Crown: Joe Hachem Deep Stack Series

Athomas, what time did it finish?

Have an indoor match at 9pm so wondering if I could still play and make it tomorrow.

It finished after 9pm.

We got down to the final table at 8:15PM, 45 minute dinner break and final table started @ 9. I got knocked out in 4th at about 9:50. I presume there will be more people today and tomorrow as well.

Just play imo, and if you've made it that deep who cares about the indoor. ;):p

Borgsta/Falchoon - you guys been playing much Omaha recently?

Haven't played live since the last Hachem series I played in, and I've only been to Crown twice in between for a bit of 1/2, 2/3.

Not much Omaha on line either

http://www.officialpokerrankings.com/ongamepoker/Falchoon/poker/results/490292EC9F3A44258A44B769EA124A53.html?t=2

I find it an easier game to play cold than NLOH though. The amount of A23x I had in the first 2 hours had me itching for O8HL.

Borgsta had a good point last night though, there is virtually no bet sizing, everything was call or "pot".

Out of todays crapshoot, busted about 20mins after the first break. Nothing to exciting to report, tried to run off a bluff 2nd last hand before the break with KQo on a 4 flush board with no heart in my hand, got snap called by the 8 of hearts..... lasted till 300/600/50 and threw in my last 3k with 77 and got busted by 88, gg me.

No chance of crown getting my money again for one of these, structure is attrocious.

Played the $125 today

Finished about 80/260. Lost a flip with AK against 77 which would have put me about 50k.

The structure definetly goes up to quick and im not a huge fan of 11 handed tables

The guy that wouldn't deal was the guy with the sunglasses upsidedown.

correct. don't know how he made the final table. i was on his table with about 3 tables to go and he let himself get into a 5-way pot on the button (or cut off, can't remember) holding AAxx... he ended up winning it at showdown, but it was just horrendous.

in the end him not dealing scored me an extra $2,000!!!

I was the one wearing a blue Tottenham jacket with glasses. I was to the right of the guy in the wheelchair.

Were you the guy who had the most chips after taking out the loud American? If so I was the one that suggested you should get a bit more in any deal.

If not you were the guy who busted me, even though I had my lucky 5k chip left after my shove with AxJc10x4c and I hate you :) I'd say I would catch you around next time but I doubt I will remember anyone's face. Was absolutely wrecked when the final table started!

yeah man that was me. american guy was a pretty decent player but he just got over it and lost his discipline completely. even when it becomes a crapshoot and you've got 10-15bb's you still need to show some patience. those that made it into the real money ($1,000+) were those that didn't crack and take a gamble.

sorry for the bust man. such is poker :)

as for the deal i ended up getting the equal best. by the time we made a deal me and the guy on my right were basically equal (about 2 bb's difference) and the shortstack got about $750 less (??)... we left about 500 in the pot, and he ended up coming through to win it anyway so we basically all ended up equal.

Ours was interesting last night. At the start obviously everyone was playing loose with the double "rebuy". Once it got down to about 30 people it tightened right up and it became really tight shortish stack poker. I was sitting pretty with about 70k so didnt really have to make a move without anything decent.

last hand on our table before the break and the use of rebuys, we had a 6-way all-in. was ****ing crazy. guy that won it was the second biggest stack and ended up with nearly 50k after starting the hand with about 12k.

Haven't played live since the last Hachem series I played in, and I've only been to Crown twice in between for a bit of 1/2, 2/3.

Not much Omaha on line either

http://www.officialpokerrankings.co...lts/490292EC9F3A44258A44B769EA124A53.html?t=2

I find it an easier game to play cold than NLOH though. The amount of A23x I had in the first 2 hours had me itching for O8HL.

Borgsta had a good point last night though, there is virtually no bet sizing, everything was call or "pot".

i've hardly played much at all lately either. living in a hostel with limited funds and internet time is really restricting it. but i found it gave me a good edge last night. it really felt exciting to get back playing, and being my first live omaha tournament i was psyched and focussed pretty much right throughout.

and i agree the bet sizing last night was hilarous. if they had've called the tournament no limit omaha then the bet sizing would've been completely different. but just about everyone thought that because it's pot limit they have to bet the pot.... i definately believe i was intimidating (maybe it didn't, but i reckon it did) a few people early on in the tournament because i hardly ever said pot - and really only ever on the turn if was a really drawy board and i just wanted to get people out of there. i always took my time and said an amount to bet, even if that was the pot.

the first half of that tournament was quite easy i thought. a lot of players who were playing with a holdem mentality. it was easy to pick them and i basically just targetted them (until they ran out)... and unless i had a massive hand i didn't really tangle with guys who i knew were decent omaha players. there was just no reason too when there was so many chips to be made of the others.

i quickly picked up against these guys to value bet relentlessly as well. guys who haven't played omaha juts can't lay down big hands when they're obviously beaten. i laid down kings pre-flop, queens twice, and three straights on non flushing or paired boards (once on the flop, twice on the turn)... each lay down proved good.

all in all was good fun. bit of a crapshoot at the end but that's tournament poker.

i'd love to know how crown makes money from these tournaments?? last night with 120 runners at $30 a pop that only $3,600... **** all really....

Results for Events 1 through 7 are all up, except for Event 3 :confused:

Crown are usually rather lolbad at putting up results in a timely manner.

Played the $125 event today after going well on Monday. Was really tough but had an average stack, down to about 45.

