CTP19 2014 Phanton Draft

carnthepies19

Jun 29, 2011
Australia
This has been on the way for a couple of weeks before the 2013 draft, I've got names filed away ready to be profiled but here is my first round - I'll try get a couple more rounds out before New Years but it's obviously a bit tough with so little vision I've got so far, I'll add to player write ups as I see more things to write about them. Also note I've used this years final ladder for my selections although once the season starts I endeavour to update weekly according to the ladder at its most current state. Enjoy.

1 - GWS
Hugh Goddard (VIC - Geelong Falcons)
Position: KPP
H: 195cm W: 92kg
DOB: 24/8/1996
Goddard is one of the more exciting prospects in this draft year and is also the cousin on Bomber Brendon Goddard. Goddard has the potential to play forward or back, being used in either posts in the previous u/16 and u/18 championships. His competitive nature makes him exciting to watch as he will never give in or shy away from a contest. Goddard has an exquisite left boot that is almost elite.

2 - Melbourne
Clem Smith (WA - Peel Thunder)
Position: Small Defender
H: 177cm W: 76kg
DOB: 3/2/1996
Smith is known for his pace when he bolts out of defence with the ball. He really is a 90 metre player, being able to run and carry then deliver the ball 50 odd metres down the line, although his kicking in short needs a bit of attention. For his size, Smith is very a powerful unit, both in the air and strength wise.

3 - St Kilda
Peter Wright (VIC - Calder Cannons)
Position: Key Forward / Ruckman
H: 201cm W: 94kg
DOB: 8/9/1996
Wright has superb athleticism for his height and is almost unstoppable in marking situations, timing his leads to perfection. He can score on the run or in a set shot situation making him one of the more exciting prospects in this draft.

4 - Western Bulldogs
Sam Durdin (SA - West Adelaide)
Position: Key Defender
H: 196cm W: 87kg
DOB: 6/6/1996
Durdin had a really impressive 2013 campaign in the u/18 championships. He has shown his versatility and ability to move to any area of the ground whether it be rucking, defending or attacking. This ability makes Durdin a player to watch in the future. For his size, Durdin is spectacular below his knees and has great disposal.

5 - Gold Coast
Lachlan Weller (QLD - Broadbeach)
Position: Midfielder
H: 180cm W: 71kg
DOB: 23/2/1996
Weller oozes class, Scott Pendlebury ilk class. Even when he was 17, he stood out with the way he played. Always having a lifetime to dispose of the footy in tight contests. He just seems to have a way to know what will happen when and he plays accordingly. He has a great kick and while Gold Coast would love to have priority selection, it won't be happening because he is ineligible having not spent enough time in Queensland, he is the brother of Maverick.

6 - West Coast (Father Son)
Alec Waterman (WA - Claremont)
Position: Midfield
H: 181cm W: 80kg
DOB: 19/8/1996
Waterman was regarded as one of the better underage prospects in the 2013 u18 championships. From what I have seen he is great with the footy in his hands and just seems naturally talented at footy. He is very hard at the footy and will go and use his speed for two way plays of attacking and then defending or vice versa. He is definitely one to look for in the future.

7 - Brisbane (Academy)
Liam Dawson (QLD - Aspley)
Position: Medium Defender
H: 188cm W: 78kg
DOB: 23/1/1996
Dawson is an exciting prospect who has the ability to play just about anywhere. He has a stellar u/18 championships campaign in 2013, earning the MVP for Queensland, was the best Div 2. player and also receiving All-Australian honours. Dawson is a very courageous player and is excellent overhead marking, whether is be in a contested situation or making a lead.

8 - Adelaide
Patrick McCartin (VIC - Geelong Falcons)
Position: Key Forward
H: 192cm W: 90kg
DOB: 19/4/1996
McCartin was a revelation in last years u/18 championships. He starred in the forward line, kicking 5 goals in one of the games.He has a strong broad body and is an absolute machine in marking situations, when his body continues to mature I can envision him becoming one of the gorilla forwards in the Travis Cloke mould, with a more accurate kick. However at the moment, McCartin really excels at making leads where the majority of the time he ends up with the ball.

