of years so wouldn't mind trying live tables for a change. Don't really want to spend more than $100-200.

Are all these cash games or are there cheaper SnGs??

there are no 0.5/1 live tables but if you go in on a weekday it should be easy to play 1/2 which has buy ins from $60 - $100 (may actually be $40 minimum)

Down from Adelaide for the weekend and will head into Crown for the first time after footy tonight.
Will use a $100 buyin tonight, whats the best bet for me? 1/2 or 2/3?
(Can beat NL25/50 online)

Down from Adelaide for the weekend and will head into Crown for the first time after footy tonight.
Will use a $100 buyin tonight, whats the best bet for me? 1/2 or 2/3?
(Can beat NL25/50 online)

Definitely go for 1/2 if you can. 50BB is much better for playing poker than 33BB. I suspect the rake is a killer at either level..