Blinds 1500/3000, im SB with 35000, dealt A8o, folded to me. I shove, BB thinks (also a nice stack - 40K) then calls. I was dissapointed but he flips A6.

Of course I wouldn't be posting here if I didn't lose the hand :p Flop AJ4 two clubs, turn 2 of clubs, river 9 of clubs. He has the ace of clubs. :thumbsdown:

Oh well, played well, 4 significant hands:

Raise A6 in LP, BB calls, flop AA3, He checks, I bet pot, he calls. Turns a 6 (Lucky) we both check. River and he bets half my stack, I shove, he instacalls AQ.

Had 99 in the BB, 8 BBs, AQ raises me almost all in so I shove and he calls. Win the flip.

QQ beat 77 AIPF (Not sure what he was thinking).

Then the A8 vs A6 knocked me out. :eek:

Blinds 1500/3000, im SB with 35000, dealt A8o, folded to me. I shove, BB thinks (also a nice stack - 40K) then calls. I was dissapointed but he flips A6.

You know it's a bad structure when 13bb's is "a nice stack". :D

Still another strong showing, got it in good but unlucky, nice stuff though.

You know it's a bad structure when 13bb's is "a nice stack". :D

Still another strong showing, got it in good but unlucky, nice stuff though.

Yeh, crazy blind structure but still went till 10PM+ the other night so I guess there has to be a line in the sand somewhere. Thanks, was happy again with play, was crippled to 4000 early when AA lost to KT (all in on K92 flop).

Didn't plan on playing the $130 Main Event satellite, but play it I did. Lasted an hour if that.

Get in trouble early when I 3-bet shove KK.

First guy snaps (wonder what he has?), 3rd guy tanks and tanks and tanks and calls with JJ :confused:.

Board ends up looking ok: KxxxK

Lose some chips with 22 twice when I fold on the flop. ****ing ducks :thumbsdown:

Then I run QQ into KK. Then TT in KK. And I'm done.

I've decided I won't be playing the Main Event. I have Friday off work but I'm done with tournaments. I would need more luck than Joe Cada just to ever min-cash in anything, so I'll sit out the rest of the week and go play some cash one day next week or whenever.

Athomas, looks like it would kill Crown to post the results to Event 3.

went crown today and straight away when i walked in i saw josh from the poker star registering lol.... anywayz all u heard from ppl 2day was..... my aces got busted by this noob who had xx and hit their 1 outer on the river blah blah

Yeh I can't believe they haven't put them up. Well I can actually, typical!

I'm not going to play the main event either, thats my JHDS done for the year, good fun! Good luck to those that do though.

EDIT: Epic hand on table next to me.

KQ9 Flop, both go all in.
KQ vs 99

Turn is a Q, everyone makes some noise.

River is the 9 and everyone goes CRAZY haha. Was quite exciting.

Shane Warne within 10 metres of me, not much of a cricket fan though lol.

Yeah I saw Warney too. And David King seems to be playing a lot lately.

A fellow poster won a Sunday tournament a couple years ago and they never posted the results. The 50 tournaments before and the 50 after were all posted, just not the particular one that he won.

Crown are not the best at posting results up in a timely manner, if at all.

Yeah I saw Warney too. And David King seems to be playing a lot lately.

A fellow poster won a Sunday tournament a couple years ago and they never posted the results. The 50 tournaments before and the 50 after were all posted, just not the particular one that he won.

Crown are not the best at posting results up in a timely manner, if at all.

Yeah I saw him there Monday playing a sat and railing the 125. Hachem was there too, walked by my table (I'm still debating whether that's a brag or not)

Didn't leave work until 10:30 last night and went to rail a mate in the Main Event. He finished up 20/95 so he's doing ok. But the highlight of the night was Sally Snow from The Poker Star. When I saw her first, I thought it might be her but I wasn't sure. Have since confirmed it was her. Long blonde hair was a winner. She looked quite a bit different than she did in the tv show.

Yeah she was pretty on tv, but heaps better in person. She had a European class about her.

Beautiful hair and makeup, seemingly expensive white shirt and black jacket, and two massive rocks on her fingers.

Hey guys. 1st time posting (there isn't really any other active australian poker forums).

Played the Wednesday $125 deepstack. Busted about 70-75 place.

4th hand in win a massive pot. Call a raise on the button with A4dd. 5 to the Flop and comes down Qc9d8d. Aggressor leads out half the pot, folds around to a lady who calls and i make a just over the min-raise. Both call. Turn is 5d. Check Check. I bet half the pot. Both quickly call. Turn is a blank. Raiser checks, Lady value bets 1500 into around 5000 pot. I raise to 4600. Raiser folds and she snaps. I show the nuts and she has Q7dd. Raiser later says he mucked 99's.

Got crippled in a pretty big pot in the later stages with AA. i have around 30k and make it 3XBB's to go from EP. SB calls with around 23K behind. Flop comes J77. He checks i lead out 3/4 pot, he raises just over minimum and I call knowing im in front at the moment. Im already thinking that i'm shoving the turn if a blank comes off. Turn is a K and he open shoves. I tank for about a minute studying him and finally came to the conclusion that i didn't think he would be playing so agressively with JJ and it would be pretty sick if he had KK there. The only hand i'm worried about is something like A7.
I make the call and am glad to see he has KJ. River is a J. I was absolutely sick to my stomach. haha maybe next time.

Crown: Joe Hachem Deep Stack Series