9 - North Melbourne
Peter Bampton (SA - Norwood)
H: 181cm W: 81kg
DOB: 15/4/1996
Bampton is an exceptional talent, having made his SANFL debut at 17 earlier in 2013. I really began to notice his handiwork in an impressive close to best on ground performance in the Foxtel Cup. He has great clean hands and exceptional footskills and play reading ability. He is a really strong inside mid who is great at winning the ball in any situation. He also has exceptional endurance.

10 - Collingwood (Father/Son)
Darcy Moore (VIC - Oakleigh Chargers)
Position: Ruck/Key Forward
H: 198cm W: 90kg
DOB: 25/1/1996
Moore is a very exciting ruck/key forward who has also been tested out as a key defender, although it is obvious he feels a lot more at home in the forward line. He is very athletic posting impressive sprint times and is very comfortable in making leads and gathering and composing himself on the run.

11 - Richmond
Christian Petracca (VIC - Calder Cannons)
Position: Medium Forward
H: 185cm W: 96kg
DOB: 4/1/1996
Petracca is a very strong forward who has excellent strong hands in almost any marking situation. He has excellent goal sense and isn't afraid to take risks in his game as most of the time they pay off. Petracca plays as a marking option who can also convert shots into goals easily. Petracca has represented Vic Metro in basketball. If he can improve his athleticism, then he'd almost be a lock for top 5.

12 - Carlton
Jesse Watchman (SA - West Adelaide)
H: 196cm W: 90kg
DOB: 28/1/1996
Watchman has great hands which comes with the ability to mark in almost any situation. He has a strong body and can also take stints through the ruck, with his desire to never stop trying. He regularly impacts to scoreboard whether that be by a direct assist or his own goal conversion.

13 - Port Adelaide
Ryan Lim (WA - Claremont)
Position: Medium Midfielder/Defender
H: 185cm W: 73kg
DOB: 20/3/1996
Lim is a very composed player who has a great athletic ability. He has great decision making and is generally sound by hand or foot. He has great courage and also isn't afraid of containing opponents whether they are talls or smalls.

14 - Sydney
Jake Lever (VIC - Calder Cannons)
H: 191cm W: 82kg
DOB: 5/3/1996
The thing that really outshines Lever's outstanding talent is the incredible leadership he provides. There is no doubt that Jake Lever will be a future captain of an AFL club. He is very vocal and leads by example out on the footy field and he already has an impressive leadership CV including having captained the Vic Metro side for a few games in 2013 as an underager. Lever is a very tough defender, not afraid to knock The opposition around but at the same time he also makes his opponent accountable by running off and collecting the ball causing a rebound to his teams advantage. I originally had Lever at 5, however the news of his torn ACL will bring him further down the pegging order. Definitely a steal here if he can return to his pre-injury performances!

15 - Geelong
Jarrod Pickett (WA - South Fremantle)
Position: Small Utility
H: 178cm W: 76kg
DOB: 18/8/1996
Pickett is a talented small utility, who really sets up the play at either end of the field. He has explosive pace and isn't afraid to use it, often running down the wings to set up the play. His foot skills ooze of class and he uses it at either end, hitting up teammates from the back line or slotting goals in the forward line.

16 - Fremantle
Bradley Walsh (WA - Peel Thunder)
H: 178cm W: 76kg
DOB: 3/9/1996
Walsh is a small midfielder who is known as a prolific ball winner. He conducts himself very professionally on the field and just seems like a future captain - he captained his WA u16 championship side in 2012. He has great control in both feet and hands and great disposal. He is really good at reading the game and responding adequately.

17 - Hawthorn
Angus Brayshaw (VIC - Sandringham Dragons)
Position: Inside Midfielder
H: 184cm W: 83kg
DOB: 9/1/1996
Brayshaw is an absolute tough nut and a tackle machine. One of my personal highlights of him playing in the TAC cup in 2013 as an underager would have been the game when he got 16 tackles!

18 - Essendon
Peter Spurling (SA - Glenelg)
Position: Ruckman
H: 198cm W: 85kg
DOB: 7/3/1996
Spurling is your athletic Ruckman who can also rest forward. He has a great leap on him and great tap-work which greatly advantages his roving teammates. He can cleanly gather below his knees and in general has a good idea of what is going on on the field at any time which is a good thing to have. He may be more famously known for his impressive cricket catch juggling his food and drink in the crowd.

Feel free to shoot through any questions!

Round 2

19 - GWS
Jermaine Miller-Lewis (WA - South Fremantle)
Position: Medium Forward
H: 187cm W: 74kg
DOB: 23/2/1996
Jermaine Miller-Lewis is definitely a name you will hear in the future, whether that be for a goal of the year, mark of the year or both! He is such an excitement machine with a sixth sense of knowing where the goals are and doing the seemingly impossible. He is very strong in any marking situation and isn't afraid to fly high to get the mark. He is very clean and composed at ground level.

20 - Melbourne (Father/Son))
Billy Stretch (SA - Glenelg)
H: 180cm W: 67kg
DOB: 8/9/1996
Stretch is a very talented athletic outside mid prospect who can also push up and play in the forward flanks. Although at the moment his body is very slight, he still isn't afraid of going in hard to contests. Before he becomes AFL ready, he will really need to bulk up so he may not see very much senior action in 2015 although in saying that, he still has over a year to bulk. Stretch has great endurance and pace.

21 - Western Bulldogs
Mac Bower (SA - Norwood)
Position: Medium Utility
H: 188cm W: 72kg
DOB: 27/1:1996
Bower is a very athletic footballer with extremely clean hands. He makes the right decision whether it be by hand or foot. Bower has a lot of aggression in his game, not in the way that he is violent but that he is never going to give up on a contest or allow his opponent to win.

22 - St Kilda
Sean McLaren (VIC - Sandringham Dragons)
Position: Key Forward / Ruckman
H: 197cm W: 91kg
DOB: 10/1/1996
McLaren is a very agile ruck prospect who really will need to bulk up to take the step to the next level. He has a good leap on him and he had an impressive u18 champs in 2013 rucking behind Michael Apeness. He seems to have so much clutch, he isn't afraid to take a risk and go in for a big pack mark in the dying minutes of a close game or take a shot on goal under pressure - which he just doesn't seem phased by.

23 - Gold Coast
Tom Lamb (VIC - Dandenong Stingrays)
H: 192cm W: 84kg
DOB: 19/10/1996
Lamb is an athletic key forward similar to Nick Riewoldt in his ability to push up into the wings with his elite aerobic ability. Lamb's athleticism can be likened to Jonathon Marsh from the 2013 draft, with the two also having a similar size.

24 - West Coast
Bodhi Walker (VIC - Gippsland Power)
Position: Medium Defender/Utility
H: 182cm W: 82kg
DOB: 8/2/1996
Walker is predominantly a medium defender but I believe he will also be able to push through the midfield throughout the TAC cup in 2014. He reads the play extremely well and has great foot speed allowing him to run off half back when in posession. He has clean hands and a very accurate left boot.

25 - Brisbane (Academy)
Matthew Hammelmann (QLD - Morningside)
H: 196cm W: 84kg
DOB: 8/3/1996
Hammelmann is an exciting key position prospect with great speed on the lead, burning off his opponent. He has really promising leading patterns and he just knows how to command the footy. He also has good hands and is strong in marking situations. Hammelmann isn't a selfish player and will often bring other players into the game which is a positive thing, in saying that, it doesn't mean he is afraid to take the set shots. He is quite a reliable kick of goal and will often goal.

26 - Adelaide
Jack Donkersley (SA - Glenelg)
Position: Medium Defender
H: 185cm W: 77kg
DOB: 11/3/1996
Donkersley has a great tank which allows him to constantly run hard and quick at the footy. He can turn the play around from the backline and set his team off on a counter attack because he almost always wins the contested footy. He is very courageous and also loves a good overhead mark.

27 - North Melbourne
Jaden McGrath (VIC - Bendigo Pioneers)
Position: Small Forward/Midfielder
H: 179cm W: 71kg
DOB: 15/6/1996
McGrath just has a knack of finding space no matter how congested the area around him is, which greatly helps him in all aspects of the game. He is a prolific ball winner and isn't afraid to get in to earn his own ball, he also has great disposal by hand and foot. He is very clever with his positioning and is able to really damage the scoreboard because of this coupled with his great goal kicking from almost anywhere.

28 - Collingwood
Daniel Caprion (VIC - Dandenong Stingrays)
Position: Medium Defender/Midfielder
H: 188cm W: 80kg
DOB: 14/6/1996
Caprion is predominantly a defender, however he does push through the midfield and I believe that very soon he will be a midfield starter. He is very athletic and quick with elite decision making and composure, the latter two in particular are the traits which make me believe he will be a midfielder at AFL level. He is a very courageous and natural footballer with excellent footy IQ.

29 - Richmond
Liam Duggan (VIC - Western Jets)
Position: Small Defender
H: 182cm W: 72kg
DOB: 11/12/1996
Duggan is a small defender who can also rotate through the midfield. When he plays he just seems to glide across the field, not in the sense that he is Usain Bolt, but in that he is just so graceful yet still relatively quick and has great lateral movements. He makes really good decisions, particularly when under pressure in traffic and has great disposal with his left boot.

30 - Carlton
Duom Dawam (VIC - Western Jets)
H: 200cm W: 75kg
DOB: 1/1/1996
Dawam is still rather raw although what we can see is very very exciting and promising. His leap is very big and he is quite athletic. I'd liken him go fellow Sudanese player Majak Daw or Nic Naitanui. The foundation is definitely there, if he continues to learn as rapidly as he is currently, then he will be a force to be reckoned with.

31 - Port Adelaide
Warrick Wilson (WA - Swan Districts)
Position: Medium Utility
H: 183cm W: 75kg
DOB: 29/1/1996
Wilson is really silky smooth mover who can play either end of the park to a great standard. He has the Scott Pendlebury trait in that the game seems to slow down when the ball is in his hands. He has great disposal with his preferred left boot and is a fantastic overhead mark in almost any situation.

32 - Sydney (Academy)
Isaac Heeney (NSW - Cardiff Hawks)
H: 181cm W: 73kg
DOB: 5/5/1996
What I really like about Heeney is that he can play both inside and outside mid very well. He is just about as tough as you can get and will always go in to a pack and dish the ball out but at the same time he is willing to be awaiting the ball on the outside. He has a great work rate, clean hands and competitiveness that will only help him take the step to senior AFL.

33 - Geelong
Marc Pittonet (VIC - Oakleigh Chargers)
H: 201cm W: 106kg
DOB: 3/6/1996
Pittonet is a man mountain ruck who is already very strong and seems to be able to ruck from round one 2015 as his body is quite filled out, compared to many ruck prospects who seem to be beanstalks when drafted. He has the ability to play forward well and he really presents to the footy. Pittonet also has a Vic Metro representation in basketball to his name.

34 - Fremantle
Christian Buykx-Smith (VIC - Gippsland Power)
H: 192cm W: 81kg
DOB: 27/3/1996
Although Buykx-Smith missed most of the 2013 TAC season due to a broken arm, he still played exceptionally well and had he not broken his arm I can safely assure you he would have made the 2013 u18 championship squad. He's rather athletic and you can just tell he is eager to win as even late in games he doesn't drop his head or lay off at all.

35 - Hawthorn
Matthew Ah Siu (WA - South Fremantle)
Position: Utility
H: 192cm W: 75kg
DOB: 20/7/1996
Ah Siu has great athletic abilities for a big guy, he loves to push up into the midfield, earn his own ball, be competitive and run and carry. He can play either end well and because of his athleticism, when playing in the forward line he burns off opponents on his long leads and he has a strong overhead mark. When he defends he can play tall or small which is a real advantage to have. He is still relatively raw and new to the game which just adds to the excitement about his game.

Hells bells, half the predicted first round are 190cm+, 7 of them 195cm+..... most of these guys are still growing!

They weren't joking when saying it's a good draft for tall players!

Cheers for the effort in putting it together so far out from the draft

Two queensland guys in the top 10? :eek:

If the draft was held now you would probably get 2 QLDers in the top 15... but as always the QLD development pathways is pathetic when compared to Victoria when a prospective player reaches his draft year. Hopefully the Lions and Suns academies will start to address these.

Brisbane will be stoked :p

But in all seriousness, If GC and the lions could pick up homegrown talent in the 1st round it would show our game is heading in the right direction

Brisbane will be stoked :p

But in all seriousness, If GC and the lions could pick up homegrown talent in the 1st round it would show our game is heading in the right direction

Yep Brisbane could well have another first round prospect headed their way through the academy program alongside Dawson. Matthew Hammelmann is also an exciting key forward prospect already at 196cm.

Hells bells, half the predicted first round are 190cm+, 7 of them 195cm+..... most of these guys are still growing!

They weren't joking when saying it's a good draft for tall players!

Cheers for the effort in putting it together so far out from the draft

No worries mate! There could well be around 15 key position players /rucks taken within the first two rounds if the draft was done tomorrow. That's not a knock on the smaller players at all however, the talent in those positions also runs deep. This draft could well be best draft depth wise in many years. Many teams will get players who would've gone first round in this years draft in the second round I predict.

inb4 recruiters claim it's the worst draft in years. :D

There's going to be carnage at this draft, I'm expecting father son and academy bidding will get vicious. Can't wait!

carnthepies19 do you see Waterman a chance to fall to WCs 2nd round pick? I see us probably finishing in a similar spot and dont expect to have a pick lower than 8. From what I have seen, he could be in a position similar to McDonald this year where he is rated around the 6 to 12 mark.

Could you also give me a little bit of info on Matera who will be available as a F/S bid the following year? I dont know much about him

carnthepies19 do you see Waterman a chance to fall to WCs 2nd round pick? I see us probably finishing in a similar spot and dont expect to have a pick lower than 8. From what I have seen, he could be in a position similar to McDonald this year where he is rated around the 6 to 12 mark.

Could you also give me a little bit of info on Matera who will be available as a F/S bid the following year? I dont know much about him

Waterman could definitely be forced into being your first round selection if he continues his development and not too many players bolt above him in the rankings. I'm tipping the eagles will finish top 8 and if not that then 9th or 10th so in that case he would be the first rounder. If you have a poorer year and finish in a similar place you did this year, then you might well scrape through and snare him with your second rounder.

As for Matera, he is a quick inside mid who would be sitting around 180cm. From what I've seen he has great disposal and is quite composed. He would probably cost a second or third rounder as there seems to be a really great mix for the 2015 draft. I recall he made the AA team for u15 nationals in 2012. He would have been close to selection in the u16 carnival I assume however he was injured in the lead up to final selection, well that's what I've been told, so he missed out. He plays for East Sandringham in the SMJFL, so that would mean he would play his TAC cup with the Sandringham Dragons - who haven't yet released their preseason squad so I am assuming they will not release it considering almost all clubs have now done so. He also attends Brighton Grammar which will mean he will play less TAC cup because of school football - he has played senior firsts alongside the likes ofJosh Kelly and Christian Salem since last year when he was in year 9 which is pretty impressive! I will let you know when any cuts to the squads get released.

Waterman could definitely be forced into being your first round selection if he continues his development and not too many players bolt above him in the rankings.

As for Matera...

Thanks for that. We potentially have a father son pick every year until 2020 where we potentially have 5 :D. Although the only ones I really know anything about are Waterman, Matera and Sumich

Do you think a team would bid a top 10 pick for Darcy Moore? Collingwood could get him with their last pick.

He had a pretty quiet 2013 after a serious surgery, at the moment he is probably worth 2nd or 3rd rounder. I don't think we would get him with our last pick unless he falls apart in 2014, still a chance he could be worth a top 10 depending on what happens in 2014

I thought that if no club that had a pick before Collingwood's first pick made a bid Collingwood could get him with their last pick regardless, is that still the case?

If someone makes a bid for him after our 1st pick and before our 2nd pick I'm pretty sure we have to use our 2nd round pick on him

Do you think a team would bid a first round pick for Darcy Moore? Collingwood could get him with their last pick.

It really depends on how he goes next year. This year he was cruelled by injuries mainly the hip he required surgery on, so he missed a fair chunk of the year and almost all of preseason. I do this he is a chance for first round depending on where the pies finish, if it's top 8 then potentially we will have to part with our first pick to get him but if not then it's unlikely we will need the first pick to get him. Remember, in u16s he was regarded as highly as Hugh Goddard, so there's obviously some talent there. It doesn't really help that he has been put in defence at the Oakleigh Chargers, he really does look a lot more comfortable in the forward line.

CTP19 2014 Phanton Draft